DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
The following is a non-final Office Action in response to Applicant’s submission and preliminary amendment filed on May 3, 2025. Claims 4, 6, 7, 10-12 and 14-16 have been amended.
Currently claims 1-17 are pending. Claims 1, 15, 16 and 17 are independent.
Priority
Applicant claims the priority of a foreign application No. CH0013912022, filed on November 22, 2022 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/03/2025 appears to be in compliance with the previsions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 USC § 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, fourth paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Regarding claim 15, the claim that recites “A server computer system comprising means for carrying out the method according to claim 1” renders the claim indefinite because the claim is directed to an independent claim. However, claim 15 does not include all the limitations as recited in claim 1. In particular, Claim 15 collapses the identified limitations of claim 1 into one limitation (e.g. a server computer system). Accordingly, Claim 15 is unpatentable under 35 USC § 112, 4th paragraph.
Regarding claim 16, the claim that recites “A server computer system comprising means for carrying out the method according to claim 1” renders the claim indefinite because the claim is directed to an independent claim. However, claim 16 does not include all the limitations as recited in claim 1. In particular, Claim 16 collapses the identified limitations of claim 1 into one limitation (e.g. a server computer system). Accordingly, Claim 16 is unpatentable under 35 USC § 112, 4th paragraph.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 recites a system comprising “a server computer system comprising means for carrying out the method “, which is directed the means (or step) plus function limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. § 112, (f), or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, see MPEP 2181 (I)(A).
Here, claim limitations “means for carrying out” have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder with functional language “means” for carrying out the method. Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the claims have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, as discussed above, the claims include language that invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112 (f), or sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to (1) disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function and/or (2) clearly link or associate the disclosed structure, material, or acts to the claimed function such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function. Here, the claim recite the following limitations: 1) “means for carrying out the method according to claim 1” is directed to specialized function for processing the method of claim 1, and thus the function is indefinite.
For each of the indefinite function as described above, Applicant is required to:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be a means (or step) plus function limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant is required to clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites “a processor configured to assign…” and “a processor configured to statistically evaluate…” render the claim indefinite. If Applicant intended to claim two different processors for performing these functions, it is respectfully suggested to recite “a first processor” and “a second processor”, otherwise, the second “a processor” can be recited as “the processor [further] configured to”. Applicant is required to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As per Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, it is to determine whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
In this case, claims 1-14 are directed to a method for assigning cotton suppliers supplying raw cotton to cotton processors, which falls within the statutory category of a process.
Claim15 is directed to a server computer system comprising limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, without reciting sufficient structure in the claims to achieve the functions. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim is directed a system comprising software per se, which is not fall within the four statutory categories. However, claim 15 will be included in Step 2 Analysis for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim 16 is directed to a computer program having instructions without reciting a non-transitory storage device for storing the instructions. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim is directed a system comprising software per se or carrier wave signal, which is not fall within the four statutory categories. However, claim 16 will be included in Step 2 Analysis for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim 17 is directed to a server computer system comprising a processor and a memory, which falls within the statutory category of a machine.
With respect to claim 15, as understood, claim 15 recites as a system without positive recitation of a physical structure in the body for performing the steps is considered to be software per se and therefore is not fall within any of the four statutory categories. If Applicant desired to claim an apparatus (system) claim, it must be included at least one identified hardware (e.g., a processor, memory) in the body of the claim.
With respect to claim 16, as understood, it is noted that software, program, instructions or code not claimed as stored in a tangible memory/readable medium are not statutory because they are directed to electromagnetic carrier signals. Further, software, program, instructions or code are stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium/memory, but not claimed as being computer executable and executed by a computer (processor) are not statutory because they are not capable of causing functional change in a computer.
In Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility analysis, it is to “determine whether the claim at issue is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). Under this step, a two-prong inquiry will be performed to determine if the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 Guidance), then determine if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 Guidance), 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54-55 (January 7, 2019).
In Prong One, it is to determine if the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 Guidance, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon).
Taking the method as representative, claim 1 recites the limitations of “receiving…measurement sets for different cotton samples, information on the cotton supplier of the respective cotton sample, assigning to each measurement set the information on the cotton supplier, storing the measurement sets together, evaluating the measurement sets, and transmitting a result of the evaluation…to a client”; the dependent claims 2-14 further narrowing and characterizing the limitations of claim 1, including “the measured value is determined on a cotton bale, the cotton-quality parameter is at least one of: humidity, reflectance, color…, the measured value is determined in a textile laboratory, assigning a sample identifier, storing the sample identifier, further information is plant variety, geographic origin, year of harvest…, and ranking the cotton supplier”. None of the limitations recites technological implementation details for any of these steps, but instead recite only results desired by any and all possible means.. The limitations, as drafted, are directed to processes, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “by a server computer system”, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), or by a human using a pen and paper. For example, the claims encompasses a person can manually receiving measure of cotton sample, and evaluating the measurement sets, which fall within the “mental processes” grouping. The mere nominal recitation of “by a server computer system”, “via a global communication network”, “a database” and “client computer” do not take the claims out of the mental processes grouping. See Under the 2019 Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 52. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea, and the analysis is proceeding to Prong Two.
In Prong Two, it is to determine if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
Beyond the abstract idea, the claim recites the additional elements of “by a server computer system”, “via a global communication network”, “a database” and “client computer”. The Specification describes that “The server computer system according to the invention…comprises: a receiver for receiving via a global communication network from at least one cotton processor measurement sets for different cotton samples; a processor configured to assign to each measurement set the information on the cotton supplier of the respective cotton sample; a memory for storing in a database the measurement set together with the assigned information; and a transmitter for transmitting a result of the statistical evaluation comprising at least two different cotton supplier…from the server computer system via a global communication network to a client computer” (see ¶ 20). When given the broadest reasonable interpretation and in light of the Specification, the additional elements are no more than generic computer components for performing generic computer functions including receiving, storing, and transmitting information over a network. The additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than adding the words “apply it” or using “a particular machine” with an abstract idea, or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Thus, merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or programmed computer to perform generic computer functions does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2358-59, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014). Again, automating an abstract process does not convert it into a practical application. See also Bancorp Servs., L.L.C. v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Canada (U.S.), 687 F.3d 1266, 1278 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (A computer “employed only for its most basic function . . . does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims.”). The Federal Circuit has also indicated that mere automation of manual processes or increasing the speed of a process where these purported improvements come solely from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer are not sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality. FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, nothing in the claims that reflects an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself or another technology, effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effect designed to monopolize the exception. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims are directed to an abstract idea, the analysis is proceeding to Step 2B.
In Step 2B of Alice, it is "a search for an ‘inventive concept’—i.e., an element or combination of elements that is ‘sufficient to ensure that the patent in practice amounts to significantly more than a patent upon the [ineligible concept’ itself.’” Id. (alternation in original) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1294 (2012)).
The claims as described in Prong Two above, nothing in the claims that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B.
Beyond the abstract idea, the claim recites the additional elements of “by a server computer system”, “via a global communication network”, “a database” and “client computer”. The Specification describes that “The server computer system according to the invention…comprises: a receiver for receiving via a global communication network from at least one cotton processor measurement sets for different cotton samples; a processor configured to assign to each measurement set the information on the cotton supplier of the respective cotton sample; a memory for storing in a database the measurement set together with the assigned information; and a transmitter for transmitting a result of the statistical evaluation comprising at least two different cotton supplier…from the server computer system via a global communication network to a client computer” (see ¶ 20). When given the broadest reasonable interpretation and in light of the Specification, the additional elements are no more than generic computer components for performing generic computer functions including receiving, storing, and transmitting information over a network. However, implementing on a generic computer for performing generic computer functions have been recognized by the courts as merely well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of generic computers. See MPEP 2106.05 (d) (II) (Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1326-27, 122 USPQ2d 1377, 1379-80 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (claim reciting multiple abstract ideas, i.e., the manipulation of information through a series of mental steps and a mathematical calculation, was held directed to an abstract idea)). Thus, simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer for performing generic computer functions do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(a)-(c), (e-f) & (h)).
For the foregoing reasons, claims 1-14 cover subject matter that is judicially-excepted from patent eligibility under § 101 as discussed above, the other claims 15-17 parallel claims 1-14—similarly cover claimed subject matter that is judicially excepted from patent eligibility under § 101.
Therefore, the claims as a whole, viewed individually and as a combination, do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shofner et al., (WO 0120321 A2, hereinafter Shofner), and in view of Choi et al., (US 2018/0158140, hereinafter Choi), and further in view of Barren (WO 02/05175 A2).
(Non-US patent references are cited by page number on the document unless they don’t have page numbers, then cited by PDF page number)
Regarding claim 1, Shofner discloses a computer-implemented method for assessing cotton suppliers (A, B) supplying raw cotton to cotton processors (2.1-2.4), comprising the steps of:
receiving by a server computer system (1) via a global communication network (6) from at least one cotton processor (2.1-2.4) (see Abstract; pg. 5, ¶ pg. 10, ¶ 2; claims 16-18)
measurement sets for different cotton samples, each measurement set comprising
at least one measured value for at least one cotton-quality parameter (a-h) measured for the respective cotton sample (see pg. 2, ¶ 2-5; pg. 4, ¶ 3-4; pg. 7, ¶ 1; pg. 20, ¶ 2), and
assigning by the server computer system (1) to each measurement set the information on the cotton supplier (A, B) of the respective cotton sample (see pg. 3, ¶ 1; pg. 7, ¶ 3; pg. 15, ¶ 3);
storing in a database (12) on the server computer system (1) the measurement sets together with the assigned information on the cotton supplier (A, B) (see pg. 9, ¶ 1; pg. 10, ¶ 1; pg. 12, ¶ 6-7).
Shofner discloses transmitting digital image file from an image device to a remote (client) location via a computer network (see pg. 21, claim 16).
Shofner does not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Choi in an analogous art for raw cotton evaluation discloses
information on the cotton supplier (A, B) of the respective cotton sample (see ¶ 7, ¶ 10, ¶ 23, ¶ 25); and
transmitting a result of the statistical evaluation comparing at least two different cotton suppliers (A, B), together with the information on the at least two cotton suppliers (A, B), from the server computer system (1) via a global communication network (7) to a client computer (8) (see ¶ 32, ¶ 40, ¶ 109, ¶ 114-115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shofner to include teaching of Choi in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more optimal solution, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Choi discloses evaluating information for a variety of members/suppliers by using the stored information representing the purchased raw cotton for each member (see ¶ 10, ¶ 37, ¶ 41).
Shofner and Choi do not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Barren in an analogous art for raw material evaluation discloses
statistically evaluating the measurement sets by the server computer system (1) (see pg. 3, lines 15-17; pg. 10, lines 8-19; pg. 17, lines 21-29; pg. 21, lines 21-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shofner and in view of Choi to include teaching of Barren in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of enhancing computational efficiency in material evaluation. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Shofner discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one measured value is determined on a cotton bale (202) in a bale laydown (201) in an opening department (3) of a spinning-preparation plant (see pg. 2, ¶ 3-5; pg. 12, ¶ 3).
Regarding claim 3, Shofner discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 2, wherein the at least one cotton-quality parameter is at least one element of the following set: humidity, reflectance, color characteristics, contamination content, color characteristics of contaminations, type of contaminations (see pg. 3, ¶ 1-2; pg. 4, ¶ 3; pg. 7, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 4, Shofner discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one measured value is determined in a textile laboratory (4) by a fiber-testing laboratory instrument (see pg. 2, last ¶ to pg. 3, ¶ 1).
Regarding claim 5, Shofner discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 4, wherein the at least one cotton-quality parameter (a-h) is at least one element of the following set: reflectance, color characteristics, fiber length, fiber strength, tensile properties, short-fiber characteristics, trash-particle content, trash-particle size, nep content, nep size, fiber-fineness characteristics, fiber-maturity characteristics, micronaire (see pg. 2, ¶ 5; pg. 4, ¶ 3; pg. 7, ¶ 4; pg. 12, ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 6, Shofner discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 2, wherein each of the measurement sets comprises at least one first measured value determined on a cotton bale (202) in a bale laydown (201) in an opening department (3) of a spinning-preparation plant and at least one second measured value determined in a textile laboratory (4) by a fiber-testing laboratory instrument (see pg. 2, ¶ 3-5; pg. 12, ¶ 3).
Regarding claim 7, Shofner discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, further comprising the steps of:
assigning by the server computer system (1) to each measurement set a sample identifier for the respective cotton sample (see pg. 7, ¶ 3; pg. 12, ¶ 3; pg. 19, ¶ 5); and
storing in the database (12) the sample identifiers together with the measurement sets (see pg. 10, ¶ 2; pg. 12, ¶ 5-7).
Regarding claim 8, Shofner discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 7, further comprising the steps of:
receiving by the server computer system (1) via the global communication network (6) from the at least one cotton processor (2) further information on the cotton samples (see Abstract; pg. 5, ¶ pg. 10, ¶ 2; claims 16-18);
assigning by the server computer system (1) to each piece of further information the sample identifier for the respective cotton sample (see pg. 3, ¶ 1; pg. 7, ¶ 3; pg. 15, ¶ 3); and
storing in the database (12) the further information together with the measurement sets (see pg. 9, ¶ 1; pg. 10, ¶ 1; pg. 12, ¶ 6-7).
Regarding claim 9, Shofner does not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Choi discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 8, wherein the further information is from the following set: plant variety, geographic origin, year of harvest, ginning mill, price, quantity supplied, processor (2.1-2.4) of the cotton sample (see ¶ 25, ¶ 37, ¶ 92, ¶ 104-105). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shofner to include teaching of Choi in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more optimal solution, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 10, Shofner discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the raw cotton is supplied in the form of cotton bales (202) to the at least one cotton processor (2.1-2.4), further comprising the steps of.
assigning by the server computer system (1) to each measurement set a bale identifier for the respective cotton bale (202) (see pg. 3, ¶ 1; pg. 7, ¶ 3; pg. 15, ¶ 3); and
storing in the database (12) the bale identifiers together with the measurement sets (see pg. 9, ¶ 1; pg. 10, ¶ 1; pg. 12, ¶ 6-7).
Regarding claim 11, Shofner and Choi do not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Barren discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the statistical evaluation is based on all measurement sets stored in the database (12), based on a certain number of most recent measurement sets, or based on most recent measurement sets measured in a certain time period (see pg. 8, line 28 to pg. 9, line 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shofner and in view of Choi to include teaching of Barren in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of enhancing computational efficiency in material evaluation. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 12, Shofner and Choi do not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Barren discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the statistical evaluation includes producing a ranking of the cotton suppliers (A, B), and the ranking is transmitted from the server computer system (1) via the global communication network (7) to the client computer (8) (see pg. 4, line 27 to pg. 5, line 13; pg. 7, lines 9-17; pg. 8, line 28 to pg. 9, line 12; pg. 22, lines 7-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shofner and in view of Choi to include teaching of Barren in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of enhancing computational efficiency in material evaluation. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 13, Shofner and Choi do not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Barren discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 12, wherein the ranking is produced on an ordinal scale, on an interval scale or on a ratio scale (see pg. 6, line 25 to pg. 7, line 16; pg. 8, line 28 to pg. 9, line 12; pg. 22, lines 7-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shofner and in view of Choi to include teaching of Barren in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of enhancing computational efficiency in material evaluation. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 14, Shofner and Choi do not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Barren discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 12, wherein the ranking is in the form of measured values, in the form of quantiles or percentiles, in the form of ordinal numbers, or in the form of classes (see pg. 17, lines 8-20; pg. 22, lines 7-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shofner and in view of Choi to include teaching of Barren in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of enhancing computational efficiency in material evaluation. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 15, Shofner discloses a server computer system (1) comprising means for carrying out the method according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 16, Shofner discloses a computer program having instructions which when executed by a server computer system (1) cause the server computer system (1) to perform the method according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 17, Shofner discloses a server computer system (1) for assessing cotton suppliers (A, B) supplying raw cotton to cotton processors (2.1-2.4), comprising:
a receiver (11) for receiving via a global communication network (6) from at least one cotton processor (2) (see Abstract; pg. 5, ¶ pg. 10, ¶ 2; claims 16-18)
measurement sets for different cotton samples, each measurement set comprising
at least one measured value for at least one cotton-quality parameter (a-h) measured for the respective cotton sample (see pg. 2, ¶ 2-5; pg. 4, ¶ 3-4; pg. 7, ¶ 1; pg. 20, ¶ 2), and
a processor configured to assign to each measurement set the information on the cotton supplier (A, B) of the respective cotton sample (see pg. 3, ¶ 1; pg. 7, ¶ 3; pg. 15, ¶ 3);
a memory for storing in a database (12) the measurement sets together with the assigned information on the cotton supplier (A, B) (see pg. 9, ¶ 1; pg. 10, ¶ 1; pg. 12, ¶ 6-7).
Shofner does not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Choi in an analogous art for raw cotton evaluation discloses
information on the cotton supplier (A, B) of the respective cotton sample (see ¶ 7, ¶ 10, ¶ 23, ¶ 25); and
a transmitter (13) for transmitting a result of the statistical evaluation comparing at least two different cotton suppliers (A, B), together with the information on the at least two cotton suppliers (A, B), from the server computer system (1) via a global communication network (7) to a client computer (8) (see ¶ 40, ¶ 109, ¶ 115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shofner to include teaching of Choi in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of a more optimal solution, in turn of operational efficiency. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Choi discloses evaluating information for a variety of members/suppliers by using the stored information representing the purchased raw cotton for each member (see ¶ 10, ¶ 37, ¶ 41).
Shofner and Choi do not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Barren in an analogous art for raw material evaluation discloses
a processor configured to statistically evaluate the measurement sets (see pg. 3, lines 15-17; pg. 10, lines 8-19; pg. 17, lines 21-29; pg. 21, lines 21-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shofner and in view of Choi to include teaching of Barren in order to gain the commonly understood benefit of such adaption, such as providing the benefit of enhancing computational efficiency in material evaluation. Since the combination of each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi, (KR 101745937 B1) discloses a raw cotton management system to provide a variety of evaluation information on raw cotton purchased by a member company to a member company to improve the efficiency of cotton surface management.
Hu et al., (CN 101799389 A) discloses a method for establishing correlativity between lignin content in cotton fiber and fiber quality.
Demuth et al., (US 6408221 B1) discloses a method for optimizing the process of cleaning cotton in a spinning mill utilizing the original data concerning fiber characteristics and proportions of different types of contamination inherent to the origin of fiber cotton bale.
Anthony et al., (US 510672 A) discloses a system for analyzing entrained solids such as cotton or seed to bring lint cotton into the condenser.
Wang et al., (CN 109636014 A) discloses a method for assorting cotton based on the yarn quality prediction to solve the problem that the existing sample data is small and poor quality.
Pai et al., “Recognition of Cotton Contaminants via X-Ray Microtomographic Image Analysis”, IEEE Transactions on Industry Applications, Vol. 40, No. 1, January/February 2004.
Han et al., “Optimization of Cotton Processing Process Based on Fuzzy Association Rule”, School of Electrical Engineering, University of Jinan, Jinan, China. Proceedings of the 2019 International Conference on Advanced Mechatronic system, Kusatsu, Shiga, Japan, August 26-28, 2019.
/PAN G CHOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624