DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-6 are currently pending and addressed below; claims 1 and 4 have been amended via preliminary amendment filed 5/1/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. No action on the part of the applicant is required at this time.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/1/2025 was filed before the mailing date of the present Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a current topography data reception unit that receives current topography data…” (claim 1; example of supporting structure found in ¶¶ [0056], [0057], which includes a computer, memory, and computer program);
“a display control unit that causes a display device to display…” (claim 1; example of supporting structure found in ¶¶ [0056], [0057], which includes a computer, memory, and computer program);
“an obstacle data reception unit that receives obstacle data…” (claim 4; example of supporting structure found in ¶¶ [0056], [0057], which includes a computer, memory, and computer program);
(A) Each of the limitations (1) - (3) recited above use the generic placeholder “unit” for performing a claimed function, or other generic placeholder. See MPEP 2181, 1A (“The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 6: “mechanism for,” “module for,” “device for,” “unit for,” “component for,” “element for,” “member for,” “apparatus for,” “machine for,” or “system for.” Welker Bearing Co., v. PHO, Inc., 550 F.3d 1090, 1096, 89 USPQ2d 1289, 1293-94 (Fed. Cir. 2008”). Accordingly, recitations of “unit” in (1)-(3) above pass prong A.
(B) each of the phrases following the bolded portion in limitations (1)-(3) constitute functional language modifying the generic terms in prong (A), respectively.
(C) each of the terms preceding “unit” in (1)-(3) above do not connote sufficient structure for performing the claimed function. In addition, none of the generic placeholders recited in (A) are modified by sufficient structure, materials, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2020/217972 to Takaoka.
Regarding claim 1, Takaoka discloses:
A display system of a work site, comprising a processor (¶ [0006] processor) configured to function as:
a current topography data reception unit that receives current topography data of a work site where a bulldozer performs slot dozing (¶ [0031] describing acquiring current terrain data of the work site; ¶ [0032] describing the work site as an excavation site); and
a display control unit that causes a display device to display the current topography data (¶ [0037] describing displaying an image of the work site based on the terrain data),
wherein the display control unit causes the display device to display a first symbol indicating a position of a cliff that exists in an excavation lane of the slot dozing together with the current topography data (¶¶ [0038], [0051] describing displaying a symbol indicating a cliff that exists in an excavation lane onto the work site image).
Regarding claim 2, Takaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
wherein the display control unit displays the first symbol at a center of the excavation lane (Figure 12 depicting the cliff 46 at a center of each excavation lane in the display image; see also Figure 20 depicting the symbol of the cliff being displayed at the center of the excavation lanes; ¶ [0051] describing same).
Claim 6 contains all the elements of claim 1 (i.e., claim 6 recites no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 1). Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaoka.
Regarding claim 3, Takaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Takaoka further discloses:
wherein the display control unit displays the first symbol at a position of a cliff closest to an excavation start point of the slot dozing among a plurality of cliffs that exists in the excavation lane (¶ [0038] describing displaying the symbol of the cliff closest to an excavation start point in the excavation lane).
Takaoka does not expressly disclose that there are a plurality of cliffs. However, Takaoka does teach that there is a prohibited area 46 position in the work site that affects all excavation lanes. Takaoka furthers teaches that the area 46 could represent a cliff area, which could be more than one cliff (¶ [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takaoka’s invention to incorporate the prohibited area in the work site to include a plurality of cliffs based on Takaoka’s teachings with a reasonable expectation of success in preventing the work vehicle from entering a prohibited work area that may include cliffs (Takaoka at ¶¶ [0038]).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaoka in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0154425 to Yamamoto et al.
Regarding claim 4, Takaoka discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Takaoka does not expressly disclose an obstacle data reception unit that receives obstacle data indicating an obstacle that exists at the work site, wherein the display control unit causes the display device to display a second symbol indicating a position of the obstacle.
Yamamoto et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches an obstacle data reception unit that receives obstacle data indicating an obstacle that exists at the work site, wherein the display control unit causes the display device to display a second symbol indicating a position of the obstacle (¶¶ [0013], [0014] describing detecting an obstacle and displaying a symbol on the display to the user indicating a position of the obstacle; ¶ [0068] describing displaying the position of the obstacle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takaoka’s invention to incorporate detecting and displaying positions of obstacles in the display unit, as taught by Yamamoto et al., with a reasonable expectation of success in determining whether an obstacle has entered the operational space and to automatically stop the operations when the obstacle is detected within a certain distance from the machine (Yamamoto et al. at ¶¶ [0073] – [0076]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Takaoka and Yamamoto et al. renders obvious all the limitations of claim 4. Yamamoto et al. further discloses:
wherein the obstacle data reception unit receives the obstacle data from each of a plurality of obstacle sensors (¶¶ [0045], [0046] describing the plurality of sensors used to detect obstacles),
the obstacle data indicates a position of a part of an obstacle (¶ [0068] describing displaying the position of the obstacle), and
in a case where a relative distance of a plurality of pieces of the obstacle data is equal to or less than a predetermined value, the display control unit displays the second symbol at a barycentric position of the plurality of pieces of the obstacle data (Figure 4; ¶ [0070], [0071] describing detecting a plurality of objects and displaying the symbols in the middle of the all the objects, or a barycentric position, when the objects are detected with a predetermined distance from the work vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takaoka’s invention to incorporate detecting and displaying positions of obstacles in the display unit, as taught by Yamamoto et al., with a reasonable expectation of success in determining whether an obstacle has entered the operational space and to automatically stop the operations when the obstacle is detected within a certain distance from the machine (Yamamoto et al. at ¶¶ [0073] – [0076]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0071015 to Wu teaches displaying a position of a cliff in an excavation work site on a display unit (¶¶ [0116] – [0131]).
/JDH/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
6/8/26