Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2026 and 04/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions
and requirements of this title.
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of mental observation or a mental process without significantly more. The claims recite “obtaining a task operation instruction in the automatic process… performing a task inference on a task operation corresponding to the task operation instruction based on a parameter in the task operation instruction, to obtain a task inference result, wherein the task inference result comprises execution parameters of a plurality of atomic operations in the task operation, … and determining whether to perform the task operation based on the task inference result.” and “wherein the task operation instruction comprises a transfer task operation instruction, and the transfer task operation instruction comprises a parameter related to a start position of a transfer operation corresponding to the transfer task operation instruction and a parameter related to a destination position of the transfer operation corresponding to the transfer task operation instruction, and the performing a task inference on a task operation corresponding to the task operation instruction based on a parameter in the task operation instruction, to obtain a task inference result comprises: obtaining, from the transfer task operation instruction, the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position; determining whether a position adjustment is to be performed in a process of the transfer operation, based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position; in response to the position adjustment to be performed, determining a parameter related to the adjustment position based on the parameter related to the destination position, and determining the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position, the parameter related to the destination position and the parameter related to the adjustment position; and in response to no position adjustment to be performed, determining the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position ” and “wherein the determining whether a position adjustment is to be performed in a process of the transfer operation, based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position comprises: comparing the parameter related to the start position with the parameter related to the destination position; and determining whether a position adjustment is to be performed in the process of the transfer operation, based on a comparative result between the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position” which is a mental step of determining how a robot or other system should operate based on information gathered by the system.
Step 1: These claims are directed to a method and the apparatuses and mediums for performing the methods.
Step 2A, Prong One:
The limitations of determining a condition of a system to plan out a motion is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “at least one execution device;” or “a robotic arm… jaw of the robotic arm, a rotary plate station related to the transfer operation, a code scanner related to the transfer operation, a decapper related to the transfer operation,” or “An electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory,” or “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores program instructions, and the program instructions, when executed by a processor” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “device, processor, and medium” language, recognizing a plan to move or interact with an object can simply be performed by a user noticing the object and determining how to get it to a final location, or in a more detailed example recording information such as steps to move an object along a trajectory with the aid of pen and paper. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, these claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recite additional elements: “modifying the parameter related to the adjustment position based on the parameter related to the destination position, in a case that the parameter in the transfer task operation instruction comprises the parameter related to the adjustment position; and setting the parameter related to the adjustment position based on the parameter related to the destination position, in a case that the parameter in the transfer task operation instruction does not comprise the parameter related to the adjustment position; wherein the in response to no position adjustment to be performed, determining the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position comprises: deleting the parameter related to the adjustment position, and determining the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position, in response to the parameter in the transfer task operation instruction comprising the parameter related to the adjustment position” and “coordinate information on a start position of a transfer operation, coordinate information on a destination position of the transfer operation, a parameter of an operation during transporting in the transfer operation,
a clamping height for a transfer object of the transfer operation, or a clamping direction for the transfer object.” and “a movement of a robotic arm served as a transporter, a movement on a guide rail related to a transfer operation, a clamping operation of a clamping jaw of the robotic arm, a releasing operation of the clamping jaw of the robotic arm, a rotation operation of a rotary plate station related to the transfer operation, a code scanning operation of a code scanner related to the transfer operation, a capping operation of a decapper related to the transfer operation, and a decapping operation of the decapper related to the transfer operation” and “performing the plurality of atomic operations in series or in parallel in a process of the task operation” The steps related to acquiring and modifying the adjustment parameters or deleting the parameters, or giving the parameter categories are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of applying instructions for a system), and amounts to mere “apply it”, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Additionally, the processor and medium for storing and using information is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of applying instructions for a system), and amounts to mere “apply it”, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, this has been re-evaluated in Step 2B and determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that the various components are anything other than a generic, off-the-shelf computer component and a robotic arm as described in the paragraphs [0067] [0079]. For example, the steps of modifying data and setting an output have been found by the courts to be well-understood, routine, and conventional as seen in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) recited here “ Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));” Also, the steps of applying the process using a processor and a medium with a generic robot have been held by the courts as a form of a mere instructions to apply an exception, as recited in the MPEP 2106.05(f) as recited here “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).” For the reasons seen above, the claims are ineligible. Examiner suggest incorporating limitations related to positively reciting a control step such as the interpretation of claim 7 wherein the transfer object is explicitly picked up and moved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handa et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2021/0122045 A1 hereinafter “Handa”) in view of Cheng et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2021/0173701 A1 hereinafter “Cheng”).
Regarding claim 1 Handa discloses:
A control method for an automatic process, comprising: obtaining a task operation instruction in the automatic process; (Handa [0264] [0213] [0173] wherein the system operates autonomously to complete a task) performing a task inference on a task operation corresponding to the task operation instruction based on a parameter in the task operation instruction, to obtain a task inference result, (Handa [0267] wherein the logic for operating the system is based on inferences or predictions to operate the hardware components) … and determining whether to perform the task operation based on the task inference result. (Handa [0259] wherein the system determines whether or not the task operation should be carried out based on primary or secondary components).
Handa does not appear to disclose:
… wherein the task inference result comprises execution parameters of a plurality of atomic operations in the task operation, and each atomic operation is executed by at least one execution device;
However, in the same field of endeavor of data processing and task controls Cheng discloses:
“wherein the task inference result comprises execution parameters of a plurality of atomic operations in the task operation, and each atomic operation is executed by at least one execution device;” (Cheng [0042] wherein the system operates based on atomic commands being sent)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the atomic operation control of Cheng with the system of Handa with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve responsiveness of the system and reduce the complexity of the control system through breaking down tasks to a manageable element (Cheng [0062] [0042]).
Regarding claim 2 Handa in view of Cheng discloses:
The control method according to claim 1, wherein the task operation instruction comprises a transfer task operation instruction, (Handa [0125] wherein the system involves learning how to move objects) and the transfer task operation instruction comprises a parameter related to a start position of a transfer operation corresponding to the transfer task operation instruction and a parameter related to a destination position of the transfer operation (Handa [0125] wherein the information includes start and end points for the object and the system to operate) corresponding to the transfer task operation instruction, (Handa [0125] wherein the system involves learning how to move objects) and the performing a task inference on a task operation corresponding to the task operation instruction based on a parameter in the task operation instruction, to obtain a task inference result comprises: (Handa [0125] [0143] wherein the system determines how to start and end the task, and operates based on inferencing or training operations) obtaining, from the transfer task operation instruction, the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position; (Handa [0125] wherein the information includes start and end points for the object and the system to operate) determining whether a position adjustment is to be performed in a process of the transfer operation, based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position; (Handa [0154] wherein the system uses trained and untrained models to adjust the weight and operation of the system i.e. determines how to adjust the operation) in response to the position adjustment to be performed, determining a parameter related to the adjustment position based on the parameter related to the destination position, (Handa [0125] [0154] wherein the initial and final poses, with the security of the grip, and predictions are used to adjust the operation and simulations to ensure robust operation with updated trained data) and determining the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position, the parameter related to the destination position and the parameter related to the adjustment position; (Handa [0125] [0154] wherein the initial and final poses, with the security of the grip, and predictions are used to adjust the operation and simulations to ensure robust operation with updated trained data) and in response to no position adjustment to be performed, determining the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position. (Handa [0130-0133] [0154] wherein the system reaches a desired accuracy and ends training and weighting of the system operations).
Regarding claim 3 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 and Handa further discloses:
The control method according to claim 2, wherein the determining whether a position adjustment is to be performed in a process of the transfer operation, based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position comprises:
comparing the parameter related to the start position with the parameter related to the destination position; (Handa [0133-0135] [0125] wherein the system determines what parameters are uncertain , what the ground truths are, and what the predictions for the system include) and determining whether a position adjustment is to be performed in the process of the transfer operation, based on a comparative result between the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position. (Handa [0130-0133] [0154] wherein the system reaches a desired accuracy and ends training and weighting of the system operations).
Regarding claim 5 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Handa further discloses:
The control method according claim 1, wherein the task operation instruction comprises a transfer task operation instruction, and the parameter in the transfer task operation instruction comprises one or more of following parameters: coordinate information on a start position of a transfer operation, (Handa [0088] wherein the system determines coordinates of the initial pose before operating the grasp or movement operations) coordinate information on a destination position of the transfer operation, a parameter of an operation during transporting in the transfer operation, a clamping height for a transfer object of the transfer operation, or a clamping direction for the transfer object. (Handa [0064] wherein the system determines the grasp approach and manipulation of an object).
Examiner notes that due to the “one or more” language, only a single parameter type is needed to fully teach the claim.
Regarding claim 6 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Handa further discloses:
The control method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of atomic operations in the task operation comprises one or more of the followings: a movement of a robotic arm served as a transporter, (Handa [0128] wherein the system picks and places an object) a movement on a guide rail related to a transfer operation, a clamping operation of a clamping jaw of the robotic arm, a releasing operation of the clamping jaw of the robotic arm, (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines a grasp and release of the operation of the gripper) a rotation operation of a rotary plate station related to the transfer operation, a code scanning operation of a code scanner related to the transfer operation, a capping operation of a decapper related to the transfer operation, and a decapping operation of the decapper related to the transfer operation.
Examiner notes that due to the “one or more” language, only a single task type is needed to fully teach the claim.
Regarding claim 7 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 and Handa further discloses:
The control method according to claim 2, wherein a transporter for performing the transfer operation is a robotic arm, (Handa [0128] wherein the system picks and places an object) and the transfer task operation instruction comprises a first picking parameter for a transfer object at a start position of the transfer operation (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines different picking and transferring operations for determining the best way to operate an object transfer) and a second picking parameter for the transfer object at a destination position of the transfer operation, (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines different picking and transferring operations for determining the best way to operate an object transfer) wherein in response to the first picking parameter different from the second picking parameter, performing the task operation based on the task inference result comprises: (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines different picking and transferring operations for determining the best way to operate an object transfer) picking the transfer object at the start position with the first picking parameter, and transferring the transfer object to the adjustment position; and (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines different picking and transferring operations for determining the best way to operate an object transfer) picking the transfer object again at the adjustment position with the second picking parameter, and transferring the transfer object to the destination position. (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines a grasp and release of the operation of the gripper).
Regarding claim 8 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 but Cheng does not appear to disclose:
… performing the plurality of atomic operations in series or in parallel in a process of the task operation.
However, in the same field of endeavor of data processing and task controls Cheng discloses:
“performing the plurality of atomic operations in series or in parallel in a process of the task operation.” (Cheng [0042] wherein the system operates based on atomic commands being sent)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the atomic operation control of Cheng with the system of Handa with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve responsiveness of the system and reduce the complexity of the control system through breaking down tasks to a manageable element running the commands in order as needed (Cheng [0062] [0042]).
Regarding claim 10 Handa discloses:
An electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores computer program instructions, and the computer program instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (Handa [0148-0149] wherein the system uses processors and data storage to operate and perform inference and training operations) obtain a task operation instruction in the automatic process; (Handa [0264] [0213] [0173] wherein the system operates autonomously to complete a task) perform a task inference on a task operation corresponding to the task operation instruction based on a parameter in the task operation instruction, to obtain a task inference result, (Handa [0267] wherein the logic for operating the system is based on inferences or predictions to operate the hardware components) … and determine whether to perform the task operation based on the task inference result. (Handa [0259] wherein the system determines whether or not the task operation should be carried out based on primary or secondary components).
Handa does not appear to disclose:
… wherein the task inference result comprises execution parameters of a plurality of atomic operations in the task operation, and each atomic operation is executed by at least one execution device;
However, in the same field of endeavor of data processing and task controls Cheng discloses:
“wherein the task inference result comprises execution parameters of a plurality of atomic operations in the task operation, and each atomic operation is executed by at least one execution device;” (Cheng [0042] wherein the system operates based on atomic commands being sent)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the atomic operation control of Cheng with the system of Handa with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve responsiveness of the system and reduce the complexity of the control system through breaking down tasks to a manageable element (Cheng [0062] [0042]).
Regarding claim 11 Handa discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores program instructions, and the program instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: (Handa [0552] wherein a processor and non-transitory memory are used to operate the system) obtain a task operation instruction in the automatic process; (Handa [0264] [0213] [0173] wherein the system operates autonomously to complete a task) perform a task inference on a task operation corresponding to the task operation instruction based on a parameter in the task operation instruction, to obtain a task inference result, (Handa [0267] wherein the logic for operating the system is based on inferences or predictions to operate the hardware components) … and determine whether to perform the task operation based on the task inference result. (Handa [0259] wherein the system determines whether or not the task operation should be carried out based on primary or secondary components).
Handa does not appear to disclose:
… wherein the task inference result comprises execution parameters of a plurality of atomic operations in the task operation, and each atomic operation is executed by at least one execution device;
However, in the same field of endeavor of data processing and task controls Cheng discloses:
“wherein the task inference result comprises execution parameters of a plurality of atomic operations in the task operation, and each atomic operation is executed by at least one execution device;” (Cheng [0042] wherein the system operates based on atomic commands being sent)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the atomic operation control of Cheng with the system of Handa with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve responsiveness of the system and reduce the complexity of the control system through breaking down tasks to a manageable element (Cheng [0062] [0042]).
Regarding claim 12 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 10 and Handa further discloses:
The electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the task operation instruction comprises a transfer task operation instruction, (Handa [0125] wherein the system involves learning how to move objects) and the transfer task operation instruction comprises a parameter related to a start position of a transfer operation corresponding to the transfer task operation instruction and a parameter related to a destination position of the transfer operation (Handa [0125] wherein the information includes start and end points for the object and the system to operate) corresponding to the transfer task operation instruction, (Handa [0125] wherein the system involves learning how to move objects) and wherein the computer program instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (Handa [0125] [0143] wherein the system determines how to start and end the task, and operates based on inferencing or training operations) obtain, from the transfer task operation instruction, the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position; (Handa [0125] wherein the information includes start and end points for the object and the system to operate) determine whether a position adjustment is to be performed in a process of the transfer operation, based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position; (Handa [0154] wherein the system uses trained and untrained models to adjust the weight and operation of the system i.e. determines how to adjust the operation) in response to the position adjustment to be performed, determine a parameter related to the adjustment position based on the parameter related to the destination position, (Handa [0125] [0154] wherein the initial and final poses, with the security of the grip, and predictions are used to adjust the operation and simulations to ensure robust operation with updated trained data) and determine the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position, the parameter related to the destination position and the parameter related to the adjustment position; (Handa [0125] [0154] wherein the initial and final poses, with the security of the grip, and predictions are used to adjust the operation and simulations to ensure robust operation with updated trained data) and in response to no position adjustment to be performed, determine the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position. (Handa [0130-0133] [0154] wherein the system reaches a desired accuracy and ends training and weighting of the system operations).
Regarding claim 13 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 and Handa further discloses:
The electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the computer program instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: compare the parameter related to the start position with the parameter related to the destination position; (Handa [0133-0135] [0125] wherein the system determines what parameters are uncertain , what the ground truths are, and what the predictions for the system include) and determine whether a position adjustment is to be performed in the process of the transfer operation, based on a comparative result between the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position. (Handa [0130-0133] [0154] wherein the system reaches a desired accuracy and ends training and weighting of the system operations).
Regarding claim 15 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 10 and Handa further discloses:
The electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the task operation instruction comprises a transfer task operation instruction, and the parameter in the transfer task operation instruction comprises one or more of following parameters: coordinate information on a start position of a transfer operation, (Handa [0088] wherein the system determines coordinates of the initial pose before operating the grasp or movement operations) coordinate information on a destination position of the transfer operation, a parameter of an operation during transporting in the transfer operation, a clamping height for a transfer object of the transfer operation, or a clamping direction for the transfer object. (Handa [0064] wherein the system determines the grasp approach and manipulation of an object).
Examiner notes that due to the “one or more” language, only a single parameter type is needed to fully teach the claim.
Regarding claim 16 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 16 and Handa further discloses:
The electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the plurality of atomic operations in the task operation comprises one or more of the followings: a movement of a robotic arm served as a transporter, (Handa [0128] wherein the system picks and places an object) a movement on a guide rail related to a transfer operation, a clamping operation of a clamping jaw of the robotic arm, a releasing operation of the clamping jaw of the robotic arm, (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines a grasp and release of the operation of the gripper) a rotation operation of a rotary plate station related to the transfer operation, a code scanning operation of a code scanner related to the transfer operation, a capping operation of a decapper related to the transfer operation, and a decapping operation of the decapper related to the transfer operation.
Examiner notes that due to the “one or more” language, only a single task type is needed to fully teach the claim.
Regarding claim 17 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 and Handa further discloses:
The electronic device according to claim 12, wherein a transporter for performing the transfer operation is a robotic arm, (Handa [0128] wherein the system picks and places an object) and the transfer task operation instruction comprises a first picking parameter for a transfer object at a start position of the transfer operation (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines different picking and transferring operations for determining the best way to operate an object transfer) and a second picking parameter for the transfer object at a destination position of the transfer operation, (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines different picking and transferring operations for determining the best way to operate an object transfer) wherein the computer program instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines different picking and transferring operations for determining the best way to operate an object transfer) pick the transfer object at the start position with the first picking parameter, and transfer the transfer object to the adjustment position; (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines different picking and transferring operations for determining the best way to operate an object transfer) and pick the transfer object again at the adjustment position with the second picking parameter, and transfer the transfer object to the destination position. (Handa [0128] wherein the system determines a grasp and release of the operation of the gripper).
Regarding claim 18 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 10 but Handa does not appear to disclose:
… wherein the computer program instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: perform the plurality of atomic operations in series or in parallel in a process of the task operation.
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Cheng discloses:
“wherein the computer program instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: perform the plurality of atomic operations in series or in parallel in a process of the task operation.” (Cheng [0042] wherein the system operates based on atomic commands being sent)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the atomic operation control of Cheng with the system of Handa with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve responsiveness of the system and reduce the complexity of the control system through breaking down tasks to a manageable element running the commands in order as needed (Cheng [0062] [0042]).
Regarding claim 19 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 11 and Handa further discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11, task operation instruction comprises a transfer task operation instruction, (Handa [0125] wherein the system involves learning how to move objects) and the transfer task operation instruction comprises a parameter related to a start position of a transfer operation corresponding to the transfer task operation instruction and a parameter related to a destination position of the transfer operation (Handa [0125] wherein the information includes start and end points for the object and the system to operate) corresponding to the transfer task operation instruction, (Handa [0125] wherein the system involves learning how to move objects) and wherein the program instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (Handa [0125] [0143] wherein the system determines how to start and end the task, and operates based on inferencing or training operations) obtain, from the transfer task operation instruction, the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position; (Handa [0125] wherein the information includes start and end points for the object and the system to operate) determine whether a position adjustment is to be performed in a process of the transfer operation, based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position; (Handa [0154] wherein the system uses trained and untrained models to adjust the weight and operation of the system i.e. determines how to adjust the operation) in response to the position adjustment to be performed, determine a parameter related to the adjustment position based on the parameter related to the destination position, (Handa [0125] [0154] wherein the initial and final poses, with the security of the grip, and predictions are used to adjust the operation and simulations to ensure robust operation with updated trained data) and determine the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position, the parameter related to the destination position and the parameter related to the adjustment position; (Handa [0125] [0154] wherein the initial and final poses, with the security of the grip, and predictions are used to adjust the operation and simulations to ensure robust operation with updated trained data) and in response to no position adjustment to be performed, determine the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position. (Handa [0130-0133] [0154] wherein the system reaches a desired accuracy and ends training and weighting of the system operations).
Regarding claim 20 Handa in view of Cheng discloses all of the limitations of claim 19 and Handa further discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, wherein the program instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: compare the parameter related to the start position with the parameter related to the destination position; (Handa [0133-0135] [0125] wherein the system determines what parameters are uncertain , what the ground truths are, and what the predictions for the system include) and determine whether a position adjustment is to be performed in the process of the transfer operation, based on a comparative result between the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position. (Handa [0130-0133] [0154] wherein the system reaches a desired accuracy and ends training and weighting of the system operations).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 14, and 21 are additionally objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if all 35 U.S.C. 101 issues are addressed and overcome.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior art fails to disclose or render obvious claim 1 disclosing a system for controlling an industrial robot using a specific claimed controller.
Regarding claims 4, 14, and 21 the relevant art Handa in view of Cheng discloses the ability to determine when a position adjustment is needed (Handa [0154]) and performing the adjustment based on the destination (Handa [0125]) but fails to disclose deleting the adjustment parameters when no adjustment is needed. Specifically, the relevant art fails to disclose “wherein the in response to the position adjustment to be performed, determining a parameter related to the adjustment position based on the parameter related to the destination position comprises: modifying the parameter related to the adjustment position based on the parameter related to the destination position, in a case that the parameter in the transfer task operation instruction comprises the parameter related to the adjustment position; and setting the parameter related to the adjustment position based on the parameter related to the destination position, in a case that the parameter in the transfer task operation instruction does not comprise the parameter related to the adjustment position; wherein the in response to no position adjustment to be performed, determining the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position comprises: deleting the parameter related to the adjustment position, and determining the task inference result based on the parameter related to the start position and the parameter related to the destination position, in response to the parameter in the transfer task operation instruction comprising the parameter related to the adjustment position”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 120503204 A discloses a robot control system based on tasks and corresponding task skill models, determining if the model results in a failure or success, and updating the execution strategy
CN 115042192 A discloses a robot controller using the control message received to indicate execution of the robot, and determining how to finish the corresponding functions based on the instructions
CN 103514032 A discloses a processing system for a computing environment to determine when transactions are completed or failed, counting the successes and failures and waiting to clear or remove flags when the process is interrupted
/KYLE T JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3656