DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 10. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the inner housing" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant should make claim 20 dependent from claim 11 to overcome the rejection. For this office action claim 20 is seen as being dependent from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strauss (US 2015/0362293) in view of Patterson et al (US 5,715,594) [hereinafter Patterson].
Regarding claim 1, Strauss discloses a ballistic armor 500 (Par. 0034: “a side cross-sectional view of the ballistic resistant apparatus 500 shown in FIG. 5, exposing the ceramic member 510 encased within the composite member 505”), comprising:
a front and a back (clearly seen in Fig. 11);
one or more ballistic tile 510 (Par. 0034 and 0077; Fig. 5 and 11);
one or more insert 520 between the ballistic tile and the back (Fig. 11; Par. 0077); and
a polymer 505 encapsulating the one or more ballistic tile and the one or more insert (Par. 0034; see also Par. 0041: “composite layer 505 containing a combination of carbon fiber fabric and epoxy is an example of an excellent structural component due to its high tensile strength, high compressive strength, high flexural strength, and excellent heat resistance and machinability. The composite layer 505 can be formed over the ceramic member 510 by any suitable process, such as a wet layup process where liquid resin is distributed over a fabric made of carbon or glass fibers to wet out the fabric”).
Strauss fails to disclose wherein one or more mold tab is attached to an edge of one or more ballistic tile.
Patterson teaches that it is known in injection molded manufacturing, which is relevant to the particular problem at hand, to provide one or more mold tab 152, 160 an edge of one or more tiles (circuit board 115 include tabs 152, 162 supported on mold surfaces during molding; (Fig. 5c; Col. 5, lines 53-67 and Col. 6, lines 1-29: “the printed circuit boards are supported in the molds by the edging materials (i.e. the tabs 152 and trim 154) which are clamped into place by the mold 156. The elimination of the need to provide supports 144 has the benefit of providing additional usable real estate on the printed circuit boards 115. FIG. 5c shows a further development of this idea where the trim of the panel 148' has been removed and only the tabs 152' and 160' remain. Thus the tabs 152' directly connect the printed circuit boards 115' to each other and the mold 156' supports the panel 148' only by the tabs 152' and 160'”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Strauss such that one or more mold tab is attached to an edge of one or more ballistic tile, in view of Patterson, to obtain the desired result of assisting in positioning and supporting the ballistic tile during molding (see Patterson: Fig. 5c; Col. 5, lines 53-67 and Col. 6, lines 1-29)
Regarding claim 2, Strauss fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more mold tab suspends the one or more ballistic tile within a tool during injection of the polymer.
Patterson teaches Patterson teaches the one or more mold tab suspends the one or more tile within a tool during injection of the polymer (the tabs 152, 160 support circuit boards during molding within a mold 156; Col. 6, Lns. 5-29; polymeric hybrid materials; Col. 4, Ln 59-Col. 5, Ln 21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Strauss such that the one or more mold tab suspends the one or more tile within a tool during injection of the polymer, in view of Patterson, to obtain the desired result of positioning and supporting the ballistic tile without the need for supports(Patterson: Col. 6, lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 3, Strauss further discloses wherein the insert is a textile material (the ballistic sheets 520 include textiles; Par. 0078)
Regarding claim 4, Strauss further discloses wherein the insert is a para-aramid synthetic textile material (Par. 0078: “The term “sheet,” as used herein, can describe one or more layers containing any suitable material, such as a polymer, metal, fiberglass, ceramic, composite, or combination thereof. Examples of polymers include aramids, para-aramids, meta-aramids, polyolefins, and thermoplastic polyethylenes. Commercially-available examples of aramids, para-aramids, and meta-aramids”)
Regarding claim 5, Strauss further discloses wherein the insert is a polyethylene material (Par. 0078: “The term “sheet,” as used herein, can describe one or more layers containing any suitable material, such as a polymer, metal, fiberglass, ceramic, composite, or combination thereof. Examples of polymers include aramids, para-aramids, meta-aramids, polyolefins, and thermoplastic polyethylenes. Commercially-available examples of aramids, para-aramids, and meta-aramids”).
Regarding claim 6, Strauss further discloses wherein the insert is an ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene material (Par. 0078: “Examples of thermoplastic polyethylenes include TENSYLON from E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, DYNEEMA from Dutch-based DSM, and SPECTRA from Honeywell International, Inc., which are all examples of ultra-high-molecular-weight polyethylenes (UHMWPE)”).
Regarding claim 8, Strauss fails to disclose wherein the one or more mold tab includes a plurality of mold tabs arranged around the edge of one or more ballistic tile.
Patterson teaches one the or more mold tab includes a plurality of mold tabs arranged around the edge of one or more tile (A plurality of tabs 152, 160 around the perimeter of the circuit board 115 [tile]; Fig. 5c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Strauss such that one the or more mold tab includes a plurality of mold tabs arranged around the edge of one or more tile, in view of Patterson, to obtain the desired result of assisting in positioning and supporting ballistic tiles without the need for further supports (Patterson Col. 6, Lns. 14-16).
Regarding claim 9, Strauss further discloses a supplemental layer between the one or more ballistic tile and the front (Fig. 11 and 13; Par. 0044: “the ceramic member 510 can be wrapped with one or more sheets of reinforcing materials 1305 to form a composite layer 505. The reinforcing materials 1305 can be wrapped around the ceramic member 510 similar to the way a gift box is wrapped with wrapping paper”) .
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Strauss and Patterson, as applied to claims 1-6 and 8-9 above, and further in view of Peters et al (US 2012/0060678) [hereinafter Peters].
Regarding claim 7, The combination of Strauss and Patterson fails to expressly disclose wherein the polymer is a dicyclopentadiene resin.
Peters teaches that it is known in the art to use a dicyclopentadiene resin (Par. 0026: “composites of the present invention can comprise various polymeric resins, depending on the desired properties and application… the composite can be formed into a panel, such as an armor panel for ballistic or blast resistance, and the polymeric resin comprises a polydicyclopentadiene resin.”; see also Par. 0079: “Dicyclopentadiene resins useful in some embodiments of the present invention, along with catalysts and/or other materials useful in curing the resin, are commercially available from Materia, Inc. of Pasadena, Calif”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of Strauss and Patterson such that the polymer is a dicyclopentadiene resin, in view of Peters, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim 10 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Strauss and Patterson, as applied to claims 1-6 and 8-9 above, and further in view of Murphy et al (CN 213841899) [hereinafter Murphy].
Regarding claims 10 and 19, the combination of Strauss and Patterson fails to disclose wherein the back includes vent ribs.
Murphy teaches a cushion pad and body armor (abstract), wherein the back includes vent ribs (a cushion pad 60 includes front and back surfaces with convex strips or ribs 61 forming flow grooves 62 therebetween for removing heat from the body; Fig. 3; Paras. [0049]-[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Angel such that the back includes vent ribs as taught by Dongguan. The motivation being to improve the comfort of the wearer by removing heat from the body and conforming the armor to it (Dongguan Para. [0053]).
Claims 11-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strauss (US 2015/0362293) in view of Wook et al (KR20210157681) [hereinafter Wook]
Regarding Claim 11, Strauss discloses a ballistic armor (a ballistic resistant apparatus 500; Para. [0034]), comprising: a front and a back (a front and back; Fig. 12); an inner housing formed from a polymer (a polymer cover or coating 515; Paras. [0070]-[0071], [0076]); one or more ballistic tile mounted to a mounting area of the inner housing between the inner housing and the front (a ceramic member 510 mounted in a center of the cover 515; Fig. 12; Para. [0034]); one or more insert mounted to the inner housing between the inner housing and the back (a stack of ballistic sheets 520; Para. [0077]); and a polymer encapsulating the one or more ballistic tile and the one or more insert (a composite layer 505 including a polymer matrix material applied to a fabric layer; Paras. [0035], [0042]).
Strauss fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inner housing includes one or more tooling tab.
Wook teaches a bullet proof shield (abstract), wherein the inner housing includes one or more tooling tab (an upper plate 100 and a lower plate 300 forming a housing of a shield 1 and having tabs on the corners thereof; Fig. 3; Para. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Angel such that the inner housing includes one or more tooling tab as taught by Wook. The motivation being to facilitate assembly and alignment of the housing (Wook: Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Applicant should note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The tooling tabs as taught by Wook are capable of suspending the inner housing within a tool during injection molding.
Regarding claim 13, Strauss further discloses wherein the insert is a textile material (the ballistic sheets 520 include textiles; Par. 0078).
Regarding claim 14, Strauss further discloses wherein the insert is a para-aramid synthetic textile material (Par. 0078: “The term “sheet,” as used herein, can describe one or more layers containing any suitable material, such as a polymer, metal, fiberglass, ceramic, composite, or combination thereof. Examples of polymers include aramids, para-aramids, meta-aramids, polyolefins, and thermoplastic polyethylenes. Commercially-available examples of aramids, para-aramids, and meta-aramids”)
Regarding claim 15, Strauss further discloses wherein the insert is a polyethylene material (Par. 0078: “The term “sheet,” as used herein, can describe one or more layers containing any suitable material, such as a polymer, metal, fiberglass, ceramic, composite, or combination thereof. Examples of polymers include aramids, para-aramids, meta-aramids, polyolefins, and thermoplastic polyethylenes. Commercially-available examples of aramids, para-aramids, and meta-aramids”).
Regarding claim 16, Strauss further discloses wherein the insert is an ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene material (Par. 0078: “Examples of thermoplastic polyethylenes include TENSYLON from E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, DYNEEMA from Dutch-based DSM, and SPECTRA from Honeywell International, Inc., which are all examples of ultra-high-molecular-weight polyethylenes (UHMWPE)”).
polyethylene; Para. [0078]).
Regarding claim 18, Strauss fails to disclose wherein the one or more tooling tab includes a fastening aperture.
Wook teaches the bullet proof shield (abstract) wherein the one or more tooling tab includes a fastener aperture (the tabs including fastener apertures; Fig. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify Strauss such that the one or more tooling tab includes a fastener aperture as taught by Wook. The motivation being to facilitate assembly and alignment of the housing (Wook: Fig. 3).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Strauss and Wook, as applied to claims 11-16 and 18 above, and further in view of Peters et al (US 2012/0060678) [hereinafter Peters].
Regarding claim 17, The combination of Strauss and Wook fails to expressly disclose wherein the polymer is a dicyclopentadiene resin.
Peters teaches that it is known in the art to use a dicyclopentadiene resin (Par. 0026: “composites of the present invention can comprise various polymeric resins, depending on the desired properties and application… the composite can be formed into a panel, such as an armor panel for ballistic or blast resistance, and the polymeric resin comprises a polydicyclopentadiene resin.”; see also Par. 0079: “Dicyclopentadiene resins useful in some embodiments of the present invention, along with catalysts and/or other materials useful in curing the resin, are commercially available from Materia, Inc. of Pasadena, Calif”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of Strauss and Wook such that the polymer is a dicyclopentadiene resin, in view of Peters, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Strauss and Wook, as applied to claims 11-16 and 18 above, and further in view of Neal (US 2015/0253114).
Regarding Claim 20, (as best understood) the combination of Strauss and Wook fails to explicitly disclose/teach wherein the inner housing includes a plurality of mounting areas, and wherein a ballistic resistance of the one or more ballistic tile of at least one of the mounting areas is less than a ballistic resistance of the one or more ballistic tile of at least another of the mounting areas.
Phoenix teaches a ceramic composite armor system (title), wherein the inner housing includes a plurality of mounting areas (body armor 10 includes a soft body armor housing 16 with a plurality of discs 52 mounted therein; Figs. 27-29; Paras. [0278], [0283]), and wherein a ballistic resistance of the one or more ballistic tile of at least one of the mounting areas is less than a ballistic resistance of the one or more ballistic tile of at least another of the mounting areas (the discs 52 arranged in an array of horizontal rows from left to right and top to bottom, therefore the ballistic resistance surrounding the perimeter of the armor 10 will be less than that of the center; Fig. 27; Paras. [0284]-[0285]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to modify the combination of Stauss and Wook such that the inner housing includes a plurality of mounting areas, and wherein a ballistic resistance of the one or more ballistic tile of at least one of the mounting areas is less than a ballistic resistance of the one or more ballistic tile of at least another of the mounting areas as taught by Phoenix. The motivation being to allow the armor to flex around the body improving comfort and concealment (Neal: Par. [0278]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JOSHUA E FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641