DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-3 in the reply filed on 4/30/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 4 and 5.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/2/2025 and 1/20/2026 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2002/0120062 A1) to Nagahara et al. (hereinafter Nagahara).
Nagahara is directed toward thermoplastic resin compositions and articles capable of being plated. Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0057] that the molded article may be plated. Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0007] that the composition includes a rubber-reinforced thermoplastic resin (A) obtained by graft polymerizing a monomeric mixture (b) comprising an aromatic vinyl compound, a vinyl cyanide compound and optionally other copolymerizable monomeric compound(s) in the presence of a rubber-like polymer (a). Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0008] that the content of the rubber-like polymer (a) in the rubber-reinforced thermoplastic resin (A) being 10 to 25% by weight, which reads on Applicants range of 20% to 40%. Nagahara discloses no metal oxide presence, which is therefore less than 4500 ppm. Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0069] that the optional other resin may include a polycarbonate. Nagahara discloses each and every element of claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2002/0120062 A1) to Nagahara et al. (hereinafter Nagahara).
Nagahara is directed toward thermoplastic resin compositions and articles capable of being plated. Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0057] that the molded article may be plated. Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0007] that the composition includes a rubber-reinforced thermoplastic resin (A) obtained by graft polymerizing a monomeric mixture (b) comprising an aromatic vinyl compound, a vinyl cyanide compound and optionally other copolymerizable monomeric compound(s) in the presence of a rubber-like polymer (a). Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0008] that the content of the rubber-like polymer (a) in the rubber-reinforced thermoplastic resin (A) being 10 to 25% by weight, which reads on Applicants range of 20% to 40%. Nagahara discloses no metal oxide presence, which is therefore less than 4500 ppm. Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0069] that the optional other resin may include a polycarbonate.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Nagahara to select each and every element of the claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1 and 2.
9. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2002/0120062 A1) to Nagahara et al. (hereinafter Nagahara) in view of the teachings of (US 2020/0181400 A1) to Yamashita et al. (hereinafter Yamashita).
Nagahara is directed toward thermoplastic resin compositions and articles capable of being plated. Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0057] that the molded article may be plated. Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0007] that the composition includes a rubber-reinforced thermoplastic resin (A) obtained by graft polymerizing a monomeric mixture (b) comprising an aromatic vinyl compound, a vinyl cyanide compound and optionally other copolymerizable monomeric compound(s) in the presence of a rubber-like polymer (a). Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0008] that the content of the rubber-like polymer (a) in the rubber-reinforced thermoplastic resin (A) being 10 to 25% by weight, which reads on Applicants range of 20% to 40%. Nagahara discloses no metal oxide presence, which is therefore less than 4500 ppm. Nagahara discloses at paragraph [0069] that the optional other resin may include a polycarbonate.
Yamashita is directed toward thermoplastic resin compositions and articles capable of being plated. Nagahara and Yamashita are both directed toward thermoplastic resin compositions and articles capable of being plated and therefore are analogous art. Yamashita teaches at paragraph [0020] that an aromatic polycarbonate resin may be used in the composition. Yamashita teaches at paragraph [0031] that a rubber containing graft containing copolymer is used. Yamashita teaches at paragraph [0033] that the amount of components derived from the rubber polymer in the rubber-containing graft copolymer (B) is preferably 35% to 70% by mass, and more preferably 45% to 60% by mass. Yamashita teaches at paragraph [0049] that the composition may include recycled articles which is recovered from polymerization steps, manufacturing steps or molding steps, or recovered from the marketplace can also be used as any of the essential components or optional components used in the present embodiment, as long as quality issues are not caused, which is cost saving and environmentally friendly, which would motivate one skilled in the art to combine the teachings.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Nagahara in view of the teachings of Yamashita to use a recycled material as the other for environmental reasons to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-3.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766