DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-27 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 10-11, 13 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the content of piperacillin sodium or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not recite piperacillin sodium or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. The examiner recommends deleting the term “sodium”, or stating that the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of piperacillin is the sodium salt.
Claims 10-11 and 25-26 state 0~50 or 0~20 parts by weight of the stabilizer, which includes 0 parts by weight of the stabilizer. Claims 10-11 depend from claim 1, and claims 25-26 depend from claim 20. Claims 1 and 20 both require the presence of a stabilizer. Therefore, it is unclear how the compositions can comprise 0 parts by weight stabilizer and still contain the stabilizer as required by claims 1 and 20. For the purposes of searching for an applying prior art, the claims are construed as comprising greater than 0 parts and less than or equal to 50 (claims 10 and 25) or 20 (claims 11 and 26) parts by weight of the stabilizer.
Claim 13 states “an aminocarboxylic acid chelating agent EDTA is further added”. It is unclear if EDTA is being recited as an example of the aminocarboxylic acid chelating agent, or if the method step requires addition of EDTA. It appears from the specification that Applicant only contemplated EDTA as the chelating agent. Therefore, the examiner recommends that Applicant delete “an aminocarboxylic acid chelating agent”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 20-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hao (CN 101890016 A; machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Hao discloses a piperacillin sodium and tazobactam sodium pharmaceutical composition also comprising mannitol and PEG 600 (Abstract; Examples; Claims). Hao discloses compositions prepared in pH 7.4 ([0067]-[0071]). Hao further discloses a method comprising dissolving piperacillin, tazobactam and PEG 600 in water, forming an emulsion with PLA-PEG and mannitol organic phase, and spray drying to obtain microspheres (Examples; Claim 5).
Regarding claim 2, Hao discloses compositions comprising piperacillin and tazobactam in a ratio of 8:1 ([0101]-[0104], [0110], [0116]-[0119], [0124], [0129]-[0132], [0187]-[0190]).
Regarding claim 3, Hao discloses a method comprising dissolving piperacillin, tazobactam and PEG 600 in water, forming an emulsion with PLA-PEG and mannitol organic phase, and spray drying to obtain microspheres (Examples; Claim 5).
Regarding claim 4, Hao discloses a preparation comprising dissolving 40 g piperacillin sodium in 800 or 1200 ml water, or dissolving 80 g piperacillin in 1000 ml, 1200 ml or 2000 ml water (i.e., 3.3, 4, 5, 6.7 or 8 wt.%), wherein the aqueous phase also contains tazobactam sodium, PEG600 and mannitol (Examples 1-5).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 21-23, Hao discloses compositions comprising mannitol and PEG 600 (Examples).
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Hao discloses a composition comprising 80 g piperacillin sodium and 20 g mannitol (i.e., 25 pbw polyol based on 100 pbw piperacillin) ([0117]-[0124]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 13-15 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 113750057 A; machine translation referred to herein) in view of Hao (CN 101890016 A; machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claims 20-23, Wang et al. teach a freeze-dried product comprising piperacillin sodium and tazobactam sodium in a mass ratio of 8:1, and also comprising EDTA (Examples 1-6; Claims 1-2).
Wang et al. do not explicitly disclose a product comprising one or more stabilizers selected from the group consisting of carbohydrates, amino acids and polyols, as instantly claimed.
However, Wang et al. teach that existing piperacillin sodium and tazobactam sodium compositions have poor stability, and their production method aims to improve the stability of the product (pg. 2).
Hao teaches that existing piperacillin sodium and tazobactam sodium preparations exhibit poor stability ([0003]-[0006]), and teaches a method for preparing piperacillin and tazobactam microspheres comprising improved stability ([0007], [0009]-[0010], [0027], [0234], etc.). Hao teaches that the microspheres comprise a polymer, including PLA-PEG, PEG600 and mannitol, and the resulting microspheres have improved stability ([0008]-[0010], [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare products according to Wang et al. further comprising PEG600 and mannitol, as reasonably suggested by Hao. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include PEG600 and mannitol in the compositions according to Wang et al. in order to further stabilize the piperacillin sodium and tazobactam sodium formulation, as well as achieve sustained release of the actives ([0007], [0010], [0030], etc.), as taught by Hao.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6-8, Wang et al. do not explicitly disclose a method comprising spray drying the mixed solution of piperacillin, tazobactam, and a stabilizer, as instantly claimed.
Hao teaches a piperacillin sodium and tazobactam sodium pharmaceutical composition microsphere prepared by spray drying a mixture comprising piperacillin, tazobactam, PLA-PEG, PEG600, polysorbate 80 and mannitol, wherein the pH of the mixture is 7.4 (Examples 1-5). Hao teaches that the resulting microspheres exhibit improved encapsulation, release profile and stability ([0218]-[0236]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare pharmaceutical formulations according to Wang et al. comprising an 8:1 wt. ratio of piperacillin sodium and tazobactam sodium, and further comprising PEG600 and mannitol by spray drying the mixture, as reasonably suggested by Hao.
Regarding claim 4, Hao teaches a preparation method comprising dissolving 40 g piperacillin sodium in 800 ml or 1200 ml water, or dissolving 80 g piperacillin in 1000 ml, 1200 ml or 2000 ml water (i.e., 3.3, 4, 5, 6.7 or 8 wt.%), wherein the aqueous phase also contains tazobactam sodium, PEG600 and mannitol (Examples 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare the product by dissolving 3.3-8 wt.% piperacillin in water, along with the tazobactam, EDTA, PEG600 and mannitol, as reasonably suggested by Wang et al. and Hao.
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al. teach addition of EDTA to remove impurities.
Regarding claims 14-15, Wang et al. teach maintaining the piperacillin and tazobactam solutions at 2-5 °C in order to preserve the stability of the composition (pg. 2-3). Wang et al. further teach freeze drying the composition at -40 °C or less (pg. 3; Examples 1-6; Claims 1, 6-7).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to maintain the solution of piperacillin and tazobactam at reduced temperatures to maintain stability prior to spray drying. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine the appropriate temperature to maintain the solution in view of Wang et al. reducing temperatures from 2-5 °C and even to -40 °C or less, wherein the formulation maintained stability and formed powders after freeze drying.
Claims 1-8 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 102940636 A; machine translation referred to herein) in view of Hao (CN 101890016 A; machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 20, Sun et al. teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising piperacillin sodium, sulbactam sodium, and lactose, wherein the compositions are prepared by dissolving the piperacillin sodium, sulbactam sodium and lactose in water, maintaining a pH value of 6.3-7.0, and spray drying the mixture (Claims 4-6).
Sun et al. do not explicitly disclose a pharmaceutical composition comprising tazobactam, as instantly claimed.
Hao teaches preparation of a pharmaceutical composition comprising piperacillin sodium and tazobactam sodium, wherein the mixture is spray dried (Claim 4).
Sulbactam and tazobactam are structurally similar compounds (depicted below) that are both combined with piperacillin and enhance the broad-spectrum antibacterial activity of piperacillin.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare compositions according to Sun et al. wherein the sulbactam is replaced with tazobactam, as taught by Hao.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to substitute tazobactam as a functional equivalent to sulbactam taught by Sun et al. The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. One such rationale includes the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 2, Sun et al. do not explicitly disclose a ratio of piperacillin to tazobactam of 8:1, as instantly claimed.
Hao teaches example formulations comprising an 8:1 weight ratio of piperacillin to tazobactam (Examples 2-3 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare compositions comprising an 8:1 weight ratio of piperacillin to tazobactam, as reasonably taught by Hao.
Regarding claims 4-5, Sun et al. teach dissolving piperacillin in water, wherein the concentration of piperacillin is 2-50% by weight ([0014], [0021]; Examples 2-7). Sun et al. specifically teach solutions comprising 25% and 40% by weight piperacillin in water (Example 5 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to select a concentration from 2-50% by weight of piperacillin in the mixed solution comprising piperacillin and tazobactam. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Sun et al. teach compositions comprising lactose (Examples 2-7; Claims 1-6).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 22-23, Sun et al. do not explicitly disclose compositions comprising polyethylene glycol or glycerol, or PEG 200-600, as instantly claimed.
Hao teaches a piperacillin sodium and tazobactam sodium pharmaceutical composition microsphere prepared by spray drying a mixture comprising piperacillin, tazobactam, PLA-PEG, PEG600, polysorbate 80 and mannitol, wherein the pH of the mixture is 7.4 (Examples 1-5). Hao teaches that the resulting microspheres exhibit improved encapsulation, release profile and stability ([0218]-[0236]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare pharmaceutical formulations according to Sun et al. comprising piperacillin sodium and tazobactam sodium, and further comprising PEG600 by spray drying the mixture, as reasonably suggested by Hao.
Claims 9-12, 16-19 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 102940636 A; machine translation referred to herein) in view of Hao (CN 101890016 A; machine translation referred to herein) as applied to claims 1-8 and 20-23 above, further in view of Fragale (US 2013/0172271 A1).
The teachings of Sun et al. and Hao are discussed above and repeated here as well.
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Hao teaches formulations comprising PEG 600, but Sun et al. and Hao do not explicitly disclose formulations comprising PEG 300-400, as instantly claimed.
Fragale teaches methods and formulations for preparing spray dried pharmaceutical products, wherein the products comprise an antibiotic such as daptomycin or azithromycin, polyethylene glycol and mannitol (Abstract; Claims 1-3). The PEG may be PEG 400 ([0006]-[0008]; Examples; Claims 6, 15, 20). Fragale teaches that the products comprising active agent, PEG-400 and mannitol were stable (Example 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare formulations according to Sun et al. and Hao comprising piperacillin and tazobactam, wherein the formulations further comprise PEG-400 and mannitol and are prepared by spray drying. Such would have been obvious because Hao teaches spray drying formulations comprising piperacillin, tazobactam, PEG 600 and mannitol, and Fragale teaches spray drying formulations comprising an antibiotic, PEG 400 and mannitol, wherein the formulations resulted in powders and were stable for extended periods of time.
Regarding claims 10-12 and 25-27, Sun et al. teach that the pharmaceutical composition comprises 10-15 parts by weight of piperacillin and 2-5 parts by weight of lactose (i.e., 2 pbw of lactose per 15 pbw of piperacillin to 5 pbw of lactose to 10 pbw of piperacillin, or 13.3-50 pbw of lactose per 100 pbw of piperacillin) ([0007]-[0010]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select a weight ratio of lactose to piperacillin that is within the range taught by Sun et al. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 16-19, Fragale teaches that spray dryers generally include a feedstock pump, an atomizer, a gas heater, a gas disperser, a drying chamber, and systems for exhaust gas cleaning and powder recovery. An example spray drying system includes drying gas introduced into a pre-filter. In one aspect, the drying gas is nitrogen, and avoids the presence of oxygen. In one embodiment, the drying gas comprises nitrogen with less than 1% oxygen. The drying gas then passes through a fan and a heater, which may be an electric heater. The drying gas then passes through a sterilizing gas filter and an inlet gas temperature gauge monitors the inlet gas temperature before it is introduced into a drying chamber via a ceiling gas dispenser. Redundant filtration may be employed to ensure product quality ([0031]). In various embodiments, the spray dryer may utilize a drying gas having an inlet temperature of about 150 °C-250 °C, and preferably of about 170 °C-230 °C. The drying gas may have an outlet temperature of about 70 °C-150 °C, and preferably of about 70 °C-120 °C ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to determine through routine experimentation the optimum inlet and outlet air temperatures for the spray drying process according to Sun et al., Hao and Fragale. Such would have been obvious because Fragale teaches that operating conditions and spray dryer design are selected according to the drying characteristics of the product and powder specification ([0030]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to determine the optimum spray drier conditions for the products comprising piperacillin, tazobactam, PEG 400 and mannitol.
Conclusion
/N.W.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616