DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 & 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2014/0277316).
Claim 1.
Chen et al. discloses:
An electrode:
E.G. via the disclosed medical lead 70 having segmented electrodes, including electrode 73 ([0049]; Figs. 4A-4B).
…comprising an inner metal layer:
E.G. via the disclosed electrode 73 having an inner portion 78 formed of metal [0049]. More specifically, Chen discloses an electrode preform 86 comprising an inner layer 90. The inner layer has the same or similar composition as inner portion 78 ([0049] & [0055]). Chen discloses that inner portion 78, and thus corresponding inner layer 90, may comprise titanium, titanium alloys, etc. [0054].
…and an outer metal layer…
E.G. via the disclosed electrode preform 86 having an outer layer 88 ([0055]; Figs. 5A-5D). Note that the outer layer 88 has the same or similar composition as outer portion 74 or electrode 73, [0059].
…the outer layer disposed at least partially around the inner metal layer…”
E.G. Chen expressly describes electrode preform 86 as a “substantially tubular structure” having outer layer 88 and inner layer 90 ([0059]; Fig 5A). As shown in Fig. 5A, outer layer 88 is positioned radially outside of and extends around inner layer 90. Chen therefore discloses the outer metal layer disposed at least partially around the inner metal layer.
…and diffusion bonded to the inner metal layer…
E.G. Chen discloses that inner layer 90 and outer layer 88 are mechanically coupled at interface 92 and expressly identifies diffusion bonding as a technique for coupling the layers [0059]. Chen further expressly discloses that inner portion 78 and outer portion 74 may be mechanically coupled by diffusion bonding [0051].
Claim 2.
Claim 2 is rejected for the reasons stated regarding claim 1.
…wherein the inner metal layer comprises titanium or a titanium alloy
E.G. Chen discloses inner portion 78 formed of titanium or titanium alloys, [0054]. Chen further discloses inner layer 90 having the same or similar composition as inner portion 78 [0055].
Claim 3.
Claim 3 is rejected for the reasons stated regarding claim 1.
…wherein the titanium alloy comprises titanium and one or more of tantalum, niobium, molybdenum, etc.
E.G. Chen discloses that the titanium alloy forming inner portion 78 may include molybdenum, niobium, tantalum, etc. [0054].
Claim 4.
Claim 4 is rejected for the reasons stated regarding claim 1.
…wherein the inner metal layer is a titanium-15 molybdenum alloy…
E.G. Chen expressly discloses that inner portion 78 may be formed of titanium alloys such as Ti-15Mo [0054]. Chen further discloses inner layer 90 having the same or similar compositions.
Claim 5.
Claim 5 is rejected for the reasons stated regarding claim 1.
…wherein the outer layer comprises platinum or a platinum alloy…
E.G. Chen discloses outer portion 74 formed of platinum or alloys of platinum [0052]. Chen further discloses outer layer 88 having the same or similar compositions as outer portion 74 [0055].
Claim 6.
Claim 6 is rejected for the reasons stated regarding claim 1.
…wherein the platinum alloy comprises platinum and iridum...
E.G. Chen expressly identifies platinum-iridium as a preferred material for outer portion 74 and discloses that outer portion 74 may consist essentially of Pt-Ir [0052]. Chen further discloses outer layer 88 having the same or similar composition as outer portion 74 [0055].
Claim 7.
Claim 7 is rejected for the reasons stated regarding claim 1.
…wherein the diffusion bonding is performed at a temperature between 730°C and 750°C
E.G. Chen discloses diffusion bonding titanium wire to Pt-10Ir at approx. 750°C ([0084]-[0085]).
…and for a time between 175 minutes and 300 minutes…
E.G. Chen discloses diffusion-bonding times of approx.. 30, 60, and 120 minutes, but does not expressly disclose a bonding time within 175-300 minutes ([0084]-[0085]). This limitation recites how the claimed electrode is manufactured and is therefor a product-by-process limitation. Chen nevertheless discloses the same diffusion-bonded electrode, and claim 7 does not recited a structural or performance characteristic distinguishing an electrode bonded for 175-300 minutes from Chen’s electrode. Accordingly, under the product-by-process analysis of MPEP §2113, Chen’s identical diffusion-bonded electrode anticipates claim 7 absent evidence that the claimed bonding time necessarily produces a structurally different product.
Claim 8.
Claim 8 is rejected for the reasons stated regarding claim 1.
…wherein the diffusion bonding is performed at a temperature between 730°C and 738°C
E.G. Chen discloses the diffusion-bonding at approx.. 750°C, rather than expressly within the claimed 730-738°C range. ([0084]-[0085]). The recited temperature is a product-by-process limitation that does not expressly define a structural difference in the resulting electrode.
…and for a time between 175 minutes and 200 minutes…
E.G. Chen discloses bonding durations of approx.. 30, 60, 120 minutes, rather than expressly within the claimed 175-200 minute range. ([0084]-[0085]). The recited duration is likewise a product-by-process limitation. Chen discloses the same diffusion-bonded, metal-clad electrode, and claim 8 does not recite any resulting diffusion-layer thickness, grain structure, bond strength, or other structural distinction. Therefore, under MPEP §2113, Chen’s diffusion-bonded electrode anticipates claim 8 absent evidence that the claimed processing conditions necessarily produce a structurally different electrode.
Claim 9.
Claim 9 is rejected for the reasons stated regarding claim 1.
…wherein the diffusion bonding occurs in a high-pressure environment…
E.G. Chen discloses diffusion bonding titanium and Pt-10lr at approx. 30 ksi. [0084], which constitutes a high-pressure environment.
…that includes an inert gas…
E.G. Chen discloses performing the diffusion bonding under 30 ksi Ar. “Ar” denotes argon, which is an inert gas [0084].
Claim 10.
Claim 10 is rejected for the reasons stated regarding claim 1.
…wherein the inert gas comprises Argon…
E.G. [0084].
…and wherein a pressure of the high-pressure environment is about 30,000 pound -force per square inch (psi)…
E.G. [0084].
Claim 19.
…an implantable neural stimulator…
E.G. via the disclosed implantable medical device 16 configured to provide neural stimulation, including deep-brain stimulation. ([0033]-[0036]; Fig. 1)
…a lead with a proximal end connectable to the implantable neural stimulator and a distal end that includes at least one electrode…
E.G. Leads 20 are connectable to implantable medical device 16 through lead extension 18 and connector block 30 and carry distal electrodes 24, 26 ([0033]-[0036]); Fig 1)
…an inner metal layer…
E.G. via the disclosed electrode preform 86 includes inner metal layer 90 ([0055]; Fig. 5A).
…an outer metal disposed at least partially around and diffusion bonded to the inner metal layer…
E.G. via the disclosed tubular outer metal layer 88 surrounds inner metal layer 90 and is diffusion bonded thereto ([0051], [0055], [0063]; Fig 5A.)
Claim 20.
…the inner metal layer comprises titanium or a titanium alloy…
E.G. via the disclosed inner portion 78 and corresponding inner layer 90 comprises titanium or titanium alloys ([0054]-[0055]).
…the outer metal layer comprises platinum or a platinum alloy…
E.G. via the disclosed outer portion 74 and corresponding outer layer 88 comprise platinum or platinum alloys, including Pt-Ir ([0052], [0055], [0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-18 & 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2014/0277316).
Claim 11.
Chen discloses:
…extruding an inner metal layer and an outer metal layer at least partially disposed around the inner metal layer…
E.G. Chen discloses a tubular electrode preform having outer metal layer 88 disposed around inner metal layer 90 and identifies co-extrusion as a technique for forming and coupling the layers ([0050], [0059]; Fig. 5A)
…diffusion bonding the inner metal layer and outer metal layer…”
E.G. Chen expressly teaches diffusion bonding the inner and outer metal layers ([0051], [0055], [0063]).
It would have been obvious to diffusion bond Chen’s co-extruded layers to strengthen the metallurgical interface and prevent peeling, a predictable use of Chen’s disclosed bonding techniques according to their established functions. See KSR.
Claim 12.
Chen renders claim 11 obvious as stated above.
Chen performs diffusion bonding at approx. 750°C and demonstrates that increasing bonding duration improves bond integrity and reduces peeling ([0084]-[0085]).
It would have been obvious to optimize Chen’s result-effective bonding duration, including to 175-300 minutes, to promote diffusion and improve bond strength. Chen’s 750°C falls within the claimed 730-750°C range.
Claim 13.
Chen renders claim 13 obvious as stated above.
It would have been obvious to optimize Chen’s irrelated temperature and time parameters by slightly reducing the temperature to 730-738°C while increasing the duration to 175-200 minutes to obtain sufficient diffusion and bond integrity. Such adjustment constitutes routine optimization of known result-effective variables.
Claim 14.
Chen renders claim 11 obvious as stated above and further discloses the inner metal layer comprising titanium or a titanium alloy ([0054]-[0055]).
See also the rejection of claim 2, incorporated herein.
Claim 15.
Chen renders claim 14 obvious and further discloses titanium alloys containing one or more of Mo, Nb, Ta, Zr, etc. [0054].
See also the rejection of claim 3, incorporated herein.
Claim 16.
Chen renders claim 11 obvious and expressly discloses inner layer 90 comprising Ti-15Mo ([0054]-[0055]).
See also the rejection of claim 4, incorporated herein.
Claim 17.
Chen renders claim 11 obvious and expressly discloses outer layer 88 comprising platinum or a platinum alloy ([0052], [0055]).
See also the rejection of claim 5, incorporated herein.
Claim 18.
Chen renders claim 17 obvious and expressly discloses the platinum alloy comprising platinum and iridium [0052].
See also the rejection of claim 6, incorporated herein.
Claim 21.
Chen discloses:
…the lead comprises a Ti-15mo wire…
E.G. Lead wire 80 comprises Ti-15mo ([0053], [0062]).
…that connects the at least one electrode to connector rings attached to the proximal end of the lead…
E.G. Chen’s lead wires electrically connect the distal electrodes to implantable device 16 and may be welded to a connector ring ([0033]-[0036], [0049], [0062])
It would have been obvious to position the connector ring at the proximal lead end to connect the distal electrode to the stimulator, a predictable placement of Chen’s connector according to its established function.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lim et al. (US 2004/0031869) is cited as pertinent art because it discloses an electrochemical-catalyst electrode having a porous metal substrate and an compatible inner covering layer that includes titanium and titanium dioxide. The reference is not relied upon in the rejection because it does not teach or suggest the remaining limitations of the presently claimed invention.
/NICOLE F JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796