The preliminary amendment filed 4/29/2025 has been entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/29/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 recites the limitation "the optical axis" and “the main optical axis”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the optical axis is the same as the main optical axis. The examiner is interpreting the main optical axis as the same as the optical axis.
Claims 2-14 are rejected since they are dependent upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Go (US 2022/0026038).
Claim 1: As best understood, Go discloses a luminous device comprising at least light-emitting means (110, 120, fig. 1), a collimator (130, fig. 1) (collimator lenses, see para [0045]) and a microlens array (200, fig. 1), the light-emitting means (110, 120) being configured to emit light rays in the direction (see fig. 8) of the microlens array (200) via the collimator (130), the microlens array (200) includes at least an array of entrance microlenses (210, fig. 1), an array of exit microlenses (220, fig. 1), and a mask (300, fig. 8) interposed between the two arrays of microlenses (212, 222, fig. 8), the microlens array (200) being configured to form light-guiding channels (see fig. 8) that are respectively arranged between at least one entrance microlens (212, fig. 8) and one exit microlens (222, fig. 8), the mask (300, fig. 8) includes mask segments (310, 320, fig. 8) that are each placed in one respective light-guiding channel (see fig. 8), with the light-emitting means (110, 120) including a plurality of selectively addressable light sources (110, 120), the collimator (130) being common to the plurality of light sources (110, 120) and configured to shape the light rays emitted by a light source into a beam of substantially parallel rays directed in the direction of the microlens array (see fig. 8), a tilt angle of the beam of substantially parallel rays (angle of parallel rays has varying tilt angles due to position of light source with respect to the microlens array) with respect to an optical axis differing depending on the light source activated (see fig. 3), the at least one light-guiding channel (see fig. 8) is arranged along the optical axis (C, fig. 3) and is bounded at one longitudinal end by a single entrance microlens (212, fig. 8), which is configured to focus the beams of substantially parallel rays onto a focal zone (F, fig. 8) on the mask segment (310), which is placed in the light-guiding channel (see fig. 8) and the position of which on the mask segment differs depending on the tilt angle of the beam of substantially parallel rays (position on the mask segment varies due to position of light source with respect to microlens array), the single entrance microlens (212) thus being configured to direct the rays onto various focal zones (F) depending on the tilt angle of the beam of substantially parallel rays (arrangement of Go is similar to claimed arrangement and therefore can direct the rays onto various focal zones depending on tilt angle), the mask segment (310) placed at least one light-guiding channel includes a plurality of apertures (apertures 313, fig. 9) (transmission hole, see para [0013]) each a respective one of the focal zones.
Claim 7: Go discloses the apertures (313, fig. 9) present within a given mask segment (311, fig. 9), in a light-guiding channel, are of different shapes and/or sizes (various shapes, see para [0060]).
Claim 8: Go discloses the pattern formed in a mask segment (311) by the apertures of different shapes and/or sizes is identical for each mask segment (see fig. 9) (see para [0057] and [0065]).
Claim 9: Go discloses a first light source (110, fig. 1) activation of which participates in generating a first luminous function (see para [0039]) and a second light source (120, fig. 1) activation of which participates in generating a second luminous function or an additional segment of the first luminous function (see para [0039]), light rays emitted by the first light source (110) being intended to be focused by the entrance microlens (210) of a light-guiding channel onto a first focal zone located on a first aperture of the mask segment that is placed in this light-guiding channel (see fig. 8), light rays emitted by the second light source (120) being intended to be focused by the same entrance microlens (210) onto a second focal zone located on a second aperture of the same mask segment (The plurality of transmission holes 313 may transmit some of the light beams emitted from the second light source 120 therethrough without being blocked by the blocking surface 312, see para [0063]).
Claim 10: Go discloses each mask segment includes first apertures and second apertures (313, fig. 9) associated with a first focal zone and a second focal zone (F of respective apertures 313 in fig. 8), respectively, and that at least one of the first apertures and at least one of the second apertures has a different shape and/or size from the other first apertures and other second apertures (various shapes, see para [0060]).
Claim 11: Go discloses the first light source (110) and the second light source (120) are spaced apart from each other, being distributed on either side of a defined plane (C, fig. 3), the first light source (110) being closer to the defined plane than the second light source (120).
Claim 15: As best understood, Go discloses an automotive vehicle (vehicle, see abstract) comprising at least one luminous device (1, fig. 1), the at least one luminous device includes at least light-emitting means (110, 120, fig. 1), a collimator (130, fig. 1) (collimator lenses, see para [0045]) and a microlens array (200, fig. 1), the light-emitting means (110, 120) being configured to emit light rays in the direction (see fig. 8) of the microlens array (200) via the collimator (130), the microlens array (200) includes at least an array of entrance microlenses (210, fig. 1), an array of exit microlenses (220, fig. 1), and a mask (300, fig. 8) interposed between the two arrays of microlenses (212, 222, fig. 8), the microlens array (200) being configured to form light-guiding channels (see fig. 8) that are respectively arranged between at least one entrance microlens (212, fig. 8) and one exit microlens (222, fig. 8), the mask (300, fig. 8) includes mask segments (310, 320, fig. 8) that are each placed in one respective light-guiding channel (see fig. 8), with the light-emitting means (110, 120) including a plurality of selectively addressable light sources (110, 120), the collimator (130) being common to the plurality of light sources (110, 120) and configured to shape the light rays emitted by a light source into a beam of substantially parallel rays directed in the direction of the microlens array (see fig. 8), a tilt angle of the beam of substantially parallel rays (angle of parallel rays has varying tilt angles due to position of light source with respect to the microlens array) with respect to an optical axis differing depending on the light source activated (see fig. 3), the at least one light-guiding channel (see fig. 8) is arranged along the optical axis (C, fig. 3) and is bounded at one longitudinal end by a single entrance microlens (212, fig. 8), which is configured to focus the beams of substantially parallel rays onto a focal zone (F, fig. 8) on the mask segment (310), which is placed in the light-guiding channel (see fig. 8) and the position of which on the mask segment differs depending on the tilt angle of the beam of substantially parallel rays (position on the mask segment varies due to position of light source with respect to microlens array), the single entrance microlens (212) thus being configured to direct the rays onto various focal zones (F) depending on the tilt angle of the beam of substantially parallel rays (arrangement of Go is similar to claimed arrangement and therefore can direct the rays onto various focal zones depending on tilt angle), the mask segment (310) placed at least one light-guiding channel includes a plurality of apertures (apertures 313, fig. 9) (transmission hole, see para [0013]) each a respective one of the focal zones.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (US 2022/0026038) in view of Bremer (US 2021/0348736).
Claim 2: Go teaches the at least one light-guiding channel (see fig. 8) is arranged along the main optical axis (C, fig. 3) and is bounded at one longitudinal end by a single entrance microlens (212, fig. 8) and at the other longitudinal end by an exit microlenses (222, fig. 8).
However, Go fails to teach the at least one light-guiding channel is bounded at one longitudinal end by a single entrance microlens and at the other longitudinal end by a plurality of exit microlenses.
Bremer teaches the at least one light-guiding channel is bounded at one longitudinal end by a single entrance microlens (left lenses of 32, fig. 98) and at the other longitudinal end by a plurality of exit microlenses (right lenses of 32 and 34, fig. 9).
Therefore, in view of Bremer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a plurality of exit microlenses where the at least one light-guiding channel is bounded at one longitudinal end by a single entrance microlens and at the other longitudinal end by the plurality of exit microlenses, in order to adjust the light output direction of the luminous device to produce a desired light output range.
Claim 3: Go fails to teach the exit microlenses placed at one longitudinal end of a light-guiding channel are adjacent.
Bremer teaches the exit microlenses (right lenses of 32 and 34, fig. 9) placed at one longitudinal end of a light-guiding channel are adjacent (see fig. 9).
Therefore, in view of Bremer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a plurality of exit microlenses where the exit microlenses placed at one longitudinal end of a light-guiding channel are adjacent, in order to adjust the light output direction of the luminous device to produce a desired light output range.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (US 2022/0026038).
Claim 6: Go teaches the number of apertures (313, fig. 9) that are different from one another within a mask segment (310, fig. 9) is different to the number of different light sources (at least one transmission hole, see para [0013]).
However, Go is silent about the number of apertures that are different from one another within a mask segment is equal to the number of different light sources.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the shape and number of apertures of Go where the number of apertures that are different from one another within a mask segment is equal to the number of different light sources to adjust light output distribution shape, since it has been held that the configuration of the apertures (see para [0013]) was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over o (US 2022/0026038) in view of Bremer (US 2021/0348736) as applied to claim(s) 2 above, and further in view of Mandl (US 2018/0320852).
Claim 12: Go fails to teach the object focal point of one of the exit microlenses specifically associated with a first aperture is placed substantially on a border bounding the first aperture.
Mandl teaches an object focal point of one of the exit microlenses (41, fig. 2d) specifically associated with a first aperture (50, fig. 2d) is placed substantially on a border bounding the first aperture (see figs 2c and 2d) (see para [0140] – [0142]).
Therefore, in view of Mandl, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the focal point of one of the exit microlenses specifically associated with a first aperture is placed substantially on a border bounding the first aperture, in order to adjust the light output range of the device.
Claim 13: Go fails to teach the border of the first aperture, on which the object focal point of one of the exit microlenses is placed, contains a kink.
Mandl teaches the border of the first aperture (50), on which the object focal point (F1) of one of the exit microlenses is placed, contains a kink (cutoff or kink of 52’, fig. 2C).
Therefore, in view of Mandl, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the aperture of the mask where the border of the first aperture, on which the object focal point of one of the exit microlenses is placed, contains a kink, in order to adjust the amount of masked light to provide a desired the light output distribution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art taken as a whole does not show nor suggest the exit microlenses of a given light-guiding channel are configured to have object focal points positioned differently on the mask segment present in this light- guiding channel, an object focal point of an exit microlens being specifically associated with one aperture in the mask segment with respect to claim(s) 4, within a light-guiding channel, the number of apertures that are different from one another within a mask segment is equal to the number of exit microlenses present at one longitudinal end of this light-guiding channel with respect to claim(s) 5, the object focal point of an exit micro lens specifically associated with a second aperture is placed substantially at the center of the second aperture with respect to claim(s) 14, as specifically called for in the claimed combinations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lim et al. (US 2021/0262634), Stefanov (US 2018/0335191), Lee (US 11,668,447), all disclose a similar vehicle headlight that has a collimator with a microlens array having entry and exit optics.
/ZHENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875