DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings as filed seem to have portions missing from the figures (i.e. figures 1, 2, 4, 9C, etc. of applicant's drawings filed 4/28/25 seem to have a bottom portion missing or figure labels missing). Please submit a new set of drawings properly showing full illustrations of each figure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 16, the term "the bypasses" does not have proper antecedent basis within the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 9, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinrich et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2022/0311297 A1) in view of Bradfield (US Patent No.: 8508085).
For claim 1, Hinrich et al. disclose the claimed invention of a stator (reference numeral 1) of an electric machine (reference numeral 10, figure 1) with a stator axis and a stator laminated core (reference numeral 2) on which stator teeth (i.e. teeth radially extending on core 12, see figures 2, 3) and stator slots (i.e. slots in which conductors 4 are disposed, see figures 2, 3) lying between the stator teeth (see figures 2, 3) are formed and which comprises a plurality of laminations (reference numeral 12, see figure 1), wherein the stator slots (i.e. slots in which conductors 4 are disposed, see figures 2, 3) each extend in a radial direction with respect to the stator axis between a slot base (i.e. radially outer end of slots, see figures 2, 3) and a slot head (reference numeral 33, see figures 2, 3), wherein in the stator slots (i.e. grooves 3, figures 2, 3), a conductor bundle (reference numeral 4) comprising an individual conductor or multiple conductors (reference numeral 4) is provided to form an electric stator winding (see figures 2, 3), wherein a plurality of support points which are spaced apart from each other in an axial direction with respect to the stator axis are formed in each stator slot (i.e. grooves 3, figures 2, 3) to clamp the conductor or conductor bundle (reference numeral 4) lying in the respective stator slot (i.e. lamination core units 12 being turned for fixing the conductors 4 within the slots 3, see paragraph [0055], and figures 1-3), wherein at least one slot gap (reference numeral 23) is provided between slot flanks (i.e. walls of slot 3, figures 2, 3) of the respective stator slot (reference numeral 3) and the conductor or conductor bundle (reference numeral 4) arranged in the stator slot (see figures 2, 3), said slot gap forming a slot gap channel (i.e. gap 23 being the slot gap channel) extending in the axial direction, through which a cooling medium can flow along a slot cooling path (coolant flowing through channel 23, see paragraph [0046]), wherein the support points are each formed by twisting individual or a plurality of laminations of the stator laminated core (i.e. laminated core units 12 being turned to form support points, see paragraph [0055]). Hinrich et al. however do not specifically disclose at least one supply path being formed in the stator laminated core, which is provided for supplying cooling medium to the slot cooling paths and opens into the stator slots via a respective slot inlet, two slot cooling paths extending in opposite directions being provided in each stator slot, starting from the respective slot inlet, which exit as a free jet at ends of the respective stator slot via a slot outlet.
Bradfield discloses a supply path (reference numeral 46, see figures 1, 2) being formed in the stator laminated core (reference numeral 26, figure 2), which is provided for supplying cooling medium to the slot cooling paths (i.e. paths within slot 30, figure 2) and opens into the stator slots (reference numeral 30) via a respective slot inlet (i.e. inlet where coolant enters slot 30 after flowing through supply path 46, see figure 2), two slot cooling paths extending in opposite directions being provided in each stator slot (i.e. paths within slot 30, see figure 2), starting from the respective slot inlet (i.e. inlet where coolant enters slot 30 after flowing through supply path 46, see figure 2), which exit as a free jet at ends of the respective stator slot via a slot outlet (i.e. two slot cooling paths extending in opposite directions through slot 30 as shown in figure 2, and exit through the axial ends of the slot 30, see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the supply path and slot inlet as disclosed by Bradfield for the stator laminated core of Hinrich et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing the cooling of the stator components within the device.
For claim 4, Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield disclose the claimed invention except for the respective slot inlet opening into the slot base of the respective stator slot in a central axial section of the respective stator slot. Bradfield further discloses the slot inlet (i.e. inlet where coolant enters slot 30 after flowing through supply path 46, see figure 2) opening into the slot base (i.e. radially outer end of slot 30 when viewed in the axial direction) of the respective stator slot (reference numeral 30) in a central axial section of the respective stator slot (i.e. figure 2 shows the slot inlet being in the central axial direction where the coolant enters the axial slot 30, the slot base being the radially outer end of axial slot 30 when viewed along the axial direction, where figures 3A-3C shows the axial view of the slot 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the slot inlet in a central axial section of the stator slot as disclosed by Bradfield for the slot inlet of Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing the cooling of the stator components within the device.
For claim 6, Hinrich et al. disclose the flow channels (reference numeral 23, see figures 2-5) being identical for each slot (in each of figures 2-5, the configuration of flow channel 23 does not variate for adjacent slots 3 along the circumferential direction of core 12), therefore teaching an identical path of the slot cooling paths being provided for all the stator slots, i.e. a. for all stator slots, an identical path of the slot cooling paths is provided, or b. for a first set of stator slots, first slot cooling paths are provided, and for a second set of stator slots, second slot cooling paths extending in an opposite radial direction are provided.
For claim 7, Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield disclose the claimed invention except for the two slot cooling paths extending in opposite directions for each stator slot being supplied with cooling medium by a common slot inlet or by two separate slot inlets separated from each other by one of the support points. Bradfield further discloses the two slot cooling paths extending in opposite directions (i.e. paths of the coolant shown in figure 2 going in opposite directions within slot 30) being supplied with coolant from a common slot inlet (i.e. one path 46 provided for the two cooling paths within slot 30, see figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a common slot inlet as disclosed by Bradfield for supplying the cooling medium in the slot cooling paths of Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing the cooling of the stator components within the device.
For claim 9, Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield disclose the claimed invention except for the stator slots being closed by at least one slot closure to seal the slot cooling paths, wherein a. the stator slots in the slot head have slot openings, wherein a strip-shaped slot closure is provided as a separate element in each slot opening, or wherein a single sleeve-shaped or tubular slot closure is configured as a separate element for closing all slot openings, or b. the slot closures are each formed by a tooth head bridge that is part of one of the laminations, connects tooth heads of adjacent stator teeth. Bradfield further discloses a slot closure (i.e. slot liner 58 representing the slot closure, see figure 4) to seal the slot cooling paths, wherein the stator slots (reference numeral 30) in the slot head have slot openings (i.e. slot openings at a radially inner side of stator slot 30, see figure 4), wherein a strip-shaped slot closure is provided as a separate element in each slot opening, or wherein a single sleeve-shaped or tubular slot closure (see figure 5, reference numeral 58) is configured as a separate element for closing all slot openings (slot closure 58 being used to close the slot opening of stator slot 30, see figure 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the slot closure as disclosed by Bradfield for closing the slot openings for Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing the cooling of the stator components within the device.
For claim 13, Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield already disclose the stator of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but do not specifically disclose an electric machine with a stator according to claim 1 and with a rotor, wherein the rotor is arranged in a cylindrical rotor space and the stator is arranged in a stator space annularly surrounding the rotor space, wherein the stator space and the rotor space are not spatially separated. Bradfield further discloses the electric machine having a stator (reference numeral 24) and rotor (reference numeral 22, see figure 1), the rotor (reference numeral 22) arranged in a cylindrical rotor space and the stator (reference numeral 24) arranged in a stator space annularly surrounding the rotor space (see figure 1), wherein the stator space and the rotor space are not spatially separated (i.e. no separate element separating rotor 22 and stator 24, see figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rotor and stator configuration as disclosed by Bradfield for the stator of Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper operational function of the device.
For claim 15, Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield disclose the claimed invention except for the cooling medium being oil. Bradfield further disclose the coolant being oil (see column 3, lines 32-36), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the oil as disclosed by Bradfield for the cooling medium of Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing the cooling of the stator components within the device.
For claim 17, Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield disclose the claimed invention except for the respective slot inlet opening into the slot base of the respective stator slot in an axial center of the respective stator slot. Bradfield further discloses the slot inlet (i.e. inlet where coolant enters slot 30 after flowing through supply path 46, see figure 2) opening into the slot base (i.e. radially outer end of slot 30 when viewed in the axial direction) of the respective stator slot (reference numeral 30) in an axial center of the respective stator slot (i.e. figure 2 shows the slot inlet being in an axial center where the coolant enters the axial slot 30, the slot base being the radially outer end of axial slot 30 when viewed along the axial direction, where figures 3A-3C shows the axial view of the slot 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the slot inlet in an axial center of the stator slot as disclosed by Bradfield for the slot inlet of Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing the cooling of the stator components within the device.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ichikawa et al. (US Patent No.: 6897594).
For claim 14, Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield disclose the claimed invention except for the multiple conductors, including a stack of flat wire conductors. Having flat wire conductors is a known skill as exhibited by Ichikawa et al. (reference numeral 331, see figure 3), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the flat wire conductors as disclosed by Ichikawa et al. for the conductors of Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper operational function of the device.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Viewegh et al. (US Patent No.: 4264835).
For claim 19, Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield disclose the claimed invention except for the tooth head bridge having a reduced magnetic conductivity. Viewegh et al. disclose a bridge portion (reference numeral 5, figure 1) made of thermoplastic material (see column 2, lines 4-8) between stator teeth (reference numeral 1, figure 1), the material for the bridge portion can be considered to have reduced magnetic conductivity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tooth head bridge having reduced magnetic conductivity as disclosed by Viewegh et al. for the slot closure of Hinrich et al. in view of Bradfield for predictably providing desirable configuration for achieving optimal magnetic properties for the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 8, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3, 11, 12, 18, and 20 are also objected to for their dependency upon aforementioned claims 2, 8, and 10.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the prior art discloses some of the claimed invention as explained above in the present action, the prior art of record do not sufficiently disclose the combination of features including the respective slot cooling path being at least narrowed at the support points, wherein a bypass is provided at each support point to guide the cooling medium past the respective narrowed support point, wherein the bypasses of the respective stator slot are formed alternately in the slot base or in the slot head starting from the respective slot inlet along the respective slot cooling path as disclosed in claim 2; the respective slot inlet in the respective stator slot lying between two support points, whose axial distance from each other is less than a distance between other adjacent support points as disclosed in claim 5; the first slot cooling paths of the first set of stator slots which can be supplied with cooling medium via first slot inlets and the second slot cooling paths of the second set of stator slots which can be supplied with cooling medium via second slot inlets, wherein an axial offset is provided in the axial direction between the first and second slot inlets as disclosed in claim 8; and the respective slot closure comprising multiple barriers spaced apart from each other in the axial direction for the respective slot cooling path, and wherein a passage as bypass for the respective slot cooling path is formed between adjacent barriers of the same stator slot as disclosed in claim 10.
Claims 3, 11, 12, 18, and 20 are dependent upon claims 2, 8, and 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of stator teeth/cooling configurations: US 10938259 B2 (Krizan; Jacob et al.), US 10141798 B2 (Rogginger; Christoph et al.), US 9099900 B2 (Glubrecht; Dale), US 7982352 B2 (Nymann; Ole et al.), US 7786634 B2 (Harju; Bert Ivan), US 7592045 B2 (Smith; James D. B. et al.), US 6998749 B2 (Wada; Hitoshi et al.).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834