DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chih et al. (US Pub. 2022/0236869).
Regarding claims 17, 28, and 29, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses a method for operating a storage device having at least one storage unit [120], the at least one storage unit having a bistable multivibrator [130], the method comprising the following steps:
providing a first current (current on BL[2] or at node QB) which is dependent on a state of the bistable multivibrator characterized by an electric potential of a first circuit node of the bistable multivibrator [as discloses in paragraphs 0017, the current at the node or on bit line is depending on the state/data stores in the multivibrator 130]; and
combining the first current with at least one further first current of a further storage unit of the same type [as discloses in paragraph 0019, current from multiple bit lines are summing (combining) together].
Regarding claim 18, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses wherein the at least one storage unit includes at least one storage cell [130].
Regarding claim 19, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses wherein the providing of the first current includes at least one of the following elements: a) providing the first current from a supply which is external [current at node QB] to the bistable multivibrator, b) providing the first current from the bistable multivibrator [130].
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses using at least one provision transistor including a field-effect transistor [N1 to N4 or P1, P2] for the providing.
Regarding claim 21, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses connecting a first terminal of a load path of the at least one provision transistor [P2] to an external supply which is external to the bistable multivibrator [to QB]; and connecting a control terminal, for example a gate electrode of the at least one provision transistor to the first circuit node of the bistable multivibrator [gate of P2 is connects to node QB].
Regarding claim 22, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses providing the first current at a second terminal [terminal Q] of the load path of the at least one provision transistor.
Regarding claims 23 and 33, Fig. 5 of Chih discloses wherein the connecting of the first terminal of the load path of the at least one provision transistor to the external supply is carried out via a resistor [510].
Regarding claim 24, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses wherein the providing of the first current includes at least one of the following elements: a) providing the first current [current at node Q] from a supply which is external to the bistable multivibrator, b) providing the first current from the bistable multivibrator, and the method further comprises: connecting a first terminal of a load path [source of N4] of the at least one provision transistor to the first circuit node [Q] of the bistable multivibrator; connecting a control terminal of the at least one provision transistor to the example external supply [WL].
Regarding claim 25, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses providing the first current at a second terminal [drain of N4, to BL’] of the load path of the at least one provision transistor [N4].
Regarding claim 26, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses wherein the connecting of the first terminal of the load path of the at least one provision transistor to the first circuit node of the bistable multivibrator is carried out via a resistor [510].
Regarding claim 27, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses wherein the at least one storage unit has two access transistors [N2 and N4], each controllable via a first control line [WL’] for controllably connecting the bistable multivibrator to two second control lines which include bit lines [BL’, BLB’] associated with the at least one storage unit, and wherein the providing of the first current [current at node Q] is accomplished using a current-provider, which is different from the two access transistors.
Regarding claim 30, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses wherein at least one provision transistor in the form of a field-effect transistor [N3 is a field-effect transistor] is provided for the providing of the first current, the provision transistor is configured: a) to provide the first current from a supply to the bistable multivibrator [current to node Q], and/or b) to provide the first current from the bistable multivibrator [130].
Regarding claim 31, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses a storage device, comprising:
at least one storage unit having a bistable multivibrator [130]; and
at least one device configured to operate a storage device having at least one storage unit [130], the at least one storage unit having a bistable multivibrator, the device configured to:
provide a first current which is dependent on a state of the bistable multivibrator characterized by an electric potential of a first circuit node of the bistable multivibrator [as discloses in paragraphs 0017, the current at the node or on bit line is depending on the state/data stores in the multivibrator 130], and
combine the first current with at least one further first current of a further storage unit of the same type [as discloses in paragraph 0019, current from multiple bit lines are summing (combining) together].
Regarding claim 32, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses having a control line [WL’ and BL’] configured to control a current-provider of at least one storage unit [130] of the at least one storage unit.
Regarding claim 34, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses a vector-matrix multiplication devices (VMM), comprising a storage device including:
at least one storage unit [120] having a bistable multivibrator [130]; and at least one device configured to operate a storage device having at least one storage unit, the at least one storage unit having a bistable multivibrator [130], the device configured to:
provide a first current which is dependent on a state of the bistable multivibrator characterized by an electric potential of a first circuit node of the bistable multivibrator [as discloses in paragraphs 0017, the current at the node or on bit line is depending on the state/data stores in the multivibrator 130], and
combine the first current with at least one further first current of a further storage unit of the same type [as discloses in paragraph 0019, current from multiple bit lines are summing (combining) together].
Regarding claim 35, Fig. 1 of Chih discloses wherein the method is used for at least one of the following aspects: a) processing a current associated with the bistable multivibrator [paragraph 0019], b) ascertaining a sum [paragraph 0019] of first currents each associated with a respective bistable multivibrator of a respective storage unit, c) providing a computer for artificial intelligence algorithms, for carrying out an inference of an artificial neural network, d) expanding a storage cell [paragraph 0050].
Conclusion
/ANTHAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825