DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 07/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/05/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 05/05/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannuksela US 2006/0188025 A1, hereafter Hannuksela in view of Shohei et al. JP 2011082725 A (machine translation provided by Espace.net), hereafter Shohei.
Regarding claim 1, Hannuksela discloses a method for resilient decoding of a sequence of video frames (error concealment in decoding of inter-coded information; series of video frames) [abstract; 0032], each having been transformed to produce a plurality of sample blocks, that have been independently encoded (encoder processes an input picture block by block) [0107], the encoded sample blocks being identified herein as code-blocks (coding block) [0009], the method involving a reference buffer that is capable of selectively storing previously received code-blocks from the encoded video sequence (reference image buffer 19’; contains the decoded pictures that can be used as references in the motion estimation process) [FIG. 4; 0097], where a code-block within a given frame (, identified here as the current code-block of the current frame, is processed using the following steps:
a) decoding the current code-block to produce a current block of sample values (the coding parameters 13 are fed into two parallel blocks, texture decoding block 14, and motion compensation block 15…the motion compensation block 15 computes new placements for various image segments as is known from the art of motion compensated video decoding) [0014];
b) obtaining a corresponding reference block of decoded reference block sample values for a previous frame in the video sequence by accessing the reference buffer and performing any required decoding operations to obtain said reference block samples values (the motion compensated block 15 uses previously reconstructed images from the reference image buffer 19) [0015];
c) partitioning each of the current and reference blocks of decoded sample values into one or more cells, each cell of the current block being in one to one correspondence with a cell of the reference block (elementary elements in an error-track picture depend on the error tracking algorithm and mat be for example: a sample (i.e. a pixel), a sub-block (e.g. a 4x4 rectangle of pixels), or a block (corresponding to the unit of motion compensation) [0097];
d) comparing corresponding cells of the current and reference block to produce an initial classification label for each cell pair, the label having at least three possible values that identify the cell as inconsistent, ambiguous or consistent (for each elementary unit in an error-track picture, an error concealment state is stored. Valid states include but are not limited to the following: “correctly decoded”, “unknown” (that is, possible correctly decoded or error-concealed), “normatively error-concealed”, and “uncontrollably error-concealed”) [0097].
Hannuksela fails to explicitly disclose e) resolving cell pairs initially labelled as ambiguous to consistent or inconsistent by a label adjustment step that uses the labels assigned to other cells.
Shohei, in an analogous environment, discloses e) resolving cell pairs initially labelled as ambiguous to consistent or inconsistent by a label adjustment step that uses the labels assigned to other cell (an example of region integration is shown…when the block type (area number) of a certain block is “2” and the block types of surrounding blocks are “1”, the block of interest is isolated…region integration is performed by changing the block type of the target block to “1” and the region classification is corrected) [page 5].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the classification correction, as disclosed by Shoehei, with the invention disclosed by Hannuksela, the motivation being improving coding efficiency [page 1].
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannuksela and Shoehei further in view of Borer EP 1806931 A1, hereafter Borer.
Regarding claim 6, Hannuksela and Shoehei addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
However, the combination fails to explicitly disclose the code-blocks are independently coded blocks of samples from sub-bands produced by discrete wavelet transformation of the frame sample values.
Borer, in an analogous environment, discloses the code-blocks are independently coded blocks of samples from sub-bands produced by discrete wavelet transformation of the frame sample values (a separate weighting factor is generating for each subband or each part of a subband that has a distinct quantisation factor) [0327].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the wavelet transforms, as disclosed by Borer, with the invention disclosed by Hannuksela and Shoehei, the motivation being a more effective approach [0019].
Regarding claim 17, Hannuksela and Shoehei addresses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
However, the combination fails to explicitly disclose the reference buffer is updated based on contextual hints that allow determining whether a code-block of the current video frame should be used as a reference code-block for future frames, such contextual hints including protocol information and designated marker codes that accompany the encoded video content received by the decoder.
Borer, in an analogous environment, discloses the reference buffer is updated based on contextual hints that allow determining whether a code-block of the current video frame should be used as a reference code-block for future frames, such contextual hints including protocol information and designated marker codes that accompany the encoded video content received by the decoder (each frame is encoded with a header that specifies the frame number in display order, the frame numbers of any references, and how long the frame must stay in the buffer…goes through the buffer eliminating frames which have expired) [0134].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the buffer updating, as disclosed by Borer, with the invention disclosed by Hannuksela and Shoehei, the motivation being a more effective approach [0019].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Takeguchi et al. US 4,953,214 discloses image compression using quantization interval comparison and lookup table. Nassor et al. US 2011/0188766 A1 discloses image decoding error concealment.
STEFAN GADOMSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2485
/STEFAN GADOMSKI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485