DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a final office action.
Claims 1-9 are currently pending and have been examined on their merits.
Claims 1-8 are newly amended see REMARKS August 18, 2026.
Claim 10 is newly canceled see REMARKS August 18, 2026
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Claim 1: an input and output module configured to collect the input and output of the material flow and the energy flow in a production process; a module establishing module configured to establish a carbon emissions evaluation model; an analysis module configured to determine the effects of the parameter change on the material flow, energy flow, and the carbon flow, a model establishment module and an evaluation module configured to quantify an initial carbon emission and an expected carbon emission.
Claim 1 recites a plurality of module for performing various analysis tasks are interpreted under U.S.C. 112 as the claims do not describe if the claims are hardware or software. Therefore, the examiner is interpreting the claim limitations under broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as software modules capable of performing the claim functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 1 and 8 recite a plurality of modules for performing a plurality of analysis steps. However, the specification does not recite hardware such as a processor or computer capable of running the software modules capable of performing the recited claim limitations.
Claim 1 limitation “an input and output module configured to collect the input and output of the material flow and the energy flow in a production process; a module establishing module configured to establish a carbon emissions evaluation model; an analysis module configured to determine the effects of the parameter change on the material flow, energy flow, and the carbon flow, a model establishment module and an evaluation module configured to quantify an initial carbon emission and an expected carbon emission.” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Claim 1 recites a plurality of modules without disclosing corresponding structure or material for performing the claimed function such as a computer or processor. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Therefore, claims 1-7 are rejected under U.S.C. 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-7 recite a system, claims 8-9 recite a method (i.e. a series of steps), and therefore each claim falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A prong 1 (Is a judicial exception recited?):
The representative claim 1 recites: collect the input and output of the material flow and the energy flow in a production process of iron and steel sites, wherein the material flow comprises an iron-containing material flow and a carbon-containing material flow, and the energy flow comprises a fuel and an energy carrier; an input and output of the coupling of the material flow and energy flow, and a conversion relationship between the input and output of the coupling; and, based on coupling relationships between a carbon flow and the material and energy flows, by supplementing conversion relationships between the carbon flow and the material and energy flows on the basis of the material flow-energy flow coupling analysis; wherein, when a parameter changes, the material flow and the energy flow of a unit where the parameter resides are decoupled, thereby obtaining effects on other material flows and energy flows, and determining an influence scope on an output material flow or energy flow of the unit, an intermediate material flow or energy flow product, and input and output material flows or energy flows of downstream units, as well as trend changes of variables; when a parameter changes, carbon flows from the material flow and the energy flow of a unit where the parameter resides are decoupled, thereby obtaining effects on the carbon flows coupled with the material flow and the energy flow, and determining an influence scope on an output carbon flow of the unit, an intermediate material flow or energy flow product containing carbon flow, and input and output carbon flows of a downstream unit, as well as trend changes of variables; wherein, the material flow comprises an iron-containing material flow and a carbon-containing material flow; the energy flow comprises a fuel and an energy carrier; the conversion relationship between the input and output of the coupling of material flow and energy flow refers to inputting a material flow, energy flow or coupled material flow and energy flow into a unit and outputting it from the unit after a conversion process, and then obtaining a converted material flow, energy flow or coupled material flow and energy flow; and the conversion relationships between the carbon flow and the material and energy flows are relationships between the material flow and its carbon content, the energy flow and its carbon content, and the coupled material flow and energy flow and its carbon content; wherein unit processes are connected by the material flow, the energy flow and the carbon flow; determine, based on the input and output of the material flow and the energy flow in the production process of iron and steel sites collected when a parameter changes, the effects of the parameter change on the material flow, the energy flow, and the carbon flow contained within the material flow or the energy flow, wherein the parameter comprises a single or a plurality of material flows, energy flows, and the key physical quantities of the flows; and quantify, based on the effects of the parameter change on the material flow and the energy flow and the carbon flow contained within the material flow or energy flow obtained, an initial carbon emission and an expected carbon emission in the production process before and after the parameter change, and to obtain, based on the initial carbon emission and the expected carbon emission in the production process before and after the parameter change, the carbon emission difference value in the production process caused by the parameter change; wherein based on the carbon emission difference value in the production process caused by the parameter change, a target process among the unit processes connected by the material flow, the energy flow and the carbon flow is determined and changed to diminish a final carbon emission of the unit processes.
Claim 8: A carbon emission evaluation method for integrated iron and steel sites, comprising: collecting the input and output of the material flow and the energy flow in a production process of iron and steel sites, wherein the material flow comprises an iron-containing material flow and a carbon-containing material flow, and the energy flow comprises an fuel and an energy carrier; when a parameter changes, determining, based on the collected input and output of the material flow and the energy flow in the production process of iron and steel sites, effects of the parameter change on the material flow, the energy flow and the carbon flow contained within the material flow or the energy flow wherein, when a parameter changes, the material flow and the energy flow of a unit where the parameter resides are decoupled, thereby obtaining effects on other material flows and energy flows, and determining an influence scope on an output material flow or energy flow of the unit, an intermediate material flow or energy flow product, and input and output material flows or enemy flows of downstream units, as well as trend changes of variables; when a parameter changes, carbon flows from the material flow and the energy flow of a unit where the parameter resides are decoupled, thereby obtaining effects on the carbon flows coupled with the material flow and the energy flow, and determining an influence scope on an output carbon flow of the unit, an intermediate material flow or energy flow product containing carbon flow, and input and output carbon flows of a downstream unit, as well as trend changes of variables; wherein, the material flow comprises an iron-containing material flow and a carbon-containing material flow; the energy flow comprises a fuel and an energy carrier; the conversion relationship between the input and output of the coupling of material flow and energy flow refers to inputting a material flow, energy flow or coupled material flow and energy flow into a unit and outputting it from the unit after a conversion process, and then obtaining a converted material flow, energy flow or coupled material flow and energy flow; and the conversion relationships between the carbon flow and the material and energy flows are relationships between the material flow and its carbon content, the energy flow and its carbon content, and the coupled material flow and energy flow and its carbon content; wherein unit processes are connected by the material flow, the energy flow and the carbon flow; wherein the parameter comprises a single or a plurality of material flows, energy flows, and key physical quantities of the flows; quantifying, based on the effects of the parameter change on the material flow and the energy flow and the carbon flow contained within the material flow or the energy flow, an initial carbon emission and an expected carbon emission in the production process before and after the parameter change; and obtaining, based on the initial carbon emission and the expected carbon emission in the production process before and after the parameter change, a carbon emission difference value in the production process caused by the parameter change; determining and changing, based on the carbon emission difference value in the production process caused by the parameter change, a target process among the unit processes connected by the material flow, the energy flow and the carbon flow to diminish a final carbon emission of the unit processes.
The claims recite a mental process. The claims recite merely a method of determining the carbon emissions of an iron and steel site and determining a change in carbon flow based on a change to a parameter. The examiner finds these limitations to merely recite concepts the courts have identified as being mental processes such as observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions. As the claims recite merely observing and evaluating the change to an output of carbon emissions based on changing parameters or aspects of a production process. Furthermore, the examiner finds that a user such as a site manager could mentally, or with the aid of a “pen and paper,” perform the steps of determining a change in carbon emissions outputs associated with a change in production parameters.
Therefore, the examiner finds the claims to recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 (Is the exception integrated into a practical application?): The claims additionally recite;
Claim 1: A carbon emission evaluation system model for integrated iron and steel sites, comprising: an input and output module; a model establishing module configured to establish a carbon emission evaluation model for integrated iron and steel sites, comprising: a material flow-energy flow coupling analysis model composed of a coupling relationship between a material flow and an energy flow; by using the material flow-energy flow coupling analysis model and a metallurgical mechanism underlying a the production process; wherein the unit processes comprise a major process, an energy system, and production equipment contained within the major process and the energy system; an analysis module; by using the carbon emission evaluation model for integrated iron and steel sites established by the model establishment module; an evaluation module and an analysis module.
Claim 8: using a carbon emission evaluation model for integrated iron and steel sites, wherein the model comprises: a material flow-energy flow coupling analysis model composed of a coupling relationship between a material flow and an energy flow, an input and output of the coupling of the material flow and energy flow, and a conversion relationship between the input and output of the coupling; and a material flow-energy flow-carbon flow coupling analysis model formed, based on coupling relationships between a carbon flow and the material and energy flows, by supplementing conversion relationships between the carbon flow and the material and enemy flows on the basis of the material flow-energy flow coupling analysis model; using the material flow-energy flow coupling analysis model and a metallurgical mechanism underlying the production process; and wherein the unit processes comprise a major process, an energy system, and production equipment contained within the major process and the energy system.
However, the limitations merely amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). Merely utilizing a generic computer system to perform the claim limitations of receiving an input and generating an output such as determining a change in carbon emissions based on a change in production parameters, is not an improvement to a technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more that the judicial exception?): As discussed above, the additional imitations amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more.
Claims 2-7 and 9 further narrowing the abstract idea of evaluating the carbon emissions of a process based on the changes to a plurality of input actions as disclosed by claims 1 and 8
The dependent claims do not recite any additional elements that are not discussed in the above analysis.
Therefore, claims 1-9 are rejected under U.S.C. 101.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed August 18, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 are considered and not persuasive.
Claims 1 and 8: Representative argues that the amended claims do not recite a mental process. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the claims recite a method for evaluating carbon emissions by collecting input and output of material and energy information of a production process, when a parameter changes determining based on the input and output effects of the parameter change on the carbon flow or emissions of the material flow (materials used and produced during production) and the energy flow (fuel used during production) by using a carbon emission evaluation; the analysis composing a coupling relationship between the material flow and energy flow and a conversion relationship between the input and output of the coupling; supplementing conversion relationships between the carbon flow and the material and energy flow; wherein when a parameter changes quantifying based on the effects of the parameter change on the material flow, the energy flow, and the carbon flow an initial carbon emission and an expected carbon emission in the production process before and after the parameter change; determining and changing based on the carbon emissions difference value in the production process cased by the parameter change, a target process to diminish a final carbon emissions. The examiner finds that the claims recite a method for monitoring and evaluating carbon emissions for a steel manufacturing by receiving and processing input and output information pertaining to materials and fuel being used for the production. A person is capable of mentally, or by using simple tools such as pen and paper, receiving and processing parameters related to steel production to calculate carbon emissions. The courts have stated that concepts that recite a mental process are observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion. Such as the recited claim limitations of evaluating information pertaining to steel production to determine carbon emissions. Additionally, the courts have stated that performing a mental process in a computer environment or using a computer as a tool to perform a mental process are still considered mental processes.
The applicant further argues that the claims recite additional elements that specify how the unit processes are physically connected by the material flow, the energy flow, and the carbon flow and offer advanced carbon reduction technology based on carbon emission evaluation. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the claims do not recite any physical components beyond a system comprising a plurality of modules which are understood to be software for performing the abstract idea of receiving and processing information to determine carbon emissions. The additional elements are directed to merely “apply it” or applying generic computer elements to perform the abstract idea of receiving and analyzing input information to determine carbon emissions and diminish a final carbon emission of a process.
Therefore, the examiner maintains the current 101 rejection.
Claims 2-7 and 9 were dependent on claims 1 and 8. Therefore, they are also rejected under the same rejection as above.
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed August 18, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beal (US 2022/0276222) in view of Kahn (US 2022/0358515) are persuasive.
Claims 1 and 8: Applicant argues that the current prior art does not disclose the newly amended claim limitations of “wherein unit processes are connected by the material flow, the energy flow and the carbon flow, wherein the unit processes comprise a major process, an energy system, and production equipment contained within the major process and the energy system; an analysis module configured to determine, based on the input and output of the material flow and the energy flow in the production process of iron and steel sites collected by the input and output module when a parameter changes, the effects of the parameter change on the material flow, the energy flow, and the carbon flow contained within the material flow or the energy flow by using the carbon emission evaluation model for integrated iron and steel sites established by the model establishment module, wherein the parameter comprises a single or a plurality of material flows, energy flows, and the key physical quantities of the flows; and an evaluation module configured to quantify, based on the effects of the parameter change on the material flow and the energy flow and the carbon flow contained within the material flow or energy flow obtained by the analysis module, an initial carbon emission and an expected carbon emission in the production process before and after the parameter change, and to obtain, based on the initial carbon emission and the expected carbon emission in the production process before and after the parameter change, the carbon emission difference value in the production process caused by the parameter change; wherein based on the carbon emission difference value in the production process caused by the parameter change, a target process among the unit processes connected by the material flow, the energy flow and the carbon flow is determined and changed to diminish a final carbon emission of the unit processes.”
Upon further search and consideration the examiner finds that the combination of prior art does not disclose the newly amended claim limitations.
The closest prior art Beal (US 2022/0276222) teaches an assessment of emissions and carbon credits for production of materials and products. Beal discloses a system of using a machine learning model to monitor a plurality of factors that affect the carbon emissions from manufacturing a product. Beal further discloses applying an adjustment equation based on changing various characteristics and generating an updated model to determine expected emissions from a manufacturing procedure.
The second closest prior art Kahn (US 2022/0358515) teaches a method for monitoring carbon emissions. Kahn further teaches monitoring production of materials such as steel and simulating the amount of carbon emissions based on the manufacturing processes.
The third closest prior art Schoeneboom (US 2023/0376876) teaches a method for determining the carbon footprint of a production plant. Schoeneboom teaches a system of monitoring factors such as raw materials and energy inputs and using an algorithm to determine the amount of carbon emissions from the manufacturing processes.
However, the art separately and in combination do not disclose the amended claim limitations.
Therefore, claim 1 and 8 are allowable over U.S.C. 103.
Claims 2-7 were dependent on claims 1 and 8. Therefore, they are also allowable over U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Silverstein (US 2021/0224819) Carbon footprint tracker.
Berggren (US 2018/0178292) Novel methods of metal processing.
Zimmerman (US 2008/0177605) Method and apparatus for generating standardized environmental benefit credits.
Trout (US 2006/0020502) Method and system for greenhouse gas emissions performance assessment and allocation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/COREY RUSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629