Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the last clause of claim 18, the words “via the first communication link; and wherein each mobile device …” should be rewritten as follows: “via the first communication link, and wherein each mobile device …”.
The foregoing changes are required to correct grammatical or clerical errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 recites “a second safety control mechanism ...” but neither claim 6 nor any of the claims from which it depends recite a first safety control mechanism. There is an antecedent basis issue associated with the term “a second safety control mechanism” since there is no previous instance of a recitation of a first safety control mechanism in the claim or its base claim. It is unclear what “a second safety control mechanism” is referring to when a first safety control mechanism is not recited in the claim or its corresponding base claim. It is not apparent what structure the “second safety control mechanism” is being distinguished from, or how it related to the rest of the claimed invention. As a result, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Dependent claims 7-13 and 15-17 do not remedy the foregoing issues and are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by way of dependency to claim 6.
Appropriate amendments are required to correct the foregoing issues. Applicant is requested to provide support from the specification for any amendments made. No new matter should be added for any amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (US 2021/0394780) in view of Halloran et al. (KR-20070077244).
Regarding claim 1, Thomas teaches a motion control system, comprising: a control platform, (see at least Thomas at [0039] in conjunction with Fig. 4 which discloses that the remote control of the MVS 100a includes a central management system 170; Examiner maps central management system to the motion control system.)
and at least one mobile device, wherein the control platform communicates with each mobile device via at least two communication links (see at least Thomas at Figs. 1-2 which illustratively discloses a modular vehicle subassembly (MVS) 100; see Thomas at [0030] which discloses that a plurality of MVSs 100 (also referred to herein simply as “MVSs 100”) can be wireless tethered together and/or wirelessly tethered to an assembly line infrastructure and thereby move under remote or autonomous control using their own power and steering along a predefined path prior through one or more assembly zones as discussed in greater detail below. Examiner maps a modular vehicle subassembly (MVS) to the at least one mobile device. Also, see Thomas at [0041] which discloses that in some variations the zone controller communication links 181b, 182b are wireless communication links 181b, 182b and that also, and as shown in FIG. 4, in some variations the plurality of communication links include a primary link ‘PL’ and a secondary link ‘SL’. Examiner maps the primary and the secondary links to the at least two communication links.)
wherein the control platform is configured to generate an emergency stop instruction in a case that it is detected that a safety event has been triggered, and transmit the emergency stop instruction to each mobile device via a first communication link, wherein the emergency stop instruction [complies with a preset safety communication protocol], and the first communication link is a communication link with the preset safety communication protocol among the at least two communication links (see Thomas at [0012] which discloses that in some variations, the onboard controller is coupled to the frame assembly and configured to execute at least one of a speed command, a stop movement command, a start movement command, a steer command, and an emergency stop command; see Thomas at [0024] in conjunction with Fig. 4 which illustratively shows a remote controlled modular vehicle subassembly moving through assembly zones of a top hat assembly line according to the teachings of the present disclosure; see Thomas at [0032] which discloses that referring to FIG. 3, an example functional block diagram of a MVS 100a according to one form of the present disclosure and configured for remote control movement is shown, that as used herein, the phrase “remote control” refers to movement of a MVS 100 via commands and/or instruction from a controller not on the MVS 100 (i.e., an external controller) and that the MVS 100a includes an onboard controller 120a, an onboard communications link 122a, transient data sensors 130a, the drive system 140, the steering system 150, the braking system 155, and the propulsion system 160; see Thomas at claim 7 which discloses that the onboard controller is coupled to the frame assembly and configured to execute at least one of a speed command, a stop movement command, a start movement command, a steer command, and an emergency stop command.)
and wherein each mobile device is configured to receive the emergency stop instruction via the first communication link, [parse the emergency stop instruction by using the preset safety communication protocol,] and execute a shutdown operation [according to a parsing result] (see Thomas at [0012] which discloses that in some variations, the onboard controller is coupled to the frame assembly and configured to execute at least one of a speed command, a stop movement command, a start movement command, a steer command, and an emergency stop command; Examiner notes that executing a stop movement or emergency stop command corresponds to executing a shutdown operation. Examiner notes that the specification at [0054] confirms that a shutdown operation includes the mobile device that executes a deceleration stop. Also, see Thomas at [0032] which discloses that referring to FIG. 3, an example functional block diagram of a MVS 100a according to one form of the present disclosure and configured for remote control movement is shown, that as used herein, the phrase “remote control” refers to movement of a MVS 100 via commands and/or instruction from a controller not on the MVS 100 (i.e., an external controller) and that the MVS 100a includes an onboard controller 120a, an onboard communications link 122a, transient data sensors 130a, the drive system 140, the steering system 150, the braking system 155, and the propulsion system 160; see Thomas at [0041] which discloses that in some variations the zone controller communication links 181b, 182b are wireless communication links 181b, 182b and that also, and as shown in FIG. 4, in some variations the plurality of communication links include a primary link ‘PL’ and a secondary link ‘SL’.)
Thomas teaches an emergency stop instruction (see Thomas at [0012] which discloses that in some variations, the onboard controller is coupled to the frame assembly and configured to execute at least one of a speed command, a stop movement command, a start movement command, a steer command, and an emergency stop command.)
Thomas does not expressly disclose complies with a preset safety communication protocol, parse the [emergency stop] instruction by using the preset safety communication protocol, and according to a parsing result, which in a related art, Halloran teaches (see Halloran at page 6 which discloses that wireless transmission may be configured according to a packet encoded transmission protocol; see Halloran at page 13 which discloses that wireless remote control may provide various similar wireless functions for controlling or managing the mobile robot 104, that the wireless remote control can communicate directly with the mobile robot 104 via infrared (IR) or RF protocols, or for example, the mobile robot 104 is not in view but the remote control is the IR of the network data bridge 202, and that commands may be relayed through the network data bridge 202 when within the signaling range; Halloran at page 13 further discloses that a web server is exclusively used internally by the mobile robot 104 (and also by accessory items added to the mobile robot 104) by converting the internal communication protocol(s) into HTTP POST and GET transactions, and that alternatively, special communication methods can be bridged with permanent online presence. Examiner notes that use of a packet encoded transmission protocol requires parsing in order to encode and decode the packets. Examiner notes that a mobile robot corresponds to the recited at least one mobile device. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thomas to comply with a preset safety communication protocol, parse the emergency stop instruction by using the preset safety communication protocol, and according to a parsing result, as taught by Halloran.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide communications transmitted under a command protocol, as suggested by Halloran at page 5.
Independent claims 21 and 22 are directed toward methods that perform the steps recited in the system of claim 1. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejection of claim 1 teach the steps recited in the methods of claims 21-22. Therefore, claims 21-22 are rejected under the same rationale used in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Thomas teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the control platform comprises: a safety trigger mechanism configured to generate a safety event trigger signal and send the safety event trigger signal to a first safety control mechanism when an event complying with a safety trigger condition is identified; and the first safety control mechanism configured to receive the safety event trigger signal sent by the safety trigger mechanism, encode the safety event trigger signal by using the preset safety communication protocol to obtain the emergency stop instruction, and transmit the emergency stop instruction to each mobile device via the first communication link (see Thomas at [0012] which discloses that in some variations, the onboard controller is coupled to the frame assembly and configured to execute at least one of a speed command, a stop movement command, a start movement command, a steer command, and an emergency stop command; see Thomas at [0042] which discloses that the plurality of zone controllers 181, 182, and other zone controllers disclosed herein, have a manual interface system 181a, 182a, (e.g., a desktop or laptop computer) configured for entering and/or retrieving data from the plurality of zone controllers 181, 182, that in at least one variation, one or more of the manual interface systems 181a, 182a is configured to provide data and/or notification to the central management system 170 regarding conditions of the assembly path AP, that non-limiting examples of such conditions include material shortages, operational problems, emergency problems within the vehicle assembly facility, among others. Also, see at least Halloran at page 6 which discloses that the wireless transmission may be configured according to a packet encoded transmission protocol. Examiner maps the manual interface system, such as a desktop or laptop computer to the safety trigger mechanism. Examiner maps the entering and/or receiving data to the safety event trigger signal. Examiner maps data corresponding to conditions related emergency problems to a first safety control mechanism when an event complying with a safety trigger condition is identified. Examiner maps event to emergency problems. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language in light of what is written in the specification.)
Regarding claim 3, the modified Thomas teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the control platform comprises: a wireless transmitter configured to forward the emergency stop instruction to a destination port, (see Thomas at [0012] which discloses that in some variations, the onboard controller is coupled to the frame assembly and configured to execute at least one of a speed command, a stop movement command, a start movement command, a steer command, and an emergency stop command; see Halloran at page 6 which discloses a wireless communication system includes a network interface unit configured to communicatively interface with a first network and to wirelessly transmit data to a robot; see Halloran at page 10 which discloses using a wireless communication by way of a wireless bridge; see Halloran at page 25 which at least discloses a transmitter for transmitting packets.)
convert the emergency stop instruction into a wireless signal via the destination port, and transmit the wireless signal to each mobile device, wherein the destination port is a port for data transmission between the control platform and each mobile device via the first communication link (see Halloran at page 10 which discloses wirelessly connecting to and initiating communication with the mobile robot 104 and that the Ethernet hub 204 includes four wired Ethernet ports, as well as an 802.11 wireless Ethernet connection, and not via a network data bridge, 802.11 or other such wireless network protocols may be used from the base station to the mobile robot 104. Examiner notes that mobile robot corresponds to mobile device. See Thomas at Fig. 3 at element 122a which illustratively depicts point in which communication link is established. Examiner maps the element 122a to the destination port. Also, see at least Thomas at Figs. 1-2 which illustratively discloses a modular vehicle subassembly (MVS) 100; see Thomas at [0030] which discloses that a plurality of MVSs 100 (also referred to herein simply as “MVSs 100”) can be wireless tethered together and/or wirelessly tethered to an assembly line infrastructure and thereby move under remote or autonomous control using their own power and steering along a predefined path prior through one or more assembly zones. Examiner notes that either mobile robot or modular vehicle subassembly (MVS) corresponds to the recited mobile device.)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Thomas teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the control platform further comprises: a network address translation device; wherein the wireless transmitter is further configured to send the emergency stop instruction to the network address translation device; and wherein the network address translation device is configured to perform address translation on the emergency stop instruction, forward an address translated emergency stop instruction to the destination port, and transmit the address translated emergency stop instruction to each mobile device in a form of the wireless signal via the destination port (see Thomas at [0012] which discloses an emergency stop command; Examiner maps emergency stop command to the recited emergency stop instruction. Also, see Halloran at page 9, for example, which discloses that in one example, a network data bridge is attached to an Internet access router 204; see Halloran at page 25 which discloses bridges and routers. Examiner notes that a router corresponds to a network address translation device. Examiner mapped Thomas, Fig 3, element 122a, to the destination port. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language in light of what is written in the specification.)
Regarding claim 5, the modified Thomas teaches the system of claim 3, wherein each mobile device comprises: a wireless receiver configured to receive the wireless signal via the first communication link, and convert the wireless signal to the emergency stop instruction in an Ethernet port format (see Halloran at page 9 which discloses that in one example, a network data bridge 202 attached to an Internet access router 204 or an Ethernet port on a switch may be from any Internet or local service (e.g., via BOOTP, DHCP, HTTP, FTP, and / or TFTP); further, see Halloran at page 25 which discloses that the physical layer uses a 2.4 GHz direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) modem as specified in IEEE 802.15.4; Examiner notes that the implementation of IEEE 802.15.4 necessitates the use of a wireless receiver. Examiner further notes that for the Ethernet port on a switch to be utilized, the wireless signal must be converted into an Ethernet port format.)
Regarding claim 6, the modified Thomas teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each mobile device comprises: a second safety control mechanism configured to parse the emergency stop instruction by using the preset safety communication protocol to obtain the parsing result, and send the parsing result to an execution mechanism; and the execution mechanism configured to execute the shutdown operation according to the parsing result (see Thomas at [0040] which discloses that the system 10 also includes a zone management system 180 with a plurality of zone controllers 181, 182 for the plurality of assembly zones 210, 220, respectively and that the plurality of zone controllers 181, 182 are in communication with the central management system 170 and in communication with the onboard controller 120 of the MVS 100. Examiner maps zone controller 182 of the zone management system 180 to the second safety control mechanism. Examiner noted that executing a stop movement or emergency stop command corresponds to executing a shutdown operation. Also, see Thomas at [0041] which discloses that in some variations the zone controller communication links 181b, 182b are wireless communication links 181b, 182b and that also, and as shown in FIG. 4, in some variations the plurality of communication links include a primary link ‘PL’ and a secondary link ‘SL’. Examiner noted that use of a packet encoded transmission protocol requires parsing in order to encode and decode the packets.)
Regarding claim 18, the modified Thomas teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the control platform is further configured to generate a scheduling instruction and transmit the scheduling instruction to each mobile device via a second communication link, wherein the scheduling instruction complies with a preset data link communication protocol, and the second communication link is a communication link with the preset data link communication protocol among the at least two communication links; and wherein each mobile device is further configured to receive the scheduling instruction via the second communication link, parse the scheduling instruction, and execute a scheduling operation according to the parsing result; or wherein the control platform is further configured to generate a reset instruction in a case that it is detected that a reset event has been triggered, and transmit the reset instruction to each mobile device via the first communication link; and wherein each mobile device is further configured to receive the reset instruction via the first communication link, parse the reset instruction, and resume operation according to the parsing result (see Halloran at page 14 which discloses that in order to limit the use of valuable bandwidth during business or other peak usage times, network data bridge 202 and / or mobile robot 104 may use themed content, usage / behavior data, or may be scheduled to transmit any other such communication, alternatively, for example, the network data bridge 202 and / or the mobile robot 104 (and / or the server of the manufacturer) detect when bandwidth usage is least by (e.g., by way of non-limiting example, by collecting data on bandwidth usage per hour for real time or for a series of days or weeks, and then generally determining the minimum time used). It can be scheduled to carry out their communication (or most of their communication). Also, see Thomas at [0030] which discloses that a plurality of MVSs 100 (also referred to herein simply as “MVSs 100”) can be wireless tethered together and/or wirelessly tethered to an assembly line infrastructure and thereby move under remote or autonomous control using their own power and steering along a predefined path prior through one or more assembly zones as discussed in greater detail below. Further, see Thomas at [0040] which discloses a zone management system 180 with a plurality of zone controllers 181, 182 which are in communication with the central management system 170 and in communication with the onboard controller 120 of the MVS 100. Further, see Thomas at [0041] which discloses that in some variations the zone controller communication links 181b, 182b are wireless communication links 181b, 182b and that also, and as shown in FIG. 4, in some variations the plurality of communication links include a primary link ‘PL’ and a secondary link ‘SL’. Examiner notes that primary link and secondary link correspond to the at least two communication links.)
Regarding claim 20, the modified Thomas teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each mobile device is further configured to feed back confirmation information to the control platform after receiving the emergency stop instruction; wherein the control platform is further configured to send a prompt message to each mobile device, in a case that the confirmation information fed back by each mobile device is not received within a preset safety period after the emergency stop instruction is transmitted to each mobile device; and wherein each mobile device is further configured to execute the shutdown operation in response to the prompt message (see Halloran at page 16 which discloses robot-net RF protocols and that robot-net RF may simply include a sparse protocol with robot or beacon control and reporting messages such as WAKEUP, GO_CLEAN (robot-n), ERROR (robot-n, i-am-stuck), and the like, and that the robot-net can define messages specific to its own robot control and monitoring. Examiner notes that robot or beacon control, reporting, and monitoring messages correspond to feed back confirmation information and prompt message. Also, see Thomas at [0012] which discloses that the onboard controller is coupled to the frame assembly and configured to execute at least one of a speed command, a stop movement command, a start movement command, a steer command, and an emergency stop command. Examiner notes that an emergency stop command corresponds to a shutdown operation.)
Subject Matter Not Taught by Art of Record
Examiner notes that the art of record does not appear to teach each and every feature recited in claims 7-13 and 15-17. Further, claims 8-13, 15, and 17 would be allowable based on their dependency on respective claims 7 and 16.
Conclusion
/ROY RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664