DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on May 2, 2025. Claims 1-21 are pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-21 is as follows.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. PGPub. No. 2024/0041381).
In regard to independent claims 16 and 21 and claim 17, Kim discloses a method for measuring an electrophysiological response of a subject to predetermined electrical stimulus (a method 600 including detecting and measuring ECG signals and delivering defibrillation shock of pacing pulse to a patient 102) comprising:
activating a sensor positioned at a torso of said subject to thereby provide a first stimulus pulse (step 616: deliver defibrillation shock to patient if presence of tachyarrhythmia or bradyarrhythmia in Fig. 6; the wearable medical system (WMS) 100 in Fig. 1 is worn by a user 102 and comprises anterior and posterior defibrillation pad 116 & 118, note that the pad is positioned at the back of the subject, [0019], [0022]); and
determining a response to said first stimulus pulse from at least one sensor positioned at a back of said subject (even though Fig. 6 discloses ‘end’ after step 616, paragraph [0024] explains that ECG signal is continuously monitored; therefore, the steps 602-612 is performed after the delivery of defibrillation shock or pacing pulses; WMS 100 worn by the user 102 comprises a plurality of electrodes E1-E4 all used to sense ECG).
The examiner notes that the process of (a) and (b) are repeated continuously depending upon a clinical need and E1 and E3 are positioned along the front portion of the WMS and E2 and E4 are positioned along the back portion of the WMS which are all used every time ECG measurement is obtained.
In regard to claims 18-19, the examiner notes that the claim does not require any wearable garment in which the plurality of front sensors are positioned on. Therefore, the WMS 100 comprising the plurality of sensors when rotated 90 degrees, can be aligned vertically (back portion contains 4 electrodes, two pads 118, electrodes E2 and E4 and the front portion contains 4 electrodes, RLD 114, E1 106, E3 110 and pad 116). The examiner further notes that the RLD, E1 and E3 are activated first to sense ECG as shown in step 602-612 of Fig. 6 and the defibrillation pad 116 are activated in step 616 in Fig. 6 for delivering stimulation pulses, thus meeting the limitations of claims 18-19.
In regards to claim 20, Kim further discloses wherein a number of at least one sensor positioned at said subject’s back is equal to a number of said plurality of front sensors (back portion contains 4 electrodes: two pads 118, electrodes E2 and E4 and the front portion contains 4 electrodes: RLD 114, E1 106, E3 110 and pad 116).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurzweil.
In regard to independent claim 1 and claims 3-5 & 15, Kurzweil discloses a device for measuring an electrophysiological response of a subject to predetermined electrical stimulus (harness 10 in Fig. 1-2, [0039]), said device comprising:
a front extension extends vertically down a front of a subject’s torso (vertical strap member 12c in Fig. 1);
a rear extension extends vertically down said subject’s back (back 12a and 12b as shown in Fig. 2);
at least one connecting member (chest band straps 14a and 14b in Figs. 1 & 2), said at least one connecting member connecting said front extension and said rear extension (the band straps 14a,b connects the vertical and the back straps 12a,12b and 12c);
at least one front sensor (sensor 30a & 30b) attached along a front portion of the device (the sensor 30a and 30b are disposed along the front portion of the harness 10) and electrical contact with said subject’s skin ([0065]: harness allows for a good quality contact with the skin for good quality ECG sensing);
at least one rear sensor (sensor 30e) attached along a rear portion of the device (the sensor 30e is disposed along the rear portion of the harness 10) and electrical contact with said subject’s skin ([0065]: harness allows for a good quality contact with the skin for good quality ECG sensing); and
and wherein a processor (processor 56 of electronic module 50 as shown in Fig. 1-3) coupled with the device determines said electrophysiological response based on data from said at least one front sensor and said at least one rear sensor are in electrical contact with said subject’s skin ([0047]-[0048] & [: processor 56 of electronic module 50 in Fig. 3 are connected to the four individual sensors 30a-30d to be used for monitoring ECG).
The embodiment of Fig. 1 does not disclose that the at least one front sensor extends vertically down the front of said subject’s torso and the at least one rear sensor attached vertically down said subject’s back, wherein a number of sensors on said front extension and a number of sensors on said rear extension are equal and said at least one front sensor and said at least one rear sensor each comprises a plurality of sensors and are positioned at predetermined locations on said subject’s torso, at least one additional sensor, wherein said at least one additional sensor is connected to a control unit on said device and wherein said control unit is in communication with said processor.
However, Kurzweil discloses that any number of sensors can be provided on the device/harness ([0048]: “Any number of sensors and amplifiers could be used”) to monitor a heart of a wearer ([0048], [0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a desired number of sensors and placement of the sensors along the front and rear extensions and connect to the processor of the control unit for monitoring the heart or other physiological signals as needed as doing so involves routine skill in the art and a predictable result of high resolution of ECG monitoring would ensue.
In regards to claim 6, Kurzweil further discloses wherein said at least one connecting member comprises a strap (chest band straps 14a and 14b in Figs. 1 & 2).
In regards to claim 7, Kurzweil further discloses wherein at least one of said front extension and said rear extension is conformable to said subject’s body ([0066]: “the harness 10… can be made from a material that is thin, strong, and somewhat elastic, making it comfortable to wear”).
In regards to claim 8, Kurzweil further discloses a chest piece ([0072]: the harness is formed from two layers and one of the layers reads on the chest piece), said front extension extending from said chest piece (one of the layer extends from the other layer of the harness which reads on the limitation), and said chest piece being connected to said rear extension by said at least one connecting member (note that all of the elements of the harness 10 are connected and thus meets this limitation).
In regard to claims 9-11, Kurzweil further discloses a unitary construction harness (harness 10 comprises unitary constructions as explained in [0009]) comprising a chest piece (front portion 12a,b,c), a back piece (back portion 12a and 12b in Fig. 2), said chest piece and said back piece being connected by said at least one connecting member (the chest band straps 14a and 14b connect the front and back 12a, b and c), said front extension extending from said chest piece and said rear extension extending from said back piece (see Figs. 1-2), and said harness being positioned over at least one shoulder of said subject when said device is in use (see portions 12a and 12b).
In regard to claim 12-14, the examiner notes that the limitations of claims 12-14 are directed to intended use. The claim does not recite any processor or control unit configured to activate and determine as claimed. Therefore, any electrodes or sensors along the harness of Kurzweil, when configured, is capable of activating electrodes or sensors and determine/acquire signal or response.
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurzweil as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim.
In regards to claim 2, Kurzweil discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 and discussed above. However, Kurzweil does not disclose a control unit that directs the delivery of power to at least one of said at least one front sensor and said at least one rear sensor; and gathers data from at least one of said at least one front sensor and said at least one rear sensor.
Kim discloses a device similar to Kurzweil (a wearable medical system (WMS) 100 in Fig. 1 worn by a user 102) comprising: a control unit (processor 212 of defibrillator 200 in Fig. 2) connected to a plurality of electrodes (defibrillation pad 116, electrodes RLD, E1 and E3 in Fig. 1) on a front of the device configured for delivering stimulation pulses (processor 212 comprising advice module 218 to provide advice to the processor 212 whether a shock should be delivered, [0054]-[0055]) and gathers data from at least one of said at least one front sensor and said at least one rear sensor (ECG measurement is monitored based upon E1 and E3 in the front of WMS and E2 and E4 in the back of the WMS). Given that Kurzweil is configured to monitor ECG, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Kurzweil and incorporate a plurality of defibrillation electrodes and configure the control unit to determine whether a shock should be delivered to the patient via the plurality of defibrillation electrodes as taught by Kim, as doing so allows for detection of cardiac arrythmia condition of a wearer and provide a treatment upon identifying a cardiac condition based upon the determined ECG measurement ([0005]-[0006]).
Conclusion
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794 9/30/2026