DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
A preliminary amendment was filed on the filing date of April 29, 2025, in which claims 2-15 were cancelled. A second preliminary amendment was filed on February 17, 2016, in which claim 1 was cancelled, and claims 16-35 were added. Claims 16-35 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Priority
The instant application has a filing date of April 29, 2026. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. The instant application is a national phase under 35 U.S.C. 371 of PCT International Application No. PCT/JP2022/040759, filed on October 31, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/29/25, 6/11/26, and 7/13/26 have been considered by the examiner.
Abstracts only were provided for each of the cited foreign patent documents (with the exception of EP 3348311B1), and therefore only the abstracts were considered.
35 U.S.C. § 112 (f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“An operation apparatus comprising: an analog input device configured to receive user operation as input; a storage section configured to store setting information regarding the analog input device; a generating section configured to generate operation information including a value obtained by adjusting, based on the setting information, a value related to the user operation input to the analog input device; and a transmitting section configured to transmit the generated operation information to an external information processing apparatus, wherein, in an adjustment mode of the analog input device, the generating section is further configured to generate operation information including a first value and a second value related to the user operation input to the analog input device, wherein the first value comprises a value obtained by adjusting, using setting information being modified in the adjustment mode, the value related to the user operation input to the analog input device, and wherein the second value comprises a value to which the setting information being modified in the adjustment mode has not been applied” recited in claims 16 and 23 (as well as dependent claims 17-22 and 24-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
v Claims 16-22, 28 31, 32, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ali et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2022/0274015, September 1, 2022- hereinafter "Ali”)
With respect to claims 16 and 28, Ali teaches an operation apparatus; and method executed by an operation apparatus comprising an analog input device configured to receive user operation input and a storage section configured to store setting information regarding the analog input device;
an analog input device configured to receive user operation as input; ([0042] “controller 10 has an actuator in the form an omni-directional control stick 12, having a neutral position corresponding to its idle position, which typically corresponds to no directional input for an object in game play. Controller 10 has second and third actuators in the form of trigger buttons 14a, 14b, having neutral positions corresponding to their undepressed positions.”)
a storage section configured to store setting information regarding the analog input device; ([0062]-[0063] “a scaling module 108 comprising a processor 110 and a memory 112…As used herein, “memory” refers to a non-transitory tangible medium for storing information in a format readable by a processor, and/or instructions readable by a processor to implement an algorithm. Non-limiting types of memory include solid-state, optical, and magnetic computer readable media. The term “memory” includes a plurality of physically discrete, operatively connected devices despite use of the term in the singular”, [0072] “a scaling factor and a displacement value of an actuator of a video game controller from a neutral position of the actuator, which relationship may be stored in memory 112 of scaling module 108.”
a generating section configured to ([0042] “a scaling module 108 comprising a processor 110 and a memory 112. As used herein, “processor” refers to any one or more electronic devices that is/are capable of reading and executing instructions stored on a memory to perform operations on data, which may be stored on a memory or provided in a data signal. Non-limiting examples of processors include devices referred to as microprocessors, microcontrollers, central processing units (CPU), and digital signal processors. The term “processor” includes a plurality of physically discrete, operatively connected devices despite use of the term in the singular”)
generate operation information including a value obtained by adjusting, based on the setting information, a value related to the user operation input to the analog input device; and ([0070]-[0073] “processor 110 determines the displacement value of the actuator based on the data encoded by the control signal. For example, processor 110 may process a bit stream of the control signal to ascertain the displacement value of the actuator. In one embodiment, scaling module 108 may determine the displacement value by simply “reading” values of the bit stream that directly indicate the displacement value. In another embodiment, scaling module 108 may determine the displacement value by performing logical and/or arithmetic operations on values of the bit stream to derive the displacement value, in accordance with predetermined relationships between the data and displacement values… At step 206, scaling module 108, determines a scaled displacement value by multiplying the determined displacement value by a scaling factor. As used herein, the “scaling factor” refers to a number….FIG. 9 shows a chart of a non-limiting embodiment of a relationship between a scaling factor and a displacement value of an actuator of a video game controller from a neutral position of the actuator, which relationship may be stored in memory 112 of scaling module 108…the scaling factor may be selected to enable adapter 100 to generate a scaled control signal encoding data indicative of a displacement value of the actuator (e.g., control stick 12, or trigger buttons 14a, 14b)…In this embodiment, a constant scaling factor of ˜3.33 is used for substantially the entire range of determined displacement values, excluding the “dead zone”. In other words, the scaling ratio is determined as the ratio of the full potential displacement value of the actuator (i.e., without the stop member attached to controller 10), to the maximum possible displacement value of the actuator in the presence of the stop member attached to controller 10. FIG. 10 shows the relationship between the scaled displacement value and the determined displacement value of the actuator, as a result of applying the scaling factor of FIG. 9 to the determined displacement value of the actuator from the neutral position. In another embodiment (not shown), the scaling factor may be non-constant over the range of displacement values. This can be used to effectively modify the responsiveness and sensitivity characteristics of the actuator”, see also [0062] & [0064] & [0068])
a transmitting section configured to transmit the generated operation information to an external information processing apparatus, ([0075] “scaling module 108, transmits the scaled control signal to console 20 via console interface 106. The operating system of console 20 receives the scaled control signal, and processes the scaled control signal as if it were a control signal generated by controller 10. Accordingly, the present invention does not require any modification to console 20. In response to the scaled control signal, console 20 will initiate a game function as if the actuator had been displaced by the scaled displacement value rather than the displacement value encoded by data of the control signal generated by controller 10”, see also [0043])
wherein, in an adjustment mode of the analog input device, the generating section is further configured to generate operation information including a first value and a second value related to the user operation input to the analog input device, ([0071]-[0073] “At step 206, scaling module 108, determines a scaled displacement value by multiplying the determined displacement value by a scaling factor. As used herein, the “scaling factor” refers to a number….FIG. 9 shows a chart of a non-limiting embodiment of a relationship between a scaling factor and a displacement value of an actuator of a video game controller from a neutral position of the actuator, which relationship may be stored in memory 112 of scaling module 108…the scaling factor may be selected to enable adapter 100 to generate a scaled control signal encoding data indicative of a displacement value of the actuator (e.g., control stick 12, or trigger buttons 14a, 14b)…In this embodiment, a constant scaling factor of ˜3.33 is used for substantially the entire range of determined displacement values, excluding the “dead zone”. In other words, the scaling ratio is determined as the ratio of the full potential displacement value of the actuator (i.e., without the stop member attached to controller 10), to the maximum possible displacement value of the actuator in the presence of the stop member attached to controller 10. FIG. 10 shows the relationship between the scaled displacement value and the determined displacement value of the actuator, as a result of applying the scaling factor of FIG. 9 to the determined displacement value of the actuator from the neutral position. In another embodiment (not shown), the scaling factor may be non-constant over the range of displacement values. This can be used to effectively modify the responsiveness and sensitivity characteristics of the actuator” –in an adjustment mode of the analog input device, the generating section is further configured to generate operation information including a first value and a second value related to the user operation input to the analog input device)
wherein the first value comprises a value obtained by adjusting, using setting information being modified in the adjustment mode, the value related to the user operation input to the analog input device, and ([0071]-[0073] “At step 206, scaling module 108, determines a scaled displacement value by multiplying the determined displacement value by a scaling factor. As used herein, the “scaling factor” refers to a number….FIG. 9 shows a chart of a non-limiting embodiment of a relationship between a scaling factor and a displacement value of an actuator of a video game controller from a neutral position of the actuator, which relationship may be stored in memory 112 of scaling module 108…the scaling factor may be selected to enable adapter 100 to generate a scaled control signal encoding data indicative of a displacement value of the actuator (e.g., control stick 12, or trigger buttons 14a, 14b)…In this embodiment, a constant scaling factor of ˜3.33 is used for substantially the entire range of determined displacement values, excluding the “dead zone”. In other words, the scaling ratio is determined as the ratio of the full potential displacement value of the actuator (i.e., without the stop member attached to controller 10), to the maximum possible displacement value of the actuator in the presence of the stop member attached to controller 10. FIG. 10 shows the relationship between the scaled displacement value and the determined displacement value of the actuator, as a result of applying the scaling factor of FIG. 9 to the determined displacement value of the actuator from the neutral position. In another embodiment (not shown), the scaling factor may be non-constant over the range of displacement values. This can be used to effectively modify the responsiveness and sensitivity characteristics of the actuator” –the scaled value (i.e., the first value) comprises a value the is determined by multiplying the second value (value that is directly proportional to (linearly related) to the displacement of the stick/trigger) by a scaling factor and this value may be non-linearly related (i.e., non-linear sensitivity curve) to the displacement of the stick/trigger)
wherein the second value comprises a value to which the setting information being modified in the adjustment mode has not been applied ([0070]-[0073] “determines the displacement value of the actuator based on the data encoded by the control signal. For example, processor 110 may process a bit stream of the control signal to ascertain the displacement value of the actuator. In one embodiment, scaling module 108 may determine the displacement value by simply “reading” values of the bit stream that directly indicate the displacement value. In another embodiment, scaling module 108 may determine the displacement value by performing logical and/or arithmetic operations on values of the bit stream to derive the displacement value, in accordance with predetermined relationships between the data and displacement values….” –the original displacement value (i.e., the second value) comprises a value that is directly proportional to (linearly related) to the displacement of the stick/trigger and this is the value to which the scaling factor will (but has not yet) been applied)
With respect to claims 17 and 31, Ali teaches the apparatus of claim 16 and the method of claim 28;
wherein the second value is linearly related to an amount of operation input to the analog input device, and the first value is non-linearly related to the amount of operation input to the analog input device ([0071]-[0073] “At step 206, scaling module 108, determines a scaled displacement value by multiplying the determined displacement value by a scaling factor. As used herein, the “scaling factor” refers to a number….FIG. 9 shows a chart of a non-limiting embodiment of a relationship between a scaling factor and a displacement value of an actuator of a video game controller from a neutral position of the actuator, which relationship may be stored in memory 112 of scaling module 108…the scaling factor may be selected to enable adapter 100 to generate a scaled control signal encoding data indicative of a displacement value of the actuator (e.g., control stick 12, or trigger buttons 14a, 14b)…In this embodiment, a constant scaling factor of ˜3.33 is used for substantially the entire range of determined displacement values, excluding the “dead zone”. In other words, the scaling ratio is determined as the ratio of the full potential displacement value of the actuator (i.e., without the stop member attached to controller 10), to the maximum possible displacement value of the actuator in the presence of the stop member attached to controller 10. FIG. 10 shows the relationship between the scaled displacement value and the determined displacement value of the actuator, as a result of applying the scaling factor of FIG. 9 to the determined displacement value of the actuator from the neutral position. In another embodiment (not shown), the scaling factor may be non-constant over the range of displacement values. This can be used to effectively modify the responsiveness and sensitivity characteristics of the actuator” –the original displacement value (i.e., the second value) which is directly proportional to (linearly related) to the displacement of the stick/trigger and the scaled value (i.e., the first value) may be non-linearly related (i.e., non-linear sensitivity curve) to the displacement of the stick/trigger)
With respect to claim 18, Ali teaches the apparatus of claim 16;
wherein the setting information comprises information regarding sensitivity ([0072]-[0073] “In other embodiments of the method, performance of steps 208 and 210 may be conditional upon the scaled displacement value being non-null, or the scaling factor being non-null… In another embodiment (not shown), the scaling factor may be non-constant over the range of displacement values. This can be used to effectively modify the responsiveness and sensitivity characteristics of the actuator”)
With respect to claim 19, Ali teaches the apparatus of claim 18;
wherein the information regarding sensitivity comprises a value for converting an amount of operation input to the analog input device ([0072]-[0073] “In other embodiments of the method, performance of steps 208 and 210 may be conditional upon the scaled displacement value being non-null, or the scaling factor being non-null… In another embodiment (not shown), the scaling factor may be non-constant over the range of displacement values. This can be used to effectively modify the responsiveness and sensitivity characteristics of the actuator”)
With respect to claim 20, Ali teaches the apparatus of claim 18;
wherein the information regarding sensitivity includes a dead zone setting value of the analog input device ([0072]-[0073] “FIG. 9, the predetermined value may be set to 5.0 percent of the full potential displacement value, but it will be understood that other non-null values may be selected. Since the scaling factor has a null value up to 5.0 percent of the full potential displacement value, the scaled displacement value will be determined to be null. Accordingly, as will be apparent when considering subsequent steps 208 and 210, this range of determined displacement values effectively becomes a “dead zone” of control stick 12. In embodiments of the method, steps 208 and 210 may be performed even though the scaled displacement value is null—i.e., the scaled control signal will encode data indicative of a null scaled displacement value. In other embodiments of the method, performance of steps 208 and 210 may be conditional upon the scaled displacement value being non-null, or the scaling factor being non-null… In another embodiment (not shown), the scaling factor may be non-constant over the range of displacement values. This can be used to effectively modify the responsiveness and sensitivity characteristics of the actuator”)
With respect to claim 21, Ali teaches the apparatus of claim 16;
wherein the analog input device comprises an analog stick ([0042] “controller 10 has an actuator in the form an omni-directional control stick 12, having a neutral position corresponding to its idle position, which typically corresponds to no directional input for an object in game play. Controller 10 has second and third actuators in the form of trigger buttons 14a, 14b, having neutral positions corresponding to their undepressed positions.”, [0073] “the scaling factor may be selected to enable adapter 100 to generate a scaled control signal encoding data indicative of a displacement value of the actuator (e.g., control stick 12, or trigger buttons 14a, 14b)”)
With respect to claim 22, Ali teaches the apparatus of claim 16;
wherein the analog input device comprises a trigger button ([0042] “controller 10 has an actuator in the form an omni-directional control stick 12, having a neutral position corresponding to its idle position, which typically corresponds to no directional input for an object in game play. Controller 10 has second and third actuators in the form of trigger buttons 14a, 14b, having neutral positions corresponding to their undepressed positions.”, [0073] “the scaling factor may be selected to enable adapter 100 to generate a scaled control signal encoding data indicative of a displacement value of the actuator (e.g., control stick 12, or trigger buttons 14a, 14b)”)
With respect to claim 32, Ali teaches the method of claim 28;
wherein the setting information includes a sensitivity curve representing a relationship between a user input amount of operation and a system- recognized amount of operation ([0072]-[0073] “In other embodiments of the method, performance of steps 208 and 210 may be conditional upon the scaled displacement value being non-null, or the scaling factor being non-null… In another embodiment (not shown), the scaling factor may be non-constant over the range of displacement values. This can be used to effectively modify the responsiveness and sensitivity characteristics of the actuator” – non-linear scaling factor across the range of displacement values is a sensitivity curve)
With respect to claim 34, Ali teaches the method of claim 28;
wherein the analog input device comprises a rotatably-supported trigger button configured to provide analog output values according to an amount of rotation (Fig 1 tags 14 a & b & [0041]-[0042])
With respect to claim 35, Ali teaches the method of claim 34;
wherein the setting information includes a release dead zone defining an insensitive zone on a start point side of trigger rotation and a full stroke dead zone defining an insensitive zone on an end point side of trigger rotation (Fig 1 tags 14 a & b & [0041]-[0042] & [0072][0073] for dead zone defining an insensitive zone on a start point side of trigger rotation and a full stroke dead zone defining an insensitive zone on an end point side of trigger rotation)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
v Claims 23-27 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2022/0274015, September 1, 2022- hereinafter "Ali”) in view of Nelson et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2019/0126140, May 2, 2019 - hereinafter "Nelson”)
With respect to claim 23, Ali teaches an information processing system comprising;
an information processing apparatus; and ([0075] “At step 210, scaling module 108, transmits the scaled control signal to console 20 via console interface 106. The operating system of console 20 receives the scaled control signal, and processes the scaled control signal as if it were a control signal generated by controller 10. Accordingly, the present invention does not require any modification to console 20. In response to the scaled control signal, console 20 will initiate a game function as if the actuator had been displaced by the scaled displacement value rather than the displacement value encoded by data of the control signal generated by controller 10.)
an operation apparatus, comprising: an analog input device configured to receive user operation as input; ([0042] “controller 10 has an actuator in the form an omni-directional control stick 12, having a neutral position corresponding to its idle position, which typically corresponds to no directional input for an object in game play. Controller 10 has second and third actuators in the form of trigger buttons 14a, 14b, having neutral positions corresponding to their undepressed positions.”)
a storage section configured to store setting information regarding the analog input device; ([0062]-[0063] “a scaling module 108 comprising a processor 110 and a memory 112…As used herein, “memory” refers to a non-transitory tangible medium for storing information in a format readable by a processor, and/or instructions readable by a processor to implement an algorithm. Non-limiting types of memory include solid-state, optical, and magnetic computer readable media. The term “memory” includes a plurality of physically discrete, operatively connected devices despite use of the term in the singular”, [0072] “a scaling factor and a displacement value of an actuator of a video game controller from a neutral position of the actuator, which relationship may be stored in memory 112 of scaling module 108.”
a generating section configured to ([0042] “a scaling module 108 comprising a processor 110 and a memory 112. As used herein, “processor” refers to any one or more electronic devices that is/are capable of reading and executing instructions stored on a memory to perform operations on data, which may be stored on a memory or provided in a data signal. Non-limiting examples of processors include devices referred to as microprocessors, microcontrollers, central processing units (CPU), and digital signal processors. The term “processor” includes a plurality of physically discrete, operatively connected devices despite use of the term in the singular”)
generate operation information including a value obtained by adjusting, based on the setting information, a value related to the user operation input to the analog input device; and ([0070]-[0073] “processor 110 determines the displacement value of the actuator based on the data encoded by the control signal. For example, processor 110 may process a bit stream of the control signal to ascertain the displacement value of the actuator. In one embodiment, scaling module 108 may determine the displacement value by simply “reading” values of the bit stream that directly indicate the displacement value. In another embodiment, scaling module 108 may determine the displacement value by performing logical and/or arithmetic operations on values of the bit stream to derive the displacement value, in accordance with predetermined relationships between the data and displacement values… At step 206, scaling module 108, determines a scaled displacement value by multiplying the determined displacement value by a scaling factor. As used herein, the “scaling factor” refers to a number….FIG. 9 shows a chart of a non-limiting embodiment of a relationship between a scaling factor and a displacement value of an actuator of a video game controller from a neutral position of the actuator, which relationship may be stored in memory 112 of scaling module 108…the scaling factor may be selected to enable adapter 100 to generate a scaled control signal encoding data indicative of a displacement value of the actuator (e.g., control stick 12, or trigger buttons 14a, 14b)…In this embodiment, a constant scaling factor of ˜3.33 is used for substantially the entire range of determined displacement values, excluding the “dead zone”. In other words, the scaling ratio is determined as the ratio of the full potential displacement value of the actuator (i.e., without the stop member attached to controller 10), to the maximum possible displacement value of the actuator in the presence of the stop member attached to controller 10. FIG. 10 shows the relationship between the scaled displacement value and the determined displacement value of the actuator, as a result of applying the scaling factor of FIG. 9 to the determined displacement value of the actuator from the neutral position. In another embodiment (not shown), the scaling factor may be non-constant over the range of displacement values. This can be used to effectively modify the responsiveness and sensitivity characteristics of the actuator”, see also [0062] & [0064] & [0068])
a transmitting section configured to transmit the generated operation information to an external information processing apparatus, ([0075] “scaling module 108, transmits the scaled control signal to console 20 via console interface 106. The operating system of console 20 receives the scaled control signal, and processes the scaled control signal as if it were a control signal generated by controller 10. Accordingly, the present invention does not require any modification to console 20. In response to the scaled control signal, console 20 will initiate a game function as if the actuator had been displaced by the scaled displacement value rather than the displacement value encoded by data of the control signal generated by controller 10”, see also [0043])
wherein, in an adjustment mode of the analog input device, the generating section is further configured to generate operation information including a first value and a second value related to the user operation input to the analog input device, ([0071]-[0073] “At step 206, scaling module 108, determines a scaled displacement value by multiplying the determined displacement value by a scaling factor. As used herein, the “scaling factor” refers to a number….FIG. 9 shows a chart of a non-limiting embodiment of a relationship between a scaling factor and a displacement value of an actuator of a video game controller from a neutral position of the actuator, which relationship may be stored in memory 112 of scaling module 108…the scaling factor may be selected to enable adapter 100 to generate a scaled control signal encoding data indicative of a displacement value of the actuator (e.g., control stick 12, or trigger buttons 14a, 14b)…In this embodiment, a constant scaling factor of ˜3.33 is used for substantially the entire range of determined displacement values, excluding the “dead zone”. In other words, the scaling ratio is determined as the ratio of the full potential displacement value of the actuator (i.e., without the stop member attached to controller 10), to the maximum possible displacement value of the actuator in the presence of the stop member attached to controller 10. FIG. 10 shows the relationship between the scaled displacement value and the determined displacement value of the actuator, as a result of applying the scaling factor of FIG. 9 to the determined displacement value of the actuator from the neutral position. In another embodiment (not shown), the scaling factor may be non-constant over the range of displacement values. This can be used to effectively modify the responsiveness and sensitivity characteristics of the actuator” –in an adjustment mode of the analog input device, the generating section is further configured to generate operation information including a first value and a second value related to the user operation input to the analog input device)
wherein the first value comprises a value obtained by adjusting, using setting information being modified in the adjustment mode, the value related to the user operation input to the analog input device, and ([0071]-[0073] “At step 206, scaling module 108, determines a scaled displacement value by multiplying the determined displacement value by a scaling factor. As used herein, the “scaling factor” refers to a number….FIG. 9 shows a chart of a non-limiting embodiment of a relationship between a scaling factor and a displacement value of an actuator of a video game controller from a neutral position of the actuator, which relationship may be stored in memory 112 of scaling module 108…the scaling factor may be selected to enable adapter 100 to generate a scaled control signal encoding data indicative of a displacement value of the actuator (e.g., control stick 12, or trigger buttons 14a, 14b)…In this embodiment, a constant scaling factor of ˜3.33 is used for substantially the entire range of determined displacement values, excluding the “dead zone”. In other words, the scaling ratio is determined as the ratio of the full potential displacement value of the actuator (i.e., without the stop member attached to controller 10), to the maximum possible displacement value of the actuator in the presence of the stop member attached to controller 10. FIG. 10 shows the relationship between the scaled displacement value and the determined displacement value of the actuator, as a result of applying the scaling factor of FIG. 9 to the determined displacement value of the actuator from the neutral position. In another embodiment (not shown), the scaling factor may be non-constant over the range of displacement values. This can be used to effectively modify the responsiveness and sensitivity characteristics of the actuator” –the scaled value (i.e., the first value) comprises a value the is determined by multiplying the second value (value that is directly proportional to (linearly related) to the displacement of the stick/trigger) by a scaling factor and this value may be non-linearly related (i.e., non-linear sensitivity curve) to the displacement of the stick/trigger)
wherein the second value comprises a value to which the setting information being modified in the adjustment mode has not been applied ([0070]-[0073] “determines the displacement value of the actuator based on the data encoded by the control signal. For example, processor 110 may process a bit stream of the control signal to ascertain the displacement value of the actuator. In one embodiment, scaling module 108 may determine the displacement value by simply “reading” values of the bit stream that directly indicate the displacement value. In another embodiment, scaling module 108 may determine the displacement value by performing logical and/or arithmetic operations on values of the bit stream to derive the displacement value, in accordance with predetermined relationships between the data and displacement values….” –the original displacement value (i.e., the second value) comprises a value that is directly proportional to (linearly related) to the displacement of the stick/trigger and this is the value to which the scaling factor will (but has not yet) been applied)
Ali does not appear to disclose,
wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to display, on a settings screen of the analog input device, an image representing a relation between the first value and the second value included in the operation information
However, Nelson discloses
wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to display, on a settings screen of the analog input device, an image representing a relation between the first value and the second value included in the operation information ([0039]-[0043] gaming console may display the mapping function representing the relationship between the original and scaled values (i.e., a settings screen of the analog device with an image representing the mapping function) & [0033]-[0034] & [0074]-[0077] & [0098] & [0126] and Figs 6 and 7)
Nelson suggests it is advantageous to wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to display, on a settings screen of the analog input device, an image representing a relation between the first value and the second value included in the operation information, because doing so can help the user visualize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ali to include wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to display, on a settings screen of the analog input device, an image representing a relation between the first value and the second value included in the operation information, as taught by Nelson, because doing so can help the user visualize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting.
With respect to claim 24, Ali and Nelson teach the system of claim 23. Ali does not appear to disclose,
wherein the image representing the relation between the first value and the second value is an image representing sensitivity of the analog input device
However, Nelson discloses
wherein the image representing the relation between the first value and the second value is an image representing sensitivity of the analog input device ([0039]-[0043] gaming console may display the mapping function representing the relationship between the original and scaled values (i.e., the image representing the relation between the first value and the second value) and this is a sensitivity function & [0033]-[0034] & [0074]-[0077] & [0098] & [0126] and Figs 6 and 7)
Nelson suggests it is advantageous to wherein the image representing the relation between the first value and the second value is an image representing sensitivity of the analog input device, because doing so can help the user visualize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ali to include wherein the image representing the relation between the first value and the second value is an image representing sensitivity of the analog input device, as taught by Nelson, because doing so can help the user visualize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting.
With respect to claim 25, Ali and Nelson teach the system of claim 23. Ali does not appear to disclose,
wherein information processing apparatus is configured to repeatedly transmit control data to the operation apparatus, and, in response to a user selection of an adjustment mode for the analog input device, transmit control data including an instruction to transition the operation apparatus to the adjustment mode
However, Nelson discloses
wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to repeatedly transmit control data to the operation apparatus, and, in response to a user selection of an adjustment mode for the analog input device, transmit control data including an instruction to transition the operation apparatus to the adjustment mode ([0039]-[0043] & [0033]-[0034] the calibration process involves the console repeatedly transmitting control data to the controller, and, in response to a user selection of an adjustment mode for the analog input device, transmit control data including an instruction to transition the operation apparatus to the adjustment mode, see also & [0074]-[0077] & [0098] & [0126] and Figs 6 and 7)
Nelson suggests it is advantageous to wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to repeatedly transmit control data to the operation apparatus, and, in response to a user selection of an adjustment mode for the analog input device, transmit control data including an instruction to transition the operation apparatus to the adjustment mode, because doing so can help the user personalize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ali to include wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to repeatedly transmit control data to the operation apparatus, and, in response to a user selection of an adjustment mode for the analog input device, transmit control data including an instruction to transition the operation apparatus to the adjustment mode, as taught by Nelson, because doing so can help the user visualize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting.
With respect to claim 26, Ali and Nelson teach the system of claim 23. Ali does not appear to disclose,
wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to transmit, to the operation apparatus, control data including information regarding vertices of a line graph representing sensitivity characteristics of the analog input device designated on the settings screen
However, Nelson discloses
wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to transmit, to the operation apparatus, control data including information regarding vertices of a line graph representing sensitivity characteristics of the analog input device designated on the settings screen (Figs 2 & 3 & 5- 7 and [0039]-[0043])
Nelson suggests it is advantageous to wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to transmit, to the operation apparatus, control data including information regarding vertices of a line graph representing sensitivity characteristics of the analog input device designated on the settings screen, because doing so can help the user visualize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ali to include wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to transmit, to the operation apparatus, control data including information regarding vertices of a line graph representing sensitivity characteristics of the analog input device designated on the settings screen, as taught by Nelson, because doing so can help the user visualize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting.
With respect to claim 27, Ali and Nelson teach the system of claim 23. Ali does not appear to disclose,
wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to transmit, to the operation apparatus, control data including information regarding a dead zone of the analog input device designated on the settings screen
However, Nelson discloses
wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to transmit, to the operation apparatus, control data including information regarding a dead zone of the analog input device designated on the settings screen (Fig 2 tags 204 & 201, Fig 3 tags 302 and 316 & [0029]-[0041])
Nelson suggests it is advantageous to wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to transmit, to the operation apparatus, control data including information regarding a dead zone of the analog input device designated on the settings screen, because doing so can help the user visualize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ali to include wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to transmit, to the operation apparatus, control data including information regarding a dead zone of the analog input device designated on the settings screen, as taught by Nelson, because doing so can help the user visualize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting.
With respect to claim 33, Ali teaches the method of claim 32. Ali does not appear to disclose,
wherein generating the operation information includes determining the system-recognized amount of operation based on at least one vertex of a line graph received from the external information processing apparatus
However, Nelson discloses
wherein generating the operation information includes determining the system-recognized amount of operation based on at least one vertex of a line graph received from the external information processing apparatus (Figs 2 & 3 & 5- 7 and [0039]-[0043])
Nelson suggests it is advantageous to wherein generating the operation information includes determining the system-recognized amount of operation based on at least one vertex of a line graph received from the external information processing apparatus, because doing so can help the user visualize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting (see citations above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ali to include wherein generating the operation information includes determining the system-recognized amount of operation based on at least one vertex of a line graph received from the external information processing apparatus, as taught by Nelson, because doing so can help the user visualize the sensitivity characteristics/relationship they are adjusting which may help them to improve the personalization of the setting.
Claim Objections
Claims 29 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (claim 28), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Young et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2023/0085053, March 16, 2023) teaches visualization of sensitivity settings used to personalize the sensitivity curve/relationship of a controller joystick
Minamino et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2020/0016486, January 16, 2020) teaches visualization of sensitivity settings used to personalize the sensitivity curve/relationship of an input device
Conclusion
No claim is allowed
/JAMES M DETWEILER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621