DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 29 April, 2025.
Claims 1 - 20 has been amended by an amendment filed on 29 April, 2025.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite limitations that may reasonably be interpreted as being directed to an abstract mental process. For example, each of the independent claims determine an idle state of a medical device from a status indicator. A medical device may either be “idle” – i.e. in a state where the device is not delivering care to a patient; or not idle – i.e. in a state where the device is delivering care to a patient. The specification describes how performing a maintenance function competes with computing resources that are also required for performing clinical functions; and therefore should not be performed at the same time. The broadest reasonable interpretation of determining the status is observing the operating state displayed on a GUI. On of ordinary skill in the art can determine if a medical device is idle simply by looking at it. The claims determine the idle state, and either perform or prevent a maintenance function based on the idle state. The maintenance function is either performed or prevented by notifying the maintenance function using an APIU when the medical device is idle, and denying a maintenance request when the medical device is not idle. This functionality improves the functioning of the medical device, which further applies the judicial exception using a particular machine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 14 and 16 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Page et al.: (US PGPUB 2020/0013501 A1).
CLAIMS 1 and 16
Page discloses a system and method for medical equipment maintenance management that includes the following limitations:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions readable and executable by at least one electronic processor to perform a method of governing automated maintenance of a medical device; (Page 0017 – 0019, 0022, 0023), the method comprising:
determining at least one status indicator of a medical device; determining, from the at least one status indicator, an idle state of the medical device; wherein the idle state is idle when the medical device is not performing patient medical care and is not idle when the medical device is performing patient medical care; (Page 0004, 0005, 0014, 0030, 0051, 0057, 0062, 0063); and
when the idle state of the medical device is idle, performing a maintenance function on the medical device; preventing a maintenance function on the medical device from being performed when the idle state of the medical device is not idle; (Page 0023, 0073, 0088, 0099).
Page discloses a medical device data processing system that includes a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions executed by a processor for performing automated maintenance of a medical device. Page determines an idle state of the medical device from a status indicator of the device. For example, Page receives and analyzes streaming time series data including medical device machine data relative to alarms, device status, settings, messages, and measured operational data (i.e. at least one status indicator), to determine an operational status of the medical device. The status may be indicative that the medical device is turned on, in use, in operation, in a stand-by condition (i.e. an idle state), or turned off. The medical device machine data is used to manage the schedule for maintenance of the medical device. In particular, Page discloses tracking the actual operational use of the medical device and performing maintenance after a procedure is completed, and between procedures, based on an estimated maintenance time. This includes preventing maintenance when the procedure is not completed – i.e. when the medical device is not idle.
CLAIMS 2 and 17
Page discloses the limitations above relative to Claims 1 and 16. Additionally, Page discloses the following limitations:
wherein the at least one status indicator includes one or more of a user dialog of a graphical user interface (GUI) currently being displayed on the medical device, automatic log entries being generated by the medical device, and sensor readings of the medical device; (Page 0025, 0044, 0053, 0055, 0066, 0070, 0075, 0081, 0089, 0090, 0093).
Page discloses determining the status of the medical device using log entries and sensor readings and a GUI displaying a dashboard of current status and scheduling.
CLAIMS 3 - 6, 18 and 19
Page discloses the limitations above relative to Claims 1 and 16. Additionally, Page discloses the following limitations:
estimating a time interval over which the medical device is expected to be in the idle state; a time interval over which the medical device is expected to be in the not idle state; (Page 0057, 0070, 0073, 0074, 0088, 0097, 0099);
performing the maintenance function process within the estimated time interval; (Page 0023, 0073, 0088, 0099);
wherein the estimating is performed by a machine-learning model; training the machine-learning model with historical data related to the idle state and the estimated time interval; (Page 0030, 0046, 0057, 0083, 0085, 0100).
Page discloses estimating a time interval for completing a procedure (i.e. not idle) and for completing maintenance (i.e. idle), using machine learning techniques including training using historical data.
CLAIM 8
Page discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 1. Additionally, Page discloses the following limitations:
wherein the idle state is idle when the medical device is not performing patient medical care and is not idle when the medical device is performing patient medical care; (Page 0057, 0062).
Page discloses a medical device is idle when not providing care, and not idle when it is providing care.
CLAIM 20
Page discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 16. Additionally, Page discloses the following limitations:
determining that the idle state of the medical device has changed from not idle to idle; and performing the maintenance function process in response to the determination that the idle state of the medical device has changed from not idle to idle; (Page 0057, 0073, 0088, 0099).
Page discloses determining that the medical device status changed to idle and performing maintenance during the estimated idle period of time.
CLAIM 9
Page discloses a system and method for medical equipment maintenance management that includes the following limitations:
a network interface operative to connect the medical device with an electronic data network; an electronic processor; and a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions readable and executable by the electronic processor to implement processing modules; (Page 0018, 0019, 0021); including:
a medical function module operative to control the medical device to perform patient medical care; (Page 0014, 0022, 0039, 0046);
at least one maintenance module operative to perform at least one maintenance function on the medical device utilizing the network interface; (Page 0033, 0059, 0060, 0081 - 0084);
an idle assessment module operative to determine whether the medical device is idle or is performing patient medical care; (Page 0014, 0051, 0062, 0065, 0072 – 0074, 0079); and
an application programming interface (API) interfacing the idle assessment module and the at least one maintenance module to control the at least one maintenance module to perform the at least one maintenance function when the medical device is idle and not when the medical device is performing patient medical care; (Page 0039, 0054).
Page discloses a medical device comprising a network interface and a data processor that includes a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions executed by a processor for performing automated maintenance of a medical device. Page includes automated controls, (i.e. modules), for the medical device via control applications, for performing maintenance functions, and determining an idle state of the medical device. For example, Page receives and analyzes streaming time series data including medical device machine data relative to alarms, device status, settings, messages, and measured operational data to determine an operational status of the medical device. The status may be indicative that the medical device is turned on, in use, in operation, in a stand-by condition (i.e. an idle state), or turned off. The medical device machine data is used to manage the schedule for maintenance of the medical device. In particular, Page discloses tracking the actual operational use of the medical device and performing maintenance after a procedure is completed, and between procedures, based on an estimated maintenance time. This includes preventing maintenance when the procedure is not completed – i.e. when the medical device is not idle.
CLAIM 10
Page discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 9. Additionally, Page discloses the following limitations:
wherein the medical device is one of: a medical imaging device, wherein the medical function module is operative to control the medical imaging device to acquire medical images; a patient monitor, wherein the medical function module is operative to control the patient monitor to acquire one or more physiological signals; a mechanical ventilator, wherein the medical function module is operative to control the mechanical ventilator to administer mechanical ventilation; or a radiation therapy device, wherein the medical function module is operative to control the radiation therapy device to deliver therapeutic radiation; (Page 0022).
Page discloses each of the recited devices. (Only one is required.)
CLAIM 11
Page discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 9. With respect to the following limitations:
wherein the at least one maintenance module operative to at least one of: monitor network traffic via the network interface to detect network traffic anomalies; transfer, via the network interface, stored log data generated by the medical device; perform backup of data stored at the medical device via the network interface; and/or transfer medical data collected by the medical device via the network interface; (Page 0027 – 0030, 0053, 0075, 0081, 0089).
Page discloses storing log data generated by the medical device and medical data via a network.
CLAIMS 12 - 14
Page discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 9. Additionally, Page discloses the following limitations:
a display presenting a graphical user interface (GUI) via which the medical device can be controlled; (Page 0039);
wherein the idle assessment module is operative to determine whether the medical device is idle or is performing patient medical care based at least on a current user dialog of the GUI; (Page 0038, 0039, 0054, 0058);
wherein the idle assessment module is operative to determine whether the medical device is idle or is performing patient medical care based at least on automatic log entries and/or sensor readings generated by the medical device; (Page 0025, 0044, 0053, 0055, 0066, 0070, 0075, 0081, 0089, 0090, 0093);
wherein the idle assessment module is further operative to estimate a time interval over which the medical device is expected to be idle; (Page 0057, 0070, 0073, 0074, 0088, 0097, 0099); and
the API interfaces the idle assessment module and the at least one maintenance module to control the at least one maintenance module to perform the at least one maintenance function during the estimated time interval over which the medical device is expected to be idle; (Page 0023, 0073, 0088, 0099).
Page discloses displaying a GUI indicating the idle status of the medical device, and controls for the device. Page determine the idle status of the medical device and an estimated idle time interval by analyzing log entries and sensor readings. Page uses API techniques to control maintenance functions when the medical device is idle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page et al.: (US PGPUB 2020/0013501 A1) in view of Fluman et al.: (US PGPUB 2015/0067252 A1).
CLAIMS 7 and 15
Page discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 6 and 9 respectively. With respect to the following limitations:
determining that the idle state of the medical device has changed from idle to not idle; and stopping the maintenance function process in response to the determination that the idle state of the medical device has changed from idle to not idle; control the at least one maintenance module to stop any currently executing maintenance function in response to the idle assessment module determining a switch of the medical device from idle to performing patient medical care; (Fluman 0003, 0005, 0006, 0024, 0030, 0032, 0034 – 0036).
Page discloses determining changes in use states but does not expressly teach determining a change/switch from idle to not idle and stopping the maintenance process. Fluman discloses a system and method for performing maintenance tasks on a device. The system identifies maintenance tasks to be performed on a device, a time required to perform the maintenance tasks and an idle time of the device. The system performs the maintenance task when required idle time is available. The maintenance task is continued until completed, or until interrupted by an I/O request. The maintenance task with be halted in response to the request. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the maintenance management system of Page so as to have included stopping the maintenance task when the medical device is becomes not idle, in accordance with the teaching of Fluman, in order to prioritize processing tasks with a higher importance.
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2006/0190938 A1 to Capek et al. discloses a system and method for determining idle times for running maintenance tasks.
US PGPUB 2010/0131792 A1 to Herrod discloses a system and method for determining an idle state and scheduling maintenance during the idle periods.
US PGPUB 2015/0095913 A1 to Hsu-Hung et al. discloses a system and method for determining an idle state and scheduling maintenance during the idle periods.
US PGPUB 2023/0014795 A1 to Khan et al. discloses a system and method for determining an idle state and scheduling maintenance during the idle periods.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to John A. Pauls whose telephone number is (571) 270-5557. The Examiner can normally be reached on Mon. - Fri. 8:00 - 5:00 Eastern. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Robert Morgan can be reached at (571) 272-6773.
Official replies to this Office action may now be submitted electronically by registered users of the EFS-Web system. Information on EFS-Web tools is available on the Internet at: http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/index.jsp. An EFS-Web Quick-Start Guide is available at: http://www.uspto.gov/ebc/portal/efs/quick-start.pdf.
Alternatively, official replies to this Office action may still be submitted by any one of fax, mail, or hand delivery. Faxed replies should be directed to the central fax at (571) 273-8300. Mailed replies should be addressed to “Commissioner for Patents, PO Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.” Hand delivered replies should be delivered to the “Customer Service Window, Randolph Building, 401 Dulany Street, Alexandria, VA 22314.”
/JOHN A PAULS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683
Date: 9 September, 2026