DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the front element (cl. 1); coupling unit (cl. 1); adjustment unit assigned to the front region of the pull-out rail (cl. 2); snap-in coupling (cl. 4); bracket receptacle is formed on the sides of the furniture pull-out (cl. 6); must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses legal terminology, specifically “means”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 5-6, & 13, the phrase “in particular” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 7-8, 12, & 14, the term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 9, the addition of the word “like” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite, because it is unclear what “plate-like” is intended to convey. See MPEP 2173.05(b)(III)(E).
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “for example” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2-15 are indefinite due to dependence upon an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Netzer (20120319548).
Regarding claim 1, Netzer teaches an adjustment device (Fig. 4) for a furniture pull-out (2) for furniture, in particular a drawer, which has a front element (2a) extending in a width direction of the furniture pull-out, a rear wall (2d) arranged opposite the front element and at least two side parts (2c) extending between the front element and the rear wall (Fig. 1), wherein the furniture pull-out is guided so as to be movable relative to a furniture body by means of at least one guide unit (3a-3c) belonging to the adjustment device, wherein the guide unit comprises a body rail (3c) which can be fastened to the furniture body and at least one pull-out rail (3a) which is mounted so as to be displaceable relative to the body rail and is coupled to the furniture pull-out via at least one coupling unit (5, 7, 11, 18-19), and wherein the adjustment device comprises at least one adjustment unit (7, 18, 19), wherein in the adjustment unit is assigned to the rear end of the pull-out rail and has a base body (19) which can be fastened to the furniture pull-out and on which an actuating element (18) and an actuating member (7) are mounted so as to be movable in such a way that the actuating element can be adjusted relative to the base body by actuating the actuating element in order to adjust the relative position between the furniture pull-out and the pull-out rail in the width direction in the region of the rear end of the pull-out rail (Fig. 6a-7c).
Regarding claim 2, Netzer teaches at least one adjustment unit (7, 18, 19) assigned to the front region of the pull-out rail (3a) for adjusting the relative position between the furniture pull-out and the pull-out rail in the width direction in the region of the front end of the pull-out rail (note that 5 is connected to the front end & capable of performing such adjustment).
Regarding claim 3, Netzer teaches an adjustment unit (5) that is part of the coupling unit (5 & connection between 5 & 3a).
Regarding claim 7, Netzer teaches a rear wall holder (17 & A in Fig. 5a Annotated) for connecting an associated side part to the rear wall of the furniture pull-out, wherein the rear wall holder preferably has a fastening interface (21) to which the adjustment unit (7, 18, 19) can be fastened or is fastened.
Regarding claim 8, Netzer teaches a rear wall holder (17 & A) designed as an angle profile with a first profile leg (17) assigned to the side part and a second profile leg (A) associated with the rear wall and fastenable thereto, wherein the fastening interface (21) for fastening the adjustment unit (7, 18, 19) is preferably formed on the second profile leg.
Regarding claim 9, Netzer teaches a base body (19) that is plate-like (see Fig. 5a, showing 19 have planar portions like a plate).
Regarding claim 10, Netzer teaches an actuating element (18) mounted pivotably on the base body (19) by means of pivot bearing means (22), wherein the pivoting movement of the actuating element can be triggered by actuating the actuating element (par. 85-86 & Figs. 7a-7c).
Regarding claim 15, Netzer teaches a furniture (1) with a furniture pull-out (2) guided so as to be movable relative to a furniture body (Fig. 1) via a guide unit (3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Netzer (20120319548) in view of Auer (20200237094). Netzer teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a coupling unit (5, 7, 11, 18-19) for locking pull-out rail (3a) and the furniture pull-out (2); but fail(s) to teach a snap-in coupling. However, Auer teaches designing a coupling unit (1) as a snap-in coupling (par. 53). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to design the coupling unit of Netzer as a snap-in coupling, as taught by Auer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the coupling unit to be attached & detached without tools. Hence, Netzer as modified would teach a coupling unit (5, 7, 11, 18-19, & snap-in connection between 5 & 3a of Netzer) designed as a snap-in coupling (as in par. 53 of Auer) for releasably locking a pull-out rail (3a of Netzer) and a furniture pull-out (2 of Netzer).
Claims 5-6 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Netzer (20120319548) in view of Roedder (20160025124).
Regarding claims 5-6, Netzer teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a coupling unit (5, 7, 11, 18-19) assigned to the rear area of a pull-out rail (3a) via coupling means (i.e., unspecified connection between 5 & 3a); but fail(s) to teach a coupling lug or lug receptacle. However, Roedder teaches a coupling device (2d, 16) assigned to a rear area of a pull-out rail (2) in addition to a coupling unit (3-6), with a coupling lug (2d), in particular in the form of a hook (par. 51), and a lug receptacle (16) for receiving the coupling lug, which are designed such that the clear width of the bracket receptacle (16) is greater than the width of the coupling bracket (2d) so that width compensation is possible (Figs. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute a coupling device, as taught by Roedder, for the coupling means of Netzer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the coupling unit to be attached & detached without tools. Hence, Netzer as modified would teach a wherein the coupling bracket (24 of Roedder) formed in particular on an upper side of the pull-out rail (3a of Netzer) and the bracket receptacle (16 of Roedder) is formed (indirectly, via 2d & 5 of Netzer) on the sides (2c of Netzer) of the furniture pull-out (2 of Netzer).
Regarding claim 13, Netzer as modified teaches an actuating element has an engagement section (16 of Roedder) for engaging a component of the pull-out rail, in particular the suspension hook (24 of Roedder), which can be displaced relative to the associated component of the pull-out rail for the purpose of width compensation during the adjustment movement of the actuating element, which is triggered in particular by pivoting (as in Figs. 1-4 of Roedder).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Netzer (20120319548) in view of Holzer (20120292465). Netzer teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including an actuating element (18); but fail(s) to teach an adjustment wheel. However, Holzer teaches actuating means (8, 21) comprising actuating element is designed as an adjustment wheel (8) which is rotatably arranged on a base body (13), wherein the rotary movement of the adjustment wheel can be converted into the swivel movement of an actuating element (16) by means of conversion means (15, 21) acting between the adjustment wheel and the actuating element, wherein the conversion means comprise a worm guide (15) with a worm groove (Fig. 5) and a guide pin (21) which is immersed in the worm groove and is positively guided therein (Fig. 6b-6c), the worm groove preferably being formed on the adjustment wheel and the guide pin on the actuator (Figs. 5-6b). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute actuating means, as taught by Holzer, for the actuating element of Netzer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate lateral adjustment of the drawer, and because such an outcome would have been a predictable result of such a substitution of one known actuating means for another.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Netzer (20120319548) in view of Klaus (20170105525). Netzer teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including an adjustment unit (7, 18, 19) made of an unspecified material; but fail(s) to teach making an adjustment unit from steel. However, Klaus teaches making an adjustment unit (81) from metal material such as steel (par. 61). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the adjustment unit of Netzer from steel, as taught by Klaus, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the its strength & durability.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW ING whose telephone number is (571)272-6536. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at (571) 270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW W ING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637