DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed on 05 May 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-21 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-21 are still pending in this application, with claims 1 and 18 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "like a logo or an icon" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as follows: --...for providing information to a user by displaying an image,...--. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitations “...at least one light source...” and “...a programmable electronic display...”, and the claim also recites “...in particular a LED...” and “...in particular an electronic screen...” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitations as follows: --...at least one light source a programmable electronic display
Claims 2-17 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “...a reflective layer...”, and the claim also recites “...in particular a coating, more in particular a white coating...” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitations as follows: --...a reflective layer
Regarding claim 5, the limitation recites “...the diffuser...” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims, as no light diffuser has been previously introduced. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret claim 5 as being dependent upon claim 3, which introduces the light diffuser. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation recites: “...the light diffuser is made of a transparent material, in particular of a polycarbonate material, more in particular a coloured transparent material for providing a coloured illumination...,” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims, as no light diffuser has been previously introduced. Additionally, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation “a transparent material,” and the claim also recites “...in particular of a polycarbonate material, more in particular a coloured transparent material for providing a coloured illumination...” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret claim 6 as being dependent upon claim 3, and will address the remaining above-cited limitations as follows: --...the light diffuser is made of a transparent material...--. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation recites “...the diffuser...” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims, as no light diffuser has been previously introduced. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret claim 7 as being dependent upon claim 3, which introduces the light diffuser. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 10, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation “...a plurality of LEDs...”, and the claim also recites “...in particular at least four LEDs, more in particular eight or twelve LEDs which are positioned around the electronic display...” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Additionally, the claim lacks any clarity if the limitation “...which are positioned around the electronic display...” is to apply to all of the previously recited limitations, or just to the “...eight or twelve LEDs...” as presently presented. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitations as follows: --...the at least one light source includes a plurality of LEDs...--. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 11, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation “...the sensor door button comprises a plurality of detection sensors...”, and the claim also recites “...in particular at least four detection sensors which are in particular equally spaced around the electronic screen...” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitations as follows: --...wherein the sensor door button comprises a plurality of detection sensors
Regarding claim 13, the limitation recites: “...wherein the sensor door button has a control unit, in particular an onboard control unit electrically connected to the printed circuit board, which is programmed to instantly receive an input, e.g. from a bus driver or sensor, for example from a passenger counter, to adapt a displayed image at the electronic screen...” which renders the claim indefinite. The limitation “in particular an onboard control unit electrically connected to the printed circuit board” is a narrow limitation following the broad limitation “...a control unit...” which, as noted above, renders the claim indefinite as there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Additionally, there is no “instant” reception of an input. All communication signals have a communication time defined by the nature of the media through which they travel, and the mechanism used for communicating said signals. Lastly, the phrases "for example" and “e.g.” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as follows: --...wherein the sensor door button has a control unit,
Regarding claim 15, the limitation recites: “...the sensor door button further comprises a haptic element, in particular a haptic ring...” which renders the claim indefinite. The limitation “in particular a haptic ring” is a narrow limitation following the broad limitation “...a haptic element...” which, as noted above, renders the claim indefinite as there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as follows: --...the sensor door button further comprises a haptic element...--. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation recites: “...such that the sensor door button is operable by an output signal from the controller, e.g. by an output signal based on a sensory output of a sensor, for example a sensory output from an electronic passenger counter...” which renders the claim indefinite. The phrases "for example" and “e.g.” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation as follows: --...such that the sensor door button is operable by an output signal from the controller,
Regarding claim 17, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 17 recites the broad recitation “...the at least one sensor door button is positioned at a vehicle door...”, and the claim also recites “...in particular attached to a window panel of a door window of the public transport vehicle...” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitations as follows: --... wherein the at least one sensor door button is positioned at a vehicle door
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huttenhofer et al. (EP 4,009,526 A1, herein referred to as: Huttenhofer).
Regarding claim 18, Huttenhofer discloses (Figs. 1-10) a method for operating a sensor door button (Fig. 10) to message a passenger nearby a public transport vehicle by selecting and displaying a predetermined image on an electronic screen of the sensor door button (e.g., “dynamic display may be provided by flashing or moving lights, e.g. a moving symbol. Flashing lights simply may attract attention, while moving lights may indicate a direction into which a person may move, e.g. the next open door” formed by a plurality of predetermined lights 132-139 emitting visible radiation, “...at least one light source 132-139 may be an infrared LED and/or a visible LED. An infrared LED may be used for presence detection, whereas a visual LED may be in addition used for optical signaling. There may be a combination of infrared LEDs for detection and of visible LEDs for user feedback and/or user guidance”) in combination with a predetermined setting of at least one light source of the sensor door button (e.g., a detection of light from an infrared LED or a plurality thereof, the infrared light source being on to provide illumination for 131 so as to detect the motion of the user relative to the button device in Fig. 10, and as described).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huttenhofer et al. (EP 4,009,526 A1, herein referred to as: Huttenhofer), in view of Urban et al. (US 10,850,383 B1, herein referred to as: Urban).
Regarding claim 1, as is best understood, Huttenhofer teaches or suggests a sensor door button (Figs. 1-10) for operating a door and being attachable to a window panel of the door (see Fig. 10), which sensor door button comprises: a printed circuit board (110, 420) for supporting electronic components (131-139) which printed circuit board has an electric circuit on a front side for electrically connecting electronic components (see Figs. 2-5 and 7-9), wherein the electronic components comprise: at least one detection sensor (131) for detecting a presence of a hand and/or a finger in a detection space (131 forms an optical sensor for detecting presence or movement in the region in front of the sensor, and thus, detects a presence of a hand and/or a finger in a detection space), in which the at least one detection sensor (131) is positioned on the front side of the printed circuit board (as implied by Figs. 2-5 and 7-9, the visual indicators formed by various LEDs 132-139 indicate to a user in front of the device, one or more of which may form infrared LEDs for user or motion detection, and thus, are positioned on the front side of the printed circuit board); at least one light source (132-139), in particular a LED (132-139), for illuminating an environment at a front side of the sensor door button in which the at least one light source is positioned on the front side of the printed circuit board (as shown in Figs. 1-10); and a programmable electronic display (as noted in the description, “...at least one visual indicator, e.g. a visible LED or a display is provided. Such a visual indicator may produce visible light which is visible to a person operating the button. It may provide a feedback, for example if a certain gesture or at least an approach of a body part to the switch has been identified. It may include a multi color LED. The visual indicator may have a static and/or dynamic mode or may be a dynamic display. A dynamic display may be provided by flashing or moving lights, e.g. a moving symbol. Flashing lights simply may attract attention, while moving lights may indicate a direction into which a person may move, e.g. the next open door. Further, an acoustic signal may be generated. A visual indicator may also be in a light channel and/or have a reflector and/or lens...” implies a collection of LEDs may be programmed to display a dynamic image formed by one or more LEDs in response to detection or interaction with a user), for providing information to a user by displaying any image (as noted above, an image formed by “...flashing or moving lights, e.g. a moving symbol. Flashing lights simply may attract attention, while moving lights may indicate a direction into which a person may move, e.g. the next open door...”), wherein the electronic display is distinct from the at least one detection sensor and distinct from the at least one light source (the LEDs 132-139 are distinct from detection sensor 131, as shown in Figs. 1-10, additionally, said LEDs forming the electronic display would be at least visible light emitting devices, and thus, used separately from LEDS used in conjunction with 131, particularly an LED or LEDs of 132-139 emitting infrared light, as noted in the corresponding description, e.g. “...at least one light source 132-139 may be an infrared LED and/or a visible LED. An infrared LED may be used for presence detection, whereas a visual LED may be in addition used for optical signaling. There may be a combination of infrared LEDs for detection and of visible LEDs for user feedback and/or user guidance...”) and wherein the electronic display is positioned at a central region on the front side of the printed circuit board (as shown in Fig. 1, all of the LEDs are arranged in a central region formed by 110).
Huttenhofer does not explicitly teach that the at least one detection sensor and the at least one light source are positioned around the electronic display.
Urban teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) the at least one detection sensor (112/ 216/218, col. 11, lines 33-40) and the at least one light source (190) are positioned around the electronic display (114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of the at least one detection sensor and the at least one light source are positioned around the electronic display, such as taught or suggested by Urban, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007); or since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); or since the courts have stated that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improving the appearance of the device (e.g., by providing a symmetrical arrangement with the display centralized on the button unit), and/or improve the effectiveness of the device (e.g., by providing a symmetrical arrangement with the display centralized on the button unit, and/or providing a display which can display more or additional indicia on the screen, such as alphanumeric representations to communication additional information with the user).
Regarding claim 2, as is best understood, Huttenhofer teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) a reflective layer (the layer formed by surface 440 and/or 460) is provided on the front side of the printed circuit board (as shown in Figs. 7-9) to increase a reflection of the at least one light source (as shown in Figs. 7-9). Additionally, or alternatively, for a reflective layer or coating applied directly to the front surface of the circuit board, see US 2018/0111546 A1 to Salter et al., Fig. 7, element 84, noted in the pertinent prior art mentioned in the conclusion section below.
Regarding claim 3, Huttenhofer does not explicitly teach a light diffuser for covering the at least one light source, which light diffuser has an annular shape which is configured to be positioned around the electronic screen.
Urban teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) a light diffuser (186, “...the light ring 186 can be constructed from a relatively transparent or translucent material, such as, for example a translucent or partially translucent plastic or glass, among other materials...” the distinction between transparent and translucent implies that translucent is diffusive or otherwise scatters or spreads light traversing therethrough, as opposed to being transparent) for covering the at least one light source (as shown in Fig. 2), which light diffuser has an annular shape which is configured to be positioned around the electronic screen (as shown in Figs. 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of a light diffuser for covering the at least one light source, which light diffuser has an annular shape which is configured to be positioned around the electronic screen, such as taught or suggested by Urban, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improving the appearance of the device (e.g., by providing a feature to spread light from the light sources and/or conceal the appearance of the light sources therebelow).
Regarding claim 4, Huttenhofer teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) a housing (100) for housing the printed circuit board (110) and an optical covering (see Figs. 2-4, the elements within the device will not be exposed to the environment as it would degrade the device and cause interference. 110 is below the housing 100 outline and allows light to pass through, and thus must comprise some form of an optical covering over the light sources and sensing/touch elements), wherein the housing and/or the optical covering has a front surface for adhering the sensor door button to a window panel of a door (see Fig. 10, the housing or optical covering must have a surface which can be designated the front surface which comprises a coupling feature for mounting to the door window shown in Fig. 10). Additionally, see US 2018/0238672 A1 to Miyagi et al. in the conclusion section below for direct coupling via adhering surfaces of a sensor housing and window.
Huttenhofer does not explicitly teach that the light diffuser is connectable by a snap connection to the PCB or housing.
Urban teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) the light diffuser (186) is connectable by a snap connection to the PCB or housing (“...the electronic board 192 may connected by different mechanical fasteners to the housing 108, among other manners of attaching the electronic board 192 to the housing 108, including, but not limited to, snap-fit connections, among other manners of fastening the electronic board 192 to the housing 108...” It is noted that 108 comprises 186, and thus, 186 is connected by a snap connection to PCB 192 via 108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of the light diffuser is connectable by a snap connection to the PCB or housing, such as taught or suggested by Urban, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of reducing the complexity or cost of assembling the device (e.g., by providing a feature to connect the elements without the need for additional coupling features or fasteners, and/or provide a feature to properly align the elements during assembly).
Regarding claim 5, as is best understood, Huttenhofer does not explicitly teach that the light diffuser has a thickness which is adapted to a thickness of the electronic screen, such that a front surface of the light diffuser is in alignment with a front surface of the electronic screen.
Urban teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) the light diffuser (186) has a thickness which is adapted to a thickness of the electronic screen (the claim makes no distinction as to how the thickness is adapted relative to the structure of either elements, thus, the adaptation is as shown in Fig. 2 of Urban), such that a front surface of the light diffuser is in alignment with a front surface of the electronic screen (as shown in Fig. 2, additionally, any surface can be designated “a front surface” for either component. The claim also does not require the elements be the same thickness and be flush with one another, nor does the claim define which axis the alignment is referring to. Thus, each element thickness is adapted to one another such that the elements align in a plane, as shown in Fig. 1 and/or in Fig. 2 for a front surface at a lower end of 186 parallel to a front surface of display 114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of the light diffuser has a thickness which is adapted to a thickness of the electronic screen, such that a front surface of the light diffuser is in alignment with a front surface of the electronic screen, such as taught or suggested by Urban, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In the instant case, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to reduce the size of the device and/or improve the appearance of the device (e.g., by arranging the elements to optimize a thickness or alignment of the optical features within the device).
Regarding claim 6, as is best understood, Huttenhofer does not explicitly teach that the light diffuser is made of a transparent material.
Urban teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) the light diffuser (186, “...the light ring 186 can be constructed from a relatively transparent or translucent material, such as, for example a translucent or partially translucent plastic or glass, among other materials...”) is made of a transparent material (as noted in the citation above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of the light diffuser is made of a transparent material, such as taught or suggested by Urban, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007); or since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945); or since the courts have stated that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improving the appearance, performance, and/or longevity of the device (e.g., by providing an optical material to cover and protect the elements therein, and/or to produce the desired lighting effect, color, appearance, and disperse or spread light therein from the lighting devices therebelow for indication to a user).
Regarding claim 7, as is best understood, the combined teachings of Huttenhofer and Urban teaches or suggests (as modified in claim 3 above) the light diffuser (186 of Urban) has a front surface (186 has a front surface) which is attachable to a window panel (see Fig. 10 of Huttenhofer), in particular to a window panel of a bus door window (as shown in Fig. 10 of Huttenhofer, furthermore, the claim does not explicitly recite that the attachment must be directly between the claim elements. The front surface of the light diffuser, as modified in claim 3 above, is attachable to a window panel of a bus door window via the housing thereof as shown in Fig. 10 of Huttenhofer). Additionally, or alternatively, see US 2018/0238672 A1 to Miyagi et al. in the conclusion section below for direct coupling between a light diffuser or optical covering and a window.
Regarding claim 10, as is best understood, Huttenhofer teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the at least one light source (132-139) includes a plurality of LEDs (as shown in Figs. 1-10).
Regarding claim 11, as is best understood, Huttenhofer does not explicitly teach that the sensor door button comprises a plurality of detection sensors.
Urban teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) a plurality of detection sensors (112/ 216/218, col. 11, lines 33-40. Additionally, the Examiner notes the plurality of detection sensors comprises different groups of 4 sensors, or at least 4 sensors in a group of sensors, that are spaced equally around the display 114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of the sensor door button comprises a plurality of detection sensors, such as taught or suggested by Urban, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improving the effectiveness of the device (e.g., by providing a plurality of detection sensors around the display to detect motion or interaction with a user).
Regarding claim 12, Huttenhofer does not explicitly teach that the electronic screen has a circular shape.
Urban teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) the electronic screen (114) has a circular shape (as shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of the electronic screen has a circular shape, such as taught or suggested by Urban, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007); or since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); or since the courts have stated that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improving the appearance of the device (e.g., by providing a symmetrical arrangement with the display centralized on the button unit), and/or improve the effectiveness of the device (e.g., by providing a symmetrical arrangement with the display centralized on the button unit, and/or providing a display which can display more or additional indicia on the screen, such as alphanumeric representations to communication additional information with the user).
Regarding claim 13, as is best understood, Huttenhofer teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) wherein the sensor door button (100) has a control unit (180 and/or 210), which is programmed to receive an input (either via an operator of the vehicle at 210, or via 150, 160, or 170) to adapt a displayed image at the electronic screen (all of the devices are used to determine an input, e.g., detection or vehicle operator input, and operate the dynamic display accordingly, e.g., “...at least one visual indicator, e.g. a visible LED or a display is provided. Such a visual indicator may produce visible light which is visible to a person operating the button. It may provide a feedback, for example if a certain gesture or at least an approach of a body part to the switch has been identified. It may include a multi color LED. The visual indicator may have a static and/or dynamic mode or may be a dynamic display. A dynamic display may be provided by flashing or moving lights, e.g. a moving symbol. Flashing lights simply may attract attention, while moving lights may indicate a direction into which a person may move, e.g. the next open door...”).
Regarding claim 15, as is best understood, Huttenhofer teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the sensor door button is at an outside of the door window (see Fig. 10).
Huttenhofer does not explicitly teach that the sensor door button further comprises a haptic element, to be attached in alignment with a centre line of the electronic screen.
Urban teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) a haptic element (172 or 176 and 136), to be attached in alignment with a centre line of the electronic screen (as shown in Figs. 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of the sensor door button further comprises a haptic element, to be attached in alignment with a centre line of the electronic screen, such as taught or suggested by Urban, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In the instant case, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to improve the product appeal and/or user recognizability of the actuation region with a recognized texture or feel.
Regarding claim 16, as is best understood, the combined teachings of Huttenhofer and Urban teach or suggest, as modified in claim 1 above, a sensor door button system (100, Figs. 1-10 of Huttenhofer) comprising a sensor door button (100 of Huttenhofer) according to claim 1 (as outlined in claim 1 above) and a control unit (180), wherein the control unit is electronically connectable (via 220 or a wireless connection) to a controller of a public transport vehicle (210), such that the sensor door button (100) is operable by an output signal from the controller (this feature is considered implicit or otherwise obvious in view of Fig. 6 and the corresponding description of Huttenhofer, e.g., “...a communication bus interface 180 may be provided to communicate by a communication bus 220 with a public transport vehicle controller 210...” implies 210 can send and receive signals to and from 180 for control function, even if it is simply to enable or disable the button when the vehicle is moving versus when the vehicle is parked and ready to accept passengers safely).
Regarding claim 17, as is best understood, Huttenhofer teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) a public transport vehicle including at least one sensor door button according to claim 1 for opening or closing a vehicle door (see Fig. 10, “.... For example, if a hand approaching the sensor button or coming closer than a predetermined distance is detected, at least one LED may change color e.g. from green to red. Further a door may be opened...”), wherein the at least one sensor door button is positioned at a vehicle door (as shown in Fig. 10, e.g., on the window of the door shown in Fig. 10).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huttenhofer, in view of Urban, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Tremblay et al. (US 2011/0285289 A1, herein referred to as: Tremblay).
Regarding claim 8, neither Huttenhofer nor Urban explicitly teach that the printed circuit board is a double sided printed circuit board which has a rear side wherein the electronic components to control the sensor door button are attached to the rear side.
Tremblay teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-5) the printed circuit board (10) is a double sided printed circuit board (10, Figs. 1-2) which has a rear side (Fig. 2), wherein the electronic components to control the device are attached to the rear side (as shown in Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of the printed circuit board is a double sided printed circuit board which has a rear side, wherein the electronic components to control the sensor door button are attached to the rear side, such as taught or suggested by Tremblay, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007); or since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of reducing the size of the device (e.g., by arranging the electronic control features on the underside of the circuit board), and/or reduce the cost or complexity in manufacturing or assembling of the device (e.g., by providing an arrangement by which the electronic control elements can be coupled to the same circuit board as the lighting components).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings of Huttenhofer, Urban, and Tremblay teach or suggest, as modified in claims 1 and 8 above, that the printed circuit board supports a first electronic screen at the front side (first screen 114 of Urban).
Neither Huttenhofer, Urban, nor Tremblay explicitly teach a second electronic screen at the rear side of the printed circuit board.
However, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of a second electronic screen at the rear side of the printed circuit board, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In the instant case, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to improve the utility of the device (e.g., by providing a feature or embodiment by which a single device can be used to open the door [Fig. 10 of Huttenhofer] from either the interior or exterior of the vehicle of Huttenhofer).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huttenhofer, in view of Urban, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Lamborghini et al. (US 2006/0177212 A1, herein referred to as: Lamborghini).
Regarding claim 14, neither Huttenhofer nor Urban explicitly teach that the sensor door button comprises a light sensor for detecting an environmental light intensity, and wherein the control unit is programmed to adapt a light intensity of the at least one light source in dependence of a detected environmental light intensity.
Lamborghini teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-24) a light sensor (e.g., one of the LEDs, as noted in paragraph [0046]) for detecting an environmental light intensity (as noted in paragraph [0046]), and wherein the control unit is programmed to adapt a light intensity of the at least one light source in dependence of a detected environmental light intensity (paragraph [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of the sensor door button comprises a light sensor for detecting an environmental light intensity, and wherein the control unit is programmed to adapt a light intensity of the at least one light source in dependence of a detected environmental light intensity, such as taught or suggested by Lamborghini, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improving the performance of the device (e.g., by providing a feature to make the device more recognizable or visible to a user depending on the ambient light conditions of the environment).
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huttenhofer.
Regarding claims 19-21, Huttenhofer does not explicitly teach that the predetermined image is selectable from a functional category of images relating to vehicle operation, wherein in particular the images are stored in a memory of the sensor door button (as recited in claim 19); or wherein a displayed image on the electronic screen of the sensor door button is changed based on an external input signal which in particular originates from a vehicle controller (as recited in claim 20); or wherein the vehicle controller is electronically connected to a sensor to obtain a sensory output for detecting a predetermined circumstance to select the predetermined image to adapt passenger information (as recited in claim 21).
However, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Huttenhofer and incorporated the teachings of the predetermined image is selectable from a functional category of images relating to vehicle operation, wherein in particular the images are stored in a memory of the sensor door button (as recited in claim 19); or wherein a displayed image on the electronic screen of the sensor door button is changed based on an external input signal which in particular originates from a vehicle controller (as recited in claim 20); or wherein the vehicle controller is electronically connected to a sensor to obtain a sensory output for detecting a predetermined circumstance to select the predetermined image to adapt passenger information (as recited in claim 21), e.g., by providing the described control features and capabilities of 100 (or 180) to 210 as well. In this case, selecting a given control features and memory allocation would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific design requirements of a given application and further improve the performance of the device (e.g., providing 210 with the capability to control 100 and its components through 180 via 220 or a wireless connection, would provide additional functionality and/or safety features to the device, giving the driver the capability to override 100 in the event of malfunction or the need to display differing images [or flashing lights, static lights, etc.] outside of normal operation determined by the sensors of 100, or in conjunction with vehicle operations such as drive, slowing down, reversing, etc.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: please see US 2018/0111546 A1 to Salter et al., pertinent to the features of the reflective layer recited in claim 2, and US 2018/0238672 A1 to Miyagi et al., pertinent to the features of claim 4, and US-20200007127-A1 to Bellm, CN-108119782-A to Yin, and DE-102016124735-A1 to Schmitt, pertinent to additional features recited in claims 1-21 and disclosed.
/COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875