DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12-17 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In particular, claims 1 and 48 (as well as portions of the specification) recite “an encoder of the signaled, detected SID frame using SID frame coding”. It is unclear what this language means. The language is interpreted as “an encoder for encoding the signaled, detected SID frame using SID frame coding”. Appropriate correction is required. The dependent claims are rejected based on their dependency
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 2, 4, 12, 24, 25, 27, 35 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eckert et al US 2023/0215445 A1 (“Eckert”)
Per claim 1, Eckert discloses a device for discontinuous transmission (DTX) of audio objects in an object-based audio codec, the audio objects including respective audio streams, comprising:
at least one processor (para. [0175]-[0176]); and
a memory coupled to the processor and storing non-transitory instructions that when executed cause the processor to implement: an analyser of the audio streams for producing voice or signal activity information on the audio objects (para. [0060]; para. [0175]-[0176]);
a DTX controller for detecting, in response to the activity information on the audio objects, a DTX signal segment of the audio objects and a silence insertion descriptor (SID) frame within the DTX signal segment, wherein the DTX controller (a) updates a global SID counter of inactive frames, and (b) signals the detected SID frame within the DTX signal segment depending on a value of the global SID counter (para. [0056]-[0057]; If the CombinedVAD flag is set, a frame may be considered to be inactive…., para. [0061]; it may be determined whether a preceding frame from the sequence of frames, which directly precedes the current frame, has been an inactive frame. In other words, it may be determined whether the current frame is a SID (silence indicator) frame or an ND (no data) frame…. if the preceding frame has been an active frame or the number of consecutive inactive frames since the last SID frame is equal to the pre-computed SID frame interval (i.e., the current frame is a SID frame), the downmix signal 103 and the upmixing metadata 105 for the current frame may be encoded into the bitstream …, para. [0142]; para. [0150]-[0152]); and
an encoder of the signaled, detected SID frame using SID frame coding (para. [0142]; If the current frame is an inactive (SID) frame, each channel of the downmix signal 103 may be encoded individually using an instance of a mono audio encoder (such as EVS)…., para. [0144]).
Per claim 2, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 1, wherein the activity information comprises an activity detection flag for each audio objects, and wherein the DTX controller detects a DTX signal segment when the activity detection flags of the audio objects are set to a given value (fig. 1; para. [0022]; para. [0061]; para. [0142]).
Per claim 4, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 1, wherein the DTX controller signals the SID frame detected within the DTX signal segment by setting a SID flag to a given value in response to a certain value of the global SID counter (para. [0061]; para. [0142]).
Per claim 12, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 1, wherein the audio objects each comprise an audio stream with metadata, and wherein the SID frame encoder comprises a metadata encoder for encoding the metadata of the audio objects using absolute coding (fig. 1; para. [0022]; para. [0025]).
Per claim 24, Eckert discloses a method for discontinuous transmission (DTX) of audio objects in an object-based audio codec, the audio objects including respective audio streams, comprising:
analysing the audio streams for producing voice or signal activity information on the audio objects (para. [0060]; para. [0175]-[0176]);
detecting, in response to the activity information on the audio objects, a DTX signal segment of the audio objects and a silence insertion descriptor (SID) frame within the DTX signal segment, wherein the segment and frame detection comprises (a) updating a global SID counter of inactive frames, and (b) signaling the detected SID frame within the DTX signal segment depending on a value of the global SID counter (para. [0056]-[0057]; If the CombinedVAD flag is set, a frame may be considered to be inactive…., para. [0061]; it may be determined whether a preceding frame from the sequence of frames, which directly precedes the current frame, has been an inactive frame. In other words, it may be determined whether the current frame is a SID (silence indicator) frame or an ND (no data) frame…. if the preceding frame has been an active frame or the number of consecutive inactive frames since the last SID frame is equal to the pre-computed SID frame interval (i.e., the current frame is a SID frame), the downmix signal 103 and the upmixing metadata 105 for the current frame may be encoded into the bitstream …, para. [0142]; para. [0150]-[0152]);and
encoding the signaled, detected SID frame using SID frame coding (para. [0142]; If the current frame is an inactive (SID) frame, each channel of the downmix signal 103 may be encoded individually using an instance of a mono audio encoder (such as EVS)…., para. [0144]).
Per claim 25, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 24, wherein the activity information comprises an activity detection flag for each audio objects, and wherein the segment and frame detection comprises detecting a DTX signal segment when the activity detection flags of the audio objects are set to a given value (fig. 1; para. [0022]; para. [0061]; para. [0142]).
Per claim 27, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 24, comprising signaling the SID frame detected within the DTX signal segment by setting a SID flag to a given value in response to a certain value of the global SID counter(para. [0061]; para. [0142]).
Per claim 35, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 24, wherein the audio objects each comprise an audio stream with metadata, and wherein the SID frame encoding comprises encoding the metadata of the audio objects using absolute coding (fig. 1; para. [0022]; para. [0025]).
Per claim 48, Eckert discloses a device for discontinuous transmission (DTX) of audio objects in an object- based audio codec, the audio objects including respective audio streams, comprising:
at least one processor (para. [0175]-[0176]); and
a memory coupled to the processor and storing non-transitory instructions that when executed cause the processor to: analyse the audio streams for producing voice or signal activity information on the audio objects (para. [0060]; para. [0175]-[0176]);
detect, in response to the activity information on the audio objects, a DTX signal segment of the audio objects and a silence insertion descriptor (SID) frame within the DTX signal segment, comprising (a) updating a global SID counter of inactive frames, and (b) signaling the detected SID frame within the DTX signal segment depending on a value of the global SID counter (para. [0056]-[0057]; If the CombinedVAD flag is set, a frame may be considered to be inactive…., para. [0061]; it may be determined whether a preceding frame from the sequence of frames, which directly precedes the current frame, has been an inactive frame. In other words, it may be determined whether the current frame is a SID (silence indicator) frame or an ND (no data) frame…. if the preceding frame has been an active frame or the number of consecutive inactive frames since the last SID frame is equal to the pre-computed SID frame interval (i.e., the current frame is a SID frame), the downmix signal 103 and the upmixing metadata 105 for the current frame may be encoded into the bitstream …, para. [0142]; para. [0150]-[0152]); and
an encoder of the signaled, detected SID frame using SID frame coding (para. [0142]; If the current frame is an inactive (SID) frame, each channel of the downmix signal 103 may be encoded individually using an instance of a mono audio encoder (such as EVS)…., para. [0144]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 6, 7, 9, 29, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckert in view of Johnson US 2004/0006462 A1 (“Johnson” - IDS)
Per claim 6, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 1,
Eckart does not explicitly disclose wherein the DTX controller resets the global SID counter in every active frame
However, this feature is taught by Johnson (para. [0081])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eckert in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in determining if the frame is a SID frame (Jonson, para. [0081]).
Per claim 7, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 1,
Eckart does not explicitly disclose wherein the DTX controller increments the global SID counter in every inactive frame up to a value corresponding to a SID update rate, and resets the global SID counter when the value corresponding to the SID update rate is reached by the global SID counter.
However, this feature is taught by Johnson (para. [0081])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eckert in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in determining if the frame is a SID frame (Jonson, para. [0081]).
Per claim 9, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 1, wherein, upon detection of a DTX signal segment, the DTX controller sets a DTX flag to a given value (fig. 1; para. [0022]; para. [0061]; para. [0142])
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the DTX controller alters the DTX flag using additional classification stages of the audio objects
However, thus feature is taught by Johnson (para. [0081])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eckert in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in reducing the probability of mistakenly exiting DTX mode (Jonson, para. [0080]-[0081]).
Per claim 29, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 24,
Eckart does not explicitly disclose comprising resetting the global SID counter in every active frame
However, this feature is taught by Johnson (para. [0081])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eckert in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in determining if the frame is a SID frame (Jonson, para. [0081]).
Per claim 30, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 24,
Eckart does not explicitly disclose incrementing the global SID counter in every inactive frame up to a value corresponding to a SID update rate, and resetting the global SID counter when the value corresponding to the SID update rate is reached by the global SID counter.
However, this feature is taught by Johnson (para. [0081])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eckert in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in determining if the frame is a SID frame (Jonson, para. [0081]).
Per claim 32, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 24, wherein, upon detection of a DTX signal segment, the segment and frame detection comprises setting a DTX flag to a given value (fig. 1; para. [0022]; para. [0061]; para. [0142])
Eckert does not explicitly disclose altering the DTX flag using additional classification stages of the audio objects
However, thus feature is taught by Johnson (para. [0081])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eckert in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in reducing the probability of mistakenly exiting DTX mode (Jonson, para. [0080]-[0081]).
3. Claims 10 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckert in view of Johnson as applied to claims 9 and 32 above, and further in view of Eskler “Audio Bandwidth Detection in the EVS Codec” (“Eksler”)
Per claim 10, Eckert in view of Johnson discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 9,
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the additional classification stages compare a mean value of long-term background noises over the audio objects and a mean value of long-term background noise variations over the audio objects to respective thresholds
However, this feature is taught by Eskler (sec. IIIB)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eskler in view of Johnson in arriving at the missing features of Eckert in view of Johnson, because such combination would have resulted in increasing coding efficiency (Eskler, sec. V).
Per claim 33, Eckert in view of Johnson discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 32,
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the additional classification stages compare a mean value of long-term background noises over the audio objects and a mean value of long-term background noise variations over the audio objects to respective thresholds.
However, this feature is taught by Eskler (sec. IIIB)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the method of Eskler in view of Johnson in arriving at the missing features of Eckert in view of Johnson, because such combination would have resulted in increasing coding efficiency (Eskler, sec. V).
4. Claims 13-17 and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckert in view of Eskler WO 2021/003569 a1 (“Eskler”)
Per claim 13, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 1, wherein the audio objects each comprise an audio stream with metadata (fig. 1, element 105),
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the DTX controller calculates a metadata (MD) flag for each audio object, indicating that MD parameters are unchanged to avoid coding and transmission of the metadata of the audio object by the SID frame encoder and thereby save SID bit-budget
However, this feature is taught by Eksler (Abstract; The metadata processor 105 comprises an analyzer (not shown) of the metadata of each of the N audio objects to determine whether the current frame is inactive (for example VAD = 0) or active (for example VAC ≠ 0) with respect to this particular audio object. In inactive frames, no metadata is coded by the metadata processor 105 relative of that object. In active frames …, para. [0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eskler in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in a better, more efficient distribution of the available bit-budget between the audio streams (Eskler, para. [0075]; para. [0091]).
Per claim 14, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 1, wherein the audio objects each comprise an audio stream with metadata (fig. 1, element 105), and
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the DTX controller estimates a bit-budget for quantizing the metadata and compares the estimated bit-budget with a bit-budget available for quantizing the metadata to select SID frame coding or active frame coding
However, this feature is taught by Eksler (para. [0044]-[0046]; para. [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eskler in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in a better, more efficient distribution of the available bit-budget between the audio streams (Eskler, para. [0044]-[0046]; para. [0091])
Per claim 15, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 14,
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the DTX controller sets the DTX flag to a first given value when the estimated bit-budget is higher than the bit-budget available for quantizing the metadata and, the DTX controller selects active frame coding for coding the metadata
However, this feature is taught by Eksler (para. [0044]; para. [0075])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eskler in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in a better, more efficient distribution of the available bit-budget between the audio streams (Eskler, para. [0044]-[0046]; para. [0091]).
Per claim 16, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 14,
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the DTX controller sets the DTX flag to a second given value when the estimated bit- budget is lower than the bit-budget available for quantizing the metadata and, the DTX controller selects SID frame coding for coding the metadata.
However, this feature is taught by Eksler (para. [0044]; para. [0078]-[0081])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eskler in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in a better, more efficient distribution of the available bit-budget between the audio streams (Eskler, para. [0044]-[0046]; para. [0091])
Per claim 17, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission device as defined in claim 1 wherein the audio objects each comprise an audio stream with metadata (MD) (fig. 1, element 105), and
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the DTX controller makes a resolution of MD values dependent on the number of audio objects
However, this feature is taught by Eksler (The metadata processor 105 of Figure 1 quantizes and codes the metadata of the N audio objects, in the described non-restrictive illustrative embodiments, sequentially in a loop while a certain dependency can be employed between quantization of audio objects and the metadata parameters of these audio objects.…, para. [0042]-[0044]; para. [0072])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the device of Eskler in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in reducing the number of bits being used (Eskler, para. [0042]-[0044]).
Per claim 36, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 24, wherein the audio objects each comprise an audio stream with metadata (fig. 1, element 105),
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the segment and frame detection comprises calculating a metadata (MD) flag for each audio object, indicating that MD parameters are unchanged to avoid coding and transmission of the metadata of the audio object and thereby save SID bit-budget
However, this feature is taught by Eksler (Abstract; The metadata processor 105 comprises an analyzer (not shown) of the metadata of each of the N audio objects to determine whether the current frame is inactive (for example VAD = 0) or active (for example VAC ≠ 0) with respect to this particular audio object. In inactive frames, no metadata is coded by the metadata processor 105 relative of that object. In active frames …, para. [0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the method of Eskler in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in a better, more efficient distribution of the available bit-budget between the audio streams (Eskler, para. [0075]; para. [0091]).
Per claim 37, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 24,
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the audio objects each comprise an audio stream with metadata, and wherein the segment and frame detection comprises estimating a bit-budget for quantizing the metadata and comparing the estimated bit-budget with a bit-budget available for quantizing the metadata to select SID frame coding or active frame coding.
However, this feature is taught by Eksler (para. [0044]-[0046]; para. [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the method of Eskler in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in a better, more efficient distribution of the available bit-budget between the audio streams (Eskler, para. [0044]-[0046]; para. [0091])
Per claim 38, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 37,
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the segment and frame detection comprises when the estimated bit-budget is higher than the bit-budget available for quantizing the metadata and, selecting active frame coding for coding the metadata
However, this feature is taught by Eksler (para. [0044]; para. [0075])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the method of Eskler in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in a better, more efficient distribution of the available bit-budget between the audio streams (Eskler, para. [0044]-[0046]; para. [0091]).
Per claim 39, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 37,
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the segment and frame detection comprises when the estimated bit-budget is lower than the bit-budget available for quantizing the metadata and, selecting SID frame coding for coding the metadata
However, this feature is taught by Eksler (para. [0044]; para. [0078]-[0081])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the method of Eskler in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in a better, more efficient distribution of the available bit-budget between the audio streams (Eskler, para. [0044]-[0046]; para. [0091]).
Per claim 40, Eckert discloses a discontinuous transmission method as defined in claim 24,
Eckert does not explicitly disclose wherein the audio objects each comprise an audio stream with metadata (MD), and wherein the method comprises making a resolution of MD values dependent on the number of audio objects
However, this feature is taught by Eksler (The metadata processor 105 of Figure 1 quantizes and codes the metadata of the N audio objects, in the described non-restrictive illustrative embodiments, sequentially in a loop while a certain dependency can be employed between quantization of audio objects and the metadata parameters of these audio objects.…, para. [0042]-[0044]; para. [0072])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnson with the method of Eskler in arriving at the missing features of Eckert, because such combination would have resulted in reducing the number of bits being used (Eskler, para. [0042]-[0044]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 form.
/OLUJIMI A ADESANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658