Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 discloses “the processor determines whether or not a user is bored with the activity assuming that the user is not bored although the goal has not been achieved if an application related to the goal is used.” It is unclear what is considered “an application related to the goal” (e.g. is it the same application as the application log of claim 9?, is it the application with the achievement data being collected?, etc.). The support for claim 10 of the published paragraph 35 as disclosed by the Applicant is a duplicate of the claim language without further clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0345078 A1 to Blahnik et al. (Blahnik) and US 6,632,174 B1 to Breznitz.
As to claim 1, Blahnik discloses an activity continuation support device (100) comprising: a memory (104) (Fig. 1, Par. 21); and a processor (102) coupled to the memory (104) (Fig. 1, Par. 21) and configured to: detect user’s performance with certain activity based on a history (e.g. previous week) of an achievement status of a certain person for a goal for the activity (Par. 56); and update the goal based on the history in a case where the user’s performance is detected (Par. 56, e.g., a daily goal for a type of activity may be automatically updated based on the user's performance relative to the daily goal during the previous week).
Blahnik does not expressly disclose user’s performance induces boredom.
Breznitz discloses the user’s performance induces boredom (e.g. too many errors in user’s performance may indicate that the goal is too hard thereby induces boredom) (Col. 5, lines 1-13, see also claim 12).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blahnik with the teaching of Breznitz to provide an improved training exercise thereby improve user’s experience as suggested by Breznitz (Col. 3, lines 51-54).
As to claim 6, Blahnik in view of Breznitz teaches a method of the device of claim 1 above. The limitation of claim 6 is substantially similar to claim 1. Accordingly, claim 6 is rejected based on same analysis as claim 1.
As to claim 2, Blahnik as modified discloses the processor (Blahnik’s 102, Fig. 1, Par. 21; Breznitz’s Col. 2, lines 59-61) is configured to detect the boredom in a case where non-achievement of the goal in the history continues for a predetermined number of times or more (Breznitz’s Col. 5, lines 1-13, e.g. too many errors in user’s performance may indicate that the goal is too hard thereby induces boredom). See claim 1 motivation above.
As to claim 5, Blahnik discloses the processor is further configured to perform output for proposing a goal updated (Par. 56).
As to claim 8, Blahnik discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute the activity continuation support method of claim 6 (Par. 109).
As to claim 9, Blahnik as modified discloses the processor further detects the boredom based on a history of an application log of an information terminal related to the goal (Blahnik’s Par. 56, Breznitz’s Col. 5, lines 1-13). See claim 1 motivation above.
As to claim 10, Blahnik as modified discloses the processor determines whether or not a user is bored with the activity assuming that the user is not bored although the goal has not been achieved if an application related to the goal is used (Breznitz’s Col. 5, lines 1-13). See claim 1 motivation above.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0345078 A1 to Blahnik et al. (Blahnik) and US 6,632,174 B1 to Breznitz; in view of US 2021/0201242 A1 to Niwai et al. (Niwai).
As to claim 3, Blahnik discloses an activity continuation support device (100) comprising: a memory (104) (Fig. 1, Par. 21); and a processor (102) coupled to the memory (104) (Fig. 1, Par. 21) and configured to: detect user’s performance with certain activity based on a history (e.g. previous week) of an achievement status of a certain person for a goal for the activity (Par. 56); and update the goal based on the history in a case where the user’s performance is detected (Par. 56, e.g., a daily goal for a type of activity may be automatically updated based on the user's performance relative to the daily goal during the previous week).
Blahnik does not expressly disclose user’s performance induces boredom, and update the goal based on a goal achieved by another person different from the certain person.
Breznitz discloses the user’s performance induces boredom (e.g. too many errors in user’s performance may indicate that the goal is too hard thereby induces boredom) (Col. 5, lines 1-13).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blahnik with the teaching of Breznitz to provide an improved training exercise thereby improve user’s experience as suggested by Breznitz (Col. 3, lines 51-54).
Niwai discloses update the goal based on a goal achieved by another person different from the certain person (Fig. 3, Par. 90, e.g. selecting goal based on goal achieved by another person having the same job category or same behavior tendency).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blahnik with the teaching of Niwai to provide an ideal and realistic improvement as suggested by Niwai (Par. 89).
As to claim 4, Blahnik as modified discloses the another person is a person having an attribute similar to an attribute of the certain person in a predetermined standard (Fig. 3, Par. 90, e.g. selecting goal based on goal achieved by another person having the same job category or same behavior tendency). See claim 3 motivation above.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0345078 A1 to Blahnik et al. (Blahnik) and US 6,632,174 B1 to Breznitz; in view of US 2025/0363912 A1 to Shelly et al. (Shelly).
As to claim 11, Blahnik does not expressly disclose when the boredom is detected, a new updated goal estimated to be highly likely to be achievable based on the goal set and the history of the goal achievement information is calculated.
Shelly discloses when failure to complete the steps or errors made (e.g. boredom) is detected, a new updated goal estimated to be highly likely to be achievable based on the goal set and the history of the goal achievement information is calculated (Fig. 2, Par. 34).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Blahnik with the teaching of Shelly so as to not overwhelm the user as suggested by Shelly (Par. 34).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 4-5 of the Applicant’s Remarks, the Applicant argues that Blahnik and Breznitz do not teach “detect boredom with certain activity based on a history of achievement status of a certain person for a goal for the activity” since “Blahnik does not teach a system or device capable of distinguishing a lack of physical capability from an emotional or behavioral state of "boredom”, and “Breznitz is silent in evaluating a multi-day timeline or history of an achievement status (such as a multi-day walking tracker) to sense a trajectory of emotional detachment”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., evaluating a multi-day timeline or history of an achievement status (such as a multi-day walking tracker) to sense a trajectory of emotional detachment) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Moreover, Blahnik teaches the goal values can be determined based on the user's progress (e.g. achievement status) over a certain period of time and/or the training level selected by the user (Par. 56), and Breznitz teaches too many errors in user’s performance may indicate that the goal is too hard thereby induces boredom (Col. 5, lines 1-13, see also claim 12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 5,667,459 to Su teaches an exercise goal is updated as a result of the user's previous performance.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARURAT SUTEERAWONGSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623