Detailed Action
This is the final office action for US application number 19/126,803. Claims are evaluated as filed on September 21, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections in this office action have been amended to address the amended claims. Examiner asserts that Bush, Heiges, Epstein, Mebarak, Marchek, Seex, and teach all the newly-amended limitations and are capable of performing the functions as claimed. Examiner directs Applicant to the rejection below for a more in-depth description of the limitations.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that the navigational tool that comprises a ring or multiple rings is shown in Fig. 9A and described on page 8 line 32 – page 9 line 6 (Remarks p. 7-8), Examiner agrees that such is described in the specification and notes that there was no specification objection provided in the non-final office action dated May 21, 2026. Instead, as repeated below, a drawing objection was provided on page 2 of the non-final office action dated May 21, 2026. Applicant has indicated the navigational tool ring(s) are shown in Fig. 9A; however, no rings are shown. Thus, Examiner requests identification of the structure shown in Fig. 9A that is purportedly the claimed ring(s) of claims 10 and 20.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that claim 1 has been amended to address the noted clarity issues and maintain features associated with two states of relative positioning of the sleeve and guide portion that are not disclosed in the prior art namely encapsulating/enveloping/surrounding the forward extremity of the guide within the sleeve to provide scanning/exploring over the pedicle at a desired location located beforehand, enabling the surgeon to feel the edges of the pedicle bone with tactile exploration and positioning on the pedicle before the guide is extended, protecting tissue from the forward extremity of the guide, smooth scanning displacement, finding a good ‘footing’, pointed legs of v-shaped end 3’, etc. (Remarks p. 8-9 and 11-12), Examiner notes that the rejections below have been accordingly amended and further notes that, while features associated with the argued states may be broadly claimed, many of the argued features and functional capabilities are not claimed.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that there’s no immobilization disclosed by Bush or any incentive in Bush to adapt such a teaching (Remarks p. 12), Examiner notes what is being argued to be immobilized is unclear. Further, immobilization of any feature has not been claimed. Finally, there is no requirement that the primary reference provide incentive for a modification in a rejection under 35 USC 103.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that Heiges is directed to a retractor and dilator for widening a passage through tissue for introducing a tool for an operation that is incompatible with Bush directed to widening the tissue near the pedicle than finding and holding a proper position on a pedicle and one would not consider Heiges to augment the disclosure of Bush (Remarks p. 13), Examiner notes that this argument is not entirely clear but notes that it is not proposed to “augment” the disclosure of Bush with that of Heiges. Instead, as detailed below and in the non-final office action dated May 21, 2026, Heiges teaches features of guide portion 154 that are received in sleeve/retractor 1 where a guide channel 160 is provided that is capable of permitting tool passage. Further, Heiges specifically teaches providing the taught shape to gently divide the muscle and fiber tissue, i.e. during insertion to a secure position on bone, and that the anatomically curved distal tip of the dilator gently separates the final fibers directly attached to the interverbral disc/vertebral body interface along the lateral aspect of the spine (¶81). That is, Bush discloses a device for positioning and securing a tool against a pedicle (¶s 47 and 114) and Heiges teaches device features for gently and directly attaching to the interverbral disc/vertebral body (¶81) for surgical access and is therefore analogous art.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that neither Bush nor Heiges teaches or suggests the claimed cooperative relationship between the sleeve and the guide portion as the office action does not identify a teaching or articulated reasoning with rationale underpinning that would have led one to convert Bush’s screw/tool sleeve arrangement and Heige’s tissue dilator into the claimed two-state sleeve/guide architecture (Remarks p. 14), Examiner notes that a two-state sleeve/guide architecture has not been claimed. Examiner notes that it appears that the argued “state” is intended to refer to different relative positions that the guide and sleeve are capable of achieving. As detailed in the rejection below and that of the non-final office action dated May 21, 2026, Bush shows in Figs. 7-8B that the disclosed device is capable of achieving multiple such states and the modification taught by Heiges further provides the benefit to having the guide portion beneficially shaped to gently, directly contact the vertebra, i.e. to shield the nearby soft tissue from exposure to the tool inserted therein and thereby reduce the potential of unnecessary tissue damage to the final fibers against the vertebra.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that Marchek is directed more at tissue retraction away from an operation location and discloses no version of the claimed guide portion (Remarks p. 14-15), Examiner notes that these arguments are not relevant to the claimed invention. That is, claim 1 does not provide any limitations that preclude a device for retracting tissue from reading on the claimed invention nor does claim 1 provide any limitations that define the guide portion to differentiate from Marchek element 614 as shown in Figs. 23 and 24. Instead, claim 1 merely provides that the device is capable of use when operation in a pedicle of a patient, which the device of Marchek is clearly capable of doing and would provide a known benefit of retracting the soft tissue as argued. With regards to the guide portion, it is unclear what structural requirements Applicant is reading into this limitation as such has not been identified in the argument; as detailed below and in the non-final office action dated May 21, 2026, Marchek discloses the guide portion 614 as shown in Figs. 23 and 24 which is clearly shown in Figs. 23 and 24 to be fitted within sleeve 605.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that Marchek discloses no sleeve that protectively encapsulates any forward extremity of any internally arranged tool or guide portion as 614 extends always out of the end of the sleeve 605 (Remarks p. 15), Examiner notes that it is not claimed that the sleeve protectively encapsulates any forward extremity of any internally arranged tool or guide portion as argued. Instead, claim 1 provides that the sleeve removably fits around the guide portion and has a resiliently openable forward end that has a convex, finger-like shape where the guide portion is capable of extending from the forward end when the sleeve is retracted and the forward end of the sleeve is capable of closing and fitting around an extremity of the guide portion upon retraction of the guide. As detailed below and in the non-final office action dated May 21, 2026, Marchek in view of Bush reads on the claimed invention where Marcheck discloses guide portion 614 in sleeve 605 and Bush teaches modifying the sleeve to be removable and resiliently openable and capable of performing the provided functions.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that Seex has no forward end of a sleeve that may immobilize a distal end of a guide portion (Remarks p. 15-16), Examiner notes that immobilizing a distal end of a guide portion has not been claimed. Further, it has not been asserted that Seex has a sleeve. Instead, Marchek discloses a sleeve and Bush teaches modifications of the sleeve as detailed below and in the non-final office action dated May 21, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the navigational tool comprises a ring or multiple rings” of claims 10 and 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1 is/are unclear with regards to “a patient, comprising:” in lines 1-2 and the missing noun prior to comprising. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “A device for operating on a pedicle within a patient, the device comprising:”
Claim(s) 18 is/are unclear with regards to thereof in line 2 and the claimed forward end that is in addition to the forward extremity and to what such a forward end is intended to refer and is also unclear if such refers to the guide portion or the navigational tool. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “the guide portion is provided with a navigational tool at or near the forward extremity.”.
Claim(s) 2-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for its/their dependence on one or more rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bush et al. (US 2019/0269469, hereinafter “Bush”) in view of Heiges et al. (US 2010/0217088, hereinafter “Heiges”).
As to claims 1, 11, 14, and 15, Bush discloses a device (40, Figs. 2-4A, 7-8B, 16, and 17, ¶114 discloses that operation of 40 is described in Fig. 16 and 17 for inserting 100 for penetrating the vertebrae and 100 secured within the pedicle) capable of operating on a pedicle (¶s 47 and 114, where ¶114 discloses that operation of 40 is described in Fig. 16 and 17 for inserting 100 for penetrating the vertebrae and 100 secured within the pedicle) within a patient (Figs. 8A, 8B, 16, and 17), the device comprising: a guide portion (42) comprising a guide channel (73, 78) extending longitudinally the guide portion (as defined, Figs. 7-8B) capable of guiding a tool (46) to the pedicle (Figs. 7-8B, 16, and 17, ¶114), a handle (48, 44a, 36, Fig. 3, ¶49) mounted or capable of mounting to the guide portion (Fig. 3, ¶49), and a sleeve (72) which removably fits around the guide portion (Figs. 2-4A, 7, and 8B), the sleeve having a forward end (76) capable of opening (Figs. 2 and 7-8B, ¶77) through which the tool is capable of extending when the sleeve is retracted relative to the guide portion (Figs. 8A and 8B, ¶83), wherein the forward end of the sleeve is resiliently openable (¶78 discloses flexible material that forms a living hinge), whereby the forward end is capable of closing and fitting around an extremity of the guide portion upon retraction of the guide portion into the sleeve (Figs. 7-8B, where ¶78 discloses flexible material that forms a living hinge), and the forward end of the sleeve has a convex, fingertip-like shape (Figs. 2 and 7) when the guide portion does not extend through the forward end (Figs. 2 and 7); where the tool comprises sleeve-engaging features (90, Figs. 7-8B, ¶s 74 and 75) and guide portion engaging features (69a, 69b, Fig. 7, ¶54). As to claim 2, Bush discloses that the handle and the guide portion are removable from each other (Fig. 3). As to claim 14, Bush discloses that the sleeve is provided with sidewards extending finger handles (left projection at 74 as shown in Fig. 7, right projection at 74 as shown in Fig. 7 Fig. 7) capable of enabling an operator to retract the sleeve with his fingers (Fig. 8B, ¶83). As to claim 15, Bush discloses that the sleeve and the guide portion have a snug fit (¶72) with respect to each other with a matching internal and external shape, respectively (Figs. 2 and 7, ¶72).
Bush is silent to the guide portion is configured to extend through the openable forward end when the sleeve is retracted relative to the guide portion whilst the guide portion is received in the sleeve, and wherein the guide portion has a forward extremity that is shaped to stably position the guide portion on the pedicle when extended out of the sleeve. As to claim 11, Bush is silent to the forward extremity of the guide portion is V-shaped.
Heiges teaches similar device (Figs. 1-12B and 18A-18D) capable of operating on a vertebra (¶81) within a patient (¶81), the device comprising: a guide portion (154, Figs. 18A-18D) comprising a guide channel (160) extending longitudinally along the guide portion (Figs. 18A-18D, ¶84) capable of guiding a tool to the pedicle (due to the shape as shown in Figs. 18A-18D and described in ¶81, Figs. 18A-18D, ¶81), a handle mounted or capable of mounting to the guide portion (upper portion as shown in Fig. 18A, 156, Fig .18A), and a sleeve (1) which removably fits around the guide portion (Figs. 1 and 18A-18D, ¶s 78, 80, and 81), the sleeve having an open forward end (Figs. 1 and 11A) through which the guide portion is capable of extending when the sleeve is retracted relative to the guide portion whilst the guide portion is received in the sleeve (due to the shown shapes, ¶s 78, 80, and 81), wherein the guide portion has a forward extremity (lower portion as shown in Figs. 18A, 18B, and 18D) that is capable of a stably positioning the guide portion on a pedicle when extended out of the sleeve (due to the shown shape, Figs. 18A, 18B, and 18D, ¶81). As to claim 11, Heiges teaches that forward extremity of the guide portion is V-shaped (Figs. 18B). As to claim 15, Heiges teaches that the sleeve and the guide portion have a snug fit with respect to each other with a matching internal and external shape, respectively (Heiges Figs. 1, 11A, and 18A-D, ¶s 80 and 81).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the guide portion and tool as disclosed by Bush such that the guide portion has a forward extremity that is shaped to stably position the guide portion on the pedicle when extended out of the sleeve and the tool translates within the guide portion as taught by Heiges in order to provide an anatomically concave shape at the forward end of the guide channel that will gently divide/separate the muscle and fiber tissue attached to the vertebral body interface along the spine and enable rotation of the guide portion to gently sweep/dilate the muscle and fiber tissue and subsequently maintain outside the working area to provide a less disruptive means of exposure thereby reducing the need for cutting or electro-cauterizing the final fibers while providing better access to the target area of surgery (Heiges ¶81). In forming the combination, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool surfaces that engage the guide channel of Bush to accordingly engage the guide channel of the guide portion of Heiges, since Applicant has not disclosed that such is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of predictably sizing the tool to engage the channel (Bush Figs. 7-8B). In forming the combination, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the guide portion of the combination of Bush and Heiges comprises the sleeve-engaging features of the tool of Bush, since Applicant has not disclosed that such is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of releasably engaging the sleeve (Bush Figs. 7-8B ¶74).
Claim(s) 3-5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bush and Heiges in view of Epstein et al. (US 2009/0299147, hereinafter “Epstein”).
As to claims 3-5, the combination of Bush and Heiges discloses the invention of claim 2. As to claim 4, the combination of Bush and Heiges discloses that the sleeve is provided with sidewards extending finger handles (Bush left projection at 74 as shown in Fig. 7, right projection at 74 as shown in Fig. 7 Fig. 7) capable of enabling an operator to retract the sleeve with his fingers (Bush Fig. 8B, ¶83). As to claim 5, the combination of Bush and Heiges discloses that the sleeve and the guide portion have a snug fit (Bush ¶72; Heiges ¶s 80 and 81) with respect to each other with a matching internal and external shape, respectively (Bush Figs. 2 and 7, ¶72; Heiges Figs. 1, 11A, and 18A-D, ¶s 80 and 81).
The combination of Bush and Heiges is silent to a blunt angle exists between the handle and the guide portion to accommodate an operator to stably orient and position the guide portion with reference to the pedicle.
Epstein teaches a similar device (10, Fig. 1-3) capable of use in retracting tissue (abstract) for operating on a patient (abstract, ¶3), said device comprising: a guide portion (34) comprising a bearing (36), and a handle (30, 12, Fig. 1-3, ¶22) mounted or capable of mounting to the guide portion (Fig. 1-3), the handle comprising a connection nub (24); wherein the handle and the guide portion are removable from each other (via threaded connection of 36 and 24 as disclosed in ¶23, Figs. 1-2, ¶23); wherein a blunt angle (when hinge joint 22 is positioned accordingly, Figs. 1-3, ¶20) exists between the handle and the guide portion capable of accommodating an operator to stably orient and position the guide portion with reference to a pedicle (¶s 20 and 25).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the connection between the guide portion and the handle as disclosed by the combination of Bush and Heiges to be the bearing and nub connection as taught by Epstein in order to aid in introducing the guide portion into most surgical sites using traditional minimally invasive incisions (Epstein ¶22) with an adjustable connection angle and grip angle (Epstein ¶s 24 and 25).
As to claim 13, the combination of Bush and Heiges discloses the invention of claim 1.
The combination of Bush and Heiges is silent to a blunt angle exists between the handle and the guide portion to accommodate an operator to stably orient and position the guide portion with reference to the pedicle.
Epstein teaches a similar device (10, Fig. 1-3) capable of use in retracting tissue (abstract) for operating on a patient (abstract, ¶3), said device comprising: a guide portion (34) comprising a bearing (36), and a handle (30, 12, Fig. 1-3, ¶22) mounted or mountable to the guide portion (Fig. 1-3), the handle comprising a connection nub (24); wherein the handle and the guide portion are removable from each other (via threaded connection of 36 and 24 as disclosed in ¶23, Figs. 1-2, ¶23); wherein a blunt angle (when hinge joint 22 is positioned accordingly, Figs. 1-3, ¶20) exists between the handle and the guide portion capable of accommodating an operator to stably orient and position the guide portion with reference to a pedicle (¶s 20 and 25).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the connection between the guide portion and the handle as disclosed by the combination of Bush and Heiges to be the bearing and nub connection as taught by Epstein in order to aid in introducing the guide portion into most surgical sites using traditional minimally invasive incisions (Epstein ¶22) with an adjustable connection angle and grip angle (Epstein ¶s 24 and 25).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bush and Heiges in view of Mebarak (US 2015/0223824).
As to claims 18-20, the combination of Bush and Heiges discloses the invention of claim 1 as well as the guide portion forms a navigational tool (concavity/v-shape of forward end, Fig. 18B) at or near the forward extremity (Fig. 18B).
The combination of Bush and Heiges is silent to the guide portion is provided with a navigational tool at or near the forward extremity. As to claim 19, the combination of Bush and Heiges is silent to the navigational tool is an element that is x-ray detectable. As to claim 20, the combination of Bush and Heiges is silent to the navigational tool comprises a ring or multiple rings which is or are x-ray detectable.
Mebarak teaches a similar guiding device (10, Fig. 1) capable of use in guiding drill guides, k-wires, and bone screws (¶26) for operating on a patient (¶11), said device comprising: a guide portion (14) comprising a guide channel (30s) capable of use for guiding a tool to the bone (¶26), and a handle (12, Fig. 1) mounted or mountable to the guide portion (Fig. 1), wherein the guide portion is provided with a navigational tool (34) at or near a forward extremity (Fig. 1). As to claim 19, Mebarak teaches that the navigational tool is an element that is x-ray detectable (¶27 discloses at least region 36 of 34 is substantially radio-opaque). As to claim 20, Mebarak teaches that the navigational tool comprises a ring which is or are x-ray detectable (¶27 discloses that 34 is a concentric circle and that at least region 36 of 34 is substantially radio-opaque).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the guide portion as disclosed by the combination of Bush and Heiges by adding a radio-opaque navigational ring as taught by Mebarak in order to aid in achieving simple and proper visual alignment of a target and surgical jig (Mebarak ¶7) by enabling a user to take a fluoroscopic image to compare the alignment of the guide channel with the associated navigational ring to the target bone (Mebarak ¶31).
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marchek et al. (US 2005/0137461, hereinafter “Marchek”) in view of Seex (US 20050137461) and Bush.
As to claims 1, 12, and 15, Marchek discloses a device (610, Figs. 23 and 24) capable of use for operating on a pedicle within a patient (¶3 discloses use in minimally invasive spine surgery), the device comprising: a guide portion (614) capable of guiding a tool to the pedicle (¶3 discloses use in minimally invasive spine surgery), a handle (upper portion of 612 as shown in Figs. 23 and 24, Figs. 23 and 24) mounted or capable of mounting to the guide portion (Figs. 23 and 24), and a sleeve (605) fits around the guide portion (¶78 discloses that the sleeve surrounds the guide portion), the sleeve having a forward end (lower end as shown in Figs. 23 and 24, Figs. 23 and 24) through which the guide portion is capable of extending whilst the guide portion is received in the sleeve (Figs. 23 and 24), and the forward end of the sleeve has a convex shape (Figs. 23 and 24) when the guide portion does not extend through said forward end (due to the shape of the guide portion on the lower right surface as shown in Figs. 23 and 24, Figs. 23 and 24), and wherein the guide portion has a forward extremity that is shaped to a stably position the guide portion on the pedicle when extended out of the sleeve (Figs. 23 and 24, ¶3 discloses use in minimally invasive spine surgery). As to claim 15, Marchek discloses that the sleeve and the guide portion have a snug fit (¶79) with respect to each other with a matching internal and external shape, respectively (¶s 78 and 79).
Marchek is silent to the guide portion comprising a guide channel extending longitudinally along the guide portion, the sleeve removably fits around the guide portion, the sleeve forward end being openable through which the guide portion is configured to extend when the sleeve is retracted relative to the guide portion whilst the guide portion is received in the sleeve, wherein the forward end of the sleeve is resiliently openable, whereby the forward end configured to close and fit around an extremity of the guide portion upon retraction of the guide portion into the sleeve, and the convex shape is fingertip-like when the guide portion does not extend through the forward end. As to claim 12, Marchek is silent to the guide portion comprises two or more guide channels that are at least partly separated from each other.
Seex teaches a similar device (Figs. 7, 15, 17, and 18) capable of use for operating on a pedicle within a patient (Figs. 15, 17, and 18), the device comprising: a guide portion (80) comprising a guide channel (87) extending longitudinally along the guide portion (Figs. 7 and 18) capable of guiding a tool (126, 127, 128, Fig. 18) to the pedicle (Figs. 15, 17, and 18, ¶111 discloses a contour 85 to accommodate the bone contour), a handle (74) mounted or capable of mounting to the guide portion (Figs. 7 and 15, ¶s 110 and 111), and wherein the guide portion has a forward extremity that is shaped to a stably position the guide portion on the pedicle (¶111 discloses a contour 85 to accommodate the bone contour). As to claim 12, Seex teaches that the guide portion comprises two or more guide channels (88, 89) that are at least partly separated from each other (Fig. 7).
Bush teaches a similar device (40, Figs. 2-4A, 7-8B, 16, and 17, ¶114 discloses that operation of 40 is described in Fig. 16 and 17 for inserting 100 for penetrating the vertebrae and 100 secured within the pedicle) capable of operating on a pedicle (¶s 47 and 114, where ¶114 discloses that operation of 40 is described in Fig. 16 and 17 for inserting 100 for penetrating the vertebrae and 100 secured within the pedicle) within a patient (Figs. 8A, 8B, 16, and 17), the device comprising: a guide portion (42) comprising a guide channel (73, 78) extending longitudinally the guide portion (as defined, Figs. 7-8B) capable of guiding a tool (46) to the pedicle (Figs. 7-8B, 16, and 17, ¶114), a handle (48, 44a, 36, Fig. 3, ¶49) mounted or capable of mounting to the guide portion (Fig. 3, ¶49), and a sleeve (72) which removably fits around the guide portion (Figs. 2-4A, 7, and 8B), the sleeve having a forward end (76) capable of opening (Figs. 2 and 7-8B, ¶77) through which the tool is capable of extending when the sleeve is retracted relative to the guide portion (Figs. 8A and 8B, ¶83), wherein the forward end of the sleeve is resiliently openable (¶78 discloses flexible material that forms a living hinge), whereby the forward end is capable of closing and fitting around an extremity of the guide portion upon retraction of the guide portion into the sleeve (Figs. 7-8B, where ¶78 discloses flexible material that forms a living hinge), and the forward end of the sleeve has a convex, fingertip-like shape (Figs. 2 and 7) when the guide portion does not extend through the forward end (Figs. 2 and 7); where the tool comprises sleeve-engaging features (90, Figs. 7-8B, ¶s 74 and 75) and guide portion engaging features (69a, 69b, Fig. 7, ¶54).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the guide portion as disclosed by Marchek by adding a guide channel as taught by Seex in order to receive one or more tools and to provide a stiffer flexibility for higher tissue pressures loads (Seex ¶111). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the sleeve as disclosed by Marchek to be removable and have a resiliently openable forward end that the guide portion is able to extend through as taught by Bush in order to prevent ingress of tissue within the sleeve as the sleeve is positioned within the tissue (Bush ¶77), i.e. to surround the guide portion to inhibit tissue impingement (Marchek ¶78).
As to claims 2 and 3, the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush discloses the invention of claim 1.
The combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is silent to the handle and the guide portion are removable from each other. As to claim 3, the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is silent to a blunt angle exists between the handle and the guide portion to accommodate an operator to stably orient and position the guide portion with reference to the pedicle.
Seex further teaches that the handle and the guide portion are removable from each other (Fig. 7 and 15, ¶s 110, 111, and 115). As to claim 3, Seex further teaches that a blunt angle (Fig. 7 and 15, ¶s 110, 111, and 115) exists between the handle and the guide portion (Fig. 7 and 15, ¶s 110, 111, and 115) capable of accommodating an operator to stably orient and position the guide portion with reference to the pedicle (if one so chooses, ¶111 discloses a contour 85 to accommodate the bone contour).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the handle as disclosed by the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush to be a handle portion capable of removably attaching to a removable handle and adding a removable handle as taught by Seex in order to predictably attach and retain a handle that is free to slide as required by the operating environment (Seex ¶110).
As to claims 4 and 5, the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush discloses the invention of claim 3. As to claim 5, the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush discloses that the sleeve and the guide portion have a snug fit (Marchek ¶79) with respect to each other with a matching internal and external shape, respectively (Marchek ¶s 78 and 79).
The combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is silent to the sleeve is provided with sidewards extending finger handles to enable an operator to retract the sleeve with his fingers.
Bush further teaches that the sleeve is provided with sidewards extending finger handles (left projection at 74 as shown in Fig. 7, right projection at 74 as shown in Fig. 7 Fig. 7) capable of enabling an operator to retract the sleeve with his fingers (Fig. 8B, ¶83). As to claim 5, further teaches that the sleeve and the tool have a snug fit (¶72) with respect to each other with a matching internal and external shape, respectively (¶72).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the sleeve as disclosed by the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush by adding sidewards extending finger handles as taught by Bush in order to aid the surgeon in manually retracting the sleeve to expose the forward end of the guide portion (Bush ¶83), i.e. by providing a handle for gripping.
As to claim 6, the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush discloses the invention of claim 5.
The combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is silent to the sleeve and the guide portion have a matching key and keyway.
Marchek, in another embodiment, teaches a similar device (210, Figs. 10-13), said device comprising: a guide portion (214), a handle (portion to the left of 212 as shown in Fig. 10, Fig. 10), and a sleeve (212) fits around the guide portion (Fig. 10), wherein the sleeve and the guide portion have a matching key and keyway (215 and 217).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify/specify that the sleeve and guide portion as disclosed by the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush have a matching key and keyway as taught by Bush in order to limit the motion of the guide portions to one direction that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the sleeve (Marchek ¶64).
As to claim 7, the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush discloses the invention of claim 5.
The combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is silent to the matching internal and external shape is a rectangular shape.
Seex further teaches that the matching internal and external shape is a rectangular shape (due to sidewalls 82 and backwall 81, Fig. 7)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify/specify that the matching internal and external shape of the sleeve and guide portion as disclosed by the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is a rectangular shape as taught by Seex in order to provide a known shape for the guide portion (Seex Fig. 7).
As to claim 16, the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush discloses the invention of claim 15.
The combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is silent to the sleeve and the guide portion have a matching key and keyway.
Marchek, in another embodiment, teaches a similar device (210, Figs. 10-13), said device comprising: a guide portion (214), a handle (portion to the left of 212 as shown in Fig. 10, Fig. 10), and a sleeve (212) fits around the guide portion (Fig. 10), wherein the sleeve and the guide portion have a matching key and keyway (215 and 217).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify/specify that the sleeve and guide portion as disclosed by the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush have a matching key and keyway as taught by Bush in order to limit the motion of the guide portions to one direction that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the sleeve (Marchek ¶64).
As to claim 17, the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush discloses the invention of claim 15.
The combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is silent to the matching internal and external shape is a rectangular shape.
Seex further teaches that the matching internal and external shape is a rectangular shape (due to sidewalls 82 and backwall 81, Fig. 7)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify/specify that the matching internal and external shape of the sleeve and guide portion as disclosed by the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is a rectangular shape as taught by Seex in order to provide a known shape for the guide portion (Seex Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marchek, Seex, and Bush in view of Mebarak (US 2015/0223824).
As to claims 8-10, the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush discloses the invention of claim 7 as well as the guide portion forms with a navigational tool (concavity/v-shape of forward end, Fig. 18B) at or near the forward extremity (Fig. 18B).
The combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is silent to the guide portion is provided with a navigational tool at or near the forward extremity. As to claim 9, the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is silent to the navigational tool is an element that is x-ray detectable. As to claim 10, the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush is silent to the navigational tool comprises a ring or multiple rings which is or are x-ray detectable.
Mebarak teaches a similar guiding device (10, Fig. 1) capable of use in guiding drill guides, k-wires, and bone screws (¶26) for operating on a patient (¶11), said device comprising: a guide portion (14) comprising a guide channel (30s) capable of use for guiding a tool to the bone (¶26), and a handle (12, Fig. 1) mounted or mountable to the guide portion (Fig. 1), wherein the guide portion is provided with a navigational tool (34) at or near a forward extremity (Fig. 1). As to claim 9, Mebarak teaches that the navigational tool is an element that is x-ray detectable (¶27 discloses at least region 36 of 34 is substantially radio-opaque). As to claim 10, Mebarak teaches that the navigational tool comprises a ring which is or are x-ray detectable (¶27 discloses that 34 is a concentric circle and that at least region 36 of 34 is substantially radio-opaque).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the guide portion as disclosed by the combination of Marchek, Seex, and Bush by adding a radio-opaque navigational ring as taught by Mebarak in order to aid in achieving simple and proper visual alignment of a target and surgical jig (Mebarak ¶7) by enabling a user to take a fluoroscopic image to compare the alignment of the guide channel with the associated navigational ring to the target bone (Mebarak ¶31).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775