DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “the axis of rotation” in line 3 which should read “an axis of rotation” for consistency purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 recites “the handle (2)” in line 5 which should read “the handle” for consistency purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites “the body” in line 3 which should read “the cylindrical body” for consistency purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 10 has been amended to recite “wherein a material of the body is more rigid than a material of the fins and a material of the head.” The body is understood to be the cylindrical body of claim 1 and the body 8 described in the specification. The specification recites “the body 8, the fins 14 and the head 16, is preferably made of a single material, for example, by moulding” on page 6, lines 18-19. Thus, the material of the body is the same as that of the fins and head, not more rigid as claimed. Further, the specification recites “framework 20 is advantageously made of a more rigid material than the body 8 in order to constitute a rigid skeleton for the tip 6, making possible better insertion into the ear canal” on page 6, lines 28-30. Accordingly, the original filed specification does not support the material of the body being more rigid than the materials of the fins and head, but rather the material of the framework being more rigid than the material of the fins and head.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “a cleaning tip” in line 3. Claim 12 depends from claim 1 which recites “a cleaning tip” in line 7. It is unclear if the cleaning tip of claim 12 is intended to be the same or in addition to that of claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the limitation of claim 12 has been interpreted to read “the cleaning tip.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olson (US 2013/0175154 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Olson discloses an ear cleaner (ear cleaning device 10 of Fig. 1 with the head 600 of Figs. 16-19, wherein head 20 may be replaced with head 600; [0054]) comprising: a handle (including at least shaft 12; Fig. 1) having a generally rotationally symmetrical shape (Fig. 1) defining the axis of rotation (longitudinal axis 617 via directions 613; Fig. 16) during cleaning of an ear ([0054]) and formed by an intersection of a frontal plane and a median plane (see annotated Fig. 16), the handle comprising a cleaning tip (600) coaxial with the handle at at least one end of the handle (Fig. 16), said tip comprising a cylindrical body (see annotated Fig. 16 along with body 622; Fig. 17) coaxial with the handle (Fig. 16) and having, on a distal portion, a head (pocket structure 602) comprising a series of fins (longitudinal walls 606) disposed radially on an outer periphery of said distal portion of the cylindrical body (Fig. 16), each of the fins (606) extending along said distal portion along the axis of revolution (Fig. 16) and having a cross-section that gradually increases from a distal end (at distal end of body 622 of Fig. 17) of the head, giving the head a arcuate shape (Fig. 16), and a scoop (at least side pocket 642; Fig. 17) provided at the distal end of the head (Fig. 17), in a continuity of said head (Fig. 17), said scoop (642) having at least one functional surface (surfaces of walls at reference numbers 634 and 623 of Fig. 17 facing one another i.e., left and right surfaces of U-shape of 642 in Fig. 17) which is substantially parallel to the frontal plane (Figs. 16-17).
Regarding claim 2, Olson discloses wherein the scoop (642) has a cross-section that gradually increases from a distal end of the scoop up to the distal end of the head (due to the paddle like, arcuate curvature of the longitudinal walls 606; Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 3, Olson discloses wherein each of the fins (606) has a cross-section gradually increasing from the distal end of the head then gradually reducing up to a proximal end of the head (due to the tear-drop, paddle like, arcuate curvature of the longitudinal walls 606; Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 5, Olson discloses wherein each of the fins (606) has, in a transversal plane (frontal plane of annotated Fig. 16 above), a shape widening in a direction of the exterior (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 6, Olson discloses wherein the cylindrical body (including body 622 of Fig. 17) of the tip has an outer diameter that gradually increases from the distal end of the distal portion of the cylindrical body, giving a conical shape (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 11, Olson discloses wherein the handle comprises a cylindrical gripping zone (towards cylindrical body of the head; Fig. 1) and a flat gripping zone (at 12) parallel to the frontal plane (at least two sides of 12 would be parallel to the frontal plane of Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 13, Olson discloses wherein the at least one functional surface of the scoop (642) comprises two functional surfaces (surfaces of walls at reference numbers 634 and 623 of Fig. 17 facing one another i.e., left and right surfaces of U-shape of 642 in Fig. 17) extending on either side of the frontal plane (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 14, Olson discloses wherein the scoop (642) has, on either side of the frontal plane, a concave-shaped cross section, giving the scoop a biconcave appearance (the arms 630, 632 have a rounding configuration such that the side pockets 642, 644 formed on either side of the longitudinal walls 634, 636 have a generally annular shape about the arms 630, 632; [0055]).
Regarding claim 15, Olson discloses wherein the head (602) comprises, on a same side of the frontal plane, two lateral fins that extend beyond the distal end (at distal end of body 622 and/or distal end of 630, 632 of Fig. 17) of the head (602) in order to join one another, forming the at least one functional surface (surfaces of walls at reference numbers 634 and 623 of Fig. 17 facing one another i.e., left and right surfaces of U-shape of 642 in Fig. 17) of the scoop (Fig. 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 2013/0175154 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Olson fails to disclose wherein each of the fins has a positive rake angle. Instead, the rake angle, i.e., angle between the surfaces of the longitudinal walls facing one another is neutral or at 90 degrees (Fig. 17).
However, Olson teaches an alternative embodiment (Fig. 13A) with longitudinal walls (430, 432) oriented at acute angles (442) relative to the floor (436) such that the longitudinal walls extend inwardly over the floors and form the corner recesses (444) which may serve to trap debris within the scoop/pockets (404), as shown in Fig. 13A. This positive rake angle functions to lift debris from ear surfaces ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the fins of Olson to have a positive rake angle as taught by the alternate embodiment of Olson in order to better lift and trap debris from ear surfaces.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 2013/0175154 A1) in view of Belmkaddem (US 2020/0060877 A1).
Regarding claims 7-9, Olson fails to disclose wherein the cylindrical body of the tip comprises a hollow core configured to receive a framework provided at one end of the handle in order to mount the tip on the handle in a removable manner, and wherein the tip and the handle comprise an index system configured to assembly the tip and the handle such that the at least one functional surface of the scoop is parallel to the frontal plane.
However, Belmkaddem teaches an ear cleaner (reusable swab 200; Fig. 2; [0018]) comprising: a handle (support structure 202), and a cleaning tip (cap 204; Fig. 2), the tip comprising a cylindrical body (including at least middle portion 412 and portion proximal thereof; Fig. 4) and a head (cap end 402), wherein the cylindrical body of the tip comprises a hollow core (Fig. 2) configured to receive a framework (end 304) provided at one end of the handle (Fig. 3) in order to mount the tip on the handle in a removable manner (Figs. 2-4; [0064]), and wherein the tip and the handle comprise an index system (at u-shaped cut-out 410) configured to assembly the tip and the handle in a particular orientation so that the user may grasp any portion of the ear cleaner, rotate the ear cleaner and the cap that is currently being used to clean will rotate accordingly ([0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tip of Olson to be hollow and configured to receive a framework provided at one end of the handle to mount the tip on the handle in a removable manner as taught by Belmkaddem in order to replace a tip head after use so that the entire device is not disposable after a single use. Modifying the tip and handle to be removable as taught by Olson would involve using the u-shaped cut-out 410 and protrusion 310 taught by Belmkaddem which is an index system that would orient the head of modified Olson as shown in Fig. 16 of Olson i.e., be configured to assemble the tip and the handle such that the at least one functional surface of the scoop is parallel to the frontal plane.
5. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 2013/0175154 A1) in view of Chevalier (WO 2015/110714 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Olson discloses wherein the handle (12) comprises the cleaning tip (600) at one end thereof (Figs. 1, 16) and at the other end thereof, another cleaning tip (utensil, such as scoop 16).
Olson fails to disclose an inner housing at the other end of the handle, the inner housing being configured to receive the another cleaning tip.
However, Chevalier teaches an ear cleaner (Figs. 1-2; abstract) comprising a handle (reusable gripping element EP; Fig. 2) and cleaning tip (disposable extraction tip EX; Fig. 1), wherein the handle comprises an inner housing (O; Fig. 2) at one end thereof, the inner housing (O) being configured to receive the cleaning tip (EX; Figs. 1-4) in order to eject and dispose of the cleaning tip after use (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle of Olson to include an inner housing configured to receive the another cleaning tip in light of the teachings of Chevalier in order to be able to eject and dispose of the another cleaning tip after use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Serafini et al. (US 2023/0405214 A1) is noted for teaching an ear cleaner with removable cleaning tips.
/SARAH A LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771