DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 5, “the chamber wall” is recited. The “the” should likely be an “a” because the “chamber wall” has not previously been recited. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read “a chamber wall”.
Regarding claim 7, line 1, “driving assembly comprise” is recited. The “comprise” should likely be “comprises” to match other limitations. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to read “driving assembly comprises”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pullmann et al., US 7775072 B2 (hereinafter Pullmann).
Regarding claim 1, Pullmann teaches a door lock structure comprising:
a lock shell (housing 70), in which a chamber is formed and a bolt channel connecting to the chamber is arranged (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann depicts the bolt in an enclosed passage thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 2a of channel and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term);
a bolt (slide 88), which is arranged within the chamber and partially extends into the bolt channel, wherein a first elastic member (spring 46) is provided between the bolt and a (see claim interpretation in claim 1 Claim Objection) chamber wall of the chamber (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann depicts 46 provided between 88 located in actuator 40 and a wall of the chamber);
a driving assembly (actuator 40), which is arranged within the chamber (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann) and acts on the bolt to drive the bolt to move for locking operations (col 8, lines 26-38 discusses and Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann depicts 88 arranged in hollow limb 42 of 40 and therefore under the action of 40);
Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann
a limiting member (locking element 52), which is rotatably arranged within the chamber via a second elastic member (second spring 62; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann and movement from Fig 2 to Fig 4 depicts 52 rotating within the chamber around axis 54), the limiting member having a first state in which the bolt is secured in a locked position when the bolt is in the locked position and can maintain the first state under the action of the second elastic member (Fig 2), and the limiting member having a second state in which the bolt is released from the locked position when the limiting member is subjected to force (Fig 4); and
a linkage assembly (rotary spindle 64; col 8, lines 26-38 discusses 64 linking handwheel 66 to 52), which is arranged within the chamber and operates in conjunction with the limiting member and the driving assembly (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann and movement between Fig 2 and Fig 4 depict and col 8, lines 26-38 discusses 64 arranged within the chamber and operating in conjunction with 52 and 40), the linkage assembly being capable of applying force to the limiting member under the action of the driving assembly to transition the limiting member from the first state to the second state (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann and movement between Fig 2 and Fig 4 depict and col 8, lines 26-38 discusses how 64 engages 52 when under the action of 40 being in a forward position, to transition 52 between the first and second states).
Regarding claim 3, Pullmann teaches door lock structure according to claim 1, wherein the limiting member (52) comprises a first limiting portion (free end 56) which is arranged in a hook shape (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann depicts 56 to be hook shape); when the limiting member is in the first state (Fig 2), a top of the bolt (88) is lower than the first limiting portion of the limiting member, and the first limiting portion abuts the top of the bolt (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann depicts 52 in the first state where a top of 88 is lower than 56 with 56 abutting the top of 88).
Regarding claim 4, Pullmann teaches the door lock structure according to claim 3, wherein the bolt (88) comprises a bolt body and a second limiting portion formed at the top of the bolt body (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann), a radial dimension of the second limiting portion being larger than that of the bolt body (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann depicts the radial dimension of the second limiting portion being larger than that of the bolt body), and the first limiting portion (56) abuts above the second limiting portion to limit the bolt in the locked position (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann depicts a portion of 56 to abut above the second limiting portion in the locked position).
Regarding claim 5, Pullmann teaches the door lock structure according to claim 1, wherein the limiting member (52) comprises a first abutting portion (free end 58); and a third limiting portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann) is formed on the chamber wall of the lock shell (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann depicts the third limiting portion to be a surface of 64 which is mounted on 70 thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition of formed on and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term), and the third limiting portion cooperates with the first abutting portion to maintain the limiting member in the first state (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann depicts 58 cooperating with the first abutting portion to maintain 52 in the first state).
Regarding claim 6, Pullmann teaches the door lock structure according to claim 1, wherein the limiting member (52) comprises a second abutting portion (free end 58); the linkage assembly (64) cooperates with the second abutting portion to drive the limiting member to transition from the first state (Fig 2) to the second state (Fig 4; movement from Fig 2 to Fig 4 depicts 58 cooperating with 64 to drive 52 from the first state to the second state).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pullmann, US 7775072 B2, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liang, US 20160319577 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Pullmann teaches the door lock structure according to claim 1, wherein the second elastic member (62) appears to be a compression spring (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Pullmann), which continuously provides torque to transition the limiting member (52) from the second state (Fig 4) to the first state (Fig 2; col 7, lines 21-50).
Pullmann doesn’t teach wherein the second elastic member is a torsion spring.
Liang teaches it is known in the art for elastic biasing members to comprise many equivalent embodiment structures such compression, tension, leaf, or torsion springs [0158] such that Liang teaches the second elastic member is a torsion spring.
The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that “‘[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’” KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
See MPEP § 2143 for a discussion of the rationales listed above along with examples illustrating how the cited rationales may be used to support a finding of obviousness. See also MPEP § 2144 - § 2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, using KSR Rationale E, to modify Pullmann’s compression spring elastic member with an equivalent torsion spring elastic member as taught by Liang. At the time of the invention, there had been a recognized design need in the art to bias a member. There had been a finite number of identified, predictable solutions to the recognized need to bias a member (e.g. compression spring, tension spring, torsion spring, leaf spring). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify biasing member structure in order to better work within existing design and apparatus structures. One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions, as taught by Liang, and redesigned Pullmann with a reasonable expectation of success resulting a predictable change of biasing structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 9, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, while Pullman teaches it is known in the art for a door lock to comprise a driving assembly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify Pullman as claimed in the instant application wherein the driving assembly comprises (see claim interpretation under claim 7 Claim Objection) a driving rod which comprises a third abutting portion; and the linkage assembly comprises a first trigger rod and a second trigger rod, the first trigger rod being rotatably arranged within the chamber and acting on the second trigger rod, the first trigger rod cooperating with the third abutting portion and rotating under the action of the third abutting portion to drive the second trigger rod to move along the axial direction of the bolt; without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the references.
Regarding claims 8-10, they would be allowable because they pend from claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art for door lock apparatus.
Kinnucan, US 5636536 A, teaches a remotely operable security deadbolt lock with anti-theft manually operable release with a lock shell, a bolt, a driving member, a limiting member, and a linkage assembly.
Minemura et al., JP 2010209568 A, teaches a device for locking/unlocking a door with a lock shell, a driving member, a limiting member, and a linkage assembly.
Zhang et al., CN 217631772 U, teaches an automatic locking body and automatic locking lockset with a lock shell, a bolt, a driving member, a limiting member, and a linkage assembly.
Arnold, US 0138360 A, teaches a bolt for doors with a bolt, a driving member, a limiting member, and a linkage assembly.
/STEVEN A TULLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3675