DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 6, 10-16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claims 3, 4, 6 and 11-16; the claims recite “one or more sensors”. It is unclear if the limitation refers to the “one or more sensors” of claim 1. If different, the terminology should add an adjective to differentiate the elements such as “one or more boat side sensors” or “one or more trailer side sensors”. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claims 4 and 22, the claims recite “the trailer” but there is no “trailer” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 6, there are two claims 6 which is improper. For purposes of examination, the limitations of both claims will be merged into one. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 10, the claim recites “the communication module” but there is no “communication module” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claims 19-21, the claims recite “can be”. It is unclear if the limitation is optional. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 22, the claim recites “the desired water depth” but there is no “desired water depth” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 recites “the trailer locking system” but there is no “trailer locking system” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims listed in the rejection statement are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hall et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0210418).
As to Claim 1, Hall discloses an autonomous boat launching and loading system (Paragraph 0254: “Automatic Boat Launching”), comprising:
A boat side system (1240), comprising:
One or more propulsion systems configured to propel a boat (Figure 12);
One or more thrusters (Figure 12); and
A boat side communication system (1282; Paragraph 0353: “FIG. 12 is a perspective view of a truck and boat trailer backing up to a boat ramp. Truck 101 with system 120 guides the truck 101 in backing the boat trailer 1250 with boat 1240 down a boat ramp and into the water 1258. Image sensor 1228 proximity sensor 1270 may communicate location and proximity data to system 120 for control. Additional boat mounted sensor 1272 may also communicate sensor data via wireless signal 1282 to the system 120. Water depth 1260 and obstruction 1262 may be determined by one or more of the sensors and communicated to system 120. Boat mounted user interface 1280 may allow the system 120 to communicate to a user or boat driver”); and
A trailer side system (1250), comprising:
One or more sensors (1228, 1260, 1262, 1270) configured to detect a water level (Paragraph 0266: “The ABL automatically senses the length of the trailer, from the pivot point to the axle. The angle of the trailer with respect to the tow vehicle is measured via: cameras on vehicle or on trailer, rear view camera perception of the trailer vs. the road moving below while moving, ultra-sonic sensors sensing distance to trailer, and therefore angle of trailer to tow vehicle. Radar, lidar, and other sensors to detect angle. Magnetometer, gyro's, and other sensors physically attached. The trailer may include additional sensors such as attitude, pressure or other sensors that detect water depth”; Paragraph 0291: “If the stopping point is a boat ramp, the app may require more info such as the depth of the water or the angle of the ramp in order to determine the best stopping point. This may vary according to the specific trailer and boat type for example. Since the set-up was previously done for the specific trailer and boat, these parameters are known. The ABL may use sensors and cameras to determine the characteristics of the driveway or ramp that enters the water and decide the best stopping point that allows the boat to be launched properly. Once this determination has been made, the user or driver may be able to modify these parameters based on personal judgement. The ABL may store these parameters for future use including a trailer profile, a tow vehicle and trailer profile, and a profile including one or more of the tow vehicle, the trailer and the boat ramp. In this way, these parameters may be learned, calibrated and improved each time a trailer is backed up and each time a boat is launched”); and
A trailer side communication system (224) configured to communicate with the boat side communication system (1282);
Wherein data communication between the boat side communication system and the trailer side communication system facilitates operation (via 120; Paragraph 0317: “FIG. 2A is an illustration depicting one scenario demonstrating how the monitoring system 120 may be implemented for a specific truck pulling a flatbed trailer 120. System 120 may communicate via wireless signal 204. Truck 101 is shown hauling flatbed trailer 102. Trailer path may be communicated by wireless device 220, and load 240 may be communicated to the system 120 via trailer wireless signal 224. Trailer hitch type and connection may be determined by sensor 210 and communicated via wireless signal 212. Friction, slippage or drift of the rear of the trailer 102 may be determined by sensor 230 and communicated via signal 234”; Paragraph 0353: “FIG. 12 is a perspective view of a truck and boat trailer backing up to a boat ramp. Truck 101 with system 120 guides the truck 101 in backing the boat trailer 1250 with boat 1240 down a boat ramp and into the water 1258. Image sensor 1228 proximity sensor 1270 may communicate location and proximity data to system 120 for control. Additional boat mounted sensor 1272 may also communicate sensor data via wireless signal 1282 to the system 120. Water depth 1260 and obstruction 1262 may be determined by one or more of the sensors and communicated to system 120. Boat mounted user interface 1280 may allow the system 120 to communicate to a user or boat driver”) of the one or more propulsion systems and the one or more thrusters to and launch the boat autonomously from and to a body of water (Paragraph 0255: “Once the pivot point and hitch are both known, the ABL may guide the driver or the control system of an autonomous vehicle during the backing up of the vehicle”; Paragraph 0256: “The objectives of the Automatic Boat Launching (ABL) are to provide guidance to drivers and autonomous vehicles enabling the driver (or control system) to back up a boat trailer”, “Communicating operating parameters and critical angles to the driver of the vehicle and to the control system of an autonomous vehicle are also required”; Paragraph 0257: “Once the hitch is known, the ABL may guide the driver or the control system of an autonomous vehicle during the backing up of the vehicle”; Paragraph 0301: “In the case of an autonomous vehicle, the boat may be released from the trailer once the trailer stopping point has been reached. This release may be done either automatically by the ABL as programmed or previously determined by the user, or it may require a “boat release” command from the control system. The app may prompt the user to push a button to release the boat from the trailer. The communication from the ABL to the boat release mechanism may be wireless. The ABL may send an “unwind” command to a winch that lowers the boat into the water along with a “detach” command that releases the boat from the winch cable, and a “retract” command to rewind the cable and lock it into place on the trailer. These are examples of commands that may be given to one or more boat trailer systems or products that may be compatible with the ABL. The ABL may further comprise one or more various control and wireless types and configurations as required, enabling it to communicate with these products and systems as required to allow operation of these products or systems by the ABL”).
As to Claim 2, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the boat side system further comprises a user interface (1280) device to engage, disengage, and monitor the autonomous boat launching and loading system.
As to Claim 3, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the boat side system further comprises one or more sensors (1272) configured to detect the water level (Paragraph 0353: “Additional boat mounted sensor 1272 may also communicate sensor data via wireless signal 1282 to the system 120. Water depth 1260 and obstruction 1262 may be determined by one or more of the sensors and communicated to system 120. Boat mounted user interface 1280 may allow the system 120 to communicate to a user or boat driver”).
As to Claim 4, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 3 (Refer to Claim 3 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the one or more sensors (1272) of the boat side system are further configured to detect a position of the trailer and/or a position of the boat relative to the trailer (Paragraph 0353: “Additional boat mounted sensor 1272 may also communicate sensor data via wireless signal 1282 to the system 120. Water depth 1260 and obstruction 1262 may be determined by one or more of the sensors and communicated to system 120. Boat mounted user interface 1280 may allow the system 120 to communicate to a user or boat driver”).
As to Claim 5, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the boat side system further comprises a control system (120) to control operation of the one or more propulsion systems and the one or more thrusters.
As to Claim 6, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 5 (Refer to Claim 5 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the boat side system further comprises one or more sensors (1272) configured to detect the water level; and wherein the control system is configured to receive data from the one or more sensors (1272) of the boat side system and the one or more sensors (1228, 1260, 1262, 1270) from the trailer side system; and wherein the control system (120) is further configured to receive data from the boat side communication system and the trailer side communication system.
As to Claim 7, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the trailer side system further comprises a locking mechanism configured to lock the boat to a trailer and to unlock the boat from the trailer (Paragraph 0301: “In the case of an autonomous vehicle, the boat may be released from the trailer once the trailer stopping point has been reached. This release may be done either automatically by the ABL as programmed or previously determined by the user, or it may require a “boat release” command from the control system. The app may prompt the user to push a button to release the boat from the trailer. The communication from the ABL to the boat release mechanism may be wireless. The ABL may send an “unwind” command to a winch that lowers the boat into the water along with a “detach” command that releases the boat from the winch cable, and a “retract” command to rewind the cable and lock it into place on the trailer. These are examples of commands that may be given to one or more boat trailer systems or products that may be compatible with the ABL. The ABL may further comprise one or more various control and wireless types and configurations as required, enabling it to communicate with these products and systems as required to allow operation of these products or systems by the ABL”).
As to Claim 8, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the boat side communication system and the trailer side communication system are configured to communicate with one another using a communication mode selected from the group consisting of radio frequency, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth (Paragraph 0020: “The system may communicate via a wireless interface. The system may further build a model of a set-up for a specific tow vehicle connected to a specific trailer. The system may also include a cloud-based network for monitoring, control and system back-up. The data input device may be a cell phone or mobile device”).
As to Claim 9, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 8 (Refer to Claim 8 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the boat side communication system and the trailer side communication system are configured to communicate with one or more external user interface devices selected from the group consisting of a smartphone, a tablet, and a computer (Paragraph 0034: “In another embodiment, the data input device may include a cell phone, satellite phone, smartphone, personal digital assistant, tablet computer, laptop computer, remote control device, mobile transmitter, a mobile internet device or a combination of one or more of the same”).
As to Claim 10, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the communication module comprises a navigation module (Paragraph 0183: “navigational”) configured to receive a GPS satellite signal to refine the utter position of the boat and a trailer.
As to Claim 11, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the one or more sensors (1228, 1260, 1262, 1270) of the trailer side are selected from the group consisting of a water level sensor, a depth sensor, and a proximity sensor (Paragraph 0353: “FIG. 12 is a perspective view of a truck and boat trailer backing up to a boat ramp. Truck 101 with system 120 guides the truck 101 in backing the boat trailer 1250 with boat 1240 down a boat ramp and into the water 1258. Image sensor 1228 proximity sensor 1270 may communicate location and proximity data to system 120 for control. Additional boat mounted sensor 1272 may also communicate sensor data via wireless signal 1282 to the system 120. Water depth 1260 and obstruction 1262 may be determined by one or more of the sensors and communicated to system 120. Boat mounted user interface 1280 may allow the system 120 to communicate to a user or boat driver”).
As to Claim 12, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the one or more sensors (1228, 1260, 1262, 1270) of the trailer side are configured to detect several entities to allow the boat a safe launch from or load onto a trailer autonomously (Paragraph 0353: “FIG. 12 is a perspective view of a truck and boat trailer backing up to a boat ramp. Truck 101 with system 120 guides the truck 101 in backing the boat trailer 1250 with boat 1240 down a boat ramp and into the water 1258. Image sensor 1228 proximity sensor 1270 may communicate location and proximity data to system 120 for control. Additional boat mounted sensor 1272 may also communicate sensor data via wireless signal 1282 to the system 120. Water depth 1260 and obstruction 1262 may be determined by one or more of the sensors and communicated to system 120. Boat mounted user interface 1280 may allow the system 120 to communicate to a user or boat driver”).
As to Claim 13, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 3 (Refer to Claim 3 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the one or more sensors (1272) of the boat side are selected from the group consisting of a water level sensor, a depth sensor, and a proximity sensor (Paragraph 0353: “FIG. 12 is a perspective view of a truck and boat trailer backing up to a boat ramp. Truck 101 with system 120 guides the truck 101 in backing the boat trailer 1250 with boat 1240 down a boat ramp and into the water 1258. Image sensor 1228 proximity sensor 1270 may communicate location and proximity data to system 120 for control. Additional boat mounted sensor 1272 may also communicate sensor data via wireless signal 1282 to the system 120. Water depth 1260 and obstruction 1262 may be determined by one or more of the sensors and communicated to system 120. Boat mounted user interface 1280 may allow the system 120 to communicate to a user or boat driver”).
As to Claim 14, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 13 (Refer to Claim 13 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the one or more sensors (1272) of the boat side are configured to detect several entities to allow the boat a safe launch/load from/to a trailer autonomously (Paragraph 0353: “FIG. 12 is a perspective view of a truck and boat trailer backing up to a boat ramp. Truck 101 with system 120 guides the truck 101 in backing the boat trailer 1250 with boat 1240 down a boat ramp and into the water 1258. Image sensor 1228 proximity sensor 1270 may communicate location and proximity data to system 120 for control. Additional boat mounted sensor 1272 may also communicate sensor data via wireless signal 1282 to the system 120. Water depth 1260 and obstruction 1262 may be determined by one or more of the sensors and communicated to system 120. Boat mounted user interface 1280 may allow the system 120 to communicate to a user or boat driver”).
As to Claim 15, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 3 (Refer to Claim 3 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the one or more sensors (1272) of the boat side are selected from the group consisting of an image sensor, a radar sensor, and a LiDAR sensor (Paragraph 0353: “FIG. 12 is a perspective view of a truck and boat trailer backing up to a boat ramp. Truck 101 with system 120 guides the truck 101 in backing the boat trailer 1250 with boat 1240 down a boat ramp and into the water 1258. Image sensor 1228 proximity sensor 1270 may communicate location and proximity data to system 120 for control. Additional boat mounted sensor 1272 may also communicate sensor data via wireless signal 1282 to the system 120. Water depth 1260 and obstruction 1262 may be determined by one or more of the sensors and communicated to system 120. Boat mounted user interface 1280 may allow the system 120 to communicate to a user or boat driver”).
As to Claim 16, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 3 (Refer to Claim 3 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the one or more sensors (1228, 1260, 1262, 1270) of the trailer side are selected from the group consisting of a water level sensor, a depth sensor, and a proximity sensor; and wherein the one or more sensors on the trailer side and the one or more sensors on the boat side are configured to detect boat surroundings and a trailer when the boat is being launched or loaded autonomously (Paragraph 0353: “FIG. 12 is a perspective view of a truck and boat trailer backing up to a boat ramp. Truck 101 with system 120 guides the truck 101 in backing the boat trailer 1250 with boat 1240 down a boat ramp and into the water 1258. Image sensor 1228 proximity sensor 1270 may communicate location and proximity data to system 120 for control. Additional boat mounted sensor 1272 may also communicate sensor data via wireless signal 1282 to the system 120. Water depth 1260 and obstruction 1262 may be determined by one or more of the sensors and communicated to system 120. Boat mounted user interface 1280 may allow the system 120 to communicate to a user or boat driver”).
As to Claim 17, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the user interface is selected from the group consisting of a liquid crystal display (LCD), push buttons, and a gear, said user interface configured to enable the boat to begin being launched or loaded autonomously (Paragraph 0034: “In another embodiment, the data input device may include a cell phone, satellite phone, smartphone, personal digital assistant, tablet computer, laptop computer, remote control device, mobile transmitter, a mobile internet device or a combination of one or more of the same”).
As to Claim 18, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the user interface is selected from the group consisting of an application on a smart phone, an application on a tablet, and software on a computer (Paragraph 0034: “In another embodiment, the data input device may include a cell phone, satellite phone, smartphone, personal digital assistant, tablet computer, laptop computer, remote control device, mobile transmitter, a mobile internet device or a combination of one or more of the same”).
As to Claim 19, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein parameters of the boat can be monitored and controlled from an external device selected from the group consisting of a smart phone, a tablet, and a computer (Paragraph 0034: “In another embodiment, the data input device may include a cell phone, satellite phone, smartphone, personal digital assistant, tablet computer, laptop computer, remote control device, mobile transmitter, a mobile internet device or a combination of one or more of the same”).
As to Claim 20, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the boat can be launched automatically once a trailer has reached a desired water depth (Paragraph 0301: “In the case of an autonomous vehicle, the boat may be released from the trailer once the trailer stopping point has been reached. This release may be done either automatically by the ABL as programmed or previously determined by the user, or it may require a “boat release” command from the control system. The app may prompt the user to push a button to release the boat from the trailer. The communication from the ABL to the boat release mechanism may be wireless. The ABL may send an “unwind” command to a winch that lowers the boat into the water along with a “detach” command that releases the boat from the winch cable, and a “retract” command to rewind the cable and lock it into place on the trailer. These are examples of commands that may be given to one or more boat trailer systems or products that may be compatible with the ABL. The ABL may further comprise one or more various control and wireless types and configurations as required, enabling it to communicate with these products and systems as required to allow operation of these products or systems by the ABL”).
As to Claim 21, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein a process of loading the boat can be initiated automatically once the boat enters a desired range relative to a trailer (Paragraph 0301: “In the case of an autonomous vehicle, the boat may be released from the trailer once the trailer stopping point has been reached. This release may be done either automatically by the ABL as programmed or previously determined by the user, or it may require a “boat release” command from the control system. The app may prompt the user to push a button to release the boat from the trailer. The communication from the ABL to the boat release mechanism may be wireless. The ABL may send an “unwind” command to a winch that lowers the boat into the water along with a “detach” command that releases the boat from the winch cable, and a “retract” command to rewind the cable and lock it into place on the trailer. These are examples of commands that may be given to one or more boat trailer systems or products that may be compatible with the ABL. The ABL may further comprise one or more various control and wireless types and configurations as required, enabling it to communicate with these products and systems as required to allow operation of these products or systems by the ABL”).
As to Claim 22, Hall discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Hall also discloses wherein the trailer locking system does not unlock until the trailer reached the desired water depth to avoid damaging the boat (Paragraph 0301: “In the case of an autonomous vehicle, the boat may be released from the trailer once the trailer stopping point has been reached. This release may be done either automatically by the ABL as programmed or previously determined by the user, or it may require a “boat release” command from the control system. The app may prompt the user to push a button to release the boat from the trailer. The communication from the ABL to the boat release mechanism may be wireless. The ABL may send an “unwind” command to a winch that lowers the boat into the water along with a “detach” command that releases the boat from the winch cable, and a “retract” command to rewind the cable and lock it into place on the trailer. These are examples of commands that may be given to one or more boat trailer systems or products that may be compatible with the ABL. The ABL may further comprise one or more various control and wireless types and configurations as required, enabling it to communicate with these products and systems as required to allow operation of these products or systems by the ABL”).
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678