DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/30/2025 and 8/26/2025 have been received and made of record. Note the acknowledged form PTO-1449 enclosed herewith.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference numeral “73” in Fig. 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because:
In Fig. 3, stray “312” not associated with any structure;
In Fig. 4A, stray “332” not associated with any structure;
In Fig. 4B, stray “332” not associated with any structure;
In Fig. 4D (i.e., page 6 of the Drawings), there is a stray indicator line at the distal end of the device without a reference numeral;
In Fig. 5C, stray reference numerals “310”, “312”, “376” and “378” not associated with any structure; and
In Figs. 6A-7A, (i.e., page 12 of the Drawings), the three respective figures appear to be confusingly superimposed over each other.
Claim Interpretation
Currently no claims are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7 (and thereby dependent claim 8), the phrase "a distal electrode" in lines 1-2 renders the claim(s) indefinite because a distal electrode was already introduced in line 6 of claim 6, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. It is unclear whether applicant intended to refer back to the distal electrode of claim 6 or introduce a new, additional distal electrode. To move prosecution forward, the examiner assumed applicant intended to refer back to the distal electrode of claim 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 11-13, 22-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burnes et al. (US 2013/0150939).
Burnes discloses (see Figs. 9-11) a system and method for placing medical leads for electrical stimulation of nerve tissue comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 6) A method for implanting a baroreflex activation device (29/228, Fig. 9) into a patient (as shown in Figs. 9-10), comprising: inserting a needle (226, Fig. 9; [0103]) into the patient at an implant site near a carotid artery (as shown in Fig. 9; [0102]; while Fig. 9 depicts the jugular vein 158, the same method is expressly disclosed for use in the carotid artery), the needle (226) having a body and a lumen defined along the body (as shown in Fig. 9; lumen shown containing guidewire 230 therein), the needle (226) inserted in a first direction toward the carotid artery (as shown in Fig. 9; needle insertion generally shown to be “upward”); loading the baroreflex activation device (29/228) into a proximal end of the needle (226) (see step 244, Fig. 10; [0101]; [0103]; to exit the distal end (as shown in Fig. 9), the baroreflex activation device must previously enter the proximal end); advancing the baroreflex activation device (29/228) along the lumen until a distal electrode (228, Fig. 9) of the baroreflex activation device extends beyond a distal tip of the needle (226) (as shown in Fig. 9; [0101]-[0104]); positioning the distal electrode (228) of the baroreflex activation device against the carotid artery (158, Fig. 9) ([0102]; while Fig. 9 depicts the jugular vein 158, the same method is expressly disclosed for use in the carotid artery); and retracting the needle (226) in a second direction opposite the first direction until the needle (226) is removed from the patient ([0100]; [0103]; [0109]; [0118]; [0136]; delivery components removed after delivery of lead, wherein only the lead is expressly left in the body and connected to an IMD to be commanded by a programmer);
(claim 11) wherein the distal electrode (228) includes an anchoring feature selected from the group consisting of a tab (231, Fig. 9) and a screw for fixation at or near the carotid artery (158) (as shown in Fig. 9; [0104]);
(claim 12) wherein the baroreflex activation device is secured to the carotid artery (158) using passive fixation elements (231) embedded within the device (as shown in Fig. 9; [0095]; [0155]; barbs/tabs 231 style anchors expressly disclosed as being passive anchors for engaging tissue);
(claim 13) wherein the baroreflex activation device (29/228) comprises a monopolar, bipolar, or multipolar electrode configuration for baroreflex activation therapy (see Fig. 9; [0048]; unipolar and bipolar configurations expressly disclosed);
(claim 22) wherein the baroreflex activation device is configured to (i.e., capable of) deliver electrical stimulation to baroreceptors upon fixation at or near the carotid artery (158) (as shown in Fig. 9 and step 246 in Fig. 10; [0100]; [0102]; [0106]-[0109]; step of electrical stimulation expressly disclosed);
(claim 23) wherein the needle (226) is inserted into the patient with positioning guided by imaging means to facilitate access to the carotid artery (158) while maintaining depth control (as shown in Fig. 9; [0038]-[0039]; [0059]; [0099]; [0102]; [0105]; [0108]; assisting delivery via imaging means expressly disclosed); and
(claim 25) wherein the baroreflex activation device is configured to (i.e., capable of) adjust therapy signal parameters based on a measured sensor signal indicative of a patient's physiological state (see step 248, Fig. 10; [0080]; [0100]; [0106]-[0107]; [0109]; automatically adjusting programming based on sensor feedback expressly disclosed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnes as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Pierce et al. (US 2019/0224484).
Burnes, as applied above, discloses a system and method for placing medical leads for electrical stimulation of nerve tissue comprising all the limitations of the claim except for a distal electrode and one or more proximal electrodes, the distal electrode being connected to the one or more proximal electrodes via a link housing one or more conductors, wherein the link includes one or more shape elements made from a shape memory material, configured to bias the link into an arcuate shape upon deployment, and wherein the baroreflex activation device includes a wraparound, looped, or semi-rigid element configured to circumferentially engage the carotid artery.
However, Pierce teaches (see Fig. 66) a similar system and method for stimulating baroreceptors at a portion of the carotid artery ([0007]; [0011]) comprising a distal electrode (i.e., distalmost i.e., electrode 6630, as shown in Fig. 66) and one or more proximal electrodes (i.e., the remainder of electrodes 6630, as shown in Fig. 66), the distal electrode being connected to the one or more proximal electrodes via a link (6640, Fig. 66) housing one or more conductors (([0156]), wherein the link (6640) includes one or more shape elements made from a shape memory material ([0156]; shape memory alloy such as nickel titanium expressly taught), configured to (i.e., capable of) bias the link (6640) into an arcuate shape upon deployment (as expressly shown in Fig 66; [0156]), and wherein the baroreflex activation device (6610) includes a wraparound, looped, or semi-rigid element configured to (i.e., capable of) circumferentially engage the carotid artery (as shown in Fig. 66; [0156]; the depicted looping/spiraling configuration fully capable of circumferentially engaging the carotid artery if one so desires) in order to beneficially provide a large plurality (e.g., eight electrodes depicted) of electrodes for creating tissue alterations at a plurality of locations on a vessel and promoting apposition of the electrodes against the vessel ([0024]; [0147]; [0156]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device/method of Burnes to have a distal electrode and one or more proximal electrodes, the distal electrode being connected to the one or more proximal electrodes via a link housing one or more conductors, wherein the link includes one or more shape elements made from a shape memory material, configured to bias the link into an arcuate shape upon deployment, and wherein the baroreflex activation device includes a wraparound, looped, or semi-rigid element configured to circumferentially engage the carotid artery in order to beneficially provide a large plurality (e.g., eight electrodes depicted) of electrodes for creating tissue alterations at a plurality of locations on a vessel and promoting apposition of the electrodes against the vessel, as taught by Pierce.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnes as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Pillai (US 2018/0161551).
Burnes, as applied above, discloses a system and method for placing medical leads for electrical stimulation of nerve tissue comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 21) wherein the guidewire (230, Fig. 9) comprises a shape memory alloy ([0165]-[0166]; guidewire 230 disclosed comprising Nitinol) configured to (i.e. capable of) curve upon deployment (as shown at 230A, Fig. 9).
Burnes fails to expressly disclose (but Fig. 9 does depicts off-axis deployment from needle 226) the needle including an exit port positioned proximal to the distal tip of the needle, configured to facilitate off-axis deployment of the baroreflex activation device out of the exit port of the needle using a diverter, wherein the diverter is configured as a ramp, wedge, slope, or curve to facilitate direction control of the guidewire or baroreflex activation device, and wherein the distal tip of the needle is closed, preventing direct passage of the guidewire through the end of the needle.
However, Pillai teaches (see Figs. 6A-6B) a similar carotid artery access system and method comprising the needle/access device (42) including an exit port (at 56) positioned proximal to the distal tip (47) of the needle, configured to (i.e., capable of) facilitate off-axis deployment of the baroreflex activation device out of the exit port (at 56) of the needle using a diverter (56), wherein the diverter (56) is configured as a ramp, wedge, slope, or curve (as expressly shown in Figs. 6A-6B; [0037]) to facilitate direction control of the guidewire or baroreflex activation device (as shown in Fig. 6A), and wherein the distal tip (47) of the needle is closed, preventing direct passage of the guidewire through the end of the needle (as shown in Fig. 6A, diverter ramp 56 closes the distal tip 47 and guides instruments out an off-axis exit port) in order to beneficially form a camming surface that provides both additional structural support for and promotes curvature of instruments passing therethrough as they are distally advanced in position ([0037]-[0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device/method of Burnes to have the needle including an exit port positioned proximal to the distal tip of the needle, configured to facilitate off-axis deployment of the baroreflex activation device out of the exit port of the needle using a diverter, wherein the diverter is configured as a ramp, wedge, slope, or curve to facilitate direction control of the guidewire or baroreflex activation device, and wherein the distal tip of the needle is closed, preventing direct passage of the guidewire through the end of the needle in order to beneficially form a camming surface that provides both additional structural support for and promotes curvature of instruments passing therethrough as they are distally advanced in position, as taught by Pillai.
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnes as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Demarais et al. (US 2007/0203549).
Burnes, as applied above, discloses a system and method for placing medical leads for electrical stimulation of nerve tissue comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 16) further comprising rotating the needle (226) or adjusting the plunger to control the orientation of the baroreflex activation device during deployment ([0105]; rotating the structures of the system during use expressly disclosed for facilitating the positioning of the electrode 228 on lead 29).
Burnes fails to expressly disclose using a plunger to advance and facilitate controlled movement of the baroreflex activation device from the proximal end of the needle, through the lumen, and to the distal tip.
However, Demarais teaches (see Figs. 14A-14B) a system and method for providing electric field neuromodulation comprising using a plunger (312) to advance and facilitate controlled movement of the baroreflex activation device (310) from the proximal end of the needle (304), through the lumen, and to the distal tip (as shown in Figs. 14A-14B) in order to beneficially provide for delivery in a low-profile configuration to the intended treatment site and then subsequently allowing for user-selective distal deployment of the electrical stimulation device, and/or allowing for elastic deformation/self-expansion of any anchors, barbs, or the like to maintain the device at the intended treatment site ([0075]-[0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device/method of Burnes to use a plunger to advance and facilitate controlled movement of the baroreflex activation device from the proximal end of the needle, through the lumen, and to the distal tip in order to beneficially provide for delivery in a low-profile configuration to the intended treatment site and then subsequently allowing for user-selective distal deployment of the electrical stimulation device, and/or allowing for elastic deformation/self-expansion of any anchors, barbs, or the like to maintain the device at the intended treatment site, as taught by Demarais.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnes as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kume et al. (US 2017/0296798).
Burnes, as applied above, discloses a system and method for placing medical leads for electrical stimulation of nerve tissue comprising all the limitations of the claim except for the needle including depth control markings to facilitate positioning within a baroreceptive tissue plane.
However, Kume teaches (se Figs. 19A and 21A-21B) a similar method for providing transcarotid access comprising the needle (160) including depth control markings (165) to facilitate positioning within a baroreceptive tissue plane ([0091]-[0095]) in order to beneficially aid the user in assessing the amount of insertion without any special imaging aside from the naked eye ([0091]-[0095]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device/method of Burnes to have the needle including depth control markings to facilitate positioning within a baroreceptive tissue plane in order to beneficially aid the user in assessing the amount of insertion without any special imaging aside from the naked eye, as taught by Kume.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771