DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application # 19127223, entitled: SUPPORT STRUCTURE FOR A HEATING MATRIX, filed on 05/05/2025. Claims 10-18 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keith et al. (U.S. Pat. 3597165).
Regarding claim 10, Keith discloses a support structure 1 configured to position a heating matrix in an exhaust gas line 4 spatially delimited by a housing 8,9, the heating matrix being formed by a honeycomb body (as discussed in col. 2, lines 53-55) which has a multiplicity of flow channels 20 through which flow can pass in a main flow direction, where the heating matrix is supported against an inner surface of the housing 8,9 by the support structure 1 and the heating matrix is fixed with respect to the support structure 1, the support structure 1 comprising: a plurality of coupling elements 11, the plurality of coupling elements 11 being plugged into and durably connected to individual cells of the heating matrix (see four cells attached to plate 7 in Fig. 2), which are formed by the flow channels 20; and a respective free end of a respective coupling element 11 is directly or indirectly connected to the support structure 1, a respective tolerance compensation element that compensates for a positional tolerance of the coupling element 11 in at least two spatial directions being provided.
Regarding claim 11, Keith discloses the support structure, where the support structure 1, on its surface facing toward the heating matrix, further comprises cup-like chambers 14,15,15a which are open toward the heating structure, and configured to receive a free end of a respective coupling element 11, and form the tolerance compensation elements (as seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Keith discloses the support structure, where a clear opening width of the cup-like chambers 14,15,15a is in each case a multiple of a cross section of a free end of the coupling element 11 (as seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Keith discloses the support structure 1, where a depth of the cup-like chambers 14,15,15a is greater than an average plug-in depth of the coupling elements 11. The Examiner notes that the depth from the top of cup-like chambers 14,15,15a (at 15a), is deeper than the plug-in depth shown at 15, as depicted in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 14, Keith discloses the support structure 1, where between the support structure 1 and a coupling element 11 in each case there is a connecting element 10 in the form of the tolerance compensation element, which is durably connected to the support structure 1 on one side and receives the free end of the coupling element 11 on an other side (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Keith discloses the support structure 1, where the connecting element 10 has an opening (see opening facing 7 in Fig. 3) which faces toward the coupling element 11 and is larger than a cross section of the free end of the coupling element 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keith.
Concerning method claims 17-18, in view of the structure disclosed by Keith above, the method of operating the device would have been obvious, since Keith’s catalytic exhaust purifier provides the same structure as the device described in the specification. The Examiner submits that it can be assumed that the device of Keith is capable of performing the claimed process.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keith in view of Northrop (U.S. Pat. 10815123).
Regarding claim 16, Keith is discussed above, and teaches the support structure 1 above, having connecting elements 10, having circular openings. However, Keith fails to teach elongated openings. Northrop teaches a support structure 500, having connecting elements 504 that have elongated openings 520.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circular openings of Keith’s connecting elements to have elongated openings, in order to be shaped to optimize fluid flow, or in some cases, to promote mixing of fluids entering the reactor, as taught to be desirable by Northrop (see discussion in col. 13, lines 49-51). Northrop further teaches that exemplary opening shapes can include circular, slots, any polygonal shape, regular shape, or an irregular shape, as disclosed in col. 13, lines 51-53).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the reference to Keith and Northrop above, the Examiner submits the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892). U.S. Pats. 8916104 to Lee et al., 8164034 to Konieczny et al., and 8012440 to Hodgson et al. teach support structures for exhaust gas lines comprising honeycomb bodies.
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 25-Jun-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632