DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki et al. (JP 2008169577) in view of Kanai et al. (JP 2005068861) and Otsuka et al. (JP 2581167).
As to claim 1 and 9, Araki et al. discloses a method for constructing a multi-level tunnel structure in which two shield tunnels (2A, 2B) are drilled to be adjacent to each other in the vertical direction (see paragraphs [0014] and [0015], and figures 1 and 2). Araki discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Araki et al. is silent about the support frame installation step (S20), the side part formation step (S30), and the slab formation step (S40) of claim 1. However, the support frame installation step (S20) could be readily derived from the feature of Araki et al. wherein retaining walls (12) are provided in the upper and lower shield tunnels (2A, 2B) (see figures 1 and 2).
Kanai teaches wherein perfect circle holding units (7, 8) and a horizontal beam (3) are provided between upper and lower segments (1, 2) (see claim 1 and figure 1). In addition, the side part formation step (S30), and the slab formation step (S40) could be readily derived from the features of Kanai et al. wherein a gap between the upper and lower segments (1, 2) are penetrated and the horizontal beams (3) are provided therebetween (see claim 1 and figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Araki et al. to include the two circular cross section and the side and slab formation step as taught by Kanai et al., since it would provide a well-known method of multi-level tunnels.
Furthermore, Otsaku discloses wherein a connecting part (22) is formed by means of excavation such that both tunnels (10, 12) are connected to each other (see paragraph [0019] and figures 1-7). It would have been obvous to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Kanai to use excavation as taught by Otsaku, since it would provide as conventional and economic way to form and connect tunnels.
As to claim 2, Araki et al. discloses wherein the two shield tunnels (2A, 2B) are drilled to be adjacent to each other in the vertical direction (see figure 1) and the segments (1, 2) of D2 (see claim 1 and figure 1).
As to claim 3 and 5, Araki et al. as modified above discloses of: the connecting part (22) formed by means of excavation such that both tunnels (10, 12) are connected to each other, the connecting part (22) including a top plate (24) and a bottom plate (26); and a step of dismantling temporary shoring (32) the step of lining and reinforcement on the wall is inherent (see Otsuka paragraphs [0019] and [0031], and figures 1-7).
As to claim 4, Araki et al. as modified above could be readily derived from the openings (18, 20) of D3 (see figures 2-6).
As to claim 7-8, Araki et al. as modified above discloses wherein a support member (9) of the upper perfect circle holding unit (7) supports the upper segment (1), pressure is transmitted to the horizontal beam (3), and the lower perfect circle holding unit (8) is mounted on the lower segment (2) by means of the support member (9) (see Kanai et al. line 23 on page 2 to line 2 on page 3, and figure 1).
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki et al. (JP 2008169577) in view of Kanai et al. (JP 2005068861) and Otsuka et al. (JP 2581167) and Zhou et al. (CN 113123803).
As to claim 6 and 10, Araki et al. as modified above discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Araki et al. as modified above is silent about wherein the slab formation step includes: a main slab formation step of forming a main slab to connect opposite sides of the side surface parts to each other; and a lower slab formation step of forming a lower slab to connect lower half parts of the lower tunnel to each other. Zhou et al. teaches a reinforced concrete slabs (2) provided on the upper and lower sides connected to each other (see claim 1 and figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Araki as modified to include an upper and lower slab as taught by Zhou et al., since it would a two level road for underground tunnels.
Conclusion
/CARIB A OQUENDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678