DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.DE 10202218739.4, filed on 10/28/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 04/25/2025 has been considered by the Examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim status
Claims 1-17 have been canceled. Claims 18-34 have been presented as new claims and remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imes et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0054863 A1, (hereinafter Imes) in view of Dana et al. CN. 108292529 A, (hereinafter Dana).
Regarding claim 18.
Imes teaches a method for wirelessly registering a pump having a pump control with a central administration unit using a mobile communication device (Imes teaches in para. [0031] a renewable energy production device, a renewable energy control device, an energy storage management system, a smart appliance,..., and further Imes teaches in para. [0061] a new resource may be added to resource management platform 104 using mobile device 102 and an NFC device embedded within a new resource. For example, a user may purchase a new appliance and may add the appliance to resource management platform 104 using mobile device 102 and NFC device of the appliance. For example, as a new resource is added to resource management system 100, registration information can automatically be sent to a manufacturer to register a product or resource as narrated in para. [0062]. Note that here while adding a new appliances/heat pump or resources by using a mobile phone that indicates the registration of heat pump as narrated in para. [0031]), comprising:
receiving with the mobile communication device, the broadcast signal in an activated monitoring mode (Imes teaches in para. [0061] when mobile device 102 recognizes the information on the NFC device, additional content can be accessed using cloud services 110. For example, mobile device 102 may include a tablet such as an iPad, Nook, Galaxy tablet, and the like. Upon recognition, resource management system 100 can access an electronic guide, such as an eBook, video, or various other forms of digital media, to step a user through a quick start, set-up, user manual, registration or other forms of digital media that can be used to engage a consumer…); and
transferring identification information configured to identify the pump to the central administration unit (Imes teaches in para. [0061] upon recognition, resource management system 100 can access an electronic guide, such as an eBook, video, or various other forms of digital media, to step a user through a quick start, set-up, user manual, registration..., and further, Imes teaches in para. [0062] a product warranty, registration, support, and various other aspects to purchasing a resource can also be managed using resource management system 100… Furthermore, Imes teaches in para. [0084]-[0085] profile modifiers can be provided and can include profile modification data of the resource…, resource management platform 300 can be configured to output video using a pico projector and speakers…). While Imes teaches the transmitting a broadcast signal with a signal generator of the pump control as indicted above, Imes does not explicitly teach transmitting a broadcast signal when the pump is not yet registered with the central administration unit.
However, Dana teaches transmitting a broadcast signal when the pump is not yet registered with the central administration unit (Dana teaches on page 18 in the last paragraph, lines 16-21 (iii) generating pump assembly on the screen displaying the pump assembly is not correctly registered notification of the command message and transmits it to the pump assembly (e.g., the notification can be periodic or consistent display until the pump assembly may be successfully registered).
Therefore, Imes and Dana are analogues arts and they are in the same field of endeavor as they both are directed to a registration of pump and providing registration information of appliances to register a product or resource so that the platform enables a user to set energy-saving temperature using an energy-saving slider button to warmer temperature so as to increase energy-saving effect.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of generating pump assembly on the screen displaying the pump assembly is not correctly registered notification of the command message (page 18 in the last paragraph, lines 16-21) as taught, by Dana into the teachings of Imes invention. One would have been motivated to do so on in order to the apparatus configures a pump assembly and conduit, so that the conduit can be quickly and easily removed from the pump assembly to facilitate or improve process of dressing or pump changes, if necessary. The apparatus facilitates frequency or triggering control to enable protection of privacy of users of the pump assembly such that limited information about use or possession of the pump assembly are tracked or stored. The apparatus enables a remote computer to determine or track unauthorized registration and uses of the pump assembly and take appropriate actions. The apparatus provides notification communication to inform a receipt about unauthorized usage for the pump assembly and/or provide suggested actions for resolving issues associated with the unauthorized usage.
Regarding claim 19.
Dana further teaches wherein the pump control transmits the broadcast signal continuously when the pump has not yet been registered (Dana teaches on page 18 in the last paragraph, lines 16-19 (iii) generating…, notification of the command message and transmits it to the pump assembly (e.g., the notification can be periodic or consistent display until the pump assembly may be successfully registered)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of generating pump assembly on the screen displaying the pump assembly is not correctly registered notification of the command message (page 18 in the last paragraph, lines 16-21) as taught, by Dana into the teachings of Imes invention. One would have been motivated to do so on in order to the apparatus configures a pump assembly and conduit, so that the conduit can be quickly and easily removed from the pump assembly to facilitate or improve process of dressing or pump changes, if necessary. The apparatus facilitates frequency or triggering control to enable protection of privacy of users of the pump assembly such that limited information about use or possession of the pump assembly are tracked or stored in an efficient manner.
Regarding claim 20.
Imes in view of Dana teaches wherein the broadcast signal contains at least one information item that uniquely identifies the pump and the mobile communication device communicates said information to the central administration unit after receiving the broadcast signal (Imes teaches in para. [0062] a user can provide a unique identifier of the resource, and in other forms an NFC can have information encoded, and resource management system 100 can register the new resource using encoded information and cloud services 110 used to register their product…, and further Imes teaches for example, a resource can include a WiFi or 802.11-based communication device that can operate as an access point and broadcast a network name unique to the resource as narrated in para. [0140] and further, Dana teaches on page 18 in the last paragraph, lines 16-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of generating pump assembly on the screen displaying the pump assembly is not correctly registered notification of the command message (page 18 in the last paragraph, lines 16-21) as taught, by Dana into the teachings of providing a unique identifier of the resource, and in other forms an NFC can have information encoded, and resource management system 100 can register the new resource ([0062]) as taught, by Imes. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the platform enables a user to set energy-saving temperature using an energy-saving slider button to warmer temperature so as to increase energy-saving effect and further, the apparatus enables a remote computer to determine or track unauthorized registration and uses of the pump assembly and take appropriate actions. The apparatus provides notification communication to inform a receipt about unauthorized usage for the pump assembly and/or provide suggested actions for resolving issues associated with the unauthorized usage.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imes in view of Dana further in view of Ollander et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0126371 A1, (hereinafter Ollander).
Regarding claim 21. Imes in view of Dana the method as claimed in claim 20.
Imes in view of Dana does not explicitly teach wherein the broadcast signal is an acoustic signal, which is generated by the motor controller via modified actuation of the pump drive.
However, Ollander teaches wherein the broadcast signal is an acoustic signal, which is generated by the motor controller via modified actuation of the pump drive (Ollander teaches in para. [0044] the electronic controller 104 causes the motor to emit a local, acoustically audible alert 112 in the form of at least one vibrational “tone” 112…, and further, Ollander teaches in para. [0045] the acoustic vibration is modulated. For example, in the embodiment of FIG. 1 the amplitude of the vibration is pulsed 114, so that the audible alert is heard as a series of “beeps”, the vibration otherwise modulated in amplitude, and/or modulated in frequency (audible pitch or tone)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the motor to emit a local, acoustically audible alert 112 in the form of at least one vibrational “tone” ([0044]-[0045]) as taught, by Ollander into the teachings of Imes in view of Dana invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the electronically controlled, motor-driven device is enabled to issue a local alert that is audibly perceptible to nearby operators, without adding to the cost, size, and/or power consumption of the motor-controlled device.
Regarding claim 22.
Ollander teaches wherein the acoustic signal is a normal operating noise of the pump, which has been modulated with information by the motor controller (Ollander teaches in para. [0016] the electronically controlled motor-driven device is an electric-motor driven valve actuator or pump that includes motor drive technology that enables electronic control of the motor and further, Ollander teaches in para. [0017] all electronically controlled electro-mechanical device components that perform functions of the device unrelated to the issuing of alerts and unrelated to transmitting of information, whereby the same electromechanical components can be actuated by the electronic controller so as to cause them to vibrate, and to thereby emit audible, acoustic sounds, without harm to the device or to associated equipment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the electronically controlled motor-driven device is an electric-motor driven valve actuator or pump ([0016]-[0017]) as taught, by Ollander into the teachings of Imes in view of Dana invention. One would have been motivated to do so when an alert is issued the motor is caused to vibrate at one or more of these resonant frequencies, so that the resulting sound is amplified by sympathetic vibration of the housing or other structure. (Ollander. [0015]).
Claims 23-26 and 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imes in view of Dana further in view of Zaho et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0190441 A1, (hereinafter Zaho).
Regarding claim 23. Imes in view of Dana teaches the method as claimed in claim 18.
Imes in view of Dana does not explicitly teach wherein the broadcasting signal is an ultrasound signal.
However, Zaho teaches wherein the broadcasting signal is an ultrasound signal (Zaho teaches in para. [0083] if the RF signal and the ultrasound pulses are broadcast by the tag device simultaneously, the detector side may miss the first peak of the ultrasound).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of broadcasting by the tag device simultaneously, the detector side may miss the first peak of the ultrasound ([0083]) as taught, by Zaho into the teachings of Imes in view of Dana invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the computing module computes the position of the object according to positioning signal detection times from the signal receiver and the structural topology relationship, so as to obtain the positioning device with high accuracy, easy deployment and high flexibility. The device is calibration free and low in cost, and has in-device coordination.
Regarding claim 24.
Imes teaches the central administration unit, after receiving the identification information, transfers registration information to the mobile communication device for forwarding to the pump control (Imes teaches in para. [0061] a new resource may be added to resource management platform 104 using mobile device 102 and an NFC device embedded within a new resource. For example, a user may purchase a new appliance and may add the appliance to resource management platform 104 using mobile device 102 and NFC device of the appliance. For example, as a new resource is added to resource management system 100, registration information can automatically be sent to a manufacturer to register a product or resource as narrated in para. [0062]. Note that here while adding a new appliances/heat pump or resources by using a mobile phone that indicates the registration of heat pump as narrated in para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 25.
Imes teaches wherein the communication device forwards the registration information to the pump control via the transmission technology used for the broadcast signal or alternatively, establishes a separate transmission channel with different transmission technology and transfers the registration information to the pump control via this separate channel (Imes teaches in para. [0061] a new resource may be added to resource management platform 104 using mobile device 102 and an NFC device embedded within a new resource. For example, a user may purchase a new appliance and may add the appliance to resource management platform 104 using mobile device 102 and NFC device of the appliance. For example, as a new resource is added to resource management system 100, registration information can automatically be sent to a manufacturer to register a product or resource as narrated in para. [0062]. Note that here while adding a new appliances/heat pump or resources by using a mobile phone that indicates the registration of heat pump as narrated in para. [0031], further, Imes teaches in para. [0139] For example, information about how to attach to other devices, like a smart meter, can also be provided. According to an aspect, a specific default channel can be provided with a channel I.D., or in some instances, a series of channels (i.e., separate or different channels are provided to perform the same function) can be used to initiate a scan by the new resource to enable the resource to join the network being created. A sequence of channel numbers can also be provided for a resource to scan and join a network. .
Regarding claim 26.
Imes teaches wherein the separate transmission channel is a bidirectional radio channel for bidirectional information exchange between the communication device and the pump control, is compliant with Bluetooth standard (Imes teaches in para. [0054] resource management system 100 can allow for or enable access to one or more on-line streaming media sources, such as Pandora, Slacker Radio, Spotify, TuneIn Radio and further, Imes teaches in para. [0044] For example, mobile device 102 can communicate directly with resource management platform 104 using a local WIFI or 802.11 based communication, Bluetooth communication, or various other local wireless communication, or any combination thereof (i.e., note that here any combination thereof includes bidirectional information exchange between devices)).
Regarding claim 28.
Dana teaches wherein the broadcast signal and/or the modified broadcast signal contains information for signaling the functional status of the pump (Dana teaches on page 8 in the 4th paragraph, lines 1-12, 220 of the pump…, indicators 202 and 204 may be configured to a variety of operation and/or a fault condition, such as a patient or medical care provider such as the user warning system comprises warning the user of normal or proper operating conditions, pump failure, power supplied to the power failure of the pump, leak detection…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of broadcasting by the tag device simultaneously, the detector side may miss the first peak of the ultrasound ([0083]) as taught, by Zaho into the teachings of Imes in view of Dana invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the computing module computes the position of the object according to positioning signal detection times from the signal receiver and the structural topology relationship, so as to obtain the positioning device with high accuracy, easy deployment and high flexibility. The device is calibration free and low in cost, and has in-device coordination.
Regarding claim 29.
Imes teaches wherein the mobile communication device is a smartphone, tablet or a mobile computer and a dedicated application implements a monitoring mode of the device (Imes teaches in para. [0043], [0061], [0083] mobile device tablet and etc.).
Regarding claim 30.
Imes teaches wherein the application uses the built- in microphone of the device to analyze audio sequences in order to identify identification and/or status information from a received broadcast signal (Imes teaches in para. [0103] resource management platform 500 can include one or more microphones. For example, resource management platform 500 can include one or more integrated microphones that can be used during a set-up of resource management platform to determine acoustic qualities of an installation location…).
Regarding claim 31.
Dana teaches wherein the application, after identifying the identification information, generates a request for customer data and transfers the customer data entered by the user to the central administration unit (Dana teaches on page 16 in the first paragraph, lines 1-9 figs 5A-5C…, the information displayed on the screen can be based on input received from the user to generate. GUI screen can be used to initialize the device, selecting and adjusting therapy setting, monitor equipment operation, the data is transmitted to the network (e.g., cloud)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of generating pump assembly on the screen displaying the pump assembly is not correctly registered notification of the command message (page 18 in the last paragraph, lines 16-21) as taught, by Dana into the teachings of Imes in view of Zhao invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the apparatus enables a remote computer to determine or track unauthorized registration and uses of the pump assembly and take appropriate actions. The apparatus provides notification communication to inform a receipt about unauthorized usage for the pump assembly and/or provide suggested actions for resolving issues associated with the unauthorized usage.
Regarding claims 32 and 34.
Claims 32 and 34 incorporate substantively all the limitation of claim 31 in a system form and a computer program product form and are rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, regarding the limitation of a mobile device, the prior art of record Imes teaches at least in para. [0031], [0036] and [0044].
Regarding claim 33.
Claim 33 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 31 in a centrifugal pump, configured as a heating circulation pump and is rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, regarding the limitation of a centrifugal pump or heating circulation pump, the prior art of record Imes teaches at least in para. [0031], [0088] and [0094].
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imes in view of Dana further in view of Zaho and further in view of Hirayama U.S. Pub. No. 2001/0036272 A1, (hereinafter Hirayama).
Regarding claim 27. Imes in view of Dana teaches the method as claimed in claim 26.
Imes in view of Dana further in view of Zaho teaches wherein the pump control, after successfully receiving the registration information. While, Imes in view of Dana further in view of Zaho teaches as disclosed above in claims 25, 28-34), Imes in view of Dana further in view of Zaho does not explicitly teach after receiving the registration, deactivates the transmission of the broadcast signal or modifies the broadcast signal, wherein the modified broadcast signal contains information that identifies the pump as registered.
However, Hirayama teaches deactivates the transmission of the broadcast signal or modifies the broadcast signal, wherein the modified broadcast signal contains information that identifies the pump as registered (Hirayama teaches in para. [0047] a deactivate-signal-generating unit 23 generates a deactivate signal and supplies the signal to the transmission unit 24. The activate signal is a signal transmitted to the reception apparatus 2 to show a timing, with which a select button 32 of the reception apparatus 2 shown in FIG. 3 is put in an enabled-operation state…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of a deactivate-signal-generating unit 23 generates a deactivate signal and supplies the signal to the transmission unit 24 ([0047]) as taught, by Hirayama into the teachings of Imes in view of Dana invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the questionnaire can be answered quickly, without increasing user labor, since control signal and transmission destination information are transmitted along with the broadcast signal.
Conclusion
/BERHANU SHITAYEWOLDETSADIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455