DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schweitzer, III et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0111555 A1 hereinafter “Schweitzer” – IDS Submission).
Referring to claim 1, Schweitzer discloses a method for controlling an intelligent electronic device (IED) for power system components (Schweitzer – Par. [0018] discloses “IED 140 may be configured to provide differential protection, overvoltage protection, and various other protection for zone including the bus 104.”), the method comprising:
rebooting the IED, wherein rebooting comprises reloading an operating system (Schweitzer – Par. [0027] discloses “if an error occurs in one of the operations of the IED, it may perform a restart”. Par. [0051] discloses “restart, upgrade”.),
executing, while the IED is rebooting, a basic mode of the IED, wherein the basic mode comprises at least one function for protecting a power system component connected to the IED (Schweitzer – Par. [0027] discloses “Similarly, if an error occurs in one of the operations of the IED, it may perform a restart, during which time the protective functions of the IED are not operational.” Par. [0051] discloses “he primary protective devices are configured to continue to provide protective functions to the electric power delivery system even when the integrator or other monitoring, automation, and/or supervisory systems and devices are unavailable. Thus, protection of the electric power delivery system continues through times of disruption or unavailability of the integrator (e.g. during testing procedures, restart, upgrade, settings changes, hardware malfunction, software error, bit flip errors, physical attack, cyber attack, or the like).” Par. [0029] discloses “Such primary protection relays may be used to separate primary protection functions from other functions traditionally performed by IEDs. “, the primary protection corresponds to the claimed basic mode.),
executing a normal mode, after the operating system is reloaded, wherein the normal mode comprises functions for protecting and controlling the power system component (Schweitzer – Par. [0050] discloses “The function of the integrator is to provide non-primary protective functions such as secondary applications 580, integration with other integrators, as well as communication with monitoring, automation, and supervisory applications. Certain functions previously performed by IEDs protecting electric power systems that are not directly required for primary protection may be removed from the primary protective devices in accordance with the present disclosure, and performed by an integrator 350”; the non-primary protective functions and the secondary functions correspond to the normal mode.).
Referring to claim 2, Schweitzer discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising performing a handover procedure, after the operating system is reloaded, to transfer the functions of the basic mode to the normal mode (Schweitzer – Par. [0027, 0050-0051, Claim 1] disclose that secondary applications are performed after restarting the integrator.).
Referring to claim 3, Schweitzer discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the power system component is at least one of a circuit breaker, a transformer, a switch/load-break switch, a tap changer, an electric motor, or a capacitor (Schweitzer – Par. [0030] discloses “… providing protection to transformer 106.”).
Referring to claim 4, Schweitzer discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the basic mode comprises monitoring a physical value of the system component (Schweitzer – Par. [0031] discloses The transformer relay 320 may determine protective actions using the current and/or voltage signals from high and/or low sides of the transformer 106.”, “the transformer relay 320 may obtain temperature inputs from the transformer and determine temperature conditions of the transformer 106”.).
Referring to claim 5, Schweitzer discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method is performed on two entities, and wherein the method comprises executing the basic mode on a first entity and the normal mode on a second entity (Schweitzer – Par. [0030] discloses “One or more of the primary protection relays may be a transformer relay 320 for providing protection to transformer 106.”, Par. [0050] discloses “The function of the integrator is to provide non-primary protective functions such as secondary applications 580, integration with other integrators, as well as communication with monitoring, automation, and supervisory applications” where transformer relay 320 corresponds to claimed first entity and integrator to claimed second entity.).
Referring to claim 6, Schweitzer discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the first entity is a first processing unit and the second entity is a second processing unit (Schweitzer – Par. [0030] discloses “One or more of the primary protection relays may be a transformer relay 320 for providing protection to transformer 106.”, Par. [0050] discloses “The function of the integrator is to provide non-primary protective functions such as secondary applications 580, integration with other integrators, as well as communication with monitoring, automation, and supervisory applications” where transformer relay 320 corresponds to claimed first entity and integrator to claimed second entity.).
Referring to claim 8, note the rejections of claim 1 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 9, Schweitzer discloses the IED according to claim 8, wherein the processing unit is further configured to perform a handover procedure, after the operating system is reloaded, to transfer the functions of the basic mode to the normal mode, wherein the processing unit is preferably further configured to stop the execution of the basic mode after performing the handover procedure (Schweitzer – Par. [0027, 0050-0051, Claim 1] disclose that secondary applications are performed after restarting the integrator.).
Referring to claim 10, Schweitzer discloses the IED according to claim 8, wherein the IED is configured to be connected to a power system component, wherein the power system component is at least one of a circuit breaker, a transformer, a switch/load-break switch, a tap changer, an electric motor, or a capacitor (Schweitzer – Par. [0030] discloses “… providing protection to transformer 106.”).
Referring to claim 11, Schweitzer discloses the IED according to claim 8, wherein the processing unit is further configured to, in the basic mode, monitor a physical value of the system component, wherein the physical value is preferably at least one of a current, a voltage, a pressure, a temperature, a power, a resistance, or an impedance (Schweitzer – Par. [0031] discloses “The transformer relay 320 may determine protective actions using the current and/or voltage signals from high and/or low sides of the transformer 106.”, “the transformer relay 320 may obtain temperature inputs from the transformer and determine temperature conditions of the transformer 106”.); and the processing unit is preferably further configured to trigger a circuit breaker to take the IED off an energy grid in case the physical value exceeds a predetermined threshold preferably for a predetermined time (Schweitzer – Par. [0032] discloses “Upon detection of a condition outside of predetermined operating conditions, the transformer relay 320 may send an open or trip command to one or both circuit breakers 122, 124, thus effecting a trip protective action.”.).
Referring to claim 12, Schweitzer discloses the IED according to claim 8, wherein the processing unit comprises two entities and wherein a first entity is configured to execute the basic mode and a second entity is configured to execute the normal mode, wherein preferably, the first and the second entity are provided as a single unit, or wherein the first entity is provided as a separate unit from the second entity (Schweitzer – Par. [0030] discloses “One or more of the primary protection relays may be a transformer relay 320 for providing protection to transformer 106.”, Par. [0050] discloses “The function of the integrator is to provide non-primary protective functions such as secondary applications 580, integration with other integrators, as well as communication with monitoring, automation, and supervisory applications” where transformer relay 320 corresponds to claimed first entity and integrator to claimed second entity.).
Referring to claim 13, Schweitzer discloses the IED according to claim 12, wherein the processing unit is a system on chip (SoC) device, wherein the SoC device comprises at least one of a central processing unit (CPU), a digital signal processor (DSP), an image processing unit, or a graphics processing unit (GPU), and wherein the first entity (11) is configured to execute the basic mode on a subset of the SoC (Schweitzer – Par. [0024] discloses “processor”, “FGPA”.).
Referring to claim 15, Schweitzer discloses the system comprising a power system component and an intelligent electronic device (IED), according to claim 8 (Schweitzer – Figs. 1, 3 & Par. [0012, 0017, 0029] disclose an electric power delivery system components and intelligent electronic devices (IEDs).).
Referring to claim 16, Schweitzer discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the execution of the basic mode is stopped after performing the handover procedure (Schweitzer – Par. [0027, 0050-0051, Claim 1] disclose that secondary applications are performed after restarting the integrator.).
Referring to claim 17, Schweitzer discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the physical value is at least one of a current, a voltage, a pressure, a temperature, a power, a resistance, or an impedance (Schweitzer – Par. [0031] discloses The transformer relay 320 may determine protective actions using the current and/or voltage signals from high and/or low sides of the transformer 106.”, “the transformer relay 320 may obtain temperature inputs from the transformer and determine temperature conditions of the transformer 106”.).
Referring to claim 18, Schweitzer discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the method further comprises triggering a circuit breaker to take the IED off an energy grid in case the physical value exceeds a predetermined threshold for a predetermined time (Schweitzer – Par. [0032] discloses “Upon detection of a condition outside of predetermined operating conditions, the transformer relay 320 may send an open or trip command to one or both circuit breakers 122, 124, thus effecting a trip protective action.”.).
Referring to claim 19, Schweitzer discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the first and second entities are provided as a single unit (Schweitzer – Par. [0036] discloses the integrator providing primary and/or backup protection.).
Referring to claim 20, Schweitzer discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the first entity is provided as a separate unit from the second entity (Schweitzer – Par. [0030] discloses “One or more of the primary protection relays may be a transformer relay 320 for providing protection to transformer 106.”, Par. [0050] discloses “The function of the integrator is to provide non-primary protective functions such as secondary applications 580, integration with other integrators, as well as communication with monitoring, automation, and supervisory applications” where transformer relay 320 corresponds to claimed first entity and integrator to claimed second entity.).
Related Prior Art
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Dingari et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0105068 A1 hereinafter “Dingari”) discloses systems, devices, and methods include protection functions in an electrical power system. A processing subsystem may include a processor. A memory subsystem may comprise a first memory section and a second memory section. A memory management subsystem may, in a first operational mode, enable memory access between the processor and the first memory section and the second memory section and, in a second operational mode, enable memory access between the processor and only the first memory section.
b. Spanier et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0180137 A1 hereinafter “Spanier”) discloses apparatuses, systems, and methods for providing security in an intelligent electronic device (IED) are provided. In one aspect of the present disclosure, an IED is provided including at least one processor that receives a communication via a communication interface, the communication including an unencrypted file and a digital signature. The at least one processor decrypts the digital signature to obtain a first value, executes a hash function on the unencrypted file to obtain a second value, determines if the first value and second value match, and updates at least one firmware package stored in at least one memory of the IED with the unencrypted file if it is determined that the first value and the second value match.
c. Kagan et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0204450 A1 hereinafter “Kagan”) discloses systems and methods for collecting, analyzing, billing and reporting data from intelligent electronic devices are provided. The intelligent electronic devices include at least one sensor configured to measure at least one parameter of an electrical distribution system and output a signal indicative of the measured at least one parameter; at least one analog-to-digital converter configured to receive the output signals and convert the output signal to a digital signal; and at least one processing device configured to execute a plurality on instructions to implement a general purpose operating system for executing at least two applications, each application configured to implement a predetermined functionality based on the at least one parameter of the electrical distribution system, wherein each of the applications is independent of the other application. In one aspect, the intelligent electronic devices include a network discovery module configured to detect communication settings of a network.
d. Ransom et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0204756 A1 hereinafter “Ransom”) discloses a power management architecture for an electrical power distribution system, or portion thereof, is disclosed. The architecture includes multiple intelligent electronic devices ("IED's") distributed throughout the power distribution system to manage the flow and consumption of power from the system using real time communications. Power management application software and/or hardware components operate on the IED's and the back-end servers and inter-operate via the network to implement a power management application. The architecture provides a scalable and cost effective framework of hardware and software upon which such power management applications can operate to manage the distribution and consumption of electrical power by one or more utilities/suppliers and/or customers which provide and utilize the power distribution system. Autonomous communication on the network between IED's, back-end servers and other entities coupled with secure networks, themselves interconnected, via firewalls, by one or more unsecure networks, is facilitated by the use of a back-channel protocol. The back-channel protocol allows a device coupled with a secure network to solicit communications from a device on the unsecure network, thereby opening a back-channel through the firewall through which the unsecure network device may send unsolicited messages to the secure network device. Communications between multiple secure networks is accomplished using a unsecure device on an intermediary unsecure network to relay communications between the secure network devices using the protocol described above.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “wherein the first entity is a hypervisor and the second entity is a virtual machine.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 7.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “wherein the first entity is a hypervisor configured to execute the basic mode and the second entity is a virtual machine configured to execute the normal mode.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 14.
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R.I .Ill(c).
In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
/Dayton Lewis-Taylor/
Examiner, Art Unit 2181