DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits of Application No. 19/040,860 filed on 01/29/2025. Claims 1-39 are pending. Claims 9-11, 17, 22, 24, 31, 35-36, and 38-39 are cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
For example, Claim 1 recites the limitation “hubshell”, it is suggested to change to “hub shell” which is consistent with the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 15-16, 18, 23, 25-30, 32-33, 34, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WALTHERT et al. (US 20230091633 A1).
Regarding claim 1, WALTHERT discloses a vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, figs. 1-8, para 61, comprising:
an axle (2, fig. 3, para 62) that is rotationally stationary about an axial axis (see fig. 3);
a hubshell (e.g. hub shell 3, 23, 32, para 62, fig. 3) that is rotatable about said axle (2) and about said axial axis;
a bearing assembly (e.g. roller bearing 27 fig. 3, para 64) to facilitate said rotation of said hubshell (3), said bearing assembly (e.g. 27) including an inner race (has no character numeral, see annotated fig. A below and para 82) rotationally fixed to said axle (2) and an outer race rotationally fixed to said hubshell (3, fig. 3);
a driving element (e.g. a coupling toothed disk 17,7, fig. 3 and para 67) rotatable about said axial axis;
a driven element (e.g. a coupling toothed disk 16, 6, fig. 5, para 67) rotatable about said axle (2) and said axial axis;
a rotatable coupling (e.g. axial toothing 18, fig. 3 and para 78) at a coupling interface between said driving element (17) and said driven element (16), wherein said driving element (17) is rotatably coupled to said driven element (16) in at least one direction of rotation about said axial axis (see para 78 and fig. 5);
wherein said hubshell (3) includes a bearing bore (e.g. has no character numeral, the hub shell 3 includes a bore to receive and overlap bearing 27 outer race as shown in fig. 4) to receive and to axially overlap said outer race (see fig. 4);
wherein said driven element (16) is rotationally keyed (see para 70) to said hubshell (3) at an engagement interface (an engagement interface between threaded ring 32 of hub 3 and the driven component 16, fig. 3, para 70) for transmission of torque therebetween;
wherein said engagement interface (e.g. an engagement interface between threaded ring 32 of hub 3 and the driven component 16, fig. 3, para 70) is arranged to be at least one of: (i) axially overlapping said outer race (e.g. pointed by 27 in fig. 3) at a location radially outboard of said bearing bore (e.g. bearing bore of bearing 27, fig. 3); or (ii) axially coincident with said outer race at a location radially outboard of said bearing bore, (see fig. 1, 4 and radial tooth sets of the coupling toothed disc 16 and hub shell threaded ring 32 is axially coincident with bearing 27 outer race radially outboard of bearing bore in the hub shell 3) and wherein said driven element (e.g. 16) extends radially inboard (see fig. 3) of said bearing bore.
Fig. A: Annotated fig. 4 of WALTHERT
Regarding claim 2, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 3) according to claim 1, wherein said engagement interface (e.g. an engagement interface between threaded ring 32 of hub 3 and the driven component 16, fig. 3, para 70) is arranged to be axially overlapping said outer race. (Figure 4 shows the engagement interface of the coupling threaded disk 16 and hub shell component threaded ring 32 is axially overlapping the outer race of bearing 27)
Regarding claim 4, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 3) according to claim 2, including a radial space (see the annotated fig. A above) between said driven element (16) and said bearing bore, wherein said hubshell (32) axially overlaps both said bearing bore and said driven element within said radial space.
Regarding claim 5, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 3) according to claim 2, wherein said engagement interface (e.g. an engagement interface between threaded ring 32 of hub shell 3 and the driven component 16, fig. 3, para 70) is directly between said driven element and said hubshell ( thread ring 32 of hub shell 3).
Regarding claim 7, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 3) according to claim 1, wherein said outer race includes an axially outboard end face (see annotated fig. A above) and said driven element (16) is axially abutting said axially outboard end face. (see fig. 4)
Regarding claim 8, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 1, wherein said rotatable coupling includes at least one face tooth (e.g. 18, 9, fig. 5) of said driving element (17, fig. 5) axially overlapping and rotatably engaged to at least one face tooth (e.g. 18) of said driven element (16).
Regarding claim 15, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 1, wherein said driven element (16, fig. 5) includes a spline key (has no character numeral, the external spine key of driven element 16 as shown in fig. 5) to engage a mating spline groove (e.g. has no character numeral, the inner spline grooves of 23 as shown in fig. 5) of said hubshell (e.g. hub component 23 of hub shell 3, para 70) in a spline engagement for transmission of torque therebetween.
Regarding claim 16, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 15, wherein said spline key is of an external spline and said spline groove is of an internal spline of said hubshell (e.g. hub component 23 of hub shell 3, para 70).
Regarding claim 18, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 3) according to claim 2, wherein said bearing bore includes an axially outboard end face (see annotated fig. A above) and wherein said driven element (e.g. 6, 16, fig. 3) is axially outwardly spaced from said bearing bore, including axial clearance (see annotated fig. A above) therebetween. (see annotated fig. A above)
Regarding claim 23, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 15, wherein said hubshell (e.g. hub component 23 of hub shell 3, para 70) includes a plurality of said spline grooves (see fig. 5) that are circumferentially spaced and said driven (16) element includes a plurality of said spline keys that are circumferentially spaced, and wherein said engagement interface is between said plurality of said spline grooves and said plurality of spline keys for transmission of torque therebetween. (see para 70)
Regarding claim 25, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 15, wherein said spline groove includes a semi-circular cylindrical profile as viewed along said axial axis. (see fig. 5)
Regarding claim 26, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 15, wherein said spline key includes a semi-circular cylindrical profile as viewed along said axial axis. (see fig. 5)
Regarding claim 27, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 15, wherein said spline engagement extends axially outwardly from said outer race. (see fig. 5)
Regarding claim 28, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 1, including a retaining element (e.g. seal 30, fig. 3, para 79), and said retaining element (30) serving to restrict axially outward displacement of said driven element (16) relative to said hubshell (3).
Regarding claim 29, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 28, wherein said retaining element (30) is a seal (see fig. 3 and para 79), said seal also serving to provide sealing to restrict contaminants from entry between said driving element and said driven element.
Regarding claim 30, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 1, including an interference fit between said driven element (16) and said hubshell (e.g. hub component 23 of hub shell 3, para 70), said interference fit serving to restrict axially outward displacement of said driven element relative to said hubshell. (see fig. 5)
Regarding claim 32, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 7, wherein said driven element (16, fig. 4) is directly axially abutting said end face.
Regarding claim 33, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 7, wherein said end face is axially outboard of said bearing bore. (see annotated fig. A above)
Regarding claim 34, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 7, wherein said bearing bore includes an axially outboard end face and wherein said driven element (16) is axially outwardly spaced from said end face of said bearing bore, including an axial clearance gap therebetween. (see annotated fig. A above)
Regarding claim 37, WALTHERT discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 5) according to claim 7, wherein bearing bore includes a shoulder (e.g. has no character numeral, the shoulder of hub shell 3 as shown in fig. 3) to provide an axial limit stop for axial location of said outer race, and wherein said outer race is axially sandwiched between said shoulder and said driven element.
Claims 1-2, 12-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WALTHERT at el. (US 20180029412 A1)(hereinafter “WALTHERT’412”).
Regarding claim 1, WALTHERT’412 discloses a vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, figs. 1-10, para 61, comprising:
an axle (5, fig. 3, para 69) that is rotationally stationary about an axial axis (e.g. 30, see fig. 3);
a hubshell (e.g. hub shell 2, para 69, fig. 3) that is rotatable about said axle (5) and about said axial axis;
a bearing assembly (e.g. roller bearing 14 fig. 3, paras 69/75) to facilitate said rotation of said hubshell (2), said bearing assembly (e.g. 14) including an inner race (e.g. an inner ring 52, fig. 6, para 88) rotationally fixed to said axle (5) and an outer race (e.g. an outer ring 50, para 88, fig. 6) rotationally fixed to said hubshell (2, fig. 3);
a driving element (e.g. 20, fig. 3 and para 83, fig. 3) rotatable about said axial axis;
a driven element (e.g. 10, 17, fig. 3, para 10) rotatable about said axle (5) and said axial axis;
a rotatable coupling (e.g. 33, fig. 5 and para 76) at a coupling interface between said driving element (20) and said driven element (17), wherein said driving element (20) is rotatably coupled to said driven element (17) in at least one direction of rotation about said axial axis (see para 76 and fig. 3);
wherein said hubshell (2) includes a bearing bore (e.g. 11, fig. 3, para 75) to receive and to axially overlap said outer race (see fig. 4);
wherein said driven element (20) is rotationally keyed (e.g. via thread 15 and thread 34, fig. 4, see para 77) to said hubshell (2) at an engagement interface (e.g. an engagement interface between thread 15 and the thread 34, fig. 4, para 77) for transmission of torque therebetween;
wherein said engagement interface (e.g. an engagement interface between thread 15 and the thread 34, fig. 4, para 77) is arranged to be at least one of: (i) axially overlapping said outer race (e.g. 50, fig. 6) at a location radially outboard of said bearing bore (e.g. 11, fig. 6); or (ii) axially coincident with said outer race (50, fig. 6) at a location radially outboard of said bearing bore (e.g. 11, fig. 6), and
wherein said driven element (e.g. 17) extends radially inboard (e.g. 18, see fig. 4) of said bearing bore (11).
Regarding claim 2, WALTHERT’412 discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 4) according to claim 1, wherein said engagement interface (e.g. an engagement interface between thread 15 and the thread 34, fig. 4, para 77) is arranged to be axially overlapping said outer race (50, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, WALTHERT’412discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 6) according to claim 2, wherein a driven element (e.g. 17, fig. 6) includes an axially inwardly projecting collar (e.g. 13, fig. 6) that axially overlaps an outer race (50) of said bearing (14).
Regarding claim 13, WALTHERT’412discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 4) according to claim 2, wherein said hubshell (2, fig. 3) includes a circumferential relief (e.g. an internal thread 34, fig. 4, para 77) outboard of said bearing bore (11) and axially overlapping said outer race (50, fig. 6) and wherein said driven element (e.g. 10, 17, fig. 4) includes an axially inwardly projecting circumferential collar (13) that axially overlaps said circumferential relief (e.g. 34, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, WALTHERT’412 discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 4) according to claim 13, wherein said circumferential relief (e.g. internal thread 34, fig. 4) includes a spline groove and wherein said collar (13) includes a spline key (e.g. an external thread 15, para 77) to engage said spline groove (34).
Regarding claim 19, WALTHERT’412discloses the vehicle wheel hub assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 6) according to claim 12, wherein said hubshell includes a bearing housing (e.g. 12, the portion of the hub shell 5 that includes the bearing bore 11 is termed as the bearing housing) circumferentially surrounding at least a portion of said bearing bore and wherein said collar (13, fig. 6) is radially outboard and axially overlapping said bearing housing (12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-21 are objected to as been dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 20, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for a vehicle wheel hub assembly including the combination of limitations recited in claim 20, particularly in combination with “wherein said driven element includes an axially inwardly projecting peg that axially overlaps an axially inwardly recessed socket of said hubshell.”
The closest prior art WALTHERT et al. (US 20230091633 A1) discloses a vehicle wheel hub assembly but fails to disclose wherein said driven element includes an axially inwardly projecting peg that axially overlaps an axially inwardly recessed socket of said hubshell.
There is no motivation provided in the prior art to modify WALTHERT to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for a vehicle wheel hub assembly including the combination of limitations recited in claim 21, particularly in combination with “wherein both: (i) said driven element includes a spline key to engage a mating spline groove of said hubshell; and (ii) said driven element includes an axially inwardly projecting peg that axially overlaps an axially inwardly recessed socket of said hubshell.”
The closest prior art WALTHERT et al. (US 20230091633 A1) discloses a vehicle wheel hub assembly but fails to disclose wherein both: (i) said driven element includes a spline key to engage a mating spline groove of said hubshell; and (ii) said driven element includes an axially inwardly projecting peg that axially overlaps an axially inwardly recessed socket of said hubshell.
There is no motivation provided in the prior art to modify WALTHERT to arrive at the claimed invention.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Oka (US 20220274440 A1) discloses a hub provided for a human-powered vehicle, includes a hub axle, a rotating body, a bearing, an inner retainer and an outer retainer. The rotating body is rotatably mounted on the hub axle. The bearing rotatably coupling the rotating body to the hub axle. The bearing includes an inner race, an outer race and a plurality of roller elements. The inner race has an axially facing portion abutting an inner abutment of the hub axle. The outer race has an axially facing portion abutting an outer abutment of the rotating body. The roller elements are disposed between the inner race and the outer race. The inner retainer is coupled to the hub axle and abuts an axially facing portion of the inner race. The outer retainer is coupled to the rotating body and abuts an axially facing portion of the outer race.
GOEBEL et al. (US 20220032686 A1) discloses a freewheel hub for a bicycle. The freewheel hub may include a hub axle, a hub sleeve which is mounted rotatably on the hub axle, and a driver which is mounted rotatably on the hub axle and can be connected to at least one sprocket arrangement. A freewheel device may be arranged between the hub sleeve and the driver. The free wheel device may include a first clutch ring, which is coupled or couplable to the hub sleeve in a torque-transmitting manner, a second clutch ring, which is coupled or couplable to the driver in a torque-transmitting manner. The two clutch rings have mutually facing axial toothing and a preload device which is designed and arranged to preload the two clutch rings axially towards one another, wherein the preload device has a spring arrangement with at least one spring element made of a plastic with a cellular structure.
Conclusion
/F. P/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655