DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 19/127133 filed 5/5/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/5/25 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: the drawings lack a Figure 5 including reference numeral 501 as described in specification in paragraphs [0010], [0051] and on reference numerals page. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein a second toothing of the idler gear meshing with the first toothing of the second planet gear”. The term “meshing” should be changed to “meshes” to grammatically correct scope of limitation (similar to applicant’s correction in line 4). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claim 6 recites the limitation "the first toothing of the second planet gear" in last two lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to the limitation being recited (introduced) in claim 4 and not claim 1 from which this claim depends from.
-Claim 8 recites the limitation "the rotatable ring gear" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to the limitation being recited (introduced) in claim 2 and not claims 1 and 7 from which this claim depends from.
-Claim 9 recites the limitation "the rotatable ring gear" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to the limitation being recited (introduced) in claim 2 and not claims 1 and 7 from which this claim depends from.
-Claim 9 recites the limitation "the idler gear" in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to the limitation being recited (introduced) in claim 6 and not claims 1 and 7 from which this claim depends from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lefeber et al 20220299090 (IDS cited art). As to claim 1, Lefeber (Figure 7) discloses a transmission arrangement, comprising: a rotatable first planet carrier (21); a first planet gear (74, 26, 27) rotatably mounted in the first planet carrier, a second planet gear (43, 44); a non-rotatable ring gear (28) that meshes with a first toothing (via 26) of the first planet gear; and a rotatable sun gear (11); wherein a second toothing (via 74) of the first planet gear is rotationally connected to the sun gear by the second planet gear (via 44 to 43).
As to claim 2, comprising a rotatable ring gear (30) that meshes with a third toothing (via 27) of the first planet gear.
As to claim 3, wherein a second toothing (via 43) of the second planet gear meshes with the sun gear.
As to claim 4, wherein the second toothing (via 74) of the first planet gear meshes with a first toothing (via 44) of the second planet gear.
As to claim 5, wherein the second planet gear is rotatably mounted in the first planet carrier (via 47 connected to 21).
As to claim 6, comprising a rotatable idler gear (Figure 22 discloses an embodiment showing gearing 89 that transmits rotation between first planet gear and second planet gear), wherein the second toothing (via 6) of the first planet gear meshes with a first toothing (via 18) of the idler gear, and wherein a second toothing (via 88) of the idler gear meshing with the first toothing (via 71) of the second planet gear.
As to claim 7, comprising a second planet carrier (Figure 22; 15) which is rotatable relative to the first planet carrier and in which the second planet gear (65, 66, 70) is rotatably mounted.
As to claim 9, wherein the second planet carrier (Figure 22; 15) is configured to be rotatable relative to the rotatable ring gear, the sun gear, and the idler gear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016016645 Figure 5 in view of Figure 1 (IDS cited art). As to claim 1, WO (Figure 5) discloses a transmission arrangement, comprising: a first planet carrier (68 is described as supporting planet gears); a first planet gear (66) rotatably mounted in the first planet carrier, a second planet gear (61, 62); a non-rotatable ring gear (65) that meshes with a first toothing (via middle 66) of the first planet gear; and a rotatable sun gear (60); wherein a second toothing (via 66 between 64 and 65) of the first planet gear is rotationally connected to the sun gear by the second planet gear (via 62 to 61). However, WO doesn’t disclose the first carrier being rotatable as recited.
Figure 1 discloses an embodiment showing that it is well known in the art to provide a transmission arrangement as disclosed in Figure 5 with a rotatable planet carrier (17) having a first planet gear (9) rotatably mounted therein.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the WO Figure 5 embodiment with a rotatable planet carrier in view of the Figure 1 embodiment to provide additional speed ratio output within transmission which increases operating efficiency of transmission.
As to claim 2, comprising a rotatable ring gear (65) that meshes with a third toothing (via 66) of the first planet gear.
As to claim 3, wherein a second toothing (via 61) of the second planet gear meshes with the sun gear.
As to claim 6, comprising a rotatable idler gear (64, 66 transmits rotation between first planet gear and second planet gear), wherein the second toothing (via 66 between 64 and 65) of the first planet gear meshes with a first toothing (via 64) of the idler gear, and wherein a second toothing (via 63) of the idler gear meshing with the first toothing (via 62) of the second planet gear.
As to claim 7, comprising a second planet carrier (71) which is rotatable relative to the first planet carrier (68) and in which the second planet gear (61, 62) is rotatably mounted.
As to claim 8, wherein the second planet carrier (71) is connected to the rotatable ring gear (65) and configured for conjoint rotation.
As to claim 9, wherein the second planet carrier (71) is configured to be rotatable relative to the rotatable ring gear, the sun gear, and the idler gear.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-The PCT written opinion as filed has been reviewed and the examiner agrees that the prior art of record meets the limitations as recited.
-DE 102011108473 (Figure 3) and Serkh et al 20110177911 (Figure 1) both disclose transmission arrangements and show that it is well known in the art to have a planet carrier (or multiple planet carriers) supporting multiple axially aligned planet gears for engagement between ring and sun gears.
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 September 30, 2026