DETAILED ACTION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seki [US 2013/0242100 A1] who teaches a headlight controller, an optical unit and a vehicle headlight can include a headlight controller and an optical unit. The headlight controller can include a system controller and a camera photographing vehicles located in a forward direction thereof, and the system controller can be configured to output a control signal to provide various favorable light distribution patterns by using image data output from the camera in accordance with traffic conditions. The optical unit can be configured to emit beam lights each having a light-emitting angle using lights emitted from first and second white LEDs via a projector lens so that the beam lights can be used as a high and low beam without movable parts. Thus, the disclosed subject matter can include providing vehicle headlights that can form various favorable light distribution patterns by utilizing the characteristics of the controller and the optical unit in accordance with the traffic conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is recites the limitation "the upper end position of the low beam of the oncoming lane side region" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al [Us 2016/0368414 A1] in view of Tanaka et al [US 2016/0167566 A1]
In regards to claim 1. Son discloses a control apparatus for controlling the operation of a vehicle headlight mounted on a vehicle (Fig. 1, V1) and capable of irradiating a low beam (Fig. 1-2, P10) and a high beam (Fig. 1-2, P20) with a variable light distribution pattern (Paragraph [0017]),
wherein, when a target object (Fig. 19, D & Paragraph [0077]) is present in front of the vehicle, based on a detection result of the target object (Paragraph [0047] “When a sensing unit senses the location of an oncoming vehicle or a preceding vehicle based on a photographed image, a control unit may be configured to remove some partial patterns irradiated to an area in which the oncoming vehicle or the preceding vehicle may be located by selectively turning off or dimming some of the light sources, thereby forming a dark zone.”), the control apparatus (Fig. 22, 700) sets a dimming range within irradiation range of the high beam (Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to the position of the target object (Paragraph [0047-48]),
wherein, when the high beam (Fig. 19, P20) and the low beam (Fig. 19, P10) are instructed to be turned on (Paragraph [0045] “a headlamp of the matrix type may form the dark zone in the space in which the oncoming vehicle or the preceding vehicle may be located by selectively turning on or off a plurality of light sources”), the control apparatus (Fig. 22, 700) sets luminous intensity of a partial range to a first luminous intensity (Paragraph [0063]),
wherein, when the high beam is not instructed to be turned on (Fig. 19, P20 and D & Paragraph [0074]) and the low beam is instructed to be turned on (Fig. 19, P10 & Paragraph [0063]), the control apparatus (Fig. 22, 700) sets luminous intensity of the partial range (Fig. 19, D) to a second luminous intensity (Paragraph [0074] “when the preceding or oncoming vehicle is sensed to be located in No. 14 partial pattern segment on the inboard side, No. 4 light source and No. 5 light source of the second lamp may be turned off or dimmed, and No. 2 light source and No. 3 light source of the first lamp may be turned off or dimmed as illustrated in FIGS. 18 and 19”) which is lower than the first luminous intensity (Fig. 7, P20), and
wherein the control apparatus (Fig. 22, 700) generates a control signal for operating the vehicle lamp headlight (Fig. 22, 800a to 800b) based on the dimming range setting result (Paragraph [0028]) and the luminous intensity setting result (Paragraph [0028]) for the partial range (Fig. 19, D), and outputs the control signal to the vehicle headlight (Fig. 22, 800a to 800b).
Son does not specify the partial range being in front of the vehicle and at least in an oncoming lane side region with respect to the vehicle and set between a virtual reference line parallel to the vehicle width direction of the vehicle assumed in front of the vehicle and a predetermined position below the virtual reference line,
Tanaka discloses the partial range (Fig. 5b, see Car with Plo) being in front of the vehicle and at least in an oncoming lane side region (Fig. 5b, Car) with respect to the vehicle and set between a virtual reference line (Fig. 5b, H) parallel to the vehicle (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5) width direction of the vehicle (Fig. 5b, Car) assumed in front of the vehicle (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5) and a predetermined position (Fig. 5b, see Car with Plo) below the virtual reference line (Fig. 5b, H),
[AltContent: textbox (the partial range)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Tanaka with Son to discloses or teach the partial range being in front of the vehicle and at least in an oncoming lane side region with respect to the vehicle and set between a virtual reference line parallel to the vehicle width direction of the vehicle assumed in front of the vehicle and a predetermined position below the virtual reference line for purpose of prevents dazzling of the driver etc. of a vehicle ahead existing in determined illumination regions by reducing the light quantity as disclosed by Tanaka (Paragraph [0009])
In regards to claim 2. Son in view of Tanaka discloses the control apparatus (Son Fig. 22, 700) for the vehicle headlight (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to the control apparatus (Son Fig. 22, 700) for the vehicle headlight (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to wherein the upper end position of the low beam (Son Paragraph [0045] “a headlamp of the matrix type may form the dark zone in the space in which the oncoming vehicle or the preceding vehicle may be located by selectively turning on or off a plurality of light sources. Of the above two types, the matrix type will be described as the ADB headlamp for a vehicle according to the exemplary embodiment.” & Paragraph [0011] “A segment may correspond to the location of a sensed vehicle ahead selected from the segment and the selected partial pattern segment may be formed as a dark zone by turning off or dimming at least one light source which irradiates a partial pattern to the selected segment.”) of the oncoming lane side region (Tanaka Fig. 5b, Car) is set lower than the upper end position of the low beam of an own lane side region (Son: Paragraph [0045 & 0011]).
In regards to claim 3. Son in view of Tanaka discloses the control apparatus (Son Fig. 22, 700) for the vehicle headlight (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to the control apparatus (Son Fig. 22, 700) for the vehicle headlight (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to wherein the partial range (Tanaka Fig. 5b, see Car with Plo) is set within 3 degree below the virtual reference line (Tanaka Fig. 5b, H) at an angle based on the position of the vehicle (Tanaka Fig. 1 & Fig. 5).
In regards to claim 4. Son in view of Tanaka discloses the control apparatus (Son Fig. 22, 700) for the vehicle headlight (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to the control apparatus (Son Fig. 22, 700) for the vehicle headlight (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to wherein the partial range (Tanaka Fig. 5b, see Car with Plo) is set within 2 degree below the virtual reference line (Tanaka Fig. 5b, H) at an angle based on the position of the vehicle (Tanaka Fig. 1 & Fig. 5).
In regards to claim 5. Son in view of Tanaka discloses the control apparatus (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) for the vehicle headlight (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to the control apparatus (Son Fig. 22, 700) for the vehicle headlight (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to wherein the position and width of the partial range (Tanaka Fig. 5b, see Car with Plo) are fixed or set variably according to the position and width of the dimming range (Son: Paragraph [0011]).
In regards to claim 6. Son in view of Tanaka discloses the control apparatus (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) for the vehicle headlight (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to the control apparatus for the vehicle headlight (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to wherein the partial range (Tanaka Fig. 5b, see Car with Plo) overlaps (Tanaka: Fig. 5b Plo and ) with at least a portion of the low beam irradiation range (Tanaka Fig. 5b, Plo).
In regards to claim 7. Son in view of Tanaka discloses a control method for controlling the operation of a vehicle headlight (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) mounted on a vehicle and capable of irradiating a low beam and a high beam (Son Fig. 22, 800a and b) with a variable light distribution pattern (Paragraph [0017]),
wherein, when a target object (Fig. 19, D & Paragraph [0077]) is present in front of the vehicle, based on a detection result of the target object (Paragraph [0047] “When a sensing unit senses the location of an oncoming vehicle or a preceding vehicle based on a photographed image, a control unit may be configured to remove some partial patterns irradiated to an area in which the oncoming vehicle or the preceding vehicle may be located by selectively turning off or dimming some of the light sources, thereby forming a dark zone.”), a controller (Fig. 22, 700) sets a dimming range within irradiation range of the high beam (Fig. 22, 800a and b) according to the position of the target object (Paragraph [0047-48]),
wherein, when the high beam (Fig. 19, P20) and the low beam (Fig. 19, P10) are instructed to be turned on (Paragraph [0045] “a headlamp of the matrix type may form the dark zone in the space in which the oncoming vehicle or the preceding vehicle may be located by selectively turning on or off a plurality of light sources”), the controller sets (Fig. 22, 700) luminous intensity (Paragraph [0063]) to a first luminous intensity (Paragraph [0063]),
wherein, when the high beam (Fig. 19, P20) is not instructed to be turned on (Fig. 19, P10) and the low beam is instructed to be turned on (Paragraph [0045] “a headlamp of the matrix type may form the dark zone in the space in which the oncoming vehicle or the preceding vehicle may be located by selectively turning on or off a plurality of light sources”), the controller (Fig. 22, 700) sets luminous intensity to a second luminous intensity (Paragraph [0074] “when the preceding or oncoming vehicle is sensed to be located in No. 14 partial pattern segment on the inboard side, No. 4 light source and No. 5 light source of the second lamp may be turned off or dimmed, and No. 2 light source and No. 3 light source of the first lamp may be turned off or dimmed as illustrated in FIGS. 18 and 19”) which is lower than the first luminous intensity (Fig. 7, P20), and
wherein the controller (Fig. 22, 700) generates a control signal for operating the vehicle lamp headlight (Fig. 22, 800a to 800b) based on the dimming range setting result (Paragraph [0028]) and the luminous intensity setting result (Paragraph [0028]) for the partial range (Fig. 19, D), and outputs the control signal to the vehicle headlight (Fig. 22, 800a to 800b).
Son does not specify the partial range being in front of the vehicle and at least in an oncoming lane side region with respect to the vehicle and set between a virtual reference line parallel to the vehicle width direction of the vehicle assumed in front of the vehicle and a predetermined position below the virtual reference line
Tanaka discloses the partial range (Fig. 5b, see Car with Plo) being in front of the vehicle and at least in an oncoming lane side region (Fig. 5b, Car) with respect to the vehicle and set between a virtual reference line (Fig. 5b, H) parallel to the vehicle (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5) width direction of the vehicle (Fig. 5b, Car) assumed in front of the vehicle (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5) and a predetermined position (Fig. 5b, see Car with Plo) below the virtual reference line (Fig. 5b, H),
[AltContent: textbox (the partial range)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Tanaka with Son to discloses or teach the partial range being in front of the vehicle and at least in an oncoming lane side region with respect to the vehicle and set between a virtual reference line parallel to the vehicle width direction of the vehicle assumed in front of the vehicle and a predetermined position below the virtual reference line for purpose of prevents dazzling of the driver etc. of a vehicle ahead existing in determined illumination regions by reducing the light quantity as disclosed by Tanaka (Paragraph [0009])
In regards to claim 8, Son in view of Tanaka discloses a vehicle headlight system comprising: the control apparatus (Son Fig. 22, 700) according to claim 1; a vehicle headlight controlled by the control apparatus (Son Fig. 22, 700); and a sensor for detecting the target object (Son: Paragraph [0047]).
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845