DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the digital map" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grote et al. (US 2022/0213999, hereafter “Grote”).
Regarding claim 1, Grote discloses a method for operating a cable-unconnected implement in a pipeline provided with a medium flowing in the axial direction, the method comprising the steps of allowing the cable-unconnected implement in the pipeline to move passively by the medium in the direction of flow of the pipeline in a first operating state (I) (para. [0045]); as the implement reaches or approaches a target in the pipeline in a second operating state (II) (the state in which the generator unit causes a deceleration as mentioned in para. [0045]), carrying out at least one implement-specific procedure at the target in the pipeline in at least a third operating state (III) (the state in which the locking means 10 are brought into contact with the pipeline as mentioned in para. [0045]); causing the cable-unconnected implement to move away from the target; after changing from the third to the first or second operating state, wherein the cable-unconnected implement picks up environmental information during the first and/or second operating state using at least one environmental sensor, the environmental information being evaluated in a computer unit of the implement, wherein the implement independently changes the operating state (I, II, III) on the basis of the environmental information. (para. [0044] – [0051]; see how 2 is configured to move accordingly through the pipeline and detect environmental information to perform different operations based on the sensed information)
Regarding claim 2, Grote further discloses the method according to Claim 1, wherein at least one feature of the pipeline is identified in the computer unit by evaluating the environmental information. (para. [0045])
Regarding claim 3, Grote further discloses the method according to Claim 2, wherein the feature with its position in the pipeline is stored in the computer unit. (para. [0045]; this would necessarily be true during the process of sensing environmental conditions and providing programming to execute different operations based on sensed conditions)
Regarding claim 4, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a position of the implement in the pipeline is determined on the basis of the environmental information in the computer unit. (para. [0044] – [0051])
Regarding claim 5, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the third operating state (III) comprises a decelerated measurement run and/or arresting in the pipeline, and/or in that the implement in the second operating state (II) actively moves in the pipeline via at least one drive means. (para. [0045]; see how the third operating state results in arresting in the pipeline)
Regarding claim 6, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the operating state is changed on the basis of the distance of the implement from the target. (para. [0044] – [0051])
Regarding claim 7, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein environmental information obtained by different environmental sensors is used in the computer unit. (para. [0044] – [0051])
Regarding claim 8, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the position of the implement is determined in the computer unit on the basis of the environmental information and by digital map of the pipeline that is stored in the computer unit. (see the positioning unit as mentioned in para. [0028])
Regarding claim 9, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein reference points are represented in the digital map, and the environmental information is evaluated for the purpose of identifying reference points. (para. [0028])
Regarding claim 10, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein at least some of the environmental information is classified in the computer unit, and the data derived therefrom are compared with the data of predefined pattern classes. (para. [0044] – [0051])
Regarding claim 11, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein location-dependent instructions are stored (see the positioning unit as mentioned in para. [0028]), and are carried out by the implement upon reaching the target or upon recognizing a feature. (para. [0044] – [0051])
Regarding claim 12, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the implement carries out screening of the pipeline in the second operating state (II). (para. [0044] – [0051])
Regarding claim 13, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein one or more work procedures from a group of different work procedures are carried out on the basis of the evaluation of the environmental information. (para. [0044] – [0051])
Regarding claim 14, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein reference points obtained from the environmental information are used to calibrate the location of the implement. (para. [0028]; [0044] – [0051])
Regarding claim 15, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the digital map is supplemented with pipeline state information obtained from the environmental information and/or further sensor information. (para. [0028]; [0044] – [0051])
Regarding claim 16, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the implement heads for a predefined target or a target defined during the first or second operating state. (para. [0044] – [0051])
Regarding claim 17, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the implement generates energy in at least one of the three operating states (I, II, III). (para. [0045]; the implement generates energy in the third operating state)
Regarding claim 18, Grote further discloses a cable-unconnected implement comprising at least one propulsion means (6) for a first operating state (I) in the form of a medium- driven, passive movement in the pipeline (para. [0043]); at least one environmental sensor (para. [0041]) for picking up environmental informations at least one drive means for a second operating state (II) in the form of an active movement of the cable-unconnected implement in the pipeline (para. [0044] – [0051]); and a computer unit, in which environmental information can be stored, said computer unit being configured such that the cable-unconnected implement carries out the method according to claim 1. (para. [0013] and [0048])
Regarding claim 19, Grote further discloses the implement according to Claim 18, wherein the implement has positioning and/or fixing means for positioning the implement in a third operating state. (para. [0028])
Regarding claim 20, Grote further discloses the implement according to Claim 18, wherein the implement has at least one tool (the cleaning elements as mentioned in para. [0051]) which can be activated during at least one operating state. (the cleaning elements can be activated during operating state III)
Regarding claim 21, Grote further discloses the implement according to Claim 18, wherein, the tool is a sensor, a cleaning tool, a coating tool or a tool removing material from a pipeline wall. (para. [0051])
Regarding claim 22, Grote further discloses the implement according to Claim 18, wherein the implement has at least one manipulator arm (the arm for holding 20).
Regarding claim 23, Grote further discloses the implement according to Claim 18, wherein the implement has a magazine for storing tools. (see Figs. 5-7; the portion of 2 which is configured to hold 20)
Regarding claim 24, Grote further discloses the implement according to Claim 18, wherein environmental information-dependent instructions for changing the operating state and for actuating at least one tool are stored in the computer unit. (para. [0013] and [0048])
Regarding claim 25, Grote further discloses the method according to Claim 2, wherein the at least one feature is used in the computer unit to determine the position of the implement. (para. [0013], para. [0028] and [0048])
Regarding claim 26, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the position of the implement in the pipeline is determined at least during the first and the second operating state. (para. [0028])
Regarding claim 27, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the position of the implement in the pipeline is determined continuously. (para. [0028])
Regarding claim 28, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the implement preferably changes the operating state (I, II, III) on the basis of the position. (para. [0028])
Regarding claim 29, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the environmental information obtained by different environmental sensors is used in the computer unit to determine the position. (para. [0041] – [0051])
Regarding claim 30, Grote further discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the location-dependent instructions are stored in the digital map and/or in at least one further data set of the computer unit. (para. [0013], para. [0028] and [0048])
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753