DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim 15 is indefinite by virtue of its dependency on indefinite base claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0397507 A1 to Lieu (hereinafter “Lieu”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; and [0004]-[0040]) a
system for removal of particulate matter from a kidney of a subject (see [0004]-[0015]), the system comprising: a ureteric kidney access sheath (10, see Figs. 1-2); a kidney irrigation catheter (100, Fig. 2), configured to be inserted into the kidney access sheath and adapted to provide a lumen between an inner wall of the ureteric kidney access sheath and the an outer wall of the kidney irrigation catheter that is sufficient to allow a fluid to flow containing particulate matter (leftward facing arrows in Fig. 2) therethrough (see Fig. 2 and [0014]/[0025]/[0040]); a image-forming device (120) configured to provide a picture of the a treatment area (see Fig. 1 and [0030]); and a dual action pumping device, providing an essential a simultaneous fluid influx into the kidney irrigation catheter and a fluid efflux in essentially a same volume in the ureteric kidney access sheath (see Fig. 2 and [0014]/[0025]/[0040]); wherein the kidney irrigation catheter is connected to the dual action pumping device to provide a fluid flow (rightward facing arrows in Fig. 2) into the kidney and adapted to be advanced and retracted in the ureteric kidney access sheath (see Fig. 3 and [0025].
Liu further discloses (claim 2) a sedimentation chamber for collecting the removed particulate matter (see [0025]), wherein the sedimentation chamber is fluidly connected to the ureteric kidney access sheath and to the dual action pumping device (see [0025]); (claim 3) wherein the sedimentation chamber allows visual observation of the collected particulate matter (see [0025]); (claim 4) wherein the kidney irrigation catheter comprises a image forming device (120) at the a tip thereof (see Fig. 1 and [0030]); (claim 5) wherein the image-forming device is a camera (see [0030]); (claim 8) wherein the dual action pumping device is adapted for hand operation (see [0037]-[0038]); and (claim 10) a processing unit, wherein the image forming device is connected to the processing unit and the processing unit is connected to a monitor, to enable the an operator to observe and store visual data, obtained by the image forming device (see [0007]/[0030]/[0036], it is inherent and commonly understood that endoscopic cameras are viewable on a monitor with the image being processed for display, fully being capable of allowing the operator to observe and store the visual data).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses a method for removing particulate matter from a subject's kidney (see [0004]-[0015] and [0025]-[0040]), the method comprising: providing a system according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and repeatedly effecting a pumping/draining operation (see [0009]-[0015] and [0039]-[0040]); and collecting the particulate matter from the subject's kidney (see [0009]-[0015] and [0039]-[0040]).
Liu further discloses (claim 12) wherein an intrarenal pressure is not increased during operation of the system above 40 mm Hg (there is no disclosure that the intrarenal pressure is increased during Liu's procedure, or that it is increased above 40 mm Hg); (claim 13) wherein the method is performed after the subject has been subjected to a lithotripsy (see [0007]/[0017]); (claim 14) when a shape of fragments (01) of the particulate matter is substantially irregular, a largest extension of a small fragment is in the a range of 200-2500 µm (see Fig. 2 and [0007]); (claim 15) wherein small fragments have been produced by fragmenting (see [0007]/[0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of US 2014/0303658 A1 to Bonnette (hereinafter “Bonnette”).
Liu discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above, including where a dual action pumping device is present (see Fig. 2 and [0014]/[0025]/[0040]), but does not elaborate in detail on the particulars of the pump, inferring that any pump known in the art would be suitable for the device. However, Liu fails to specifically disclose, with respect to (claim 6) wherein the dual action pumping device is a dual action piston pump, wherein one pumping stroke of a piston of the dual action piston pump is used to simultaneously provide pumping pressure and suction force for the fluid inflow and the fluid efflux, respectively; (claim 7) wherein the pumping device is an isovolumetric pumping/suction device; and (claim 9) a first one-way valve that is positioned between a fluid connection of the dual action pumping device and a fluid supply, the first one-way valve configured to only let the fluid flow from the supply to the dual action pumping device; a second one-way valve that is positioned between the dual action pumping device and the an inner channel of the kidney irrigation catheter, the second one-way valve configured to only let the fluid flow from the dual action pumping device to the inner channel; a third one-way valve that is positioned between a fluid connection of the an outlet port and the dual action pumping device, the third one-way valve configured to only let the fluid flow from the outlet port to the dual action pumping device; and a fourth one-way valve that is positioned between a fluid connection of the dual action pumping device and a waste fluid outlet of the system, the fourth one-way valve configured to only let the fluid flow from the dual action pumping device to the waste fluid outlet.
Bonnette discloses, in the same field of endeavor of devices from removing particulates from bodily lumens (see abstract; Figs. 1-6C & 19-22; and [0052]-[0152]) an irrigation catheter (see [0079]-[0085]) a dual action pumping device (1902, Figs. 19-22; [0134]-[0152]) providing simultaneous fluid influx and efflux in a same volume (see [0134]-[0152]), wherein the dual action pumping device is a dual action piston (2104) pump, wherein one pumping stroke of a piston of the dual action piston pump is used to simultaneously provide pumping pressure and suction force for the fluid inflow and the fluid efflux, respectively (see Figs. 20-21 and [0137]-[0152]); wherein the pumping device is an isovolumetric pumping/suction device (see [0137]-[0152]); a first one-way valve (2120) that is positioned between a fluid connection (2110) of the dual action pumping device and a fluid supply, the first one-way valve configured to only let the fluid flow from the supply to the dual action pumping device; a second one-way valve (2122) that is positioned between the dual action pumping device (2114) and the an inner channel of the irrigation catheter, the second one-way valve configured to only let the fluid flow from the dual action pumping device to the inner channel; a third one-way valve (2120) that is positioned between a fluid connection (2108) of the an outlet port and the dual action pumping device, the third one-way valve configured to only let the fluid flow from the outlet port to the dual action pumping device; and a fourth one-way valve (2122) that is positioned between a fluid connection (2112) of the dual action pumping device and a waste fluid outlet of the system, the fourth one-way valve configured to only let the fluid flow from the dual action pumping device to the waste fluid outlet (see Figs. 20-22 and [0142]-[0149]) for the purpose of providing a dual action pump which facilitates delivery of effluent such as infusion fluid into the system and body to gather entrained particulate therein and to draw the fluid back out into the effluent bag to remove the particulate from the body using a single pump system (see [0134]-[0136]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu's system with the dual action piston pump and corresponding one way valves taught by Bonnette in order to provide a dual action pump which facilitates delivery of effluent such as infusion fluid into the system and body to gather entrained particulate therein and to draw the fluid back out into the effluent bag to remove the particulate from the body using a single pump system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see the attached PTO-892 Notice of References cited for additional relevant prior art disclosing catheter systems comprising irrigation and aspiration systems for removing objects from a bodily lumen.
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771