DETAILED ACTION
This action is a non-final, first office action on the merits in response to applicant’s communication filed on 4/30/2025, wherein claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based upon an application filed in Japan. The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-175778, filed on 11/1/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/30/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The following limitations use a generic placeholder modified by functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function, and are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 112(f) limitation:
Claim 1, "a dropping mechanism configured to drop the article supported on the supporting surface." The corresponding structure is dropping mechanism 12 mounted on cart body 10 and configured to tilt support platform 11, whose upper surface forms support surface 11f, driven by "a known means such as a motor or a cylinder," and equivalents thereof. The specification further discloses, as alternatives, a pusher that pushes the article from the support surface, and a gripping mechanism that grips and lifts the article and releases it outside the support surface.
Claim 2, "a transport mechanism configured to transport the article received by the receiving surface." The corresponding structure is conveying mechanism 20, embodied as conveyor 20c, as lifting mechanism 25 having lifting platform 25a, or as a further unmanned transport vehicle, and equivalents thereof.
Claim 3, "a regulating apparatus ... configured to regulate movement of the article by the conveyor." The corresponding structure is regulating device 22 including regulating body 220 positioned to overlap the movement trajectory of the article, optionally with a drive unit that switches the regulating body into and out of that trajectory, and equivalents thereof.
Claim 4, "a feeding apparatus ... configured to retain at least one article transported by the conveyor, and to feed the retained article into a feeding section disposed below the receiving surface." The corresponding structure is input device 23 including movable support section 230 having supports 230a and a drive section that switches the supports between a support state and a release state, and equivalents thereof.
The term "transport mechanism" as recited in claims 3 and 4 is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because those claims recite that the transport mechanism is a conveyor, which is sufficient structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwanishi et al. (JP 2010-234835 A)(Cited on International Search Report received 4/30/2025), hereinafter "Iwanishi."
This rejection relies on the second embodiment of Iwanishi, automatic transfer device 1b, FIG. 5. Iwanishi expressly ties the apparatus of FIG. 5 to the vehicle and pallet mounting table described with FIGS. 1 to 3, stating that "[t]he pallet placing table 3 and the automatic guided vehicle 2 employed in the automatic conveyance device 1b according to the second embodiment are the same as those employed in the automatic conveyance device 1a according to the first embodiment," and that closed holding means 11, rocking lock means 12 and releasing means 14 are provided in the second embodiment and are in the released state. No element-number series from a different embodiment is relied upon.
Claim term correspondence. The claimed travel floor is the floor along which automatic guided vehicle 2 is self-propelled; the travel surface is the surface of that floor; the transport vehicle is automatic guided vehicle 2; the article is pallet 4; the supporting surface is the upper surface of pallet mounting table 3, formed as recess 18; the dropping mechanism is support member 6, rocking lock means 12, releasing means 14 and push-up member 50 of sliding allowance means 37b; the article receiving apparatus is receiving pallet changer 35; the receiving surface is the upper surface of pallet placing part 36 defined by free rotation rollers 41 of roller unit 42; the transport mechanism and the conveyor are roller unit 42; and the regulating apparatus is stopper 44.
Regarding Claim 1, Iwanishi discloses:
an article transport facility, comprising (see FIG. 5):
a travel floor – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, the floor along which automatic guided vehicle 2 travels; "The automatic guided vehicle 2 is self-propelled along a traveling magnetic tape (not shown) laid on a predetermined path on the floor," Par. [0020]);
a transport vehicle configured to transport an article by traveling on a travel surface formed on the travel floor – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, automatic guided vehicle 2, pallet 4; the automatic guided vehicle 2 is caused to run while “the inclined portion 46 provided at its front end is in contact with the rotating body 47 of the receiving pallet changer 35" Par. [0036]); and
an article receiving apparatus configured to receive the article from the transport vehicle – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, receiving pallet changer 35; "The receiving pallet changer 35 receives an empty pallet 4 from the pallet mounting table 3 of the automatic guided vehicle 2"); and wherein:
the transport vehicle comprises: a supporting surface configured to support the article from below – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, pallet mounting table 3, recess 18; "On the upper surface of the pallet mounting table 3, a recess 18 corresponding to the plan view shape of the pallet 4 is formed"; "the pallet 4 is placed in the recess 18 of the pallet placing table 3");
a dropping mechanism configured to drop the article supported on the supporting surface – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, support member 6, rocking lock means 12, releasing means 14, push-up member 50; "the push-up member 50 protrudes from the bottom of the recess 18 of the pallet mounting table 3" and pushes "up the front edge" of pallet 4; "the pallet 4 slides from the pallet mounting table 3 of the automatic guided vehicle 2 to the roller unit 42 (pallet mounting part 36) of the receiving pallet changer 35 due to its own weight"). Under the construction set forth above, movement of pallet 4 downward off the inclined supporting surface under its own weight is a drop;
the article receiving apparatus comprises a receiving surface configured to receive the article dropped by the transport vehicle – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, pallet placing part 36, roller unit 42, free rotation rollers 41; "The pallet placement unit 36 includes a roller unit 42 in which a plurality of free rotation rollers 41 are provided in parallel along the sliding direction of the pallet 4"; the pallet "is slid on the roller unit 42 of the receiving pallet changer 35, and is stopped by the stopper 44"); and
the receiving surface being disposed higher than the travel surface – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, pallet placing part 36, pallet mounting table 3, recess 18; "The upper surface of the pallet mounting part 36 on the main body part 40b is substantially flush with the bottom of the concave part 18 of the pallet mounting table 3 that is inclined at the maximum inclination angle so that the front part in the traveling direction faces downward on the automatic guided vehicle 2"). Pallet mounting table 3 is carried on automatic guided vehicle 2, which travels on the floor, and recess 18 is formed in the upper surface of that table. A surface disposed substantially flush with the bottom of that recess is therefore located above the floor on which the vehicle travels. FIG. 5 corroborates this relationship.
Regarding Claim 2, Iwanishi discloses:
The limitations of claim 1, which are met as set forth above.
Iwanishi further discloses:
wherein the article receiving apparatus comprises a transport mechanism configured to transport the article received by the receiving surface – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, roller unit 42, free rotation rollers 41; the pallet "is slid on the roller unit 42 of the receiving pallet changer 35, and is stopped by the stopper 44"; "since the roller unit 42 has moved slightly upward, the pallet 4 is smoothly transferred from the pallet mounting table 3 to the roller unit 42").
Regarding Claim 3, Iwanishi discloses:
The limitations of claim 2, which are met as set forth above.
Iwanishi further discloses:
Wherein: the transport mechanism is a conveyor – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, roller unit 42; "a roller unit 42 in which a plurality of free rotation rollers 41 are provided in parallel along the sliding direction of the pallet 4").
the receiving surface is a transport surface of the conveyor – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, free rotation rollers 41 of roller unit 42, upon which pallet 4 is received and along which pallet 4 slides).
the article receiving apparatus comprises: a regulating apparatus provided at a downstream end portion of a transport route along which the conveyor transports the article or at a predetermined position upstream thereof – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, stopper 44; "a stopper 44 that restricts deviation of the pallet 4 from the roller unit 42 is provided at the lowermost end of the roller unit 42"); and,
the regulating apparatus is configured to regulate movement of the article by the conveyor – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, stopper 44, pallet 4; the pallet "is slid on the roller unit 42 of the receiving pallet changer 35, and is stopped by the stopper 44").
Regarding Claim 6, Iwanishi discloses:
The limitations of claim 1, which are met as set forth above.
Iwanishi further discloses:
wherein the dropping mechanism is configured to, when dropping the article supported on the supporting surface, incline the supporting surface in such a manner that an end portion thereof closer to the receiving surface is lowered – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, pallet mounting table 3, engaging recess 43, roller unit 42, receiving pallet changer 35; "the pallet placing table 3 on the vehicle 2 is in a state of being inclined at the maximum inclination angle so that the front part in the traveling direction faces downward"; the receiving pallet changer 35 is engaged at that same front end, in that "the end of the roller unit 42 of the receiving pallet changer 35" is engaged with "the mating recess 43" provided at the front of the pallet mounting table 3; and the pallet thereafter "slides from the pallet mounting table 3 of the automatic guided vehicle 2 to the roller unit 42 ... due to its own weight"). The lowered end portion of the supporting surface is therefore the end portion adjacent the receiving surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwanishi et al. (JP 2010-234835 A) in view of Stevie (US 5,333,721).
This rejection relies on the preferred embodiment of Stevie, FIGS. 1 to 4. The claimed feeding apparatus is drop box or accumulation chamber 20 together with drop gate 30 and bottom plates 36, 37; the article is a pouch 14, or a group of pouches 14, shown in stacked form at 14a; the conveyor is pouch conveyor 10, having discharge end 13; and the feeding section is bucket conveyor 26 with product bucket 27 and compartment 28.
Regarding Claim 4, Iwanishi discloses:
The limitations of claim 2, which are met as set forth above.
Iwanishi further discloses:
wherein the transport mechanism is a conveyor – (Iwanishi, FIG. 5, roller unit 42; Par. [0033]: "a roller unit 42 in which a plurality of free rotation rollers 41 are provided in parallel along the sliding direction of the pallet 4").
Iwanishi does not appear to explicitly disclose the collective "wherein the article receiving apparatus includes: a feeding apparatus provided at a downstream end portion of a transport route along which the conveyor transports the article, and wherein the feeding apparatus is configured to retain at least one article transported by the conveyor, and to feed the retained article into a feeding section disposed below the receiving surface."
Iwanishi does disclose a stopper 44 at the lowermost end of roller unit 42 that arrests the article at the end of the transport route, however Iwanishi does not disclose any structure that thereafter releases the arrested article downward to a section below the receiving surface.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the inventor, namely retaining an article delivered by a conveyor and thereafter feeding the retained article downward to a receiving location at a selected time, Stevie discloses:
the article receiving apparatus includes: a feeding apparatus provided at a downstream end portion of a transport route along which the conveyor transports the article – (Stevie, FIGS. 1 and 3, drop box or accumulation chamber 20, pouch conveyor 10, discharge end 13, support bracket 22, entrance 24, Col. 5, line 65: "Two drop box units or accumulation chambers 20, 21 are rigidly secured to the pouch conveyor 10 at discharge end 13 by means of support brackets 22, 23"; Col. 6, line 10: "The entrance 24 is aligned with the discharge end 13 of the oscillating pouch conveyor 10"). (See also Stevie, claim 1: "accumulation means operationally disposed at the downstream end of said pouch conveyor"); and
wherein the feeding apparatus is configured to retain at least one article transported by the conveyor – (Stevie, FIGS. 2 and 3, drop box 20, entrance 24, exit end 25, bottom plates 36, 37, stack of pouches 14a, Col. 6, lines 19: "The drop box 20 serves as an accumulation point for shingled groups of pouches 14 which are discharged from lane 11 into the entrance 24 for stacking within the drop box 20 and for release at the appropriate time through the exit end 25"; Col. 6, line 46: "The two bottom plate members 36, 37 support a respective stacks of pouches 14a, 15a in each drop box 20, 21"). (See also Stevie, claim 2: "a discharge gate means having a closed position for supporting pouches collected in said accumulation means"); and
to feed the retained article into a feeding section disposed below the receiving surface. – (Stevie, FIGS. 3A and 4, drop gate 30, bottom plates 36, 37, double-acting cylinder 33, bucket conveyor 26, product bucket 27, compartment 28, Col. 6, line 14: "The drop box 20 is rigidly attached to the discharge end 13 of the pouch conveyor by a support bracket 22 such that it is disposed over the conveyor run of the bucket conveyor 26, and the product buckets 27"; Col. 7, line 1: "the stacks of pouches 14a, 15a are in position to be dropped into the individual compartments 28, 29 during this period of registered movement").
Additionally, Stevie discloses a conveyor that transports the article along a transport route to a discharge end (Stevie, FIG. 1, pouch conveyor 10, conveyor lane 11, discharge end 13) and an article transported thereon (Stevie, FIG. 1, group of pouches 14), corresponding to the conveyor and the article disclosed by Iwanishi as set forth above.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the article receiving apparatus of Iwanishi to include the feeding apparatus of Stevie at the downstream end portion of the transport route along which roller unit 42 transports the article, in order to hold the received article at that location and release it downward at a selected time rather than upon arrival, and thereby to permit articles to be accumulated independently of the timing at which the receiving section below is positioned or otherwise ready to receive the retained articles. Stevie expressly identifies this function, stating that the feeding apparatus "allows the pouches to be stacked and held in place at any time during the cycle of the oscillating conveyor except when the drop gates open" (Stevie, Col.3, line 43), and that the retained articles are thereafter released as a unit into the receiving location below. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Iwanishi already transports the received article along roller unit 42 to the downstream end of its transport route, and Stevie teaches a retaining and releasing structure that is mounted at the discharge end of a conveyor and discharges downward by gravity upon opening of a gate. Stevie further teaches that the invention may transfer "single pouches on a conveyor into a moving product bucket," and that the accumulation or drop box may be separated from the pouch conveyor (Stevie, Col. 9, line 3). In the proposed combination, each structure continues to perform the function it performs in the reference from which it is taken.
Such modification would have been the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007); MPEP 2143(I)(A).
As so modified, the article dropped by the transport vehicle of Iwanishi is received on the receiving surface, is transported by the conveyor to the downstream end portion of the transport route, is retained there by the feeding apparatus supplied by Stevie, and is thereafter released downward into the feeding section disposed below the receiving surface.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwanishi et al. (JP 2010-234835 A) in view of Heiz (US 4,508,484).
Regarding Claim 5, Iwanishi discloses:
The limitations of claim 1, which are met as set forth above.
However, Iwanishi does not explicitly disclose "wherein the receiving surface is disposed horizontally." Iwanishi does disclose a receiving surface positioned "substantially on the same plane as the pallet mounting table 3" that is "inclined at the maximum inclination angle."
In the same field of endeavor, namely the transfer of loads from a floor-traveling transport vehicle to a stationary reception station, Heiz discloses:
wherein the receiving surface is disposed horizontally – (Heiz, FIGS. 2 to 4, reception station 4, endless chain conveyor 8, horizontal load bearing portion 8.4, load 3, Col. 2, line 25: "a substantially horizontal load transport portion for reception of the load"; Col. 4, line 56: "the load 3 will be supported only by the horizontal load bearing portion 8.4 of the conveyor, which therefore constitutes a reception portion for the load").
Additionally, Heiz discloses a floor along which a transport vehicle moves (Heiz, FIG. 1, floor level 1, transport vehicle 2), a load support carried on the upper part of the chassis of the transport vehicle upon which the load is transported (Heiz, FIG. 1, load support 5, load 3), and a reception station having a stationary frame fixed to the ground (Heiz, FIG. 2, reception station 4, stationary frame 7), corresponding to the travel floor, supporting surface and article receiving apparatus disclosed by Iwanishi as set forth above.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the article receiving apparatus of Iwanishi so that the receiving surface thereof is disposed horizontally, as taught by Heiz, in order to provide a substantially horizontal load-bearing reception surface for supporting the article after transfer. Heiz expressly teaches a substantially horizontal load bearing portion 8.4 that "constitutes a reception portion for the load," and further demonstrates that such a horizontal reception portion may be employed in a vehicle-to-reception-station transfer arrangement, in which a downwardly inclined load transfer portion 8.3 precedes and facilitates transfer of the load to the horizontal reception portion (Heiz, FIGS. 2 to 4, endless chain conveyor 8, inclined load transfer portion 8.3, horizontal load bearing portion 8.4, Col. 4, line 56). One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because both references concern the transfer of a load from a floor-traveling transport vehicle to a fixed receiving apparatus, and Heiz expressly demonstrates the operability of a substantially horizontal load-bearing reception portion in such an arrangement. In the proposed combination, the receiving surface of Iwanishi is horizontally disposed as taught by Heiz while continuing to receive and support the transferred article.
Such modification would have been the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007); MPEP 2143(I)(D).
As so modified, the article dropped from the transport vehicle of Iwanishi is received upon a horizontally disposed receiving surface, that surface remaining disposed higher than the travel surface as set forth for claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure. US 3920134 A relates to transfer apparatus for loading one or more stacks of pouches into a continuously moving product bucket.
/FATHI K. ABDELSALAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655