DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of A-II and B-III in the reply filed on June 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 15, 2026.
Claim 3 recites, “wherein the male coupling element (51A) has a T-shaped, the horizontal part of the T-shape of the male coupling element (51A) being located in the female coupling element (15A) and the vertical part of the T-shape of the male coupling element (51A) extending from a wall of the vane or sealing member to the horizontal portion of the T- shape.” The above is a claim that is directed toward only the configuration in Figures 10-11.
Claim 5 recites, “wherein the second coupling element (51', 51A) comprises a base (510A) extending from the surface of the wall of the vane (1), and an anchor (511A) comprising the complementary shape of the housing forming the first coupling element (15A) by filling it.” The above is a claim that is directed toward only the configuration in Figures 10-11.
Claim 6 recites, “wherein the receiving housing forming the female coupling element (15A) is a hole passing through the wall.” The above is a claim that is directed toward only the configuration in Figures 10-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kean et al. (U.S Patent 3,119,595) hereinafter Kean in view of Hill (U.S Patent 4,505,642) hereinafter Hill.
Regarding claim 1, Kean discloses:
A turbomachine rotary assembly having axis of rotation {Figure 1 (10); Column 1 lines 10-20} comprising:
a disc centered on the axis which has, on its periphery, cells circumferentially delimited by teeth of the disc {Figures 1 and 3, disc (12) is centered on the axis with cells circumferentially delimited by teeth (26) of the disk},
vanes each circumferentially adjacent mounted in a respective cell of the disc {Figure 3 (19) of the vanes are mounted in the respective cells of the disc circumferentially adjacent},
each vane comprising:
a root mounted in a respective cell of the disc, the root having a shape configured to allow mounting of the root in the respective cell of the disc {Figure 3 (19) of the vanes are mounted in the respective cells of the disc with a shape that matches to (26) of the disc},
a stilt formed by a wall which extends radially with respect to the axis outwardly of the root {Figure 3 (18) extends radially outwardly of the root (19)},
the wall of the stilt being delimited by a first circumferential end surface, a second circumferential end surface opposite to the first circumferential end surface and two axial end edges opposite to each other {Figures 2/3, (18) has circumferential end surfaces on the left and right in Figure 3; axial end edges are on the left and right in Figure 2},
a platform which extends at the radially outer end of the stilt and which is located circumferentially end-to-end with another platform of another circumferentially adjacent vane {Figure 3, platforms (17) are at the radially outer end of (18) and are located circumferentially end-to-end with another instance of (17) on an adjacent vane}, and
a blade extending radially outwardly of the platform {Figures 2/3; blade (15) extends radially outwardly of the platform (17)},
at least one sealing member mounted in a cavity delimited, on the one hand, by the disc and, on the other hand, by the stilts and the platforms of the vane and of the other circumferentially adjacent vane {Figures 3/4, sealing member (28) is mounted in a cavity delimited by the disk (12), the stilts (18) and the platforms (17) of a vane and a circumferentially adjacent vane},
the sealing member further comprises an upstream surface and a downstream surface {Figures 3 and 4, (28) has an upstream surface on the left side in Figure 4 and a downstream surface on the right side in Figure 4} and
wherein the cavity is axially open at least on a downstream or upstream side on the entire downstream surface or upstream surface respectively {Figures 2-4, the cavity where (28) is located in is not constrained or contacted by any of the claimed elements and is therefore considered axially open on the upstream and downstream side; (28) extends over (26) with edge (35)}.
Kean does not disclose:
wherein: on the platform or the stilt of the vane comprises a first coupling element coupled by male-female interlocking with a second coupling element extending from a wall of the sealing member so as to retain the sealing member with respect to the cavity axially in both directions while allowing the sealing member to be pressed by centrifugal force against the platforms of the two vanes
Hill pertains to rotor seals. Hill teaches:
wherein: on the platform or the stilt of the vane comprises a first coupling element coupled by male-female interlocking with a second coupling element extending from a wall of the sealing member so as to retain the sealing member with respect to the cavity axially in both directions while allowing the sealing member to be pressed by centrifugal force against the platforms of the two vanes {Figures 1 and 2, (38) and/or (40) are a first coupling element on the stalk and/or platform of the vane and a second coupling element (42) and/or (48) that is a feature that extends from a wall of the sealing member (16) to retain the sealing member with respect to the cavity axially in both directions and allows the sealing member to be pressed by centrifugal force against the platforms of the vanes. The orientations and geometry of (38) and (40) are such that they perform the prior claimed function; Column 2 line 66 – Column 3 line 13}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first and second coupling element as claimed as taught by Hill for the configuration of Kean. This may be include (38) with (42) and/or (40) with (48). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as multiple features may be used to retain a seal in its desired location {Hill Column 2 line 66 – Column 3 line 13}.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kean and Hill further teaches:
wherein the first coupling element is a male coupling element inserted into a groove of the second coupling element, or the second coupling element is a male coupling element inserted into a groove of the first coupling element {Hill Figures 1 and 2, (38)/(40) are first coupling elements that are male and are inserted into the second coupling element (42)/(48) respectively that are female; Column 2 line 66 – Column 3 line 13}.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kean and Hill further teaches:
wherein the male coupling element is a protrusion projecting from a surface of a wall of the vane or of the sealing member and the female coupling element is a protrusion-receiving housing, the female coupling element extending from a surface of a wall of the sealing member or of the vane respectively {Hill Figures 1 and 2, (38)/(40) are protrusions from a surface of the stalk/platform which are surfaces of a wall of the vane; the female coupling element (42)/(48) are considered protrusion-receiving housings and extend from a surface of a wall of the sealing member (16); Column 2 line 66 – Column 3 line 13}.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kean and Hill further teaches:
wherein the sealing member comprises a circumferential end surface against the first circumferential end surface of the stilt, the second coupling element extending from the circumferential end surface of the sealing member and the first coupling element extending from the first circumferential end surface {Kean Figures 3/4 (28) has a circumferential end surfaces (29); Kean (42) is the second coupling element and extends from this surface of Hill. Hill (38) extends from the first circumferential end surface of (18) of Kean}.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kean and Hill further teaches:
Wherein the sealing member is hollow {Kean Figures 4-7, (28) is hollow}
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kean and Hill further teaches:
wherein the sealing member has first and second circumferential end walls which respectively have each a complementary shape to the first circumferential end surface of the stilt and to a second circumferential end surface of a stilt of a circumferentially adjacent vane {Kean Figures 3-7, (28) has end walls (29)/(30) fits into the shape of the stilts on either side; Column 2 lines 49-59}.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kean and Hill further teaches:
wherein the first and a second circumferential end wall are curved {Figures 4-7; (28) has circumferential end walls (29)/(30) that have are curved at the axial ends}
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kean and Hill further teaches:
the sealing member comprises a radially outer end surface {Kean Figure 5, the upper surface of (28)},
the platform comprises a first and a second circumferential end edge each having respectively a first radially inner surface and a second radially inner surface each respectively delimiting the cavity forming the housing for the sealing member and a cavity forming a housing for a second sealing member {Kean Figure 3, there is a circumferential edge on each side of (17) that both have radially inner surfaces that delimit the cavity for the sealing member and a cavity for a second sealing member; there are sealing members on either side of an instance of (18)},
the first radially inner surface and the second radially inner surface each respectively facing the radially outer end surface of the sealing member and a radially outer end surface of the second sealing member {Kean Figure 3 the inner surface of (17) on either side face the radially outer end of the first or second sealing member (28)},
an inter-platform clearance is formed between the first circumferential end edge and the second circumferential end edge of a circumferentially adjacent vane {Kean Figure 3, there is a small inter-platform clearance between the first and second circumferential end edges as no two profiles can perfectly match},
the radially outer end surface of the sealing member extending radially below the inter-platform clearance {Kean Figure 3 (28) extends radially below the inter-platform clearance}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hallinger (U.S Patent 4,457,668) teaches a seal that is secured by a projection into the platform (Figure 4).
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745