Detailed Action
Office Action is in response to the instant Application 19/125,862 filed on 4/30/2025 and Preliminary Amendments filed on 4/30/2025, where claims 16-20 were added as New. Claims 1-20 are pending. This Office Action is Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 7/29/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajadurai et al. (US 2023/0138033) in view of Mandyam (US 2017/0289185).
As per claim 1, Rajadurai teaches an apparatus for wireless communication,
comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor (Rajadurai, Paragraph 0025 recites “The network comprising, a memory, a processor, a transceiver, and wherein the processor is configured to receive, from the UE by the network, a first NAS message including an indicator indicating that the UE supports a secure channel for domain name system (DNS); transmit, to the UE from the network, a second NAS message including DNS server security information in response to transmitting the first NAS message; and receive, from the UE by the network, the DNS over the secure channel based on the DNS server security information.”)
coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: a security policy for protocol data unit (PDU) session (Rajadurai, Paragraph 0117 recites “Once the PDU sessions are established (based on the User Plane Security Enforcement information provides the NG-RAN with User Plane security policies for a PDU session and NG-RAN configures the security of the DRB(s) of the PDU session based on the received policy), the IP packet filter set takes care of identifying the appropriate PDU session and route the application packets, so that appropriate configured security mechanisms are applied.”).
But fails to teach receive a first message that indicates indicating supported cipher suites including a NULL cipher suite, wherein the NULL cipher suite defines that at least one of no encryption or no integrity is to be applied; select the NULL cipher suite based at least in part on the received security policy; and a second message that
indicates the selected NULL cipher suite.
However, in an analogous art Mandyam teaches receive a first message that indicates indicating supported cipher suites including a NULL cipher suite, wherein the NULL cipher suite defines that at least one of no encryption or no integrity is to be applied; select the NULL cipher suite based at least in part on the received security policy; and a second message that indicates the selected NULL cipher suite (Mandyam, Paragraph 0143 recites “The client device 108 can be configured to analyze the handshake message from the relying party 120 (stage 1226). The secure communications module 226 of the client device 108 can be configured to analyze the ServerHelloMessage to verify the cipher suite selected by the relying party 120 to determine whether the cipher suite specified in the ServerHelloMessage is compatible with that specified in the ClientHelloMessage and/or other a null cipher suite was specified in the ServerHelloMessage. The secure communications module 226 of the client device 108 can be configured to provide the ServerHelloMessage to complete the handshake process (or at least the initial exchange of messages of such an exchange) to the browser module 222 responsive to determining that there are not any anomalies in the ServerHelloMessage. The secure communications module 226 can be configured to examine additional messages exchanged between the client device 108 and the relying party 120, such as those of the negotiation phase discussed with respect to the handshake process 900 of FIG. 9. The secure communications module 226 can be configured to halt the handshake process 1200 responsive to determining that the ServerHelloMessage or a subsequent message exchanged between the client device 108 and the relying party 120 is anomalous.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Mandyam’s device assisted traffic anomaly detection with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of provide integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack providing integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack.
As per claim 2, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Mandyam further teaches wherein the at least one Processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to, via the PDU session, at least one of send to or receive one or more messages protected using the NULL cipher suite (Mandyam, Paragraph 0143 recites “The client device 108 can be configured to analyze the handshake message from the relying party 120 (stage 1226). The secure communications module 226 of the client device 108 can be configured to analyze the ServerHelloMessage to verify the cipher suite selected by the relying party 120 to determine whether the cipher suite specified in the ServerHelloMessage is compatible with that specified in the ClientHelloMessage and/or other a null cipher suite was specified in the ServerHelloMessage. The secure communications module 226 of the client device 108 can be configured to provide the ServerHelloMessage to complete the handshake process (or at least the initial exchange of messages of such an exchange) to the browser module 222 responsive to determining that there are not any anomalies in the ServerHelloMessage. The secure communications module 226 can be configured to examine additional messages exchanged between the client device 108 and the relying party 120, such as those of the negotiation phase discussed with respect to the handshake process 900 of FIG. 9. The secure communications module 226 can be configured to halt the handshake process 1200 responsive to determining that the ServerHelloMessage or a subsequent message exchanged between the client device 108 and the relying party 120 is anomalous.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Mandyam’s device assisted traffic anomaly detection with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of provide integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack providing integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack.
As per claim 3, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Mandyam further teaches wherein: the first message is a Client Hello message; and the second message is a Server Hello response message (Mandyam, Paragraph 0143 recites “The client device 108 can be configured to analyze the handshake message from the relying party 120 (stage 1226). The secure communications module 226 of the client device 108 can be configured to analyze the ServerHelloMessage to verify the cipher suite selected by the relying party 120 to determine whether the cipher suite specified in the ServerHelloMessage is compatible with that specified in the ClientHelloMessage and/or other a null cipher suite was specified in the ServerHelloMessage. The secure communications module 226 of the client device 108 can be configured to provide the ServerHelloMessage to complete the handshake process (or at least the initial exchange of messages of such an exchange) to the browser module 222 responsive to determining that there are not any anomalies in the ServerHelloMessage. The secure communications module 226 can be configured to examine additional messages exchanged between the client device 108 and the relying party 120, such as those of the negotiation phase discussed with respect to the handshake process 900 of FIG. 9. The secure communications module 226 can be configured to halt the handshake process 1200 responsive to determining that the ServerHelloMessage or a subsequent message exchanged between the client device 108 and the relying party 120 is anomalous.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Mandyam’s device assisted traffic anomaly detection with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of provide integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack providing integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack.
As per claim 4, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Mandyam further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first message and send the second message occur as part of a transport layer security (TLS) handshake (Mandyam, Paragraph 0109 recites “Otherwise, if the client device 108 can successfully decrypt the contents of the Finished message from the server, the TLS handshake is completed, and the client device 108 and the relying party 120 can communicate data over the TLS connection that has been encrypted using the keys generated during the handshake process and using the cipher suite selected during the handshake process”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Mandyam’s device assisted traffic anomaly detection with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of provide integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack providing integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack.
As per claim 6, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Mandyam further teaches wherein the NULL cipher suite provides that no encryption of messages between the apparatus and a remote device is performed (Mandyam, Paragraph 0062 recites “A number of software modules and data tables may reside in memory 314 and may be utilized by the processor 310 in order to manage both communications with remote devices/nodes, perform positioning determination functionality, and/or perform device control functionality.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Mandyam’s device assisted traffic anomaly detection with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of provide integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack providing integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack.
As per claim 7, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Mandyam further teaches wherein the NULL cipher suite provides that no key exchange between the apparatus and a remote device is performed (Mandyam, Paragraph 0062 recites “A number of software modules and data tables may reside in memory 314 and may be utilized by the processor 310 in order to manage both communications with remote devices/nodes, perform positioning determination functionality, and/or perform device control functionality.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Mandyam’s device assisted traffic anomaly detection with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of provide integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack providing integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack.
As per claim 8, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Mandyam further teaches wherein the
NULL cipher suite provides that no authentication between the apparatus and a
remote device is performed (Mandyam, Paragraph 0062 recites “A number of software modules and data tables may reside in memory 314 and may be utilized by the processor 310 in order to manage both communications with remote devices/nodes, perform positioning determination functionality, and/or perform device control functionality.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Mandyam’s device assisted traffic anomaly detection with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of provide integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack providing integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack.
As per claim 11, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Rajadurai further teaches wherein the
apparatus implements a user plane function (UPF) (Rajadurai, Paragraph 0076 recites “FIG. 2 is a block diagram of the network system (200) communicating with the UE (100) for providing UP traffic protection, according to an embodiment as disclosed herein. The network (200) can be, for example, but not limited to an evolved node B (eNB), a next-generation radio access technology network Node B (gNB), an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), a mobility management entity (MME), a user plane function (UPF) (203), a domain name system (DNS) server, and an application server, a data network or a 5.sup.th Generation network.”).
As per claim 12, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Rajadurai further teaches wherein to receive the security policy, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to receive the security policy from a session management function (SMF) (Rajadurai, Paragraph 0076 recites “FIG. 2 is a block diagram of the network system (200) communicating with the UE (100) for providing UP traffic protection, according to an embodiment as disclosed herein. The network (200) can be, for example, but not limited to an evolved node B (eNB), a next-generation radio access technology network Node B (gNB), an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), a mobility management entity (MME), a user plane function (UPF) (203), a domain name system (DNS) server, and an application server, a data network or a 5.sup.th Generation network.”).
As per claim 13, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Rajadurai further teaches wherein to
receive the first message, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the
apparatus to receive the first message from a user equipment (UE) (Rajadurai, Paragraph 0017 recites “Accordingly, the embodiments herein provide a method of protecting sensitive user plane traffic in the UE. The method comprises transmitting, to a network by the UE, a first NAS message including an indicator indicating that the UE supports of a secure channel for data network system (DNS); receiving, from the network entity by the UE, a second NAS message including DNS server security information in response to transmitting the first NAS message; and transmitting, to the network by the UE, the DNS over the secure channel based on the DNS server security information.”).
Regarding claims 14 and 16, claims 14 and 16 are directed to a method and a computing device associated with the apparatus of claim 1. Claims 14 and 16 are of similar scope to claim 1 and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 15 and 17, claims 15 and 17 are directed to a method and a computing device associated with the apparatus of claim 2. Claims 15 and 17 are of similar scope to claim 2 and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is directed to a similar computing device associated with the apparatus of claim 3 respectively. Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 3, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is directed to a similar computing device associated with the apparatus of claim 4 respectively. Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 4, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
As per claim 20, Rajadurai teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: transmitting a security policy for a protocol data unit (PDU) session (Rajadurai, Paragraph 0117 recites “Once the PDU sessions are established (based on the User Plane Security Enforcement information provides the NG-RAN with User Plane security policies for a PDU session and NG-RAN configures the security of the DRB(s) of the PDU session based on the received policy), the IP packet filter set takes care of identifying the appropriate PDU session and route the application packets, so that appropriate configured security mechanisms are applied.”).
But fails to teach transmitting a first message that indicates supported cipher suites including a NULL cipher suite, wherein the NULL cipher suite defines that at least one of no encryption or no integrity protection is to be applied; and receiving a second message that indicates a selected NULL cipher suite.
However, in an analogous art Mandyam teaches transmitting a first message that indicates supported cipher suites including a NULL cipher suite, wherein the NULL cipher suite defines that at least one of no encryption or no integrity protection is to be applied; and receiving a second message that indicates a selected NULL cipher suite (Mandyam, Paragraph 0143 recites “The client device 108 can be configured to analyze the handshake message from the relying party 120 (stage 1226). The secure communications module 226 of the client device 108 can be configured to analyze the ServerHelloMessage to verify the cipher suite selected by the relying party 120 to determine whether the cipher suite specified in the ServerHelloMessage is compatible with that specified in the ClientHelloMessage and/or other a null cipher suite was specified in the ServerHelloMessage. The secure communications module 226 of the client device 108 can be configured to provide the ServerHelloMessage to complete the handshake process (or at least the initial exchange of messages of such an exchange) to the browser module 222 responsive to determining that there are not any anomalies in the ServerHelloMessage. The secure communications module 226 can be configured to examine additional messages exchanged between the client device 108 and the relying party 120, such as those of the negotiation phase discussed with respect to the handshake process 900 of FIG. 9. The secure communications module 226 can be configured to halt the handshake process 1200 responsive to determining that the ServerHelloMessage or a subsequent message exchanged between the client device 108 and the relying party 120 is anomalous.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Mandyam’s device assisted traffic anomaly detection with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of provide integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack providing integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajadurai et al. (US 2023/0138033) and Mandyam (US 2017/0289185) and in further view of Ihlar et al. (US 2023/0388786).
As per claim 5, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam teaches the apparatus of claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first message and send the second message occur as part of setting up a QUIC session.
However, in an analogous art Ihlar teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to receive the first message and send the second message occur as part of setting up a QUIC session (Ihlar, Paragraph 0051 recites “In practice, once the mobile communication system has established a data session for the UE, such as a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session in case of a 5G network (the data session corresponding to a logical connection set up by the mobile communication network between the UE and the application server), the network node acting as the application layer proxy may be used to handle multiple application sessions over the same data session. The encrypted traffic may thus be communicated as part of a plurality of application sessions, wherein traffic of each of the plurality of application sessions may be sent through the communication channel, wherein the encrypted traffic of each of the plurality of application sessions may be sent over the same data session established by the mobile communication system for the UE. In one variant, the encrypted traffic may correspond to QUIC protocol based traffic exchanged between the UE and the application server, in which case the network node may handle any application sessions using QUIC as transport protocol during the user's established data session (e.g., PDU session).”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Ihlar’s Technique For Enabling Exposure Of Information Related To Encrypted Communication with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of provide integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack providing integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajadurai et al. (US 2023/0138033) and Mandyam (US 2017/0289185) and in further view of Fiorani et al. (US 2020/0120572).
As per claim 9, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Mandyam further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to select the NULL cipher suite in response to the received security policy specifying a first value (Mandyam, Paragraph 0143 recites “The client device 108 can be configured to analyze the handshake message from the relying party 120 (stage 1226). The secure communications module 226 of the client device 108 can be configured to analyze the ServerHelloMessage to verify the cipher suite selected by the relying party 120 to determine whether the cipher suite specified in the ServerHelloMessage is compatible with that specified in the ClientHelloMessage and/or other a null cipher suite was specified in the ServerHelloMessage. The secure communications module 226 of the client device 108 can be configured to provide the ServerHelloMessage to complete the handshake process (or at least the initial exchange of messages of such an exchange) to the browser module 222 responsive to determining that there are not any anomalies in the ServerHelloMessage. The secure communications module 226 can be configured to examine additional messages exchanged between the client device 108 and the relying party 120, such as those of the negotiation phase discussed with respect to the handshake process 900 of FIG. 9. The secure communications module 226 can be configured to halt the handshake process 1200 responsive to determining that the ServerHelloMessage or a subsequent message exchanged between the client device 108 and the relying party 120 is anomalous.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Mandyam’s device assisted traffic anomaly detection with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of provide integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack providing integrity protection to the DNS packets via a different channel in order to avoid redirection attack.
But fails to teach wherein the first value indicates that security on a radio layer is required.
However, in an analogous art Fiorani teaches wherein the first value indicates that security on a radio layer is required (Fiorani, Paragraph 0013 recites “The above-mentioned interfaces NG, Xn and F1 are logical interfaces. The NG-RAN is layered to comprise a Radio Network Layer (RNL) and a Transport Network Layer (TNL). The NG-RAN architecture, i.e. comprised of the NG-RAN logical nodes and interfaces between these nodes, is defined as part of the RNL. For each NG-RAN interface (NG, Xn, F1) the related TNL protocol and functionalities are specified. The TNL provides services for user plane transport, as well as signalling transport. In a so-called NG-Flex configuration, each gNB can be connected to all 5GC nodes within a pool area. A pool area in this context is defined in 3GPP TS 23.501. If security protection is required or desired for control plane and user plane data on TNL of NG-RAN interfaces, IP Network Domain Security, NDS/IP, as described in 3GPP TS 33.401 may be applied.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Fiorani’s Methods And Units In A Network Node For Handling Communication With A Wireless Device with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of helping to ensure a more time handover procedure.
As per claim 10, Rajadurai in combination with Mandyam and Fiorani teaches the apparatus of claim 9, Fiorani further teaches wherein the first value is "required" (Fiorani, Paragraph 0013 recites “The above-mentioned interfaces NG, Xn and F1 are logical interfaces. The NG-RAN is layered to comprise a Radio Network Layer (RNL) and a Transport Network Layer (TNL). The NG-RAN architecture, i.e. comprised of the NG-RAN logical nodes and interfaces between these nodes, is defined as part of the RNL. For each NG-RAN interface (NG, Xn, F1) the related TNL protocol and functionalities are specified. The TNL provides services for user plane transport, as well as signalling transport. In a so-called NG-Flex configuration, each gNB can be connected to all 5GC nodes within a pool area. A pool area in this context is defined in 3GPP TS 23.501. If security protection is required or desired for control plane and user plane data on TNL of NG-RAN interfaces, IP Network Domain Security, NDS/IP, as described in 3GPP TS 33.401 may be applied.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Fiorani’s Methods And Units In A Network Node For Handling Communication With A Wireless Device with Rajadurai’s method and device for protecting sensitive user plane traffic because it offers the advantage of helping to ensure a more time handover procedure.
Conclusion
RODERICK . TOLENTINO
Examiner
Art Unit 2439
/RODERICK TOLENTINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439