DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-19 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/02/2025 is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION – The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre- AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lacks antecedent basis for “the aperture,” “the casing,” and “the motion sensing component” in the limitations of “a security alarm for a vehicle, the security alarm comprising: a housing having: inner and outer casings; the inner casing having an interior and an exterior surface, and at least one aperture extending between the interior and the exterior surfaces; the outer casing configured to overlie the inner casing; the outer casing having interior and exterior surfaces and arranged to be secured to the inner casing so that the interior surface of the exterior casing overlies at least a part of the exterior surface of the inner casing with the exterior casing covering the aperture; wherein the exterior surface of the inner casing and the interior surface of the outer casing define a spatial volume communicating between the aperture and the exterior surface of the inner casing and the interior surface of the outer casing, being separated by a dimension between 1mm and 5mm; a base comprising an attachment to attach the housing to a surface of a vehicle, the casing and the base defining an interior space; and at least one motion sensing component comprising an audio element, the at least one motion sensing component being located within the interior space of the housing so that each audio element is located adjacent an aperture of the casing; the motion sensing component being configured to detect movement of the housing and to generate an alarm signal from the audio element in response to said movement.”
Claim 5 lacks antecedent basis for “the lower edges” in the limitations of “wherein the lower edges of the one or more sides are straight and parallel to the base of the inner casing.”
Claim 9 lacks antecedent basis for “the lower edge or edges” and “the length of the lower edge” in the limitations of “wherein the dimension between the lower edge or edges and the inner casing, along the length of the lower edge is substantially constant.”
Claim 12 lacks antecedent basis for “the radius,” “the curved edge,” and “the ends” in the limitations of “wherein the radius of curvature of the curved edge is greater at the ends thereof than in a central portion.”
Claim 14 lacks antecedent basis for “the sides” in the limitations of “wherein the sides of the outer casing are in parallel spaced relation to corresponding sides of the inner casing being separated by a distance of 1mm to 5mm.”
Claim 16 lacks antecedent basis for “the lower edge or edges” and “the length of the lower edge” in the limitations of “wherein the dimension between the lower edge or edges and the inner casing, along the length of the lower edge is substantially constant.”
Claims 2-19 are further rejected because of being dependent on a rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael Horsfall (Horsfall – GB 2585239 A) in view of Bouchuiguir et al. (Bouchuiguir – US 2023/0380495 A1).
As to claim 1, Horsfall a security alarm for a vehicle, the security alarm comprising:
a housing (Horsfall: Abstract, page 6 lines 10-24, page 7 lines 4-12, and FIG. 1 the housing 2: A security alarm 1 for a vehicle comprises: a housing 2 having a casing 5a having interior and exterior surfaces, and at least one aperture 23 extending between the surfaces, a flexible base 4 comprising an attachment means to attach the housing to a surface of a vehicle) having:
inner (Horsfall: FIG. 1 the casing 5a) and outer casings (Horsfall: FIG. 7-9 the cover 30);
the inner casing having an interior and an exterior surface (Horsfall: Abstract, page 5 lines 8-26, page 7 lines 14-page 8 lines 5, page 8 lines 26-33, and FIG. 1 the casing 5a: A security alarm 1 for a vehicle comprises: a housing 2 having a casing 5a having interior and exterior surfaces, and at least one aperture 23 extending between the surfaces, a flexible base 4 comprising an attachment means to attach the housing to a surface of a vehicle), and at least one aperture (FIG. 1 the apertures 23) extending between the interior and the exterior surfaces (Horsfall: Abstract, page 1 lines 20-34, page 3 lines 30-page 4 lines 16, page 5 lines 8-26, page 7 lines 14-page 8 lines 25, and FIG. 1 the casing 5a having the apertures 23: Each aperture 23 has a flange 25 extending from a mouth of the aperture 23 into the interior space of the housing 2. The flange 25 is located around the circumference of the mouth and the cross-sectional dimension of the flange 25 decreases so that the flange 25 is tapered in a direction towards the opposed side walls 22);
the outer casing configured to overlie the inner casing (Horsfall: Abstract, page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 6-25, and FIG. 7-9 the cover 30: The cover 30 is adapted to be placed over and may be snap fitted to the casing 5a. When the cover 30 is attached to the housing 2 the two domed regions 35 are located over each aperture 23 whilst the linear portion 36 of the central wall 34 abuts the upper wall 24 of the casing 5a. The cover is adapted to help prevent water from contacting the security alarm 1);
the outer casing having interior and exterior surfaces and arranged to be secured to the inner casing so that the interior surface of the exterior casing overlies at least a part of the exterior surface of the inner casing with the exterior casing covering the aperture (Horsfall: Abstract, page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 6-25, and FIG. 7-9 the cover 30: The cover 30 is adapted to be placed over and may be snap fitted to the casing 5a. When the cover 30 is attached to the housing 2 the two domed regions 35 are located over each aperture 23 whilst the linear portion 36 of the central wall 34 abuts the upper wall 24 of the casing 5a. The cover is adapted to help prevent water from contacting the security alarm 1);
wherein the exterior surface of the inner casing and the interior surface of the outer casing define a spatial volume communicating between the aperture and the exterior surface of the inner casing and the interior surface of the outer casing (Horsfall: Abstract, page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 6-25, and FIG. 7-9 the cover 30: The cover 30 is adapted to be placed over and may be snap fitted to the casing 5a. When the cover 30 is attached to the housing 2 the two domed regions 35 are located over each aperture 23 whilst the linear portion 36 of the central wall 34 abuts the upper wall 24 of the casing 5a. The cover is adapted to help prevent water from contacting the security alarm 1), being separated by a dimension between 1mm and 5mm;
a base (Horsfall: FIG. 1 the flexible base 4) comprising an attachment to attach the housing to a surface of a vehicle (Horsfall: Abstract, page 2 lines 1-7, page 5 lines 8-26, page 6 lines 10-23, and FIG. 1: a flexible base 4 comprising an attachment means to attach the housing to a surface of a vehicle; the casing and the base defining an interior space; and one or more biasing means adapted to apply a force to urge the base into a curved configuration), the casing and the base defining an interior space (Horsfall: Abstract, page 2 lines 1-7, page 5 lines 8-26, page 6 lines 10-23, and FIG. 1: a flexible base 4 comprising an attachment means to attach the housing to a surface of a vehicle; the casing and the base defining an interior space; and one or more biasing means adapted to apply a force to urge the base into a curved configuration); and
at least one motion sensing component (Horsfall: FIG. 1 the motion sensing components 3) comprising an audio element (Horsfall: Abstract, page 5 lines 8-26, page 7 lines 4-12, page 7 lines 28-page 8 lines 25, and FIG. 1 the audio element 17), the at least one motion sensing component being located within the interior space of the housing so that each audio element is located adjacent an aperture of the casing (Horsfall: Abstract, page 5 lines 8-26, page 7 lines 4-12, page 7 lines 28-page 8 lines 25, and FIG. 1 the audio element 17: To attach the casing 5a to the base 4, the casing 5a is lowered over the base 4 so that the flanges 25 are located within the annular channels 18 of the motion sensing components 3 and the audio element 17 is positioned within each apertures 23. During lowering of the casing 5a the ribbed ends 6 of each projection 5b are received and retained within the slots 21 of the casing 5a);
the motion sensing component being configured to detect movement of the housing (Horsfall: Abstract, page 5 lines 8-26, page 7 lines 4-12, page 7 lines 28-page 8 lines 25, and FIG. 1 the motion sensing components 3) and to generate an alarm signal from the audio element in response to said movement (Horsfall: Abstract, page 5 lines 8-26, page 7 lines 4-12, page 7 lines 28-page 8 lines 25, and FIG. 1 the motion sensing components 3: the motion sensing component being configured to detect movement of the housing and to generate an alarm signal from the audio element in response to said movement).
Horsfall does not explicitly disclose the exterior surface of the inner casing and the interior surface of the outer casing being separated by a dimension between 1mm and 5mm.
However, it has been known in the art of housing design to implement the exterior surface of the inner casing and the interior surface of the outer casing being separated by a dimension between 1mm and 5mm, as suggested by Bouchuiguir, which discloses the exterior surface of the inner casing and the interior surface of the outer casing being separated by a dimension between 1mm and 5mm (Bouchuiguir: Abstract, [0016], [0018], [0026], [0030], [0034], [0085], [0089]-[0098], and FIG. 2-4: the maximum air gap distance is equal to or smaller than 5 mm).
Therefore in view of teachings by Horfall and Bouchuiguir, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the security device of Horfall to include the exterior surface of the inner casing and the interior surface of the outer casing being separated by a dimension between 1mm and 5mm, as suggested by Bouchuiguir. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for protecting foreign objects entering an electronic device.
As to claim 2, Horfall and Bouchuiguir disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dimension is from 1.5mm to 2.5mm (Bouchuiguir: Abstract, [0016], [0018], [0026], [0030], [0034], [0085], [0089]-[0098], and FIG. 2-4: the maximum air gap distance is equal to or smaller than 5 mm).
As to claim 3, Horfall and Bouchuiguir disclose the limitations of claim 2 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 2, wherein the dimension is 2mm (Bouchuiguir: Abstract, [0016], [0018], [0026], [0030], [0034], [0085], [0089]-[0098], and FIG. 2-4: the maximum air gap distance is equal to or smaller than 5 mm).
As to claim 4, Horfall and Bouchuiguir discloses the limitations of claim 3 further comprising the security alarm system as claimed in claim 3, wherein the outer casing comprises a top panel and one or more sides which extend downwardly from the top panel to form a cover for the inner casing (Horsfall: Abstract, page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 6-25, and FIG. 7-9 the cover 30: The cover 30 comprises a body 31 with a peripheral flange 32 which may be adapted to be attached to the exterior of the vehicle with adhesive pads. The body 31 is substantially rectangular in shape, although other shapes are envisaged such as square or polygonal. The body 31 comprises an upper wall 32, side walls 33 and a central wall 34. The central wall 34 comprises two outwardly flared domed regions 35 located on either end of the central wall 34 and a linear portion 36 extending between the two domed regions 35. The cross-sectional dimension of the two domed regions 35 decreases so that the two domed regions 35 are tapered in a direction towards the upper wall 32. The cover 30 is adapted to be placed over and may be snap fitted to the casing 5a. When the cover 30 is attached to the housing 2 the two domed regions 35 are located over each aperture 23 whilst the linear portion 36 of the central wall 34 abuts the upper wall 24 of the casing 5a. The cover is adapted to help prevent water from contacting the security alarm 1 and Bouchuiguir: Abstract, [0016], [0018], [0026], [0030], [0034], [0085], [0089]-[0098], and FIG. 2-4).
As to claim 5, Horfall and Bouchuiguir discloses the limitations of claim 4 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 4, wherein the lower edges of the one or more sides are straight and parallel to the base of the inner casing (Horsfall: Abstract, page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 6-25, and FIG. 7-9 the cover 30: The cover 30 comprises a body 31 with a peripheral flange 32 which may be adapted to be attached to the exterior of the vehicle with adhesive pads. The body 31 is substantially rectangular in shape, although other shapes are envisaged such as square or polygonal. The body 31 comprises an upper wall 32, side walls 33 and a central wall 34. The central wall 34 comprises two outwardly flared domed regions 35 located on either end of the central wall 34 and a linear portion 36 extending between the two domed regions 35. The cross-sectional dimension of the two domed regions 35 decreases so that the two domed regions 35 are tapered in a direction towards the upper wall 32. The cover 30 is adapted to be placed over and may be snap fitted to the casing 5a. When the cover 30 is attached to the housing 2 the two domed regions 35 are located over each aperture 23 whilst the linear portion 36 of the central wall 34 abuts the upper wall 24 of the casing 5a. The cover is adapted to help prevent water from contacting the security alarm 1 and Bouchuiguir: Abstract, [0016], [0018], [0026], [0030], [0034], [0085], [0089]-[0098], and FIG. 2-4).
As to claim 6, Horfall and Bouchuiguir discloses the limitations of claim 4 further comprising the security alarm system as claimed in claim 4, wherein the lower edge or edges of the one or more sides is curved with ends thereof being closer to the base of the inner casing and an intermediate part of the side (Horsfall: Abstract, page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 6-25, and FIG. 7-9 the cover 30: The cover 30 comprises a body 31 with a peripheral flange 32 which may be adapted to be attached to the exterior of the vehicle with adhesive pads. The body 31 is substantially rectangular in shape, although other shapes are envisaged such as square or polygonal. The body 31 comprises an upper wall 32, side walls 33 and a central wall 34. The central wall 34 comprises two outwardly flared domed regions 35 located on either end of the central wall 34 and a linear portion 36 extending between the two domed regions 35. The cross-sectional dimension of the two domed regions 35 decreases so that the two domed regions 35 are tapered in a direction towards the upper wall 32. The cover 30 is adapted to be placed over and may be snap fitted to the casing 5a. When the cover 30 is attached to the housing 2 the two domed regions 35 are located over each aperture 23 whilst the linear portion 36 of the central wall 34 abuts the upper wall 24 of the casing 5a. The cover is adapted to help prevent water from contacting the security alarm 1 and Bouchuiguir: Abstract, [0016], [0018], [0026], [0030], [0034], [0085], [0089]-[0098], and FIG. 2-4).
As to claim 8, Horfall and Bouchuiguir discloses the limitations of claim 4 further comprising the security alarm as claimed claim 4, wherein the inner and outer casings are rectilinear in plan view (Horsfall: Abstract, page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 6-25, FIG. 1, and FIG. 7-9 the cover 30).
As to claim 9, Horfall and Bouchuiguir discloses the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 8, wherein the dimension between the lower edge or edges and the inner casing, along the length of the lower edge is substantially constant (Horsfall: Abstract, page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 6-25, FIG. 1, and FIG. 7-9 the cover 30).
As to claim 12, Horfall and Bouchuiguir discloses the limitations of claim 6 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 6, wherein the radius of curvature of the curved edge is greater at the ends thereof than in a central portion (Horsfall: Abstract, page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 6-25, FIG. 1, and FIG. 7-9 the cover 30).
As to claim 15, Horfall and Bouchuiguir discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inner and outer casings are rectilinear in plan view (Horsfall: Abstract, page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 6-25, FIG. 1, and FIG. 7-9 the cover 30).
As to claim 16, Horfall and Bouchuiguir discloses the limitations of claim 5 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 5, wherein the dimension between the lower edge or edges and the inner casing, along the length of the lower edge is substantially constant (Horsfall: Abstract, page 4 lines 26-28, page 8 lines 6-25, FIG. 1, and FIG. 7-9 the cover 30).
Claims 7, 10-11, 13-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael Horsfall (Horsfall – GB 2585239 A) in view of Bouchuiguir et al. (Bouchuiguir – US 2023/0380495 A1) and further in view of Kawamura et al. (Kawamura – US 2012/0118894 A1).
As to claim 7, Horfall and Bouchuiguir discloses the limitations of claim 5 except for the claimed limitations of the security alarm as claimed in claim 5, wherein the sides of the outer casing are in parallel spaced relation to corresponding sides of the inner casing being separated by a distance of 1mm to 5mm.
However, it has been known in the art of housing design to implement wherein the sides of the outer casing are in parallel spaced relation to corresponding sides of the inner casing being separated by a distance of 1mm to 5mm, as suggested by Kawamura, which discloses wherein the sides of the outer casing are in parallel spaced relation to corresponding sides of the inner casing being separated by a distance of 1mm to 5mm (Kawamura: Abstract, [0034], [0039], and FIG. 2-4: The height of each protuberance 12 or 22 from the upper surface of the top wall 16 or the lower surface of the cover portion 2 can be set as desired, but may be preferably from 0.3 to 2 mm or so, more preferably from 0.5 to 1.2 mm or so. An excessively small height leads to the loss of a position-fixing effect to be described subsequently herein, while an unduly large height results in a large gap between the cap main body 1 and the cover portion 2 when they are integrated together, thereby raising a potential problem that foreign matter may tend to enter the gap. Neither such an excessively small height nor such an unduly large height is preferred accordingly… the cap main body 1 and cover portion 2 are positioned relative to each other by the upper end 19 of the base portion 15 and an inner side wall of the cover portion 2).
Therefore in view of teachings by Horfall, Bouchuiguir, and Kawamura, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the security device of Horfall and Bouchuiguir to include wherein the sides of the outer casing are in parallel spaced relation to corresponding sides of the inner casing being separated by a distance of 1mm to 5mm, as suggested by Kawamura. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for protecting foreign objects entering a device.
As to claim 10, Horfall and Bouchuiguir discloses the limitations of claim 9 except for the claimed limitations of the security alarm as claimed in claim 9, wherein the dimension along the lower edges is from 1.5mm to 2.5mm.
However, it has been known in the art of housing design to implement wherein the dimension along the lower edges is from 1.5mm to 2.5mm, as suggested by Kawamura, which discloses wherein the dimension along the lower edges is from 1.5mm to 2.5mm (Kawamura: Abstract, [0034], [0039], and FIG. 2-4: The height of each protuberance 12 or 22 from the upper surface of the top wall 16 or the lower surface of the cover portion 2 can be set as desired, but may be preferably from 0.3 to 2 mm or so, more preferably from 0.5 to 1.2 mm or so. An excessively small height leads to the loss of a position-fixing effect to be described subsequently herein, while an unduly large height results in a large gap between the cap main body 1 and the cover portion 2 when they are integrated together, thereby raising a potential problem that foreign matter may tend to enter the gap. Neither such an excessively small height nor such an unduly large height is preferred accordingly… the cap main body 1 and cover portion 2 are positioned relative to each other by the upper end 19 of the base portion 15 and an inner side wall of the cover portion 2).
Therefore in view of teachings by Horfall, Bouchuiguir, and Kawamura, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the security device of Horfall and Bouchuiguir to include wherein the dimension along the lower edges is from 1.5mm to 2.5mm, as suggested by Kawamura. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for protecting foreign objects entering a device.
As to claim 11, Horfall, Bouchuiguir, and Kawamura disclose the limitations of claim 10 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 10, wherein the dimension along the length of the lower edge is 2mm (Kawamura: Abstract, [0034], [0039], and FIG. 2-4: The height of each protuberance 12 or 22 from the upper surface of the top wall 16 or the lower surface of the cover portion 2 can be set as desired, but may be preferably from 0.3 to 2 mm or so, more preferably from 0.5 to 1.2 mm or so. An excessively small height leads to the loss of a position-fixing effect to be described subsequently herein, while an unduly large height results in a large gap between the cap main body 1 and the cover portion 2 when they are integrated together, thereby raising a potential problem that foreign matter may tend to enter the gap. Neither such an excessively small height nor such an unduly large height is preferred accordingly… the cap main body 1 and cover portion 2 are positioned relative to each other by the upper end 19 of the base portion 15 and an inner side wall of the cover portion 2).
As to claim 13, Horfall, Bouchuiguir, and Kawamura discloses the limitations of claim 11 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 11, wherein the base is flexible (Horsfall: Abstract, page 2 lines 1-7, page 5 lines 8-26, page 6 lines 10-23, and FIG. 1: a flexible base 4 comprising an attachment means to attach the housing to a surface of a vehicle; the casing and the base defining an interior space; and one or more biasing means adapted to apply a force to urge the base into a curved configuration), the casing and the base defining an interior space (Horsfall: Abstract, page 2 lines 1-7, page 5 lines 8-26, page 6 lines 10-23, and FIG. 1: a flexible base 4 comprising an attachment means to attach the housing to a surface of a vehicle; the casing and the base defining an interior space; and one or more biasing means adapted to apply a force to urge the base into a curved configuration); the alarm further comprising one or more biasing means adapted to apply a force to urge the base into a curved configuration (Horsfall: Abstract, page 2 lines 1-7, page 2 lines 21-29, page 3 lines 14-17, page 5 lines 8-26, page 7 lines 28-page 8 lines 5, page 8 lines 27-33, FIG. 1, and FIG. 7-9: The biasing means may comprise interlocking members 6, 21 located on the base and casing, and/or a plurality of threaded holes 8 and screws. The alarm is intended to be located on the exterior of a vehicle, possibly for protecting a roof rack or pipe tube carrier on a car or van).
As to claim 14, Horfall, Bouchuiguir, and Kawamura discloses the limitations of claim 6 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 6, wherein the sides of the outer casing are in parallel spaced relation to corresponding sides of the inner casing being separated by a distance of 1mm to 5mm (Kawamura: Abstract, [0034], [0039], and FIG. 2-4: The height of each protuberance 12 or 22 from the upper surface of the top wall 16 or the lower surface of the cover portion 2 can be set as desired, but may be preferably from 0.3 to 2 mm or so, more preferably from 0.5 to 1.2 mm or so. An excessively small height leads to the loss of a position-fixing effect to be described subsequently herein, while an unduly large height results in a large gap between the cap main body 1 and the cover portion 2 when they are integrated together, thereby raising a potential problem that foreign matter may tend to enter the gap. Neither such an excessively small height nor such an unduly large height is preferred accordingly… the cap main body 1 and cover portion 2 are positioned relative to each other by the upper end 19 of the base portion 15 and an inner side wall of the cover portion 2).
As to claim 17, Horfall, Bouchuiguir, and Kawamura discloses the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 16, wherein the dimension along the lower edges is from 1.5mm to 2.5mm (Kawamura: Abstract, [0034], [0039], and FIG. 2-4: The height of each protuberance 12 or 22 from the upper surface of the top wall 16 or the lower surface of the cover portion 2 can be set as desired, but may be preferably from 0.3 to 2 mm or so, more preferably from 0.5 to 1.2 mm or so. An excessively small height leads to the loss of a position-fixing effect to be described subsequently herein, while an unduly large height results in a large gap between the cap main body 1 and the cover portion 2 when they are integrated together, thereby raising a potential problem that foreign matter may tend to enter the gap. Neither such an excessively small height nor such an unduly large height is preferred accordingly… the cap main body 1 and cover portion 2 are positioned relative to each other by the upper end 19 of the base portion 15 and an inner side wall of the cover portion 2).
As to claim 18, Horfall, Bouchuiguir, and Kawamura discloses the limitations of claim 17 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 17, wherein the dimension along the length of the lower edge is 2mm (Kawamura: Abstract, [0034], [0039], and FIG. 2-4: The height of each protuberance 12 or 22 from the upper surface of the top wall 16 or the lower surface of the cover portion 2 can be set as desired, but may be preferably from 0.3 to 2 mm or so, more preferably from 0.5 to 1.2 mm or so. An excessively small height leads to the loss of a position-fixing effect to be described subsequently herein, while an unduly large height results in a large gap between the cap main body 1 and the cover portion 2 when they are integrated together, thereby raising a potential problem that foreign matter may tend to enter the gap. Neither such an excessively small height nor such an unduly large height is preferred accordingly… the cap main body 1 and cover portion 2 are positioned relative to each other by the upper end 19 of the base portion 15 and an inner side wall of the cover portion 2).
As to claim 19, Horfall, Bouchuiguir, and Kawamura discloses the limitations of claim 18 further comprising the security alarm as claimed in claim 18, wherein the base is flexible; the alarm further comprising one or more biasing means adapted to apply a force to urge the base into a curved configuration (Horsfall: Abstract, page 2 lines 1-7, page 2 lines 21-29, page 3 lines 14-17, page 5 lines 8-26, page 7 lines 28-page 8 lines 5, page 8 lines 27-33, FIG. 1, and FIG. 7-9: The biasing means may comprise interlocking members 6, 21 located on the base and casing, and/or a plurality of threaded holes 8 and screws. The alarm is intended to be located on the exterior of a vehicle, possibly for protecting a roof rack or pipe tube carrier on a car or van).
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Okada, US 2022/0098745 A1, discloses water electrolysis apparatus, and sterilization/cleaning method and a method for decomposing/removing harmful substance, each using water electrolysis apparatus.
Kanazawa et al., US 11,233,252 B2, discloses fuel cell case.
Chen, US 2006/0033635 A1, discloses casing, assembly for burglar alarms.
Conclusion
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685