DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasebe et al. (US Patent No.: 5889342).
For claim 1, Hasebe et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a rotor shaft (reference numeral 2, figure 3) and a rotor body (reference numeral 30) which is rotationally fixed to the rotor shaft and is formed from a plurality of stacked rotor laminations (see figure 3, and column 3, lines 24-27), through which a plurality of first cooling channels (reference numeral 32a) run that extend in the axial direction through the rotor body (see figure 3), the rotor shaft (reference numeral 2) having a first rotor shaft channel (reference numeral 23a, see figure 3) extending in the radial direction through which a cooling fluid can flow (see figure 3), which is fluidically connected to a first supply channel (reference numeral 24a, see figure 3) extending in the radial direction through the rotor body (see figure 3), which opens into one of the first cooling channels (reference numeral 32a) extending in the axial direction (see figure 3), wherein the first supply channel (reference numeral 24a) in the rotor body has a first channel outlet with a first fluid guide element (i.e. radially outer end of first supply channel 24a axially adjacent to the first cooling channel 32a can be considered a first fluid guide element, see figure 3) configured such that the cooling fluid, to which centrifugal force is applied during operation of the rotor, is supplied with a force component which acts in the axial direction when the cooling fluid exits the first channel outlet (i.e. fluid acts in the axial direction when flowing into the first cooling channel 32a from first supply channel 24a, see figure 3).
For claim 2, Hasebe et al. discloses the rotor body having a first cover plate (reference numeral 21a) disposed at a first axial end of the rotor body (reference numeral 30) and that defines the first supply channel (reference numeral 24a, see figure 3).
For claim 3, Hasebe et al. disclose the first cover plate including a first groove that defines the first supply channel (i.e. groove in plate 21a that defines the first supply channel 24a, see figure 3) in cooperation with a rotor lamination of the rotor body (reference numeral 30) axially adjacent to the first cover plate (reference numeral 21a, see figure 3).
For claim 6, Hasebe et al. disclose a plurality of second cooling channels (reference numeral 32b) extending axially through the rotor body (reference numeral 30, see figure 3), and the rotor shaft (reference numeral 2) has a second rotor shaft channel (reference numeral 23b) extending in the radial direction through which a cooling fluid can flow (see figure 3), which is fluidically connected to a second supply channel (reference numeral 24b) extending in the radial direction through the rotor body and which opens into one of the second cooling channels (reference numerals 32b) extending in the axial direction (see figure 3), wherein the second supply channel (reference numeral 24b) in the rotor body has a second channel outlet with a second fluid guide element (i.e. radially outer end of second supply channel 24b axially adjacent to the second cooling channel 32b can be considered a second fluid guide element, see figure 3) configured such that the cooling fluid that is subjected to centrifugal force during operation of the rotor is supplied with a force component which acts in the axial direction when the cooling fluid exits the second channel outlet (i.e. fluid acts in the axial direction when flowing into the second cooling channel 32b from second supply channel 24b, see figure 3).
For claim 7, Hasebe et al. disclose the first supply channel (reference numeral 24a) and the second supply channel (reference numeral 24b) being configured such that the cooling fluid flows through the first and second cooling channels (reference numerals 32a, 32b) respectively coupled thereto in different directions (i.e. see arrows inside cooling channels 32a, 32b pointing in opposite directions in figure 3).
For claim 8, Hasebe et al. disclose the rotor body having a second cover plate (reference numeral 21b) disposed at a second axial end of the rotor body (reference numeral 30) and that defines the second supply channel (reference numeral 24b, see figure 3).
For claim 9, Hasebe et al. disclose outlet openings (reference numerals 25a, 25b) on the first and second cover plates (reference numerals 21a, 21b) that are fluidically connected to the first and second cooling channels (reference numerals 32a, 32b, see figure 3), i.e. the first cover plate has a first outlet opening extending axially through the first cover plate which is fluidically connected to the first cooling channel, and the second cover plate has a second outlet opening extending axially through the second cover plate and being fluidically connected to the second cooling channel.
For claim 11, Hasebe et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a rotor shaft (reference numeral 2, figure 3) including a first rotor shaft channel (reference numeral 23a, see figure 3); and a rotor body (reference numeral 30) rotationally fixed to the rotor shaft and having a first cooling channel (reference numeral 32a) that extends axially within the rotor body (see figure 3) and a first supply channel (reference numeral 24a, see figure 3) that is aligned with the first rotor shaft channel (reference numeral 23a) and extends radially outboard therefrom to a first channel outlet (i.e. radially outer end of first supply channel 24a) adjacent to the first cooling channel to fluidically connect the first rotor shaft channel (reference numeral 23a) and the first cooling channel (reference numeral 32a, see figure 3), wherein the first channel outlet includes a first fluid guide element (i.e. radially outer end of first supply channel 24a that is axially adjacent to first cooling channel 32a) that is configured to deflect fluid flowing radially outboard within the first supply channel (reference numeral 24a) due to rotation of the rotor axially along the first cooling channel (see figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasebe et al. as applied to claims 1, 3, and 11 above, and further in view of Kakiuchi (Japanese Patent Document No.: JP 2020096474 A).
For claim 4, Hasebe et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first fluid guide element being formed as a first ramp inclined in the axial direction in the first groove. Having a ramp configuration is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Kakiuchi which discloses a ramp configuration formed in the end plate (i.e. curved portion of end plate 5 axially adjacent to the axial cooling passages 33a, 33b, see figure 1), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the curved configuration as disclosed by Kakiuchi for providing a first ramp for the first fluid guide element of Hasebe et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing the cooling characteristics of the device.
For claim 5, Hasebe et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first fluid guide element including a ramp inclined in the axial direction and protruding from a plane of the first cover plate. Having a ramp configuration is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Kakiuchi which discloses a ramp configuration formed in the end plate that is inclined in the axial direction (i.e. curved portion of end plate 5 axially adjacent to the axial cooling passages 33a, 33b, see figure 1), and Kakiuchi also disclose a plane of the end plate 5 that is attached to the flange portion 21 of shaft 2 (see figure 1), and the ramp/curved portion of the end plate can be considered to be protruding from this plane of end plate 5 (see figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ramp inclined in the axial direction and protruding from a plane of the end plate as disclosed by Kakiuchi for the first fluid guide element of Hasebe et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing the cooling characteristics of the device.
For claim 12, Hasebe et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first fluid guide element including a ramp that extends at an incline radially outboard and in a first axial direction relative to an adjacent portion of the rotor body that is radially inboard of the ramp to deflect the fluid along the first cooling channel in the first axial direction. Having a ramp configuration relative to an adjacent portion of the rotor body is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Kakiuchi which discloses a ramp configuration formed in the end plate (i.e. curved portion of end plate 5 axially adjacent to the axial cooling passages 33a, 33b, see figure 1), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the curved configuration as disclosed by Kakiuchi for providing a ramp for the first fluid guide element of Hasebe et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing the cooling characteristics of the device.
For claim 13, Hasebe et al. disclose the rotor body including a plurality of stacked rotor laminations (reference numeral 30, see figure 3, and column 3, lines 24-27) and a first end plate (reference numeral 21a) disposed at a first axial end of the plurality of stacked rotor laminations (see figure 3), and wherein the first supply channel (reference numeral 24a) is defined by the first cover plate (reference numeral 21a, see figure 3).
For claim 14, Hasebe et al. disclose the first cover plate (reference numeral 21a) cooperating with one or more of the plurality of stacked rotor laminations (reference numeral 30) to define the first supply channel (reference numeral 24a, see figure 3).
For claim 15, Hasebe et al. disclose a radially outer end of the first supply channel (reference numeral 24a) on the first cover plate (reference numeral 21a) which can be considered the first fluid guide element (see figure 3), i.e. the first fluid guide element is a portion of the first cover plate.
For claim 17, Hasebe et al. disclose the rotor shaft (reference numeral 2) including a second rotor shaft channel (reference numeral 23b, see figure 3), and the rotor body including a second cooling channel (reference numeral 32b) that extends axially within the rotor body (reference numeral 30) and a second supply channel (reference numeral 24b) that is aligned with the second rotor shaft channel and extends radially outboard therefrom to a second channel outlet (i.e. radially outer end of second supply channel 24b) adjacent to the second cooling channel to fluidically connect the second rotor shaft channel (reference numeral 23b) and the second cooling channel (reference numeral 32b, see figure 3), wherein the second channel outlet includes a second fluid guide element (i.e. radially outer end of second supply channel 24b axially adjacent to the second cooling channel 32b can be considered a second fluid guide element, see figure 3) that is configured to deflect fluid flowing radially outboard within the second supply channel (reference numeral 24b) due to rotation of the rotor axially along the second cooling channel (reference numeral 32b) in a second axial direction that is opposite the first axial direction (i.e. arrows shown in first and second cooling channels 32a, 32b pointing in opposite directions, see figure 3).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasebe et al. as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kato et al. (US Patent No.: 9577496).
For claim 10, Hasebe et al. disclose the claimed invention except for at least one of the first cover plate and the second cover plate including a sensor reading region via which the at least one of the rotor speed and the rotor position can be determined by a sensor. Kato et al. disclose a cover plate (reference numeral 31a, figure 20) having a sensor reading region (i.e. portion of cover 31a adjacent to a sensor component 43, see figure 20), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a sensor reading region as disclosed by Kato et al. for at least one of the first cover plate and the second cover plate of Hasebe et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the sensing function within the device.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasebe et al. in view of Kakiuchi as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Sakakibara (Japanese Patent Document No.: JP 2013059193 A).
For claim 16, Hasebe et al. in view of Kakiuchi disclose the claimed invention except for the first fluid guide element protruding axially into the first cooling channel. Sakakibara discloses a fluid guide element (reference numerals 54, 55) protruding axially into the cooling channel (reference numeral 40, see figures 6, 7), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fluid guide element protruding axially into the cooling channel as disclosed by Sakakibara for the first fluid guide element of Hasebe et al. in view of Kakiuchi for predictably providing desirable configuration for optimizing the cooling characteristics of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of rotor cooling configurations: US 12218550 B2 (Madduri; Bharath et al.), US 9985500 B2 (Rippel; Wally E. et al.), US 9960649 B2 (Yoshinori; Manabu et al.), US 9627943 B2 (Tokunaga; Hiroyuki et al.), US 8896167 B2 (McKinzie; Kyle K. et al.), US 8492941 B2 (Endo; Yasuhiro), US 20230179051 A1 (Siepker; Carsten et al.), US 20210305876 A1 (VANHEE; Steven et al.), US 20030030333 A1 (Johnsen, Tyrone A.).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834