CTNF 19/126,626 CTNF 77425 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/1/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3, 6, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2023/0217762) in view of Yurlov (US 2014/0320438) . Regarding claim 1, Yoon discloses a stereoscopic image display (paragraph [39], fig.1, Yoon discloses a stereoscopic image display device) comprising: a display panel including a plurality of pixels and displaying a plurality of parallax images forming a stereoscopic image (paragraph [39], fig.1, Yoon discloses stereoscopic image display device has a parallax barrier 200 disposed in front of display panel 100 for displaying plural parallax images for forming a stereoscopic image, wherein paragraph [48], Yoon discloses display panel 100 displays frames of which images for (L) left eye and (R) right eye alternate, and paragraph [52], Yoon discloses left eye images with subpixels and right eye images with subpixels are displayed for displaying stereoscopic images on stereoscopic image display panel 100); a parallax barrier disposed facing the display panel (paragraph [39], fig.1, Yoon discloses stereoscopic image display device has a parallax barrier 200 disposed in front of display panel 100) and including a shielding part having a surface on which a pattern of design is formed and a plurality of openings through which light emitted from the display panel passes (paragraph [40], Yoon discloses that parallax barrier 200 includes a plurality of blocking regions configured to block light from display panel 100, wherein the plurality of blocking regions functions as a shielding part with a surface for permitting certain light from being emitted from the display panel 100, and other light that is not blocked by the “plurality of blocking regions” to pass through the openings onto the user to view the stereoscopic image data), in an environment in which the stereoscopic image is observed (paragraph [39], fig.1, Yoon discloses an environment in which the user’s eyes are facing towards the stereoscopic image display device). Yoon does not disclose a spatial frequency of the pattern of design is set within a visible range determined based on a contrast sensitivity function. However, Yurlov teaches a spatial frequency of the pattern of design is set within a visible range determined based on a contrast sensitivity function (paragraph [62], fig.6, Yurlov discloses obtaining a graph for spatial frequency versus contrast and human recognition capability, and paragraph [93], Yurlov discloses utilizing the contrast sensitivity function (CSF) for determining appropriate visible characteristics to ascertain the electrode pattern, wherein paragraph [94], Yurlov discloses generating the visibility of the electrode pattern by utilizing contrast sensitivity function to obtain the pixel pattern of the display unit with an equation of RMS (root mean square) to derive a pitch and angle of the mesh pattern of the display unit, thus, Yurlov discloses spatial frequency of the pattern of design is set within a visible range determined based on a contrast sensitivity function). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon and Yurlov together as a whole for producing high quality display of stereoscopic image data for viewing on display devices, computer monitors, televisions and tablets to adequately display three-dimensional images. Regarding claim 3, Yoon discloses the environment in which the stereoscopic image is observed (paragraph [39], fig.1, Yoon discloses an environment in which the user’s eyes are facing towards the stereoscopic image display device). Yoon does not disclose a contrast of the pattern of design in consideration of the openings is set within the visible range determined based on the contrast sensitivity function. However, Yurlov teaches a contrast of the pattern of design in consideration of the openings is set within the visible range determined based on the contrast sensitivity function (paragraph [62], fig.6, Yurlov discloses obtaining a graph for spatial frequency versus contrast and human recognition capability, and paragraph [93], Yurlov discloses utilizing the contrast sensitivity function (CSF) for determining appropriate visible characteristics to ascertain the electrode pattern, wherein paragraph [94], Yurlov discloses generating the visibility of the electrode pattern by utilizing contrast sensitivity function to obtain the pixel pattern of the display unit with an equation of RMS (root mean square) to derive a pitch and angle of the mesh pattern of the display unit, thus, Yurlov discloses spatial frequency of the pattern of design is set within a visible range determined based on a contrast sensitivity function). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon and Yurlov together as a whole for producing high quality display of stereoscopic image data for viewing on display devices, computer monitors, televisions and tablets to adequately display three-dimensional images. Regarding claim 6, Yoon does not disclose wherein a perspective pattern that enhances depth perception is formed as the pattern of design. However, Yurlov teaches wherein a perspective pattern that enhances depth perception is formed as the pattern of design (paragraph [62], fig.6, Yurlov discloses obtaining a graph for spatial frequency versus contrast and human recognition capability, and paragraph [93], Yurlov discloses utilizing the contrast sensitivity function (CSF) for determining appropriate visible characteristics to ascertain the electrode pattern, wherein paragraph [94], Yurlov discloses generating the visibility of the electrode pattern by utilizing contrast sensitivity function to obtain the pixel pattern of the display unit with an equation of RMS (root mean square) to derive a pitch and angle of the mesh pattern of the display unit, thus, Yurlov discloses spatial frequency of the pattern of design is set within a visible range determined based on a contrast sensitivity function to permit enhanced depth perception of the image data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon and Yurlov together as a whole for producing high quality display of stereoscopic image data for viewing on display devices, computer monitors, televisions and tablets to adequately display three-dimensional images. Regarding claim 10, Yoon does not disclose further comprising a luminance controller controlling luminance of the stereoscopic image, based on luminance of a region forming the stereoscopic image on the parallax barrier. However, Yurlov teaches a luminance controller controlling luminance of the stereoscopic image (paragraph [54], Yurlov discloses a brightness or luminance distribution appearing on a display surface for displaying the 3D stereoscopic image, wherein paragraph [94], Yurlov discloses a uniform processor is implemented for processing stereoscopic image data including the distribution of luminance of the stereoscopic image data), based on luminance of a region forming the stereoscopic image on the parallax barrier (paragraph [54], Yurlov discloses a brightness or luminance distribution appearing on a display surface for displaying the 3D stereoscopic image, wherein paragraph [94], Yurlov discloses a uniform processor is implemented for processing stereoscopic image data including the distribution of luminance of the stereoscopic image data in that generating the visibility of the electrode pattern by utilizing contrast sensitivity function to obtain the pixel pattern of the display unit with an equation of RMS (root mean square) to derive a pitch and angle of the mesh pattern of the display unit, thus, Yurlov discloses spatial frequency of the pattern of design is set within a visible range determined based on a contrast sensitivity function to permit enhanced depth perception of the image data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon and Yurlov together as a whole for producing high quality display of stereoscopic image data for viewing on display devices, computer monitors, televisions and tablets to adequately display three-dimensional images. Regarding claim 12, Yoon does not disclose wherein the pattern of design of the parallax barrier is formed to cause the spatial frequency and a contrast to change depending on a planar position. However, Yurlov teaches wherein the pattern of design of the parallax barrier is formed to cause the spatial frequency and a contrast to change depending on a planar position (paragraph [54], Yurlov discloses a brightness or luminance distribution appearing on a display surface for displaying the 3D stereoscopic image, wherein paragraph [94], Yurlov discloses a uniform processor is implemented for processing stereoscopic image data including the distribution of luminance of the stereoscopic image data in that generating the visibility of the electrode pattern by utilizing contrast sensitivity function to obtain the pixel pattern of the display unit with an equation of RMS (root mean square) to derive a pitch and angle of the mesh pattern of the display unit depending on planar position). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon and Yurlov together as a whole for producing high quality display of stereoscopic image data for viewing on display devices, computer monitors, televisions and tablets to adequately display three-dimensional images . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2023/0217762) and Yurlov (US 2014/0320438) in view of Watanabe (US 2014/0063209) . Regarding claim 2, Yoon and Yurlov do not disclose wherein, when spatial frequencies of the plurality of openings are fa and the spatial frequency of the pattern of design is fb, 2fb < fa is satisfied. However, Watanabe teaches wherein, when spatial frequencies of the plurality of openings are fa and the spatial frequency of the pattern of design is fb, 2fb < fa is satisfied (paragraph [49], Watanabe discloses that the sub-pixel pitch can be adjusted as well as the aperture width for adjusting the spatial frequency of the pattern, and paragraph [108], Watanabe discloses that the spatial frequency can be 50Hz, and thus designating fb = 50Hz, and paragraph [107], Watanabe discloses the spatial frequency can be adjusted to be 120Hz or 240Hz, thus, Watanabe discloses that fb = 50Hz, and fa = 120Hz or 240Hz, thus, the condition 2fb < fa is satisfied since 2 x 50Hz = 100Hz is smaller than 120Hz or 240Hz). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon, Yurlov and Watanabe together as a whole for providing an improved image display of stereoscopic image data (Watanabe’s paragraph [5]). Regarding claim 4, Yoon and Yurlov do not disclose wherein, when spatial frequencies of the plurality of openings are fa and spatial frequencies of the plurality of pixels are fc, 2fa < fc is satisfied. However, Watanabe teaches wherein, when spatial frequencies of the plurality of openings are fa and spatial frequencies of the plurality of pixels are fc, 2fa < fc is satisfied (paragraph [49], Watanabe discloses that the sub-pixel pitch can be adjusted as well as the aperture width for adjusting the spatial frequency of the pattern, and paragraph [108], Watanabe discloses that the spatial frequency can be 50Hz, and thus designating fa = 50Hz, and paragraph [107], Watanabe discloses the spatial frequency can be adjusted to be 120Hz or 240Hz, thus, Watanabe discloses that fa = 50Hz, and fc = 120Hz or 240Hz, thus, the condition 2fa < fc is satisfied since 2 x 50Hz = 100Hz is smaller than 120Hz or 240Hz). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon, Yurlov and Watanabe together as a whole for providing an improved image display of stereoscopic image data (Watanabe’s paragraph [5]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2023/0217762) and Yurlov (US 2014/0320438) in view of Guo (US 2014/0362314) . Regarding claim 5, Yoon and Yurlov do not disclose wherein an aperture ratio of the parallax barrier is less than 1/2. However, Guo teaches wherein an aperture ratio of the parallax barrier is less than 1/2 (paragraph [56], Guo discloses that an aperture ratio of 1/3 can be obtained). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon, Yurlov and Guo together as a whole for improving 2D-3D stereoscopic image display in a variety of applications like integrated 2D-3D displays, compatible horizontal and vertical screen stereoscopic display, and easy adjustment of aperture ratio of parallax barrier, etcetera (Guo’s paragraph [70]). Regarding claim 7, Yoon and Yurlov do not disclose wherein the parallax barrier comprises a display device configured to change the pattern of design, and the stereoscopic image display further comprises a pattern controller that changes the pattern of design formed by the display device to a pattern according to an environment. However, Guo teaches wherein the parallax barrier comprises a display device configured to change the pattern of design (paragraph [56], Guo discloses that the parallax barrier can be adjusted in that the aperture ratio can be changed to adjust the pattern of the parallax barrier to control the amount of light passing through, and paragraph [40], Guo discloses parallax barrier is controlled by a controller to change the pattern, and paragraph [38], Guo discloses display windows can display a pattern of brightness and darkness states for 2D and 3D display), and the stereoscopic image display further comprises a pattern controller that changes the pattern of design formed by the display device to a pattern according to an environment (paragraph [56], Guo discloses that the parallax barrier can be adjusted in that the aperture ratio can be changed to adjust the pattern of the parallax barrier to control the amount of light passing through, and paragraph [40], Guo discloses parallax barrier is controlled by a controller to change the pattern, and paragraph [38], Guo discloses display windows can display a pattern of brightness and darkness states for 2D and 3D display, and that the aperture ratio can be adjusted in real-time according to the situation detected within the ambiance of the scene). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon, Yurlov and Guo together as a whole for improving 2D-3D stereoscopic image display in a variety of applications like integrated 2D-3D displays, compatible horizontal and vertical screen stereoscopic display, and easy adjustment of aperture ratio of parallax barrier, etcetera (Guo’s paragraph [70]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2023/0217762) and Yurlov (US 2014/0320438) in view of Perreault (US 2019/0020869) . Regarding claim 8, Yoon and Yurlov do not disclose comprising a plurality of stereoscopic image displays each including the display panel and the parallax barrier, wherein a non-planar stereoscopic image display is formed by assembling the plurality of stereoscopic image displays. However, Perreault teaches comprising a plurality of stereoscopic image displays each including the display panel and the parallax barrier (paragraph [15], Perreault discloses a display system 100 with plurality of stereoscopic image displays with left-eye display 110 and the right-eye display 112, and paragraph [16], Perreault discloses each of the displays 110 and 112 comprise an array of lenslets 126 and a display panel, wherein paragraph [17], Perreault discloses proper parallax units are implemented within the displays 110 and 112, wherein lenslet array 124 is overlayed on display panels 118), wherein a non-planar stereoscopic image display is formed by assembling the plurality of stereoscopic image displays (paragraph [15], Perreault discloses implementing non-planar image displays that is assembled by combining the left-eye display 110 and the right-eye display 112 for forming goggles, glasses, etcetera). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon, Yurlov and Perreault together as a whole for providing an immersive AR (augmented reality) or VR (virtual reality) experience (Perreault’s paragraph [12]). Regarding claim 9, Yoon and Yurlov do not disclose further comprising: a viewpoint detector detecting a viewpoint position of a viewer; and a display controller changing the plurality of parallax images to be displayed on the display panel, based on the viewpoint position detected by the viewpoint detector. However, Perreault teaches further comprising: a viewpoint detector detecting a viewpoint position of a viewer (paragraph [15], Perreault discloses eye tracking component 106 tracks position of the left eye and eye tracking component 108 tracks position of right eye for detecting a viewpoint position of the viewer; paragraph [22], Perreault discloses processor for tracking positions of eyes of a viewer); and a display controller changing the plurality of parallax images to be displayed on the display panel (paragraph [21], Perreault discloses CPU utilizes rendering information to the GPU in which then processes and sends information to the left and right eye displays 110 and 112 for displaying the image data depending on the pose information 150 of the display sub-system 102, and paragraph [22], Perreault discloses processor for tracking positions of eyes of a viewer in that information of user’s eye also affect the display of image data), based on the viewpoint position detected by the viewpoint detector (paragraph [15], Perreault discloses eye tracking component 106 tracks position of the left eye and eye tracking component 108 tracks position of right eye for detecting a viewpoint position of the viewer; paragraph [22], Perreault discloses processor for tracking positions of eyes of a viewer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon, Yurlov and Perreault together as a whole for providing an immersive AR (augmented reality) or VR (virtual reality) experience (Perreault’s paragraph [12]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2023/0217762) and Yurlov (US 2014/0320438) in view of Kubara (US 2005/0259148) . Regarding claim 11, Yoon and Yurlov does not disclose wherein the pattern of design of the parallax barrier is formed of a hologram sheet. However, Kubara teaches wherein the pattern of design of the parallax barrier is formed of a hologram sheet (paragraph [52], Kubara discloses a hologram diffusion sheet is utilized for comprising a pattern of the parallax barrier, wherein paragraph [51], Kubara discloses horizontal/vertical parallax image is formed at the as an image at an image forming point 118 in the vicinity of a focal distance of the convex lens 104 for obtaining a pattern of the design of the parallax barrier based on how the diffusion of light is formed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon, Yurlov and Kubara together as a whole for providing a sense of reality when displaying three-dimensional images . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2023/0217762) and Yurlov (US 2014/0320438) in view of Yoshida (US 2011/0187832) . Regarding claim 13, Yoon and Yurlov do not disclose wherein the pattern of design of the parallax barrier includes a pattern that allows for pseudo perception of a curved surface. However, Yoshida teaches wherein the pattern of design of the parallax barrier includes a pattern that allows for pseudo perception of a curved surface (paragraph [1212], Yoshida discloses parallax barrier is implemented for generating a pseudo three-dimensional stereoscopic display, wherein paragraph [1060], Yoshida discloses the surface is curved, and paragraph [947], Yoshida discloses implementing a pattern for a parallax barrier, and paragraph [951], Yoshida discloses implementing other patterns like slit patterns can be utilized for parallax barriers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon, Yurlov and Yoshida together as a whole for providing improved visual display of three-dimensional images (Yoshida’s paragraph [128]). Regarding claim 15, Yoon and Yurlov do not disclose further comprising a projection device projecting a pattern that brightly illuminates a region other than a region forming the stereoscopic image on the parallax barrier. However, Yoshida teaches a projection device projecting a pattern that brightly illuminates a region other than a region forming the stereoscopic image on the parallax barrier (paragraph [1048], Yoshida discloses projector for projecting light to the video image projecting screen that includes the imaged region and the region other than the region forming the stereoscopic imagefrom behind the video image projecting screen, and paragraph [948], Yoshida discloses light pattern is formed on the parallax barrier). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon, Yurlov and Yoshida together as a whole for providing improved visual display of three-dimensional images (Yoshida’s paragraph [128]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 2023/0217762) and Yurlov (US 2014/0320438) in view of Okazaki (US 2020/0202546) . Regarding claim 14, Yoon discloses a parallax barrier (paragraph [39], fig.1, Yoon discloses stereoscopic image display device has a parallax barrier 200 disposed in front of display panel 100). Yoon and Yurlov do not disclose further comprising a projection device projecting a pattern that cancels the pattern of design on a region forming the stereoscopic image on the parallax barrier. However, Okazaki teaches a projection device projecting a pattern that cancels the pattern of design on a region forming the stereoscopic image (paragraph [24], Okazaki discloses a projector for projecting pattern light to cancel pattern on the region formed within the 3D image, and paragraph [28], Okazaki discloses generation of the 3D information of the 3D stereoscopic image data, and that paragraph [3], Okazaki discloses stereo image data is ascertained). Since Yoon discloses “parallax barrier”, and Okazaki discloses “a projection device projecting a pattern that cancels the pattern of design on a region forming the stereoscopic image”, therefore, by simple substitution, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoon, Yurlov and Okazaki together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…a projection device projecting a pattern that cancels the pattern of design on a region forming the stereoscopic image on the parallax barrier” in order to accurately capture image information for producing accurate display of three-dimensional image data (Okazaki’s paragraph [7]). Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALLEN C WONG whose telephone number is (571)272-7341. The examiner can normally be reached on Flex Monday-Thursday 9:30am-7:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sath V Perungavoor can be reached on 571-272-7455. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALLEN C WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/126,626 Page 2 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/126,626 Page 3 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/126,626 Page 4 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/126,626 Page 5 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/126,626 Page 6 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/126,626 Page 7 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/126,626 Page 8 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/126,626 Page 9 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/126,626 Page 10 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/126,626 Page 11 Art Unit: 2488 Application/Control Number: 19/126,626 Page 12 Art Unit: 2488