DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Examiner’s Comments
This office action is in response to the application filed on 4/29/2025.
Claims 1-15 have been canceled by applicant.
Claims 16-32 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR
1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/29/2025 is in
compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 16, 18, 20, 24-25, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.
102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dittrich (US 11,667,022).
With regard to claim 16, Dittrich discloses an actuation mechanism (10) for a nail driver (fig.1), the actuation mechanism (fig.1) comprising: an actuation mass (300); a propulsion mechanism (200) on a first side of the actuation mass; a feed head (70) on a second side of the actuation mass, the feed head separable from the actuation mass; and an anvil (80) connected to the feed head and engagable with a nail to drive the nail, wherein, when loaded, the propulsion mechanism is configured to cause the actuation mass to drive the feed head to make the anvil drive the nail into a substrate (see fig.1).
With regard to claim 18, Dittrich discloses an actuation mechanism (10) for a nail driver (fig.1), wherein the feed head (70) is heavier than the actuation mass (300).
With regard to claim 20, Dittrich discloses an actuation mechanism (10) for a nail driver (fig.1), wherein the actuation mass includes an electrically conductive plate (105), and the propulsion mechanism (200) includes an electrical coil (100).
With regard to claim 24, Dittrich discloses an actuation mechanism (10) for a nail driver (fig.1), which includes a first housing (110) that at least partly houses the actuation mass (300) and the propulsion mechanism (200), and a second housing (95) that at least partly houses the feed head (70), wherein the first and second housings are separable.
With regard to claim 25, Dittrich discloses a nail driver (fig.1), comprising: a housing (110); and an actuation mechanism (10) supported by the housing and including: an actuation mass (300); a propulsion mechanism (200) on a first side of the actuation mass (300); a feed head (70) on a second side of the actuation mass, the feed head separable from the actuation mass; and an anvil (80) connected to the feed head and engagable with a nail to drive the nail, wherein, when loaded, the propulsion mechanism (200) is configured to cause the actuation mass (300) to drive the feed head (70) to make the anvil (80) drive the nail into a substrate.
With regard to claim 27, Dittrich discloses a nail driver, wherein the feed head (70) is heavier than the actuation mass (300).
With regard to claim 29, Dittrich discloses a nail driver (fig.1), wherein the actuation mass (300) includes an electrically conductive plate (105), and the propulsion mechanism includes an electrical coil (100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 22-23 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Dittrich in view of Obviousness.
With regard to claims 22 and 31, Dittrich discloses an actuation mechanism (10) for a nail driver (fig.1) but does not disclose wherein the propulsion mechanism includes a pneumatic source. A pneumatic source to supply power to operate a tool is within the purview of one skilled in the artisan. Thus, it would have been obvious choice of engineering matter to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to alternatively provide Dittrich with pneumatic power to operate the tool since pneumatic tool offers high power-to weight ratio, with durability and increased safety.
With regard to claims 23 and 32, Dittrich discloses an actuation mechanism (10) for a nail driver (fig.1) but does not disclose wherein the propulsion mechanism includes a combustion source.
A combustion source to supply power to operate a tool is within the purview of one skilled in the artisan. Thus, it would have been obvious choice of engineering matter to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to alternatively provide Dittrich with combustion power to operate the tool since combustion tool proves portable, high-power driving energy without needing external hoses or electrical cord.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 19, 21, 26, 28 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a
rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 17, Dittrich discloses an actuation mechanism for a nail driver, but fails to disclose or teach in combination, a first limit stop that limits displacement of the actuation mass to a first distance, and a second limit stop in that limits the displacement of the feed head to a second distance, wherein the second distance is longer than the first distance.
With respect to claim 19, Dittrich discloses an actuation mechanism for a nail driver but fails to disclose or teach in combination, which includes an elastic mechanism between the feed head and the actuation mass.
With respect to claim 21, Dittrich discloses an actuation mechanism for a nail driver but fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the propulsion mechanism includes a first electrical coil, the actuation mass includes a second electrical coil, and wherein the first and second electrical coils are operable together to propel the second electrical coil, to drive the feed head.
With respect to claim 26, Dittrich discloses a nail driver but fails to disclose or teach in combination, which includes a first limit stop that limits displacement of the actuation mass to a first distance, and a second limit stop in that limits the displacement of the feed head to a second distance, wherein the second distance is longer than the first distance.
With respect to claim 28, Dittrich discloses a nail driver but fails to disclose or teach in combination, which includes an elastic mechanism between the feed head and the actuation mass.
With respect to claim 30, Dittrich discloses a nail driver but fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the propulsion mechanism includes a first electrical coil, the actuation mass includes a second electrical coil, and wherein the first and second electrical coils are operable together to propel the second electrical coil, to drive the feed head.
Conclusion
Refer to attachment for notice of references cited and recommended for
consideration based on their disclosure of limitations of the claimed invention.
/NATHANIEL C CHUKWURAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
9/9/2026