Examiner Remarks
Claims 3 and 11-12 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/29/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 4/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/20/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 4/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil (US Patent Pub. 2020/0236086) in view of Kiley (US Patent Pub. 20130325935).
As per claims 1, 13 and 23: (Currently Amended) Patil discloses a method to be implemented in a first electronic device to enhance privacy in a network, comprising (see abstract):
determining whether a first packet supports privacy preservation based on a first packet header of the first packet (Paragraph 54; deep packet inspection may be performed to facilitate score evaluation by SDN manager 184. For example, deep packet inspection may be performed using agent 151 and/or hypervisor-A 114A to inspect operations performed by VM1 131 operated by user 191 and report related event information to SDN manager 182);
causing the one or more operations to be performed on the first packet, wherein the one or more operations to be performed on the first packet comprise a privacy preservation operation including implementation of a first privacy preservation protocol for the first packet in the network to comply with the first level of data sharing privilege (Paragraph 38; SDN manager 184 generates and sends control information to instruct host-A 110A to apply firewall rules 281-286 using DFW engine 118A based on score=100 assigned to user 191. Host-A 110A stores firewall rules 281-286 and apply them to packets originating from source IP address=IP1 associated with VM1 131 operated by user 191).
Patel does not specifically disclose identifying one or more operations to be performed on the first packet corresponding to a first privacy policy of the first packet based on the first packet upon determining that the first packet supports privacy preservation, the first privacy policy indicating a first level of data sharing privilege mapped to a first setting configured for a first user (See Kiley; claim 1; a HyperText Transport Protocol (HTTP) request is generated by a user agent running on an Internet-enabled device. The HTTP request includes multiple HTTP header fields complying with Request for Comments (RFC) 2616. Each of the HTTP header fields includes a name-value pair having a name separated from a value by a colon. The value of the name-value pair of an HTTP header field is set based on a privacy setting or a data sharing setting that was established based on input received from an end user of the Internet-enabled device. A web server is directed by the user agent to return content tailored in accordance with the privacy setting or the data sharing setting by transmitting the HTTP request to the web server).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Patil and Kiley in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Patil for stores firewall rules and apply them to packets by adopting Kiley's teaching for where user configured privacy settings and data sharing preference dictate how communication fields are structured. The motivation would have been to improve privacy in a network.
As per claims 2 and 14: (Currently Amended) The combination of Patil and Kiley discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a first set of bits in the first packet header of the first packet is used to determine that the first packet supports privacy preservation, and wherein a second set of bits in the corresponding payload of the first packet indicates the first privacy preservation protocol (See Patil; Paragraph 15; The term “packet” may refer generally to a group of bits that can be transported together, and may be in another form, such as “frame,” “message,” “segment,” etc. The term “traffic” or “flow” may refer generally to multiple packets) (claim 1; wherein the value of the name-value pair of an HTTP header field of the plurality of HTTP header fields is set based on a privacy setting or a data sharing setting that was established based on input received from an end user of the Internet-enabled device; and directing, by the user agent, a web server to return content tailored in accordance with the privacy setting or the data sharing setting by transmitting the HTTP request to the web server).
As per claim 4: (Currently Amended) The combination of Patil and Kiley discloses the method of claim 1, wherein identifying the one or more operations to be performed on the first packet comprises decrypting the first packet received from a second electronic device that inserts a plurality of bits mapped to the first privacy policy into the first packet (See Kiley; Paragraph 104; the encryption/decryption controller 314 contains the current encryption and decryption libraries).
As per claim 5: (Original) The combination of Patil and Kiley discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the second electronic device further encrypts a portion of the first packet to prevent the portion of the first packet to be decrypted by the first electronic device (See Kiley; Paragraph 156; a header of the augmented HTTP request 820 is shown after being received and decrypted by a server).
As per claims 6 and 16: (Currently Amended) The combination of Patil and Kiley discloses the method of any of claim 1, wherein implementing the first privacy preservation protocol comprises forwarding the first packet to a plurality of electronic devices that are qualified to implement the first privacy preservation protocol (See Kiley; claim 1; a HyperText Transport Protocol (HTTP) request is generated by a user agent running on an Internet-enabled device. The HTTP request includes multiple HTTP header fields complying with Request for Comments (RFC) 2616. Each of the HTTP header fields includes a name-value pair having a name separated from a value by a colon. The value of the name-value pair of an HTTP header field is set based on a privacy setting or a data sharing setting that was established based on input received from an end user of the Internet-enabled device. A web server is directed by the user agent to return content tailored in accordance with the privacy setting or the data sharing setting by transmitting the HTTP request to the web server).
As per claims 7 and 17: (Currently Amended) The combination of Patil and Kiley discloses the method of any of claim 1, wherein the one or more operations further comprise removing information that the first user has no privilege to share (See Patil; Paragraph 25; completely trusting user 191/192 once they have been authenticated, a score that reflects the trustworthiness associated with user 191/192 may be dynamically adjusted to restrict access).
As per claims 8 and 18: (Currently Amended) The combination of Patil and Kiley discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that a second packet includes no bits that indicate a privacy policy; and inserting a plurality of bits that indicate a second level of data sharing privilege into the second packet based on the second level of data sharing privilege mapped to a second setting configured for a second user (See Kiley; claim 1; a HyperText Transport Protocol (HTTP) request is generated by a user agent running on an Internet-enabled device. The HTTP request includes multiple HTTP header fields complying with Request for Comments (RFC) 2616. Each of the HTTP header fields includes a name-value pair having a name separated from a value by a colon. The value of the name-value pair of an HTTP header field is set based on a privacy setting or a data sharing setting that was established based on input received from an end user of the Internet-enabled device. A web server is directed by the user agent to return content tailored in accordance with the privacy setting or the data sharing setting by transmitting the HTTP request to the web server).
As per claims 9 and 19: (Original) The combination of Patil and Kiley discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the plurality of bits indicates a second privacy preservation protocol to be implemented in the network to comply with the second level of data sharing privilege (See Patil; Paragraph 15; The term “packet” may refer generally to a group of bits that can be transported together, and may be in another form, such as “frame,” “message,” “segment,” etc. The term “traffic” or “flow” may refer generally to multiple packets) (claim 1; wherein the value of the name-value pair of an HTTP header field of the plurality of HTTP header fields is set based on a privacy setting or a data sharing setting that was established based on input received from an end user of the Internet-enabled device; and directing, by the user agent, a web server to return content tailored in accordance with the privacy setting or the data sharing setting by transmitting the HTTP request to the web server).
As per claims 10 and 20: (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying one or more operations to be performed on a third packet corresponding to a third privacy policy of the third packet based on the third packet, the third privacy policy indicating a third level of data sharing privilege mapped to a third setting configured for a third user (See Patil; Paragraph 25; data center security may be improved by using a “score-based” approach to dynamically evaluate whether to allow or block access by user 191/192 to a particular resource. Instead of completely trusting user 191/192 once they have been authenticated), wherein the one or more operations are to audit one or more privacy preservation operations that have performed on the third packet (See Patil; Paragraph 25; a score that reflects the trustworthiness associated with user 191/192 may be dynamically adjusted to restrict access); and
indicating that the third packet complies with the third privacy policy upon determining that the one or more privacy preservation operations on the third packet are in compliance with the third privacy policy (See Patil; Paragraph 25).
As per claim 15: (Original) The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the second set of bits are set for the first privacy policy of the first packet based on a selection table with entries each mapping to a privacy policy (See Patil; Paragraph 16; Forwarding tables 116A-B may each include entries that collectively implement the respective logical switches. Further, logical DRs that provide logical layer-3 connectivity may be implemented collectively by DR instances 117A-B and represented internally using routing tables (not shown) at respective DR instances 117A-B. The routing tables may each include entries that collectively implement the respective logical DRs).
As per claim 21: (Currently Amended) The electronic device of claim 20, wherein the indication is inserted into packet header of the third packet (See Patil; Paragraph 25; data center security may be improved by using a “score-based” approach to dynamically evaluate whether to allow or block access by user 191/192 to a particular resource. Instead of completely trusting user 191/192 once they have been authenticated).
As per claim 22: (Original) The electronic device of claim 20, wherein the third packet is discarded upon determining that the one or more privacy preservation operations on the third packet have violated the third privacy policy (See Patil; Paragraph 25; a score that reflects the trustworthiness associated with user 191/192 may be dynamically adjusted to restrict access).
Relevant Prior Art References
The following prior art is cited as being of interest to the claimed invention but has not been applied in any of the current rejections.
Cebere et al.- US Patent Publication 2022/0140996- the prior art teaches techniques for privacy-preserving domain name service.
Meaburn et al.- US Patent Pub. 2021/0194879 - the prior art teaches techniques for domain name security.
Norum et al.- US Patent Pub. 2017/0093802 - the prior art teaches techniques for improving confidence that received resource records are from a trusted source.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408