Claim Interpretation
1. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“pressing unit” first introduced in claim 1 line 17 and applicable to claims 1-7. “Pressing” is functional language, and “unit” is a generic placeholder, and claims 1-7 lack sufficient structure to perform said function. Structure is found in [16] of Applicant’s Specification as rollers and will be interpreted as such and equivalents. This does not apply to claims 9 and 10 which establishes the structure as a “plurality of supporting rollers” in claim 9 line 2.
“heating unit” in claim 8 line 2. “heating” is functional language, and “unit” is a generic placeholder, and claim 8 lack sufficient structure to perform said function. Structure is found in [16] of Applicant’s Specification as a heater and will be interpreted as such and equivalents. This does not apply to claim 9 which establishes the structure as a “heater” in claim 9 line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitation "the moving scraper" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of compact prosecution the Examiner will interpret this phrase as “the moving scraper module”, which has antecedent basis. Claims 2-4, and 8-10 are rejected solely due to their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites the limitation "the opening of the bending plate guide" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret this phrase as “an opening of the bending guide plate”. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected due to their dependency on both claim 1 and claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0247106; hereafter Lee) in view of Jung et al. (KR 101916637; PDF included with Office Action; hereafter Jung).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a solar panel disassembling apparatus (title) configured to separate a glass plate (glass- 56; [0069]) by removing a stacked film (solar cell module) from a solar panel including the glass plate and the stacked film including solar cells stacked on the glass plate ([0015]). The apparatus comprises a supporting plate (stage- 241) that supports the configured to support a bottom of the solar panel ([0051]) that as seen in Figure 4 the top surface thereof is in contact with the glass plate (also mentioned in [0069]).
The apparatus further comprises a moving scraper module (scraper unit- 500) comprising a first body (first transverse beam- 527) connected to a guide (first guide part- 310a and second guide part- 310b) and configured for moving in parallel with the supporting plate ([0058]; motion seen between Figures 5-7). The first body is coupled to a first elevator (first height adjustment housing- 521a and second height adjustment housing- 521b; [0152]) so that it is movable up and down and configured for moving up and down perpendicular to the horizontal movement direction of the first body and is connected to a blade (blade module- 540; [0060]; motion including vertical motion seen in Figure 4). Since the blade is connected to the first body, it is also configured for changing in height with respect to the supporting plate when the first elevator is operated. The moving scraper module is configured to scrape the stacked film using the blade while moving forward in parallel with the supporting plate as seen in the motion of Figures 5-7. The front edge of the first body can be considered a bending plate, and as seen in Figure 6 is both disposed over the blade and is configured for rolling and keeping therein the stacked film separated from the blade. With this interpretation the bending guide plate and first body are the same part.
The apparatus further comprises a moving pressing module (press module- 550) comprising a second body (press bracket- 551) that is connected to a connecting beam (connecting beam- 530; [0173]), which is connected to a guide and configured for moving in parallel with the supporting plate (transfer guide coupling part- 430; [0106]; see Figure 16). The second body is connected to a second elevator movable up and down and configured for moving up and down perpendicular to a movement direction of the second body (link- 553; [0174]; the link is noted as hinged and therefore movable in a vertical direction of Figure 22, which is perpendicular to the movement of the guide as seen in Figure 16). The moving pressing module also includes a pressing unit that is connected to the second elevator (press roller- 557; [0175]) and due to its direct connection to the second elevator the pressing unit is configured for changing in height with respect to the supporting plate. As seen in Figure 5, the pressing unit, and consequentially the press roller is disposed over the supporting plate. The moving pressing module is disposed forward in a forward movement direction of the moving scraper module, and configured to press and align the stacked film using the pressing unit ahead of the moving scraper module when the moving scraper module is moved forward ([0072]-[0075]; see movement between Figures 5-7).
It should be noted that the height placement of the second elevator of Lee is controlled by an elastic member ([0176]) and no type of machinery, and therefore cannot be change in height with respect to the supporting plate when the second elevator is operated, as the second elevator is not operated. Jung teaches of a moving pressing module (second solar cell module pressing portion- 110) that instead of hinge movement is attached to its own second elevator (second lifting and lowering portion- 111 and 112; pg. 9 lines 13-22; see Figure 10). As seen in Figures 11a-11e, the advantage of so doing is the gained ability of independent control and operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to have the second elevator of Jung in the apparatus of Lee for the advantage of independent control and operation.
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the inclusion of a heating unit (heating module- 590) as part of the moving scraper module to heat the outer surface of the stacked film ([0092]). As the moving scraping module and the moving pressing module are of the same unitary structure (see Figure 17), the heating unit can be considered part of the moving pressing module. The “induces thermal deformation of the stacked film” is a limitation that depends on the material properties of “Article Worked Upon”. MPEP 2115 states- “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). Since Lee’s heating unit is capable of heating the outer surface of the stacked film, if the outer surface of the stacked film is susceptible to thermal deformation, Lee’s heating unit would cause, and therefore would induce, thermal deformation of the stacked film, and thus this limitation does not overcome the prior art of Lee.
Regarding claim 9, Lee further teaches of a plurality of press rods ([0074]), which would be spaced apart from each other at some unspecified distance, and as they are press rollers, they would be in rolling contact with the outer surface of the stacked film. Lee’s heating unit can radiate (transmit) heat to everything between the pressing unit and blade ([0092]), and therefore would be radiating heat to a space between the supporting rollers in the pressing unit.
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the inclusion of a sensor (sensor unit- 820) and a controller that acts on a signal from the sensor (control unit- 810; [0085]-[0086]). Lee’s sensor detects the thickness of the solar panel ([0085]), which can be considered the magnitude sensed by the sensor. Further, when the thickness is zero it would be understood that no solar panel is loaded, and therefore Lee’s sensor detects a load and can be interpreted as a load cell. The controller brings the blade in close contact with the solar panel at a position (reference position) and adjusts the position of the blade ([0256]-[0258]). The controller would act on the magnitude of the load cell, as that is measured information of the load cell. Since the vertical position of the blade is manipulated by the first elevator, the controller controls the operation of the first elevator. The specific positioning of the load cell and starting position is a “Rearrangement of Parts”, which is an obvious matter of design choice as per MPEP 2144.04.VI.C and do not differentiate over the prior art of Lee. MPEP 2144.04.VI.C states- “In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).” The subject matter of claim 10 is thus rendered obvious in view of the prior art of Lee.
6. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Jung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tao (US 2019/0232634).
Regarding claim 4, Lee does not teach the inclusion of a gas spray. Tao teaches that it is advantageous to spray gas between the bonding interface of a flexible and rigid substrate for the advantage of better and faster separation ([0042]). In the context of Lee, this gas would be applied between the blade and bending guide plate to spray gas to the stacked film. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to include a gas spray as suggested by Tao for the advantage of better and faster separation.
The temperature of the gas spray and whether it cools the stacked film constitutes a “Manner of Operating the Device” as temperature of the stacked film would depend on the level that Lee’s heating unit transmits heat to the stacked film and at the temperature the gas is sprayed and thus would not differentiate over the combined references of Lee and Tao. See the rejection of claim 8 for
Claim 4 (original): The solar panel disassembling apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a gas spray cooling the stacked film passing through between the blade and the bending guide plate by spraying gas to the stacked film.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1, 4, and 8-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,774 (hereafter ‘774) in view of Tao.
Regarding claim 1, claim 8 of ‘774 contains everything except for the bending guide plate and associated limitations. Claim 9 then adds a bending guide plate (bending pressing plate; line 2), which is a bending plate, that is configured to roll the stacked film (“into a stacked film coil”; line 5). In making a stacked film coil, the stacked film must be separated from the blade elsewise the device is non-functional. Further, given that the blade is to scrape the stacked film (claim 8 lines 17-19) the bending pressing plate must be above the blade or else it would conflict spatially with the stacked film.
Regarding claim 4, ‘774 does not teach the inclusion of a gas spray. Tao teaches that it is advantageous to spray gas between the bonding interface of a flexible and rigid substrate for the advantage of better and faster separation ([0042]). In the context of ‘774, this gas would be applied between the blade and bending guide plate to spray gas to the stacked film. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to include a gas spray as suggested by Tao for the advantage of better and faster separation.
The temperature of the gas spray and whether it cools the stacked film constitutes a “Manner of Operating the Device” and does not differentiate over ‘774.
Regarding claim 8, this limitation is included in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, this limitation is taught in claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, this limitation is taught in claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 2-3, and 5-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 2, Lee does not teach or render obvious that the bending guide plate is rolled, that the bending guide plate has an accommodation space, nor of associated limitations as the bending guide plate of Lee is a flat surface.
Regarding claim 3, Lee’s bending guide plate is a flat surface and therefore cannot have an opening being open downward and associated limitations, and therefore the limitations of claim 3 are not taught or rendered obvious by the prior art.
Regarding claim 5, Lee’s bending guide plate is a flat surface and therefore cannot have an opening, and therefore the gas spray cannot guide the stacked film to an opening in Lee’s bending guide plate. The limitations of claim 5 are not taught or rendered obvious by the prior art.
Relevant to the subject matter of claim 6- the temperature of the gas is considered a “Manner of Operating the Device”, which as per MPEP 2114.II does not differentiate over the prior art in an apparatus claim.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER S WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745