DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takehisa (Pub. No.: 2023/0271310 A1) in view of Kulus (Pub. No.: 2008/0313559 A1).
1) In regard to claim 1, Takehisa discloses the claimed data transmission device (figs. 1 & 6: 20) with a wireless communication circuitry (fig. 6: 26), comprising:
a non-volatile memory (fig. 6: 23) configured to store an identifier uniquely assigned to the data transmission device (¶0069),
an advertising circuitry configured to incorporate the identifier in advertisement data and broadcast the advertisement data including the identifier via the wireless communication circuitry (¶0113 discloses the battery pack initiates a connection standby state), and
a communication control circuitry (fig. 6: 22) configured to initiate data transmission using the wireless communication circuitry to a data collection device serving as a data transmission destination in response to receiving a connection request specifying the identifier from the data collection device (¶0069).
Takehisa does not explicitly disclose the non-volatile memory being configured to be capable of further storing a name assigned to the data transmission device, and wherein, in a case where the name is stored in the non-volatile memory, the advertising circuitry is configured to incorporate the name, in addition to the identifier, in the advertisement data and broadcast the advertisement data.
However, Kulus discloses it has been known for a transmission device to store a name assigned to the transmission device, and he advertising circuitry is configured to incorporate the name, in addition to the identifier, in the advertisement data and broadcast the advertisement data (fig. 6: 240 and ¶0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the device of Takehisa to link a name to the tool, as taught by Kulus.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Takehisa as described above in order to display the tool name when a user interacts with the tool, as taught by Kulush (¶0044).
2) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Takehisa and Kulus further disclose the data transmission device according to claim 1, further comprising a name storage circuitry configured to, after data transmission using the wireless communication circuitry to the data collection device is initiated, in response to a configuration information setting request, received from the data collection device, including a name to be assigned to the data transmission device, store the name in the non-volatile memory (Kulus ¶0044).
3) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), Takehisa and Kulus further disclose the data transmission device according to claim 1, wherein, of data transmitted by the communication control circuitry to the data collection device, data other than the advertisement data does not include the name stored in the non-volatile memory (Takehisa ¶0069).
4) In regard to claim 4, Takehisa discloses the claimed data collection device (figs. 1 & 6: 80) comprising:
a wireless communication circuitry (fig. 6: 85);
a display device (fig. 6: 83);
a storage circuitry (fig. 6: 82) configured to store an identifier (¶0113 discloses storing tool information); and
a name display circuitry (fig. 6: 83) configured to, in response to receiving an identifier of each data transmission device from a data transmission device capable of communicating with the wireless communication circuitry, display the name on the display device (fig. 25: Impact 1), and allow a user to make a selection (fig. 28 and ¶0049),
the wireless communication circuitry being configured to execute communication with a data transmission device that has an identifier corresponding to the name selected by the name display circuitry (fig. 6 shows element 20 communicate with element 80, and fig. 25 shows the display device displays the name of the device).
Takehisa does not explicitly disclose storing a name of one or more data transmission devices, and reading the name stored in a name storage circuitry in association with the received identifier from the name storage circuitry.
However, Kulus discloses it has been known for a collection device to store a name of one or more data transmission devices, and reading the name stored in a name storage circuitry in association with the received identifier from the name storage circuitry (¶0044 and fig. 6: 240 disclose a name is linked to the serial number of the tool).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the device of Takehisa to store a name of a tool, as taught by Kulus.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Takehisa as described above in order to display the tool name when a user interacts with the tool, as taught by Kulus (¶0044).
5) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 4), Takehisa and Kulus further disclose the data collection device according to claim 4, further comprising a name addition circuitry configured to, in response to the advertisement data, received by the wireless communication circuitry from the data transmission device, including the identifier and the name, add the identifier and the name in association to the name storage circuitry (Takehisa ¶0096-¶0097).
6) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 5), Takehisa and Kulus further disclose the data collection device according to claim 5, wherein the name addition circuitry is configured to, in response to the identifier included in the advertisement data, received by the wireless communication circuitry from the data transmission device, not being stored in the name storage circuitry, add the identifier to the name storage circuitry (Takehisa ¶0096-¶0097).
7) In regard to claim 7 (dependent on claim 4), Takehisa and Kulus further disclose the data collection device according to claim 4, wherein the name display circuitry includes a selection circuitry configured to, in response to an instruction given to display a screen for selecting a communication device, search the name storage circuitry for the identifier and the name of the data transmission device, and, if a corresponding name is found, display the name, and otherwise, display the received identifier, on the display device, allowing the user to make a selection (Kulus fig. 6).
8) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 6), Takehisa and Kulus further disclose the data collection device according to claim 6, further comprising a name change circuitry configured to, after communication with the data transmission device selected by the selection circuitry is initiated, receive an instruction from the user to change the name of the data transmission device, and store the identifier of the data transmission device and the entered name in association in the name storage circuitry (Takehisa fig. 15 shows a name edit button).
9) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 8), Takehisa and Kulus further disclose the data collection device according to claim 8, wherein the name change circuitry includes a name candidate display circuitry configured to, in response to the advertisement data received from the data transmission device including an identifier of the data transmission device but not including a name, search the name storage circuitry for a name associated with the identifier included in the advertisement data, and if a corresponding name is stored in the name storage circuitry, display the name on the display device; and, otherwise, generate a name candidate for the data transmission device, display the name candidate on the display device, and receive a change to the name or the name candidate (Takehisa fig. 15 shows a default name and a name edit button).
10) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 9), Takehisa and Kulus further disclose the data collection device according to claim 9, wherein the name candidate generated by the name candidate display circuitry includes a name candidate determined by sensor configuration of the data transmission device (Kulus ¶0044).
11) In regard to claim 11 (dependent on claim 9), Takehisa and Kulus further disclose the data collection device according to claim 9, further comprising:
a data display circuitry configured to perform display related to data received from the data transmission device on the display device, wherein the data display circuitry includes an identification information display circuitry configured to cause the data display circuitry to display the name or the identifier of the data transmission device according to whether the name corresponding to the identifier of the data transmission device is stored in the name storage circuitry (Kulus fig. 6).
12) In regard to claim 12 (dependent on claim 9), Takehisa and Kulus further disclose the collection device according to claim 9, wherein:
the data transmission device is provided in a sensor-equipped cutting tool that includes a cutting tool and a sensor configured to monitor a state of the cutting tool, and has a function to transmit data output by the sensor to the data collection device and a function to notify the data collection device of a configuration of the sensor provided in the cutting tool; the data collection device further includes a name candidate storage circuitry configured to store the name candidate associated with the configuration of the sensor; and the name candidate display circuitry includes a name candidate search circuitry configured to search the name candidate storage circuitry based on the configuration of the sensor received from the data transmission device and display the retrieved name candidate on the display device (Takehisa fig. 1: 1, ¶0064 and ¶0130).
13) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 8), Takehisa and Kulus further disclose the data collection device according to claim 8, further comprising a name transmission circuitry configured to, in response to a change of the name of the data transmission device by the name change circuitry, transmit the name after the change to the data transmission device via the wireless communication circuitry (Kulus ¶0044).
14) In regard to claim 14, Takehisa discloses the claimed wireless system (fig. 1) comprising a data transmission device (fig. 1: 20) and a data collection device (fig. 1: 80) that can wirelessly communicate with each other (fig. 1: wireless communication),
the data transmission device including:
a wireless communication circuitry (fig. 6: 26);
a non-volatile memory (fig. 6: 23) configured to store an identifier uniquely assigned to the data transmission device (¶0069),
an advertising circuitry configured to incorporate the identifier in advertisement data and broadcast the advertisement data including the identifier via the wireless communication circuitry (¶0113 discloses the battery pack initiates a connection standby state), and
a communication control circuitry (fig. 6: 22) configured to initiate data transmission using the wireless communication circuitry to the data collection device serving as a data transmission destination in response to receiving a connection request specifying the identifier from the data collection device (¶0069),
the data collection device including:
a wireless communication circuitry (fig. 6: 85);
a display device (fig. 6: 83);
a storage circuitry (fig. 6: 83) configured to store an identifier (¶0113 discloses storing tool information); and
a name display circuitry (fig. 6: 83) configured to, in response to receiving an identifier of the wireless communication circuitry included in each data transmission device from a data transmission device capable of communicating with the wireless communication circuitry of the data collection device, read the name stored in the name storage circuitry in association with the received identifier from the name storage circuitry, display the name on the display device (fig. 25: Impact 1), and allow a user to make a selection (fig. 28 and ¶0049),
the wireless communication circuitry being configured to execute communication with a data transmission device that has an identifier corresponding to the name selected by the name display circuitry (fig. 6 shows element 20 communicate with element 80, and fig. 25 shows the display device displays the name of the device).
Takehisa does not explicitly disclose the non-volatile memory being configured to be capable of further storing a name assigned to the data transmission device, wherein, in a case where the name is stored in the non-volatile memory, the advertising circuitry is configured to incorporate the name, in addition to the identifier, in the advertisement data and broadcast the advertisement data, and storing a name of one or more data transmission devices, and reading the name stored in a name storage circuitry in association with the received identifier from the name storage circuitry.
However, Kulus discloses it has been known for a transmission device to store a name assigned to the transmission device, and he advertising circuitry is configured to incorporate the name, in addition to the identifier, in the advertisement data and broadcast the advertisement data (fig. 6: 240 and ¶0044), and a collection device to store a name of one or more data transmission devices, and reading the name stored in a name storage circuitry in association with the received identifier from the name storage circuitry (¶0044 and fig. 6: 240 disclose a name is linked to the serial number of the tool).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the device of Takehisa to link a name to the tool, as taught by Kulus.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Takehisa as described above in order to display the tool name when a user interacts with the tool, as taught by Kulus (¶0044).
15) In regard to claim 15, claim 15 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
16) In regard to claim 16, claim 16 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 4 and the references applied.
17) In regard to claim 17, claim 17 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 14 and the references applied.
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685