DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the patent application 19/124,921 originally filed on April 28, 2025. Claims 1-11 are presented for examination. Claims 1 and 3 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on April 28, 2025 has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2023/036086 (filed 10/27/2023), which is a 371 of 63/420,191 (filed 10/28/2022).
Drawings
Regarding FIGS. 1-13, 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1), stated in part, indicates that black and white photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. The photographs must be of sufficient quality so that all details in the photographs are reproducible in the printed patent. Therefore, the use of a black and white photographs lacking sufficient reproducible quality prevents FIGS. 1-13 from complying with 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1).
Regarding FIGS. 1 and 3, 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1), stated in part, indicates that “The different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, independent of the numbering of the sheets and, if possible, in the order in which they appear on the drawing sheet(s). Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter.” There are two instances of FIG. 1, and also two instances of FIG. 3. To avoid confusion, the figure numbers must be unique. One possible solution is to identify the two figures of FIG. 1 as FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B (and similarly for FIGS. 3). Therefore, because two figures are associated with each of FIGS. 1 and 3, the figures are not in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1, and substantially similar limitations in claims 3, 9, and 11, recites the limitation “a semiconductor.” The limitation is originally introduced in claim 1. As such, the subsequent limitations are either (1) not following antecedent basis (i.e. “[[a]] the semiconductor”); or (2) are intended to be new limitations which ambiguously conflict with the previous limitation of claim 1 or 3. Therefore, claims 1, 3, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 2 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), based on its dependency to claim 1. Claims 4-11 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), based on their respective dependencies to claim 3. Claim 10 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), based on its dependency to claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (hereinafter “Li,” Non-patent literature: “A Framework for Standard Modular Simulation,” full citation in PTO-892) in view of Leveen (US 5,795,356).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a system for simulating the production of a semiconductor from a wafer suitable for use in the production of a semiconductor from the wafer (Li Abstract, “a framework… for standard modular simulation of semiconductor wafer fabrication facilities”), the system comprising:
… at least one barrier defining a laboratory environment such that the at least one barrier substantially encloses the laboratory environment (Li page 8, column 2, “Layout… This section presents the physical distribution of the different elements that integrate the semiconductor fab ( e.g., tool stations, transporters, parts transportation paths). This structure ‘ ... defines the location of reference points within the site or facility, area boundaries, paths, and part objects.’,” simulated semiconductor fab layout, including area boundaries);
a plurality of stations … such that the wafer may be selectively positioned between the respective station and the laboratory environment (Li page 5, “The simulation of supply chains is considered complex and involves the simulation of the product and information flow through the different links in the chain [46], [21], [61]: manufacturing facilities (front-end and back-end), transportation between the different stages in the chain,” selectively positioning the wafer at the appropriate area), the plurality of stations comprising:
a deposition station configured to deposit at least one layer of material suitable for the production of a semiconductor to the wafer (Li page 6, column 2, “In a semiconductor fab, stations are composed by a group of tools assigned to a specific operation (e.g., lithography, metal deposition) in the production process. Usually, these stations are integrated by tools that perform the same operation (e.g., tool families).”);
a photomask station configured to generate a photomask associated with the wafer (Li page 6, column 2, “In a semiconductor fab, stations are composed by a group of tools assigned to a specific operation (e.g., lithography, metal deposition) in the production process. Usually, these stations are integrated by tools that perform the same operation (e.g., tool families),” wherein the lithography station generates photomasks associated with the wafers); and
an etching station configured to generate a circuit pattern within the photomask associated with the wafer (Li page 2, column 2, “The wafer fabrication process is composed of seven basic operations [2], [49], sequentially performed as follows: ( 1) Cleaning; (2) Oxidation, Deposition and Metalization; ( 3) Lithography; ( 4) Etching; ( 5) Jon implantation; ( 6) Photoresist strip; and (7) Inspection and measurement. In general, tool stations are integrated according to the operation to be performed.”); and
a transportation system configured to operate within the laboratory environment and to transport the wafer … to at least one station of the plurality of stations (Li page 5, column 1, “The simulation of supply chains is considered complex and involves the simulation of the product and information flow through the different links in the chain [46], [21], [61]: manufacturing facilities (front-end and back-end), transportation between the different stages in the chain, business processes (e.g., forecasting, production and inventory planning), and customer orders (e.g., modeling of actual consumption of products),” transporting between the different stages).
Li does not explicitly teach a central laboratory hub … each station of the plurality of stations operatively coupled to the central laboratory hub … and transporting the wafer from the central laboratory hub to at least one station.
However, Leveen discloses a central laboratory hub … each station of the plurality of stations operatively coupled to the central laboratory hub … and transporting the wafer from the central laboratory hub to at least one station (Leveen col. 2 lines 18-20, “The fabrication facility relies on a central hub from which processing areas extend radially out like spokes. A housing is provided over each spoke.”; also Leveen col. 3 line 66 through col. 4 line 1, “In FIG. 1, the processing areas 2 of the microelectronic component fabrication facility radiate out from a central hub 3.”; also Leveen col. 4 lines 59-62, “The automation system (automation stockers) 27 which automatically handles and moves the wafers to be processed, from processing station to processing station”).
Leveen is analogous to Li, as both are drawn to the art of semiconductor fabrication. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Li, to include a central laboratory hub … each station of the plurality of stations operatively coupled to the central laboratory hub … and transporting the wafer from the central laboratory hub to at least one station, as taught by Leveen, since it would have combined prior art elements of using a central hub according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses a method of simulating the production of a semiconductor from a wafer (Li Abstract, “a framework… for standard modular simulation of semiconductor wafer fabrication facilities”), the method comprising:
positioning, utilizing a transportation system configured to operate within a laboratory environment defined by at least one barrier … that substantially enclose the laboratory environment, a wafer from the laboratory environment to a deposition station (Li page 8, column 2, “Layout… This section presents the physical distribution of the different elements that integrate the semiconductor fab ( e.g., tool stations, transporters, parts transportation paths). This structure ‘ ... defines the location of reference points within the site or facility, area boundaries, paths, and part objects.’,” simulated semiconductor fab layout, including area boundaries; also Li page 5, “The simulation of supply chains is considered complex and involves the simulation of the product and information flow through the different links in the chain [46], [21], [61]: manufacturing facilities (front-end and back-end), transportation between the different stages in the chain,” transporting the wafer);
depositing at least one layer of material suitable for the production of a semiconductor to the wafer (Li page 6, column 2, “In a semiconductor fab, stations are composed by a group of tools assigned to a specific operation (e.g., lithography, metal deposition) in the production process. Usually, these stations are integrated by tools that perform the same operation (e.g., tool families).”);
positioning, utilizing the transportation system, the wafer from the laboratory environment to a photomask station (Li page 5, column 1, “The simulation of supply chains is considered complex and involves the simulation of the product and information flow through the different links in the chain [46], [21], [61]: manufacturing facilities (front-end and back-end), transportation between the different stages in the chain, business processes (e.g., forecasting, production and inventory planning), and customer orders (e.g., modeling of actual consumption of products),” transporting between the different stages);
generating a photomask associated with the wafer (Li page 6, column 2, “In a semiconductor fab, stations are composed by a group of tools assigned to a specific operation (e.g., lithography, metal deposition) in the production process. Usually, these stations are integrated by tools that perform the same operation (e.g., tool families),” wherein the lithography station generates photomasks associated with the wafers);
positioning, utilizing the transportation system, the wafer from the laboratory environment to the etching station (Li page 5, column 1, “The simulation of supply chains is considered complex and involves the simulation of the product and information flow through the different links in the chain [46], [21], [61]: manufacturing facilities (front-end and back-end), transportation between the different stages in the chain, business processes (e.g., forecasting, production and inventory planning), and customer orders (e.g., modeling of actual consumption of products),” transporting between the different stages); and
generating a circuit pattern within the photomask associated with the wafer (Li page 2, column 2, “The wafer fabrication process is composed of seven basic operations [2], [49], sequentially performed as follows: ( 1) Cleaning; (2) Oxidation, Deposition and Metalization; ( 3) Lithography; ( 4) Etching; ( 5) Jon implantation; ( 6) Photoresist strip; and (7) Inspection and measurement. In general, tool stations are integrated according to the operation to be performed.”).
Li does not explicitly teach a central laboratory hub.
However, Leveen discloses a central laboratory hub (Leveen col. 2 lines 18-20, “The fabrication facility relies on a central hub from which processing areas extend radially out like spokes. A housing is provided over each spoke.”).
Leveen is analogous to Li, as both are drawn to the art of semiconductor fabrication. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Li, to include a central laboratory hub, as taught by Leveen, since it would have combined prior art elements of using a central hub according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Leveen discloses positioning, utilizing the transportation system, the wafer from the laboratory environment to an etching station (Li page 5, column 1, “The simulation of supply chains is considered complex and involves the simulation of the product and information flow through the different links in the chain [46], [21], [61]: manufacturing facilities (front-end and back-end), transportation between the different stages in the chain, business processes (e.g., forecasting, production and inventory planning), and customer orders (e.g., modeling of actual consumption of products),” transporting between the different stages; also Li page 2, column 2, “The wafer fabrication process is composed of seven basic operations [2], [49], sequentially performed as follows: ( 1) Cleaning; (2) Oxidation, Deposition and Metalization; ( 3) Lithography; ( 4) Etching; ( 5) Jon implantation; ( 6) Photoresist strip; and (7) Inspection and measurement. In general, tool stations are integrated according to the operation to be performed.”).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Leveen discloses positioning, utilizing the deposition station, the wafer from the deposition station to the laboratory environment (Li page 5, column 1, “The simulation of supply chains is considered complex and involves the simulation of the product and information flow through the different links in the chain [46], [21], [61]: manufacturing facilities (front-end and back-end), transportation between the different stages in the chain, business processes (e.g., forecasting, production and inventory planning), and customer orders (e.g., modeling of actual consumption of products),” transporting between the different stages; also Li page 2, column 2, “The wafer fabrication process is composed of seven basic operations [2], [49], sequentially performed as follows: ( 1) Cleaning; (2) Oxidation, Deposition and Metalization; ( 3) Lithography; ( 4) Etching; ( 5) Jon implantation; ( 6) Photoresist strip; and (7) Inspection and measurement. In general, tool stations are integrated according to the operation to be performed.”).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Leveen discloses positioning, utilizing the transportation system, the wafer from the etching station to the laboratory environment (Li page 5, column 1, “The simulation of supply chains is considered complex and involves the simulation of the product and information flow through the different links in the chain [46], [21], [61]: manufacturing facilities (front-end and back-end), transportation between the different stages in the chain, business processes (e.g., forecasting, production and inventory planning), and customer orders (e.g., modeling of actual consumption of products),” transporting between the different stages; also Li page 2, column 2, “The wafer fabrication process is composed of seven basic operations [2], [49], sequentially performed as follows: ( 1) Cleaning; (2) Oxidation, Deposition and Metalization; ( 3) Lithography; ( 4) Etching; ( 5) Jon implantation; ( 6) Photoresist strip; and (7) Inspection and measurement. In general, tool stations are integrated according to the operation to be performed.”).
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Leveen discloses positioning a plurality of wafers in the laboratory environment, each wafer of the plurality of wafers suitable for use in the production of a semiconductor from the wafer (Li page 2, column 2, “Wafers are grouped in lots and each lot entering the fab has a specific process flow or route (e.g., sequence to visit different stations). The wafers in the same lot will have the same process flow, however, different lots can have different process flows. That is, there could be several different products being produced (e.g., product mix) in the same production line. Also, the number of wafers in a lot is not fixed (e.g., it could be 24 or 48). The number of lots that can be loaded and processed simultaneously in a tool varies according to the operation and tool being utilized.”).
Claims 2, 5, 6, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Leveen, and in further view of Ray et al. (hereinafter “Ray,” US 2013/0175556).
Regarding claim 2, and substantially similar limitations in claim 5, Li in view of Leveen does not explicitly teach wherein the etching station is configured to selectively remove material from the at least one layer of material in order to create a chip pattern within the at least one layer of material.
However, Ray discloses wherein the etching station is configured to selectively remove material from the at least one layer of material in order to create a chip pattern within the at least one layer of material (Ray [0209], “The oxide layer 190 (generally about 0.1 microns thick) is deposited or grown over the wafer 150, as shown in FIG. 21. As illustrated in FIG. 22, through appropriate or standard mask and/or photoresist layers and etching as known in the art, portions of the oxide layer 190 have been removed, leaving oxide 190 in a grid pattern”).
Ray is analogous to Li in view of Leveen, as both are drawn to the art of semiconductor fabrication. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Li in view of Leveen, to include wherein the etching station is configured to selectively remove material from the at least one layer of material in order to create a chip pattern within the at least one layer of material, as taught by Ray, in order to allow the wafer to have a chip pattern to be used for contact extensions (Ray [0203]). Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Leveen and Ray discloses positioning, utilizing the transportation system, the wafer from the etching station to the laboratory environment (Li page 5, column 1, “The simulation of supply chains is considered complex and involves the simulation of the product and information flow through the different links in the chain [46], [21], [61]: manufacturing facilities (front-end and back-end), transportation between the different stages in the chain, business processes (e.g., forecasting, production and inventory planning), and customer orders (e.g., modeling of actual consumption of products),” transporting between the different stages; also Li page 2, column 2, “The wafer fabrication process is composed of seven basic operations [2], [49], sequentially performed as follows: ( 1) Cleaning; (2) Oxidation, Deposition and Metalization; ( 3) Lithography; ( 4) Etching; ( 5) Jon implantation; ( 6) Photoresist strip; and (7) Inspection and measurement. In general, tool stations are integrated according to the operation to be performed.”).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Leveen does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of wafers are loaded into at least one repository unit positioned within the laboratory environment.
However, Ray discloses wherein the plurality of wafers are loaded into at least one repository unit positioned within the laboratory environment (Ray [0226], “FIG. 46 is a cross-sectional view illustrating an exemplary silicon wafer 150 embodiment having a plurality of diodes 100-100J adhered to a holding apparatus 160 (such as a holding, handle or holder wafer). FIG. 47 is a cross-sectional view illustrating an exemplary diode sapphire wafer 150A embodiment adhered to a holding apparatus 160,” wafers are stored in a holding apparatus).
Ray is analogous to Li in view of Leveen, as both are drawn to the art of semiconductor fabrication. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Li in view of Leveen, to include wherein the plurality of wafers are loaded into at least one repository unit positioned within the laboratory environment, as taught by Ray, because it applies a known technique that allows pauses in the production flow to a known production method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Leveen does not explicitly teach loading a plurality of wafers into at least one repository unit associated with the transportation system, each wafer of the plurality of wafers suitable for use in the production of a semiconductor from the wafer.
Li does disclose each wafer of the plurality of wafers suitable for use in the production of a semiconductor from the wafer (Li page 5, column 1, “The simulation of supply chains is considered complex and involves the simulation of the product and information flow through the different links in the chain [46], [21], [61]: manufacturing facilities (front-end and back-end), transportation between the different stages in the chain, business processes (e.g., forecasting, production and inventory planning), and customer orders (e.g., modeling of actual consumption of products),” transporting between the different stages). Li does not teach loading a plurality of wafers into at least one repository unit associated with the transportation system.
However, Ray discloses loading a plurality of wafers into at least one repository unit associated with the transportation system (Ray [0226], “FIG. 46 is a cross-sectional view illustrating an exemplary silicon wafer 150 embodiment having a plurality of diodes 100-100J adhered to a holding apparatus 160 (such as a holding, handle or holder wafer). FIG. 47 is a cross-sectional view illustrating an exemplary diode sapphire wafer 150A embodiment adhered to a holding apparatus 160,” wafers are stored in a holding apparatus).
Ray is analogous to Li in view of Leveen, as both are drawn to the art of semiconductor fabrication. It would be obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as taught by Li in view of Leveen, to include loading a plurality of wafers into at least one repository unit associated with the transportation system, as taught by Ray, because it applies a known technique that allows storage of wafers to a known production method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Doing so is a predictable solution that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN ALVESTEFFER/Examiner, Art Unit 3715