DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In claim 1, the limitation “a mechanism for moving the second member between a retracted position and an extended position” in line 8-9 has been interpreted under 112 (f) as means plus function limitation. This limitation has been interpreted as referring to the motor drive 182 and a rotation-to-linear mechanism 190 then axially drive the drive member 188 in the bore 124 of the sleeve 122, which is connected to the second clamp member 120A [0022].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yates (US 2008/0009854) in view of Yates et al (US 2012/0116379) hereinafter “Yates379”.
Regarding claim 1, Yates an electrosurgical instrument, comprising: a handle (fig.1; handle 22) coupled to an elongated shaft (fig.1; shaft 20) having a longitudinal axis (the longitudinal axis of shaft 20); the elongated shaft configured with a first member (fig.10; jaw member 30) with a first tissue-engaging surface having a first fixed angle relative to the longitudinal axis (fig.10) and a second member (fig.10; jaw 32) with a second tissue-engaging surface having a second fixed angle relative to the longitudinal axis (fig.10), the first member located at a distal end of the elongated shaft and the second member being axially- moveable; a mechanism for moving (fig.2A; translator 78) the second member between a retracted position and an extended position wherein the retracted position has an increased space between the first tissue-engaging surface and the second tissue-engaging surface for capturing tissue (fig.3; see also [0076]) and wherein the extended position has a decreased space between the first tissue-engaging surface and the second tissue-engaging surface for clamping tissue (fig.3A;see also [0076]); and a first bi-polar electrode and a second bi-polar electrode disposed in spaced apart relation in the first tissue-engaging surface and the second tissue-engaging surface [0081]. Yates does not disclose the mechanism for moving to include motor and drive member (see the 112f interpretation above). Yates 379 teaches an electrosurgical device comprises an end effector, a cutting member, and electromechanical driver (abstract). The electrosurgical device includes motor (102) is used to close jaws [0058] and motor used to drive elongate member 170 that is coupled to the blade 174 [0047]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the Application was effectively filed to modify as taught by Yates with motors that are configured to move the jaws and blade as taught by Yates 379 for the purpose of efficiency.
Regarding claim 2-6, Yates/Yates 379 does not disclose wherein the first fixed angle is between 5° and 20°, wherein the second fixed angle is between 5° and 20°, wherein a stroke of the second member when axially moved between the retracted position and the extended position is between 1 cm and 10 cm, wherein a dimension between and perpendicular to the first tissue-engaging surface and the second tissue-engaging surface in the retracted position is at least 2 mm and wherein a dimension between and perpendicular to the first tissue-engaging surface and the second tissue-engaging surface in the extended position is less than 1.0 mm. Yates teaches that the specific ratio between jaw trigger 70 travel and the corresponding second jaw member 32 travel may be adjusted for the specific application of the resecting device 10 [0075]. In another embodiment (fig.8A). Yates also teaches the curvature of the jaw members 30, 32 may be derived from circles having different radii, depending on the specific embodiment and the angle between the straight jaw member 30, 32 portion distal the curvature in the jaw members 30, 32 and the straight shaft 20 portion proximate the handle 22) is denoted "A," and has a value of twenty degrees ([0082] of Yates). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the Application was filed to have the desired jaw fixed angle, the extended position and dimension between tissue engaging surfaces, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, Yates/Yates 379 teaches the electrosurgical instrument of claim 1, wherein the first tissue- engaging surface and second tissue-engaging surface carry opposing polarity electrodes ([0081] of Yates).
Regarding claim 8, Yates/Yates 379 teaches the electrosurgical instrument of claim 1, wherein the second member is axially moveable between the retracted position and extended position by a motor drive ([0058] of Yates379).
Regarding claim 9, Yates/Yates 379 teaches the electrosurgical instrument of claim 1, further comprising an axially-moveable blade assembly adapted to move axially between a retracted position and extended position in the first member and the second member (fig.10, see also [0081] of Yates).
Regarding claim 10, Yates/Yates 379 teaches the electrosurgical instrument of claim 9, wherein the axially- moveable blade assembly is moved between the retracted position and extended position by a motor drive [0048] of Yates379).
Regarding claim 11, Yates/Yates 379 teaches the electrosurgical instrument of claim 9, wherein the axially- moveable blade assembly includes a cutting blade element that is slidable in a channel in the first member (fig.10B, blade 40, see also [0073]).
Regarding claim 12, Yates/Yates 379 teaches the electrosurgical instrument of claim 9, wherein the axially- moveable blade assembly includes an elongate flexible element extending through the elongated shaft (fig.10B of Yates).
Conclusion
/TIGIST S DEMIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794