DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . All the claims have been examined on the basis of the merit of the claims.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/CN2023117850 filed 09/08/2023 which claims foreign priority benefits from CN202211348614 filed 10/31/2022 filed in China. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDSes) submitted on 06/04/2025, 11/14/2025 and 05/28/2025 are considered and attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15, 17-19, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He et al. (US-20240134591-A1, hereinafter as He).
In regard to claim 1, He discloses screen casting method, applicable to a first device and a second device, the method (referring figs. 4A-4B and 5) comprising:
starting by the first device screen casting to the second device (fig. 4A, para 0060, mobile phone performs the casting to the PC), and creating a first display area, wherein the first display area is marked with a second flag, and the first display area is an invisible display area in the first device (display interface 401, fig. 4A which also runs window 206 as per fig. 4B in the background);
displaying, by the second device, a first window after the first device performs screen casting to the second device (fig.4B, PC displays windows 203 and 206 in which display interface 401 having call interface and video interface are cast and displayed); displaying, by the second device, first image information from the first device in the first window when the first device is in a screen-on state (fig.4B, both the windows 206 and 203 are displayed-- 206 is a display video interface while 203 being a phone call display interface), wherein the first image information corresponds to an application interface of a first application in the first device (figs.4A-4B, phone call application as shown); determining, when the first device detects that a condition that the screen is automatically off is satisfied, that the first display area has the second flag; controlling, by the first device, to power off a display screen of the first device, or (alternative clause. Only one limitation is read) displaying a lock screen layer on the display screen, wherein a service running state corresponding to the display screen remains unchanged (only screen off state is read. Para 0061, in addition, the mobile phone detects that the user makes a call to the contact Sam…if it is detected that there is an object near the earpiece of the mobile phone, the mobile phone stops drawing the call interface 401, and the mobile phone enters a screen-off state. The phone call function runs in the foreground (service running state corresponding to the display screen remains unchanged)); and displaying, by the second device, second image information from the first device in the first window after the first device switches to a lock screen state or a screen-off state (alternative clause. Only one limitation is read. Only screen off state is read), wherein the second image information also corresponds to the application interface of the first application in the first device, wherein the second image information is data drawn in the first display area (Video display interface 206 is still displayed in the PC as shown, fig.5. Or displays a mask (second image information) for window 203, i.e. para 0062, alternatively, after stopping drawing the call interface 401, the mobile phone may further indicate the PC to display a preset mask layer, an animation, a text, or a picture in window 203 and window 206, to prompt the user that the mobile phone is in a call).
In regard to claim1 10, 19, a first device and a screen casting method, applicable to the first device, the method (referring figs. 4A-4B and 5) comprising:
performing, by the first device, screen casting to a second device (fig. 4A, para 0060, mobile phone performs the casting to the PC), and creating a first display area, wherein the first display area is marked with a second flag, and the first display area is an invisible display area in the first device (display interface 401, fig. 4A which also runs window 206 as per fig. 4B in the background);
sending, by the first device when the first device is in a screen-on state , first image information corresponding to a first application to the second device, to indicate the second device to display the first image information in a first window (fig.4B, both the windows 206 and 203 are displayed-- 206 is a display video interface while 203 being a phone call display interface);
determining, when the first device detects that a condition that the screen is automatically off is satisfied, that the first display area has the second flag; controlling, by the first device, to power off a display screen of the first device, or displaying a lock screen layer on the display screen, wherein a service running state corresponding to the display screen remains unchanged (only screen off state is read. Para 0061, in addition, the mobile phone detects that the user makes a call to the contact Sam…if it is detected that there is an object near the earpiece of the mobile phone, the mobile phone stops drawing the call interface 401, and the mobile phone enters a screen-off state. The phone call function runs in the foreground (service running state corresponding to the display screen remains unchanged)); and
sending, by the first device, second image information corresponding to the first application to the second device after the first device switches to a lock screen state or a screen-off state, to indicate the second device to display the second image information in the first window, wherein both the first image information and the second image information are application interfaces of the first application, wherein the second image information is data drawn in the first display area (Video display interface 206 is still displayed in the PC as shown, fig.5. Or displays a mask (second image information) for window 203, i.e. para 0062, alternatively, after stopping drawing the call interface 401, the mobile phone may further indicate the PC to display a preset mask layer, an animation, a text, or a picture in window 203 and window 206, to prompt the user that the mobile phone is in a call (both the application interfaces are displayed)).
In regard to claims 2, 11 and 21, He discloses the method according to claim 10, the method according to claim 1, the device according to claim 19, wherein after the first device switches to a lock screen state or a screen-off state, the method further comprises:
configuring, by the first device, the first application to not enter a sleep mode in a life cycle, and configuring the application interface of the first application to be allowed to be drawn in the first display area in the life cycle; wherein the first display area is an invisible display area in the first device (fig. 4B, both the applications are displayed in the PC, while at the mobile device phone interface 401 is displayed (video interface application is being run in the background)); and
sending, by the first device, the second image information of the first application to the second device, to instruct the second device to display the second image information in the first window, wherein the second image information is data drawn in the first display area (masking as described in rejection to the independent claims 1, 10 and 19).
In regard to claims 3, 12 and 22, He discloses the method according to claim 2, the method according to claim 11, the device according to claim 19, wherein before the first device performs screen casting to the second device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first device, a first message of the first application;
forwarding, by the first device, the first message to the second device; displaying, by the second device, a first control, wherein the first control is configured to display the first message (UI labels such as who is calling and associated functional buttons are displayed which are equivalents to claimed “messages”, fig. 4B);
sending, by the second device, a first request to the first device in response to an operation of a user on the first control, wherein the first request comprises a first identifier of the first application; and starting, by the first device, screen casting to the second device in response to the first request (para 0060, Further, the PC may send the operation input by the user to the mobile phone, and trigger the mobile phone to project the video app onto the PC in response to the operation).
In regard to claims 4, 13 and 23, He discloses the method according to claim 3, the method according to claim 12, the first device according to claim 19, wherein after the starting screen casting to the second device, the method further comprises: creating, by the first device, the first display area, and starting by the first device the first application;
generating, by the first device, the first image information based on image data in the first display area after the application interface of the first application is drawn in the first display area; and
sending, by the first device, the first image information to the second device (casting of the user interfaces as shown figs. 4A-4B).
In regard to claims 5, 14, He discloses the method according to claim 4, the method according to claim 13, wherein before the starting the first application, the method further comprises:
marking, by the first device, the first application with a first flag; and
before the configuring, by the first device, the first application to not enter a sleep mode in a life cycle, and configuring the application interface of the first application to be allowed to be drawn in a first display area in the life cycle, the method further comprises: determining, by the first device, that the first application has the first flag (figs. 4A-4B, phone call interface 401 is displayed both in the phone and the shared PC).
In regard to claims 6, 15, He discloses the method according to claim 1, the method of claim 11, wherein before the first device switches to a lock screen state or a screen-off state, the method further comprises: when the first device receives an operation of a user indicating to lock the screen or turn off the screen, in response to the operation of a user indicating to lock the screen or turn off the screen, controlling, by the first device, to power off a display screen of the first device, or displaying a lock screen layer on the display screen, wherein a service running state corresponding to the display screen remains unchanged (para 0061, in addition, the mobile phone may send the call interface 401 to the PC, and the PC updates the call interface 401 to display in the window 203. In addition, the mobile phone detects that the user makes a call to the contact Sam, or after the user connects the call with the contact Sam, the mobile phone may further detect, by using an optical proximity sensor, whether there is an object near an earpiece of the mobile phone. If it is detected that there is an object near the earpiece of the mobile phone, the mobile phone stops drawing the call interface 401, and the mobile phone enters a screen-off state).
In regard to claims 8, 17, He discloses the method according to claim 1, the method according to claim 11, wherein before the first device switches to a lock screen state or a screen-off state, the method further comprises: determining, by the first device, not to draw a lock screen layer in the first display area (para 0166, after receiving the notification event, as shown in FIG. 18A and FIG. 18B, the PC may display a preset blocking picture 1701 in the first window 1302 based on the identifier of the first window 1302 in the notification event. The blocking picture 1701 may be used to block all or a part of an interface that is being displayed in the first window 1302).
In regard to claims 9, 18, He discloses the method according to claim 1,the method according to claim 11, wherein before the first device switches to a lock screen state or a screen-off state, the method further comprises: determining, by the first device, that the first display area does not mirror content in a second display area, wherein the second display area is a visible display area in the first device (fig. 1A, only phone call interface is displayed).
Conclusion
/DEEPROSE SUBEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627