DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because fig. 2 flowchart should have descriptions of the steps instead of merely referencing the steps in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims *** are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Therefore claims *** inherit the deficiencies of claims *** by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 19, 24, 28, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stein US 20070115357 in view of Sykula US 20180370496.
Regarding claim 14, Stein disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
An apparatus for determining a reduced transparency of a window of a vehicle [fig. 2], comprising:
a first image sensor configured to capture a first image of a spatial area outside the vehicle through a window of the vehicle (i.e. primary camera 32 captures images of the environment through the windshield) [abs,4,18; fig. 5];
a second image sensor configured to capture a second image of the spatial area, (i.e. secondary camera 33 captures image of the surface of the windshield) [11,18,20; fig. 5];
an evaluation device which has an algorithm configured to determine, by comparing the first image with the second image, whether the window has a reduced transparency in comparison with a reference value (i.e. processor 60 analyzes images to determine and identify an obstruction. ) [30,65,66]
Stein do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
a second image sensor configured to capture a second image of the spatial area, other than through the window of the vehicle
However, in the same field of endeavor Sykula discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
a second image sensor configured to capture a second image of the spatial area, other than through the window of the vehicle (i.e. external sensor record data to determine an obstruction level of the window (when the internal camera 42 is obstructed) and can initial cleaning) [45,69; fig. 6,7]
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Stein with Sykula to have a second image sensor configured to capture a second image of the spatial area, other than through the window of the vehicle.
It would be advantageous because “[0010] The cleaning system described herein provides a solution to clean external sensors of a vehicle and to efficiently divide washer fluid between cleaning the sensors and cleaning the windows. The cleaning system includes a reservoir for holding washer fluid and level sensors arranged in the reservoir. The level sensors are positioned to allow a computer to determine when to use the washer fluid for washing the windows and when not to use the washer fluid for washing the windows, preserving washer fluid for keeping the external sensors clean. The cleaning system can use the washer fluid efficiently and thus not necessitate storing as much washer fluid on board the vehicle.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Stein with Sykula to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Regarding claim 19, Stein meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein the apparatus further comprises: a system with an operating mode in which a transparency of the window can be increased; and a control device configured to activate the operating mode of the system if the evaluation device has determined that the window has the reduced transparency in comparison with the reference value (i.e. external sensor record data to determine an obstruction level of the window (when the internal camera 42 is obstructed) and can initiate cleaning (increasing transparency of the window) [45,69; fig. 6,7].
Regarding claim 24, Stein meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus as claimed in claim 19, wherein: the system has a windshield-cleaning device with a windshield wiper and a cleaning-fluid device; and the control device is configured to activate the operating mode such that the windshield- cleaning device in which at least the windshield wiper is activated (i.e. external sensor record data to determine an obstruction level of the window (when the internal camera 42 is obstructed) and can initiate cleaning and will stop cleaning when the window is clean) [45,69; fig. 6,7].
Claim 28 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 14.
Claim 29 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 14.
Claim 30 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 14.
Claim(s) 15 and 16,22-23, 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stein with Sykula in view of Nakamura US 20220272302.
Regarding claim 15, Stein with Sykula do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
having a control device configured to control the first image sensor and the second image sensor in such a way that the first image is captured substantially at the same time as the second image.
However, in the same field of endeavor Nakamura discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
having a control device configured to control the first image sensor and the second image sensor in such a way that the first image is captured substantially at the same time as the second image (i.e. first and second cameras synchronized) [101].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Stein with Sykula with Nakamura having a control device configured to control the first image sensor and the second image sensor in such a way that the first image is captured substantially at the same time as the second image.
It would be advantageous because the two image can be compared with each other to determine conditions at a time frame.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Stein with Sykula with Nakamura to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Stein meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus as claimed in claim 15, wherein the control device is configured to activate, before the first image or second image is captured, a vehicle lighting system of the vehicle in order to illuminate the spatial area (i.e. light source synchronized with cameras) [107].
Regarding claim 22, Nakamura meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus as claimed in claim 19, wherein: the system has a heating device; and the control device is configured to activate the operating mode such that the heating device generates heat for heating the window (i.e. vehicle has a heater that would heat the window) [42].
Regarding claim 23, Stein meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus as claimed in claim 22, wherein: the system has a windshield-cleaning device with a windshield wiper and a cleaning-fluid device; and the control device is configured to activate the operating mode such that the windshield- cleaning device in which at least the windshield wiper is activated (i.e. external sensor record data to determine an obstruction level of the window (when the internal camera 42 is obstructed) and can initiate cleaning and will stop cleaning when the window is clean) [45,69; fig. 6,7].
Regarding claim 25, Nakamura meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus as claimed in claim 24, wherein: the system has a ventilation device, the control device is configured to activate the operating mode such that the ventilation device supplies air to an interior of the vehicle (i.e. vehicle has an AC that would ventilate air in the window) [42].
Regarding claim 26, Nakamura meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus as claimed in claim 19, wherein: the system has a ventilation device, the control device is configured to activate the operating mode such that the ventilation device supplies air to an interior of the vehicle (i.e. vehicle has an AC that would ventilate air in the window) [42].
Claim(s) 17,18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stein, Sykula, and Nakamura in view of Radici US 20230070079.
Regarding claim 17, Stein, Sykula, and Nakamura do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the control device is configured to activate the vehicle lighting system if a lighting intensity, identified by a sensor arranged on the vehicle, in surroundings of the vehicle has fallen below a prescribed threshold value.
However, in the same field of endeavor Radici discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the control device is configured to activate the vehicle lighting system if a lighting intensity, identified by a sensor arranged on the vehicle, in surroundings of the vehicle has fallen below a prescribed threshold value (i.e. light activated when intensity falls below threshold) [127].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Stein, Sykula, and Nakamura with Radici to have the control device is configured to activate the vehicle lighting system if a lighting intensity, identified by a sensor arranged on the vehicle, in surroundings of the vehicle has fallen below a prescribed threshold value.
It would be advantageous because lights could be enabled in low light situations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Stein, Sykula, and Nakamura with Radici to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Stein meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus as claimed in claim 17, wherein the apparatus further comprises: a system with an operating mode in which a transparency of the window can be increased; and wherein the control device is configured to activate the operating mode of the system if the evaluation device has determined that the window has the reduced transparency in comparison with the reference value (i.e. external sensor record data to determine an obstruction level of the window (when the internal camera 42 is obstructed) and can initiate cleaning (increasing transparency of the window) [45,69; fig. 6,7].
Regarding claim 20, Stein meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus as claimed in claim 17, wherein: the algorithm of the evaluation device is configured to determine, from a plurality of first images captured temporally one after another and from a plurality of second images captured temporally one after another, in each case by comparing in each case one of the first images with in each case one of the second images, whether the window has a reduced transparency in comparison with the reference value; and wherein the control device is configured to deactivate the operating mode of the system if one of the comparisons has revealed that the transparency substantially corresponds to the reference value (i.e. external sensor record data to determine an obstruction level of the window (when the internal camera 42 is obstructed) and can initiate cleaning and will stop cleaning when the window is clean) [45,69; fig. 6,7].
Regarding claim 21, Nakamura meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus as claimed in claim 20, wherein: the system has a heating device; and the control device is configured to activate the operating mode such that the heating device generates heat for heating the window (i.e. vehicle has a heater that would heat the window) [42].
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stein with Sykula in view of Kito US 20190171296.
Regarding claim 27, Stein with Sykula do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein: the system has a window regulator, the control device is configured to activate the operating mode such that the window regulator moves the window into an open state.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kito discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein: the system has a window regulator, the control device is configured to activate the operating mode such that the window regulator moves the window into an open state (i.e. a command relating to opening and closing control of a window regulator) [67].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Stein with Sykula with Kito to have the system has a window regulator, the control device is configured to activate the operating mode such that the window regulator moves the window into an open state.
It would be advantageous because opening and closing a window is a well-known system used in many vehicles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Stein with Sykula with Kito to obtain the invention as specified in claim 27.
Contact Information
/Jared Walker/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426