DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He et al. (WO2007019790A1/ copy of English Translation provided cited in PTO-892), hereinafter referred to as He790.
Regarding claim 1, He790 discloses method for coding a quantized transform block (See p. 4 disclosing a method of encoding coefficient blocks … dividing the bar of the transformed and quantized coefficient blocks and coding the coefficient block based on the divided bar), comprising:
coding a position of an end-of-block coefficient in the quantized transform block (See pp. 14 and 15 disclosing a bit is first coded to determine whether the position of the last non-0 coefficient of the current bar is less than 6. He790 further codes whether the position is 6 or 7); and
coding quantized transformed coefficients of the quantized transform block using a wavefront scan order (See p.8 disclosing for inverted L groups, He790 scans coefficients through the inverted L structures in a defined order),
wherein the wavefront scan order is characterized by coding respective quantized transform coefficients of flipped L-shaped regions (See pp. 7 and 8 disclosing the corner point to the right and down all the coefficients form an inverted L. He790 also identifies an L inverted group), and
wherein first quantized transform coefficients along a first axis of a flipped L- shaped region are coded followed by coding second quantized transform coefficients along a second axis of the flipped L-shaped region (See p.8 all the bars in each inverted L bar are sequentially scanned from left and then scan the vertical bar coefficients from top to bottom).
Regarding claim 4, He790 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, He790 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the flipped L-shaped region includes a quantized transform coefficient at a location (p, p) of the quantized transform block (See p.7 disclosing the corner point coefficient of each J piece is diagonal coefficient for the inverted L, diagonal coefficients are used as inverted L corner point coefficients) and all other quantized transform coefficient have coordinates (p, y) and (x, p) such that y < p and x <p (See pp. 7 and 8 disclosing the corner point to the right and down all the coefficients form an inverted L, with the horizontal and vertical portions extending from the diagonal corner).
Claims 17, 21, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20120170649 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chen.
Regarding claims 17, 21, 22 and 24 , these claims are directed to non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a compressed bitstream, wherein the remainder of the claims defines information contained in the compressed bitstream.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed non-transitory computer-readable storage medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in these claims merely serves as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. The recited end-of-block information, quantized transform coefficient information, scan-order information, and associated wavefront information describe the informational content of the compressed bitstream, but do not establish a functional relationship between that information and the claimed storage medium. Therefore, the recited bitstream content constitutes non-functional descriptive material and is not entitled to patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III).
the bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claims scope is just a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a compressed bitstream and is anticipated by Chen which recites a computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream (See Chen, ¶¶[0145] and [0146] ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-7, 9, 10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He790, in view of He et al. (US20200084474), hereinafter referred to as He474.
Regarding claim 2, He790 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim..
He790 does not explicitly disclose method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining Cartesian coordinates of an end-of-block coefficient in the quantized transform block.
However, He474 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses method of claim 1, further comprising: determining Cartesian coordinates of an end-of-block coefficient in the quantized transform block (See ¶[0124])
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by He790 to add the teachings of He474 as above, in order to provide a more efficient approach in the case where the block includes a relatively large number of non-zero coefficients by using the Cartesian coordinates approach (He474, [0111]).
Regarding claim 5, He790 and He474 disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
He790 does not explicitly disclose the method claim 1,wherein coding the position of the end-of-block coefficient in the quantized transform block comprises: coding a first syntax element indicating a wavefront that includes the end-of-block coefficient.
However, He474 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method claim 1,wherein coding the position of the end-of-block coefficient in the quantized transform block comprises: coding a first syntax element indicating a wavefront that includes the end-of-block coefficient (See ¶[0231]).
The motivation for combining He790 and He474 has been discussed in connection with claim 2, above.
Regarding claim 6, He790 and He474 disclose all the limitations of claim 5, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
He790 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 5, wherein coding the position of the end-of-block coefficient in the quantized transform block further comprises: coding a second syntax element indicating whether the end-of-block coefficient is in a column or a row of the wavefront.
However, He474 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method of claim 5, wherein coding the position of the end-of-block coefficient in the quantized transform block further comprises: coding a second syntax element indicating whether the end-of-block coefficient is in a column or a row of the wavefront (See ¶¶ [0124] and [0237]).
The motivation for combining He790 and He474 has been discussed in connection with claim 2, above.
Regarding claim 7, He790 and He474 disclose all the limitations of claim 6, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
He790 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 6, further comprising:
coding a third syntax element indicating an offset of the end-of-block coefficient within the one of the column or the row of the wavefront.
However, He474 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: coding a third syntax element indicating an offset of the end-of-block coefficient within the one of the column or the row of the wavefront (See ¶¶[0231]-[0234]).
The motivation for combining He790 and He474 has been discussed in connection with claim 2, above.
Regarding claims 9, 10 and 12-15, these claims are rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of claims 1, 2 and 4-7, since they claim analogous subject matter in the form of a device for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
Furthermore, He790 discloses a device for coding a quantized transform block (See p.18 disclosing an apparatus for encoding a coefficient block according to the present invention)
He790 does not explicitly disclose a processor.
However, He474 from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses a processor (See ¶[0002]).
The motivation for combining He790 and He474 has been discussed in connection with claim 2, above.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He790, in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 3, He790 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim..
He790 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the wavefront scan order is selected in response to determining that a two-dimensional transform is used to obtain the quantized transform block from a pixel-domain residual block.
However, Chen from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the wavefront scan order is selected in response to determining that a two-dimensional transform is used to obtain the quantized transform block from a pixel-domain residual block (See ¶¶[0006], [0011], [0040], and [0054]-[0057])
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by He790 to add the teachings of Chen as above, in order to reduce computational burden of selecting the transform and scanning mode (Chen, [0047]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He790, in view of He474, and further, in view of Frang (US20130215970A1), hereinafter referred to as Frang.
Regarding claim 8, He790 and He474 disclose all the limitations of claim 5, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
He790 does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 5, wherein coding the position of the end-of-block coefficient in the quantized transform block further comprises: coding a second syntax element indicating an offset of the end-of-block coefficient to a predetermined location in the wavefront..
However, Frang from the same or similar endeavor of video compression discloses the method of claim 5, wherein coding the position of the end-of-block coefficient in the quantized transform block further comprises: coding a second syntax element indicating an offset of the end-of-block coefficient to a predetermined location in the wavefront (See ¶[0191]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by He790 and He474 to add the teachings of Frang as above, in order to reduce the storage and processing required in the encoder and decoder. (Frang, [0009]).
Regarding claim 16, He790 and He474 disclose all the limitations of claim 13, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, this claim is rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of claim 8, since it claims analogous subject matter in the form of a device for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He790 in view of He474, further in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 11, He790 and He474 disclose all the limitations of claim 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, this claim is rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of claim 3, since it claims analogous subject matter in the form of a device for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for additional references.
/FABIO S LIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486