DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. If Applicant fails to provide a sufficiently descriptive title, Examiner will do so upon allowance of the claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a changer”, “a mover”, “an extractor”, “a determiner”, “a manager” in claims 1, 4, 6, and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2010/0332998) in view of Branton et al. (US 2014/0310324).
Regarding claim 1, Sun discloses an avatar moving apparatus comprising: a display controller configured to display on a display device used by the user, a display image including the two or more facility names different from each other that have been changed by the changer (abstract, figs. 1-3, ¶ 57-61, e.g., computing device 300 with CPU 302 and display 310; see also figs. 4-5, ¶ 62-69, 3D virtual world with collaborative document area 122 has rooms corresponding to folders and documents; see also ¶ 19-33, content repository 112 stores documents including meta-data, e.g., title of a document, to facilitate searching or navigating; see also ¶ 50-52);
and a mover configured to teleport, when the user has specified a first facility name included in the display image, the avatar of the user to a location corresponding to the first facility name (figs. 4-5, ¶ 62-69, 3D virtual world with collaborative document area 122 has rooms corresponding to folders; see also ¶ 19-33, content repository 112 stores documents including meta-data, e.g., title of a document, to facilitate searching or navigating; see also figs. 6-13 and ¶ 70-72, e.g., avatars can be teleported throughout collaborative document area via teleporting doors; see also ¶ 36-39).
Sun fails to explicitly disclose a changer configured to change, when two or more facilities with the same facility name exist at a place at a destination of an avatar of a user specified by the user, the same facility name corresponding to the two or more facilities to two or more facility names that correspond one-to-one to the two or more facilities and differ from each other.
Branton teaches a changer configured to change, when two or more facilities with the same facility name exist at a place at a destination of an avatar of a user specified by the user, the same facility name corresponding to the two or more facilities to two or more facility names that correspond one-to-one to the two or more facilities and differ from each other (¶ 52, computing device can resolve identical names using standard techniques, e.g., copy or number suffixes added to file names).
Sun and Branton are both directed to electronic document management systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the collaborative document environment of Sun with the file naming techniques of Branton since such a modification resolves identical names using standard techniques (Branton, ¶ 52) such that no files have the same filename (Branton, ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 2, Sun discloses wherein the first facility name is specified by a voice of the user, a line of sight of the user, or an operation of the user onto a controller (¶ 36-39, avatars teleported upon entering a virtual identifier; see also ¶ 65).
Regarding claim 3, Sun discloses wherein: the display image is an image of a map, and the image of the map comprises: the two or more facility names that correspond one-to-one to the two or more facilities (figs. 4-13, see ¶ 62-72, 3D virtual world with collaborative document area 122 has rooms corresponding to folders and documents; see also ¶ 19-33, content repository 112 stores documents including meta-data, e.g., title of a document, to facilitate searching or navigating; see also ¶ 36-39, ¶ 50-52);
and two or more icons that correspond one-to-one to the two or more facilities (figs. 4-13, see ¶ 62-72, 3D virtual world with collaborative document area 122 has rooms corresponding to folders and documents, e.g., documents exhibited in gallery style scene; see also ¶ 19-33, content repository 112 stores documents including meta-data, e.g., title of a document, to facilitate searching or navigating; see also ¶ 36-39, ¶ 50-52).
Regarding claim 4, Sun discloses wherein each of the two or more facility names different from each other that have been changed by the changer includes the facility name before the change and a name of a manager of the facility (¶ 19-33, e.g., meta-data can include title and creator/owner of document; see also ¶ 50-52).
Regarding claim 5, Sun discloses wherein the display image is an image representing a list of a plurality of the facility names corresponding one-to-one to a plurality of facilities arranged at the place on the destination of the avatar of the user (figs. 4-13, see ¶ 62-72, 3D virtual world with collaborative document area 122 has rooms corresponding to folders and documents; see also ¶ 19-33, content repository 112 stores documents including meta-data, e.g., title of a document, to facilitate searching or navigating; see also ¶ 36-39, ¶ 50-52).
Regarding claim 6, Sun discloses an extractor configured to extract a plurality of facility names of a plurality of facilities associated with the place based on first facility data that associates a facility name of a facility with a location of the facility for each of the facilities located in a virtual space (figs. 4-13, see ¶ 62-72, 3D virtual world with collaborative document area 122 has rooms corresponding to folders and documents; see also ¶ 19-33, content repository 112 stores documents including meta-data, e.g., title of a document, to facilitate searching or navigating; see also ¶ 36-39, ¶ 50-52).
Branton further teaches a determiner configured to determine whether the names of the facilities extracted by the extractor include the same facility name, wherein the changer changes the same facility name to the two or more facility names that correspond one-to-one to the two or more facilities and differ from each other, when the determination result of the determiner is affirmative (¶ 52, computing device can resolve identical names using standard techniques, e.g., copy or number suffixes added to file names).
Regarding claim 7, Sun discloses a manager configured to manage second facility data and the first facility data, the second facility data associating the facility names of the two or more facilities different from each other changed by the changer with locations of the two or more facilities different from each other in a one-to-one manner (figs. 4-13, see ¶ 62-72, 3D virtual world with collaborative document area 122 has rooms corresponding to folders and documents; see also ¶ 19-33, content repository 112 stores documents including meta-data, e.g., title of a document, to facilitate searching or navigating; see also ¶ 36-39, ¶ 50-52; see also ¶ 41, collaborative document area updated to reflect updates to the corresponding documents),
wherein the mover identifies, when the first facility name is one of the two or more different facility names changed by the changer, the location of the facility corresponding to the first facility name based on the second facility data (figs. 4-5, ¶ 62-69, 3D virtual world with collaborative document area 122 has rooms corresponding to folders; see also ¶ 19-33, content repository 112 stores documents including meta-data, e.g., title of a document, to facilitate searching or navigating; see also figs. 6-13 and ¶ 70-72, e.g., avatars can be teleported throughout collaborative document area via teleporting doors; see also ¶ 36-39).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See attached Notice of References Cited.
/KEITH L CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626